Rev. Jude Smith - Interfaith Minister
Handcrafted Ceremonies That Touch The Heart
PO Box 45
Rhinebeck, NY 12572  | map
Services: Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious...
Religious affliliations: Agnostic, Baha'i Faith, Buddhist, Christian (no...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (32)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had such a wonderful experience having Rev. Jude Smith as our wedding officiant. We had found Rev. Jude approximately 2 months prior to our wedding. From the very first contact that we had with her, she gave us such great guidance in planning the details of our ceremony. I immediately knew that she would be an amazing officiant, and she proved this even further than expected through until our wedding. Rev. Jude beautifully created our ceremony, fit to our individual story, lives, and beliefs, and she truly has a way with her words! She also spent ample time with us prior to the ceremony to go over with us what was written for the ceremony. It was obvious that she put a lot of heart into what she had wrote about us, and spent the time to make it truly personalized. Due to the fact that we are located in Brooklyn, and got married upstate in Ulster County, Rev. Jude accommodated us by "meeting" with us over the phone and skype, as well as communicating with us by e-mail. She walked with us every step of the way, offering her support and guidance in setting the stage for the ceremony.

Rev. Jude came to the ceremony with a positive energy and beautiful smile, and she presented the ceremony so wonderfully with such articulation and grace.

Rev. Jude also was willing, and able, to accommodate the fact that we had to hold our ceremony start an hour back last minute because my in-laws did not show up on time. We were so fortunate that she was willing to do this, so that we could have them at our ceremony.

My husband and I had so many compliments as to how beautiful our ceremony was, and we could not have had such without Rev. Jude. So many of our guests talked about how great of an officiant she was!

We cannot thank Rev. Jude enough for everything she has done to make our ceremony what it was: everything we hoped it to be and then some.

