Red Lion Inn Resort
    33 Reviews
71 South Main Street
Cohasset, MA 02025  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (33)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.1/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (3.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (3.8/5.0)
Value:
 (3.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (3.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We booked this venue over a year from the wedding and from the first meeting to the wedding day last month they were always available, flexible and professional. They were very organized and helpful with pre-wedding planning and during the ceremony and reception everything went like clock work. They also provided excellent vendor suggestions.
The food was outstanding, the site very beautiful, and the staff couldn't have been more available or flexible.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
The Red Lion Inn is the perfect location for an elegant, rustic wedding. I cannot be happier with the venue, food, and service we received at our wedding. I highly recommend it! Oh, and not to mention the awesome after party you can have down the The Cave and the perfectly quaint rooms that the Inn offers right on site. It's a dream come true!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Corey 3 Reviews
I couldn't say enough wonderful things about the Red Lion Inn and the wonderful team of people we worked with there! First of all, it is beyond gorgeous, and it looks even more beautiful with the candles and the up lighting (all included) at night. Also, the food was delicious from start to finish, although I'll admit that I'm biased towards the short ribs. Finally, and most importantly, Elizabeth was an absolute pleasure to work with throughout the entire process. She was fair, responsive, and highly competent from start to finish. You could easily tell she's been running weddings at the RLI for many years now, and she knows how to do it right. If you are considering a barn wedding in the boston area! this is a must see venue!!
Wedding: 01/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We had the most amazing wedding at The Red Lion Inn in November, 2013. We worked with Beverlei who was "over the top" helpful, resourceful and always available to answer all questions and concerns. She executed exactly everything we requested for our big day. She remained there the entire evening and made sure our wedding and reception was perfect. There was nothing we would change but can offer some advice to others.
We had four months to put together our wedding of 180 guests. We chose to be married in the barn, have cocktails upstairs and then come down to dinner. We were at capacity with everyone dining downstairs but did not feel crowded. We did not choose the "salon" for cocktails as we did not want to lose that time herding everyone over there and we were so glad we kept everything in the barn.
We had a 7 piece band that added so much liveliness to the evening. We chose an open bar by consumption and there were no surprises with the bill whatsoever. There was a raw bar that was fresh and got great reviews.
There was a choice of swordfish or short ribs. We and all our guests we spoke to agreed they were great choices. We went to the two cake tastings, chose Montilio's and had the florist decorate that day with fresh flowers.
The only thing I might consider changing if I had it do over again is taking the pictures before the ceremony. I wanted to see my husband for the first time as I walked down the isle but not so sure it was worth missing most of the cocktail hour and at that the photos were rushed. Give it some serious thought.
The Red Lion Inn was a fantastic venue for our wedding as well as a great value!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding day was PERFECT! I can't say anymore than that. Elizabeth and her staff provided such a high quality of service. All of our guests can't stop talking about how beautiful the wedding was. The food was amazing! The staff was so helpful in the set up and tear down process and anything I needed (tape, scissors, a corkscrew) they found for me no questions asked.
Wedding: 09/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Our daughters wedding was more than we ever expected! All our guests have told us what an amazing wedding it was and keep raving about the appetizers and the dinner menu. Elizabeth our wedding coordinator managed every detail flawlessly and helped make each moment special. The maitre d for the evening was wonderful too...staying behind the scene but making sure our guest and we were happy.
The bride and groom feel their wedding day was a perfect beginning for their life together.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beautiful place,great staff, great wedding coordnator (Helena) also DJ Bill Iaconelli. I had nothing at all to worry about having Helena and my DJ Bill all I needed to do is show up for my wedding. Anything I needed or mentioned was handed to me on a silver platter. Food was awesome every single person who attended my wedding LOVED the food.
Wedding: 09/09/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am the least detailed person ever. I wanted to buy a dress and show up for my wedding and hope for the best. The Red Lion Inn allowed me to do this. Elena was so detailed and so hopeful I can not express my gratitude for her. On the night of our wedding I was not bothered with a single thing. In fact the anti-bridal bride was guided gracefully by the staff that knows weddings better than the best. My every need was catered to by the amazing staff that I can not thank more for making our day unforgettable.
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We can not say enough good things about the Red Lion Inn!!! We just got married on 2-25-12, and the night couldn't be more perfect, thanks to the staff/service shown at the Red Lion Inn. When we first walked into the space, we fell in love with it...it was absolutely breathtaking. And, it only got better from there. We met with Elizabeth on that first day and from that day on, she couldn't have been more helpful. She is extremely organized, detailed, and it is very clear that she truly wants the best for you and for your day. The pricing was in line with our budget and really great for what you get. We have not stopped raving about our wedding and how great everyone was at the Red Lion Inn. So many people who have attended our wedding have said the same thing to us. The food, the ambience, the service, the planning, the bar, the details, etc. were all perfect! There are so many instances in which they went above and beyond to make our day so special. Thank you just doesn't cut it for what they did for us. We were honored to have our reception there and will forever be raving about the Red Lion Inn and how helpful our event coordinator, Elizabeth and her staff was to us! They made us feel like family, and cared about every little detail of our big day. It was very clear that you are not a number when you walk in here...they will go above and beyond to make sure you have the best day possible and truly care about you! Thanks to all of the help of the Red Lion Inn and all of our vendors, we will forever have the most wonderful memories of our wedding!!
Wedding: 02/25/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What a great venue, amazing food, and friendly staff! The Red Lion Inn is a unique venue that is unlike any other place we've ever been for a wedding, and that is exactly why we loved it! The setting is spectacular, the food is the absolute BEST wedding food I've had anywhere (braised short ribs were all the rave!), and the staff, especially coordinator Elena, is an absolute professional who did EVERYTHING to make sure we had everything in place and perfect for the day, and truly cared about us as a couple and our big day.

