Rubies & Rust Wedding Barn
23961 Kittson Blvd
Belle Plaine, MN 56011  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 150
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (13)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.4/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.2/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.1/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I feel bad that I didn't talk to Cindy the day of our wedding, but she was so quick and behind-the-scenes that I think I only saw her once or twice. The barn was beautiful and clean, and from what my helpers have told me, Cindy was wonderful to work with. It couldn't have gone better. The wireless microphone system in the barn worked great for speeches, and we were able to being our own sound in (speakers and a laptop, basically). Cindy and George were always quick to respond to emails with helpful answers.
Wedding: 10/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
We were blown away by this venue! It was the first venue we looked at the we booked it immediately. The barn is beautiful and the owners have done an amazing job at decorating it. The yard flexible, personable, and very easy to work with. We felt like the owners were a part of our family by the end of the wedding. We would HIGHLY recommend this venue if you are looking for a great price, good service, and laid-back atmosphere.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
My emails were always responded to the same day I sent them. The value of this place is amazing. They provide reception location, ceremony location (indoors or out), dressing location, on site parking, and clean up. You are able to move tables and chairs around and decorate as you see fit. I really like the fact the venue is yours for the full day at such a reasonable price. The owners did not hover. I occasionally caught sight of Cindy making sure everything was running smoothly and we never felt neglected. We were able to play all manners of outdoor and indoor games, including kite flying. It was the most perfect wedding and I wouldn't have changed anything.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were so lucky to find Rubies and Rust! We looked at park options in the cities and couldn't believe the prices. We felt like we got an amazing deal for everything you get and everything you don't have to worry about. I had zero decorations except flowers on the tables and my guests still comment how beautiful it was. Cindy was fantastic. Reliable, super fast with communication, so helpful with every aspect, and just a really nice person to sit and drink coffee with. :) Every nook and cranny is a beautiful photo spot and/or inviting place to relax. Our guests made themselves at home and stayed for the entire wedding. We felt like we could really make it our own and Rubies and Rust supported us every step of the way. They think of everything and so much more. We couldn't be more thankful to find a place that fit us perfectly and went above and beyond anything we could have expected.
Wedding: 06/01/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sallie 2 Reviews
I found Rubies & Rust online. My groom and i fell in love at first sight when we went out to the farm! Cindy was simply lovely to work with. We went out to visit and later to plan several times; she was always very accommodating.
The surroundings of this farm make it a magical place; we had the opportunity to use many different areas of the farm and house. Cindy was very open to our ideas, catering needs as well as live music. She also became our officiant--lots of tears!! We could have had the choice to have our ceremony outside right up to 15 minutes prior to our start time--she had the capability to make it work!
We did get married in the loft--it was alittle chilly on our October night! The atmosphere upstairs is breathtaking in the evening! our photos are incredible, our dinner and reception went off without a hitch...all thanks to a wonderful host. Thank you so much, Cindy! Can we get married again??
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Flowers, Officiant, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
0.3 out of 5.0
0.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Beautiful and fun place but very very disappointed and think these owners/planners are very unprofessional! We went to this venue last night for a wedding and the owners were rude and ridiculous! They made the groom turn the music off at 10 PM and then made everyone pick up before they left Which I can understand but to make the wedding party pick up the chairs from the outside ceremony I think is absolutely ridiculous! Cleanup should be included in the rental fee!! And then the week before the wedding they sprung on the bride and groom that they had to have some kind of insurance... Any kind of fee or requirement should be upfront at the time of rental! If I were the couple I would have been livid!!!!
Rubies & Rust Wedding Barn responded with the following comments:
Here are the facts:

1) "made the groom turn the music off at 10 PM" - the rental is until 10pm.

2) "made everyone pick up before they left" - clean up is not included in the rental.

3) "to make the wedding party pick up the chairs from the outside ceremony" - set up / tear down (of our FREE chairs) is not included in the rental. The owner even helped with the tear down even though she didn't have to.

4) "Cleanup should be included in the rental fee" - that is a matter of agreement between the renter and the owner and this agreement didn't include it. Anything can be included in the rental fee, but the fee would reflect that.