<333 Nicole && Michael <3
Wedding: 08/15/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jude crafted a beautiful ceremony for us that both respected our beliefs and those of our guests. Our guests included family and friends from a wide range of religious backgrounds, and Jude found some lovely words to say that were inclusive to all. She is not only a very warm and friendly person, but is also very well organized. She had the ceremony prepared months in advance, gave us a complete list of all the items we needed, and went through everything with us piece by piece. We received many compliments from our guests on how lovely the ceremony was. We would definitely recommend her to other couples.
Wedding: 08/09/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When my partner & I were ready to have an official wedding ceremony I did extensive research online for the right person as I've been a professional headhunter for 20+ years. Jude was one of the first ministers that I came across. There was something about her picture & bio that completely resonated with me. We finally spoke over the phone & arranged an appointment to fly into the Hudson Valley area of NY from Miami, FL to meet with her. From the first moment she stepped into our lives, she's been nothing short of amazing. Jude is extremely personable, captivating, knowledgeable & at the top of her profession. As a gay couple, our ceremony was a total co-creative process with Jude & she knew exactly how to bring out the personal elements that were most important to us, our families & friends. On the actual day of our wedding, I whispered to her, "Ok, this is your area of expertise & we're handing over the reins to you.....let's do this!" We walked out into the ceremony setting & the rest was truly otherworldly. I've never witnessed anyone bring a group together & create the remarkable synergy of love, union & commitment like Jude did. It was palpable. It was as if she was a well-seasoned conductor in front of a symphony & the final product was truly beautiful music that moves you to the core. Afterwards, we had so many guests that stated that they had never been to a more unique, authentic & touching ceremony. Not only was it far beyond our greatest expectations, but we also found a remarkable & lifelong friend in the process. Mark D. Hyde (Miami, FL)
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rev Jude Smith did a fantastic job working with us to create a truly heart felt ceremony. She is a very sweet, kind, caring person. We felt comfortable with her right away, it was as if we had known her for years. Jude truly enjoys what she does and she went above and beyond to make our special day... Perfect! (Judes husband even pitched in a very helping hand) When Jude is in the room you feel a sense of inner peace. We were so lucky to have her unite us as a family. Our ceremony touched the hearts of everyone. Words cant describe what Rev. Jude Smiths ceremony has done for our entire family, after15 years of relationships between family members being in shambles..everyone is ok now. Judes warmpth and soft spoken words have changed everything. For that we cant thank her enough. We greatly greatly recommend Rev Jude Smith.
Wedding: 12/07/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jude officiated our ceremony this past weekend at the Inn at Erlowest this past weekend. We had met with her via phone and in person a few times before, so we already knew it would be great. However, she exceeded our expectations more than we ever could have guessed! Everyone in attendance agreed that they felt the magic and absolutely raved that the ceremony was the nicest and most personal that they have ever been to. I couldn't agree more! It was so personal, loving, and heartfelt. Her readings and words were perfect for us and suited everyone well. She was so helpful with every detail- even music selections and bringing her own wine glass to help out with our wine ceremony. Jude feels like family, and we are sure to recommend her and use her for future family events. If you want your ceremony to be personalized exactly for you, choose Jude- you will not be disappointed! Much love.
Wedding: 09/27/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jude was an incredibly welcome addition to our wedding planning. She was able to center us and greatly aided in crafting a beautiful ceremony that I will not forget for years to come. My husband and I were very adamant about having a ceremony that was spiritual but not religious and Jude was easily able to put one together that echoed the love we felt for one another. What was especially amazing was that it was so personal. We both answered questions separately and then Jude put those together and weaved our story into the ceremony. Very beautiful. She is great to work with and is willing to help with any of the other aspects of planning including recommendations. I would highly recommend Jude for other couples.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We feel so lucky and grateful to have had Rev. Jude Smith officiate our wedding. We wanted a wedding ceremony that was non-denominational yet still had weight and warmth to it. Rev. Jude helped us build a moving, transcendental and truly magical wedding ceremony. Rev. Jude helped us navigate the seemingly intimidating landscape of building our wedding ceremony. She provided a clear, calming road map for us - giving us solid logistical help on wrangling our large bridal party and families as well as endless resources of poems and vows to handcraft a wedding ceremony perfect for us. Our families were all so moved by the ceremony - many commented that it was so personal and warm we must have known Rev. Jude for years. But in fact we had worked with Rev. Jude remotely for just a couple weeks leading up to the wedding. This is testament to the warmth and sensitivity she brings to her work and her amazing aptitude to get to the heart of relationship, fully celebrating and honoring that relationship with a uniquely crafted wedding ceremony. She created a magical and loving foundation to build our marriage on and we could not be happier!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were lucky to find Jude at the last minute- just two weeks before the wedding. We are so happy that we found her. She walked us through the ceremony and helped us to personalize it. We were presented with a variety of vows and poems to choose meaningful passages from that were great. We also filled out a reflection about why we were choosing to get married which was helpful as well. This really made it feel like we customized the ceremony to fit us.

Although the time we had before the wedding was brief Jude went over everything with us and read us the ceremony over the phone. She also helped with a lot of things I wasn't thinking about like the order of the wedding procession, where it's best for people to stand and sit, how to cue the musicians etc. By the day of the wedding we felt very connected to her having only known her for a short time.

All in all Jude knows how to conduct a wedding ceremony like a pro. Combine that with her being such a loving and sweet person and you've got a top notch officiant. Some people really love their jobs and strive to do them well. If you work with Jude you can tell this is what she really loves to do and that it truly makes her happy to be joining couples in marriage. We were very honored to have her as our officiant and are overjoyed that Jude has blessed us and our rings. She was the perfect officiant for our wedding.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you're seeking a meaningful reverend to officiant a wedding, look no further, Rev Jude will surpass all of your expectations. I don't handle being in the spot light very well, so being the bride and having to speak in front of others wasn't something I was looking forward to. Jude eased all my worries with what to expect during a practice run in our met and greet. She also helped me put together the most important words I would say to the person I love the most! As if that wasn't enough, she was calm the day of, making me feel in control with her guidance and well worded ceremony. I owe one of the best moments of my wedding day to Reverend Jude!
Wedding: 09/09/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had a difficult time finding the right officiant to lead our wedding ceremony until we met Jude. Immediately we were speaking the same language on our expectations and what we wanted our ceremony, and the beginning of our journey together to achieve, not just for ourselves but for our guests as well. Mark and I had been envisioning a labyrinth ceremony for our wedding, we both had lots of ideas and excitement flying around the labyrinth. It wasn't until we FINALLY met Jude that we realized how difficult such a ceremony would be to pull off. Jude made us extremely comfortable with our decision to build a labyrinth ceremony and continued on surprising us with adding and suggesting things that superbly enhanced the direction of the labyrinth ceremony.