We had an after party in "the Cave" reserved exclusively for the wedding guests, and it helped keep the party going and was a great atmosphere to be more casual and relax.

The bridal suite (included in the package) is an absolutely beautiful room, and was one more thing that we didn't have to worry about around our wedding.

For a unique venue, terrific food, and great service, the Red Lion Inn in Cohasset is the place to get married!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Red Lion Inn was the perfect venue for our wedding! From start to finish I felt completely confident and comfortable with my wedding planning process. Both Helena and Elizabeth are amazing and I could not have been happier with my special day!!!
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There have been a handful of negative reviews about this place, but I want to squash them all. I got married a couple weeks ago and it was AMAZING. Soooo many of our guests told us that it was the best wedding reception that they had ever been to. I mainly worked with Elaine and she was great about helping me prepare for the day. A few days before the wedding I met with Armando, who was going to be our wedding coordinator - he was a dream. We went through the exact way I wanted the room set up (it was in Lion's Hall). He has an excellent eye for decorating and offered up even more great ideas :) He was available for the entire length of the reception paying special attention to my and my husband, REALLY taking care of us. He orchestrated the service to a tea - MANY guests said how the waitstaff seemed invisible. The food was delicious - rave reviews! I really could not have been happier. Many of our guests went to the pub at the Red Lion after the reception and everyone was so accomodating. We had bar food brought out to the guests, which was delicious and Gerry, the owner, sat a chatted with some of our guests. We felt right at home :) It was the ultimate New England fall wedding. My theme was simple elegance and the Red Lion helped make it all happen. Thanks again!
Wedding: 11/09/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Elizabeth is an amazing wedding coordinator! She helped make our day so special. As for other employees at the Red Lion Inn, I would beware. Not everyone is as helpful, respectful and caring as Elizabeth! The inn keeper was rude to our guests and called the police because someone went out front to smoke a cigarette with a beer. Apparently having a beer outside warrants the police being involved.
Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Red Lion Inn boasts all the components to host “the best wedding ever.” Our expectations were completely blown away! All of our guests raved about the Red Lion Inn; from the staff, to the food, to the guest rooms, every detail was extraordinary! We did book in February to receive a great discount.