5) "the week before the wedding they sprung on the bride and groom that they had to have some kind of insurance" - they were REMINDED of it a week before the wedding, they were TOLD about it before they rented (in writing; we archive all our emails specifically for this purpose).

6) "Any kind of fee or requirement should be upfront at the time of rental" - we agree, that is exactly the case here.

7) "If I were the couple I would have been livid" - Both the bride (Krystle) and the groom (Jesse) wrote their reviews here and, as you can see, they were quite happy with us.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
I got married at Rubies & Rust and thought everything about it was excellent!! Couldn't of been happier about the day!
Wedding: 09/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We fell in love the first moment we walked in. Our wedding and ceremony turned out amazing. It was reasonably priced. It was beautiful and had so many neat touches. We couldn't have been happier with the out come. It was exactly what we had envisioned for our wedding day. It wad great to have the house to use to get ready in! We were aloud to use anything in the barn too decorate. The only negative was not having a restroom attached for the older grandparents. Loved every minute!!!
Wedding: 08/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Wonderful venue! It had the most beautiful decor already there and a very friendly owner. The best part of this venue is that they are willing to let you decorate all you want. Cindy, the owner, is very quick at responding to emails and is open to meeting when you need to. This venue is new and is still working out the kinks, but in time will be established in terms of legalities. To be honest it was sometimes a bit confusing about what was required of us such as what licenses were needed and when. However, I had a very good experience overall and would recommend this venue to any wedding party looking for a barn.
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
This was a FABULOUS venue for us. We fell in love with it the first time we saw it and knew we had to have our wedding here. All of our guests loved it also. The barn is set-up so nice that you don't even need decorations because it would just detract from the look. The owner was great to work with. I will say that there are some pieces that make it a bit challenging as it is a new venue, but for us these challenges weren't worth choosing a different sight. I think as time goes by the issues will be fixed, it's a new venue so still in the process of getting some of the kinks worked out. For us, the biggest issues were no A/C and no handicap access to the reception area. Aside from these two issues, this is a great site!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.8 out of 5.0
1.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  1.5
  • Flexibility:  1.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Its like renting a car, and having the company ride with you in the passenger seat. Controlling, judging, crazy. The ownerwill follow you around, and tell you to take your shoes off. I was a guest at this wedding, and embarrassed for these owners.
Rubies & Rust Wedding Barn responded with the following comments:
Thank you for your criticism, we are sorry that you had a bad experience at Rubies & Rust. We don't normally do winter weddings, and our reaction to snow and rocks being spread all over the old wooden floor in the house could have been better. We have since fixed the situation.
As for our constant presence - no facility operates without the staff being present; we apologize if this went against your expectations.

Rubies & Rust
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
I absolutely LOVED my experience with the barn, the house, and the owners. Rubies and Rust was incredibly helpful, responsive, flexible and a total delight to work with. We chose the venue because of not only all it offered, but because of the unique style.

The barn is decorated beautifully, so there is no need to stress about that aspect. My sister recently was married and wished she had found a space like this, as she spent the entire day before her wedding stressing and decorating the venue instead of relaxing and enjoying herself.

Since our wedding, guests constantly tell us it was the best, most fun, and most unique wedding they had ever been to. Rubies and Rust provided everything I wanted for my wedding AND MORE.

There is one review that was written by a guest at our wedding and I did not experience anything of that nature. As a bride, I liked having the owner around during the day and thought she was a great support (helping with clean-up and the overall flow of the event).

As I said, I absolutely loved my experience and would recommend this venue any day!

--Lindsey W.
Wedding: 12/08/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I attended Lisa and Tom’s wedding and was blown away by the venue. Rubies & Rust’s staff was very attentive and service oriented. The farm setting and the barn, filled with antiques and a wonderful collection of odds and ends, was a joy to experience. I loved talking with old friends in what I would describe as an intimate setting in a large barn. The wedding ceremony was held on the second floor and the officiant was amazing.

I highly recommend this venue to anyone!
Wedding: 04/29/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2
out of 5.0