We shared our idea with Jude and continued to inspire us to use our imagination to make this day as beautiful, special and prepared as possible- physically, mentally and emotionally. She led our entire wedding (all of 19 people) on a journey that ourselves, and our guests will NEVER forget. Jude has an amazing way of setting the tone of energy in a space and bringing everyone onto the same plane. With Jude's skill and the power of the labyrinth and family, I was brought to tears several times, and I am NOT typically a crier!!

Mark and I both recognize there is no one else on god's green earth that could have ever performed just a ceremony, except for Jude and we are so incredibly grateful to have had her lead us into marriage together. All of her guiding words and wisdom prepared us for marriage, not just our wedding day and we will always be grateful!

We look forward to spending time with Jude in the future, she is not the type of officiant you see on your wedding day, never to speak to again, but one you can seek guidance from, for years to come.

Thank you Jude for all you do!
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I first contacted Jude after finding her website and reading about her support for marriage equality, something that is very important to both my partner and me. Once I talked to her on the phone, I knew that I had found the right officiant! Talking with Jude was like talking with an old friend; I felt that we had an immediate connection and that she really "got" what my partner and I wanted in a simple, private ceremony. I contacted her somewhat last minute, with only about two weeks before the date that we had selected, but she was very flexible and fit us in around two other ceremonies that she had scheduled for the same day! She was even able to provide a witness for us, since we were traveling out of state and were not bringing guests. Jude made the whole process, from beginning to end, so easy and stress-free!
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rev. Jude was an amazing. My wife and I were traveling from Florida to get married up at Lake Minnewaska and she was all for the possible hike that she may have had to take. Luck for her and our guest, my wife and I found a perfect spot just yards from the parking lot.
Being out of state my wife and I were extremely nervous about how to get things accomplished, but the one thing that we knew that we did not have to worry about was who was going to perform the ceremony. Rev. Jude was more than accommodating and staid in constant contact and was there to answer any questions that we may have had.
Thank you Rev. Jude for making our wedding a huge success and the most memorable day in our lives!
Michelle & Tracy
Wedding: 08/23/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jude Smith was the officiant for our interfaith wedding this summer and we could not have been more pleased. Not only was she incredible on the day of but she spent a lot of time getting to know us and really building a relationship with us before the special day - which really made the experience unique.

We first spoke with Jude nearly 6 months before the wedding. We were living in London at the time - for some it could have been a challenge but she was extremely flexible and organized. Our first chat was a lovely several hour call where she genuinely spent time getting to know us and really built a connection with us. She was so warm and welcoming - we loved sharing our story and love with her.

We met a few times following before the wedding, continuing to build our relationship and her getting to know us, our hopes for the big day and how she could really make it special. She didn't miss a detail and truly catered every word.

On the actual day, her ceremony was exactly what we could have hoped for - unique, catered and completely sincere.

Several months later we continue to keep in touch :)

We would recommend Jude for anyone, particularly those who plan to have an interfaith or uniquely spiritual wedding!
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rev. Jude exceeded every expectation my husband and I ever had for our wedding ceremony! The ceremony she wrote for us was the highlight of our wedding - it was personal, thoughtful, unique and totally "us". Our guests were blown away by how special and moving the ceremony was and people are still talking about it months after the wedding! Rev. Jude is one of those unique few that genuinely loves what she does and cares deeply about the couples she works with - it's not just a job to her.

The entire process of working with Rev. Jude was an absolute joy! She was always there to guide us and offer advice, but never made us feel like we had to do anything a certain way. I am so thankful we found her and would recommend her a hundred times over!
Wedding: 07/05/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Steve 2 Reviews
Jude was wonderful! From the first time we spoke with Rev. Jude we immediately knew she was the perfect fit for us. She had a contagious enthusiasm throughout the process, which was evident in the wonderful ceremony she delivered for us. Rev. Jude has an amazing ability to understand what her couples want/need and a gift for translating their unique story into a custom ceremony. We could not have been happier with our decision to have her officiate our wedding.

We highly recommend Jude!
Wedding: 07/05/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Great ceremony, wonderful to work with. Easy to communicate with.
Wedding: 06/30/2013
Services Used: Officiant
 845-337-6996
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0