Our wedding was in the beautifully spectacular rustic Great Hall, with the “best wedding food ever!” Our party also booked the guest rooms for both Friday and Saturday night, with breakfast each morning.

Elizabeth, the function coordinator, was a god-send. She came in with a little over 3 months left in the planning. Prior to Elizabeth, we were nervous! We immediately felt comfortable and at ease with her. She immediately responded to our inquiries and was very attentive. Elizabeth pleasantly and professionally guided us through every detail and offered great suggestions. She was fun and easy to work with. Elizabeth worked very closely and very well with the owners, the banquet manger Stacy, and Chef Ryan, to ensure every request and detail was met, no matter how trivial. All were very accommodating.

The food was superb! The quality, quantity, and presentation were incredible and served perfectly by an impeccable staff. The ratio of staff to guest was impressive. The breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday were just as scrumptious.

The Inn is charmingly elegant and very clean. The guest rooms are beautiful, very comfortable and very relaxing. Elke was terrific and very patient coordinating the room details. Room Rates were slightly on the high side.

We were able to relax and have a blast at our own wedding because we knew our “Wedding Weekend” was in great hands! The staff at the Red Lion Inn is outstanding and the facility is spectacular.
Wedding: 02/27/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Red Lion Inn was better than I had ever have imagined. Like many brides, I scoured websites looking for reviews and like many brides found some not wonderful reviews. A friend of a friend was married at RLI in 2010 so I reached out to hear the scope. She admitted that some of the challenges were true, but she'd do it all over again.

So, with a mixture of pure excitement and trepidation we booked the RLI. Yes, OK, response time may not be the fastest BUT I always had a response and the response was always very detailed.

There were a few hiccups leading up to the Big Day but Helena and Captain Steve were 100% professional and extremely accommodating. I knew they truly had my best interest at heart and were going the extra mile.

Our ceremony was in the garden; it is a spectacular setting. Due to some town laws no music or alcohol can be served outside (RLI's working on this) but guests said the "silent" ceremony was better because they could really focus on the purpose of the day.

The cocktail hour was in the Salon. I didn't get a chance to have any of the appetizers, but I have not heard anything but raves. They had champagne, cheese, and fruit waiting for the bridal party right after the ceremony. So fabulous!

The food is amazing. Every good thing you've read/heard about the food is true. The chef puts a lot of effort into his plates and it really shows. Bar staff are awesome and accommodated a lot of tomfoolery.

The Room captain, Steve, is awesome. He was there when I needed him but never intrusive. It's like he magically knew when I needed a new drink, safety pins for an unruly bustle, or to cool off under an air vent. Steve is a true asset to the RLI team.

Helena: French. Demanding. 100% awesome. She knows weddings and will settle for nothing less than perfection. While I didn't see her much during the reception, I know she was in wings making sure everything was magic. I'd work with her any day
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
The barn at the Red Lion Inn is a beautiful venue to have a wedding. So many people commented to us on its beauty, and the food was outstanding!

Elizabeth was our wedding planner and was professional and helpful in giving us ideas. The chef was fabulous and worked with us regarding ordering the specific fish that we preferred the week of the wedding as well as making a fabulous cheese sauce for us for the cordon bleu appetizers. I hope that they still offer that sauce as it was fabulous!

As with all weddings, we had a glitch regarding some Viking helmets I had purchased, including one that had sentimental value, being stolen the night before by wedding guests for a different wedding. Red Lion Inn staff drove hours the next day to replace the ones that I had purchased. I eventually received the one helmet from the bride a few months later. I do hope that things are locked up in the future and was disappointed that others had access to our things. I know that Elizabeth and Stacy did their best to correct the issue.

Overall, we had a beautiful wedding and celebration with family and friends!
Wedding: 06/27/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 781-383-1704
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9
out of 5.0