Red Lion Inn Resort
71 South Main Street
Cohasset, MA 02025  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (27)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (3.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (3.8/5.0)
Value:
 (3.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Corey 3 Reviews
I couldn't say enough wonderful things about the Red Lion Inn and the wonderful team of people we worked with there! First of all, it is beyond gorgeous, and it looks even more beautiful with the candles and the up lighting (all included) at night. Also, the food was delicious from start to finish, although I'll admit that I'm biased towards the short ribs. Finally, and most importantly, Elizabeth was an absolute pleasure to work with throughout the entire process. She was fair, responsive, and highly competent from start to finish. You could easily tell she's been running weddings at the RLI for many years now, and she knows how to do it right. If you are considering a barn wedding in the boston area! this is a must see venue!!
Wedding: 01/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Elizabeth is an amazing wedding coordinator! She helped make our day so special. As for other employees at the Red Lion Inn, I would beware. Not everyone is as helpful, respectful and caring as Elizabeth! The inn keeper was rude to our guests and called the police because someone went out front to smoke a cigarette with a beer. Apparently having a beer outside warrants the police being involved.
Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding day was PERFECT! I can't say anymore than that. Elizabeth and her staff provided such a high quality of service. All of our guests can't stop talking about how beautiful the wedding was. The food was amazing! The staff was so helpful in the set up and tear down process and anything I needed (tape, scissors, a corkscrew) they found for me no questions asked.
Wedding: 09/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beautiful, New England venue! Wedding team was great!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Red Lion Inn was the perfect venue for our wedding! From start to finish I felt completely confident and comfortable with my wedding planning process. Both Helena and Elizabeth are amazing and I could not have been happier with my special day!!!
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Our daughters wedding was more than we ever expected! All our guests have told us what an amazing wedding it was and keep raving about the appetizers and the dinner menu. Elizabeth our wedding coordinator managed every detail flawlessly and helped make each moment special. The maitre d for the evening was wonderful too...staying behind the scene but making sure our guest and we were happy.
The bride and groom feel their wedding day was a perfect beginning for their life together.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 13 Reviews
Overall, my husband and I are extremely pleased with everything that this wonderful day brought to us at the Red Lion Inn. Here are a few drawbacks to watch out for if you too fall in love with the barn as the setting for your wedding!
1. We got married on a very, very hot day (96 degrees). Of course, we were aware that this was a possibility as it was booked for July. For this reason, we decided to have our ceremony, cocktail hr. and reception all inside (the barn is beautiful so why not!). Well, I must warn you that although there is some air conditioning in the barn, it does not seem suitable to cool the high ceilings and large crowd (we only had 100 guests). Management blamed the opening doors for guests and dancing crowd, but regardless, they were unable to cool the place down---and for that reason I say perhaps this setting is better suited for a Fall or Winter Wedding. 2. Overall organization/helpfulness—Although the wedding coordinator and staff were very helpful and accommodating at times, there were times throughout the year of planning that I was unable to obtain a clear answer to my questions and therefore, I felt that a few logistical things were not up to my expectations---Just one example: The bride and bridal party should not be seen prior to the ceremony if they are told that they won’t be upon the bride’s request. The Red Lion Inn needs to do a better job of controlling (or should I say directing) the arriving crowd and getting the bridal party to a place where they won’t be seen until it is time for the processional. Another important thing to add to your to-do list if you are celebrating that the RLI —although they said theythey would give us that top layer of our cake, we were never given the cake (not even at the breakfast the next morning), so our parents had to drive an hour and a half back to get the cake the following day! I do have some other wonderful compliments regarding everything else, but I can't fit them here!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Red Lion Inn was better than I had ever have imagined. Like many brides, I scoured websites looking for reviews and like many brides found some not wonderful reviews. A friend of a friend was married at RLI in 2010 so I reached out to hear the scope. She admitted that some of the challenges were true, but she'd do it all over again.

So, with a mixture of pure excitement and trepidation we booked the RLI. Yes, OK, response time may not be the fastest BUT I always had a response and the response was always very detailed.

There were a few hiccups leading up to the Big Day but Helena and Captain Steve were 100% professional and extremely accommodating. I knew they truly had my best interest at heart and were going the extra mile.

Our ceremony was in the garden; it is a spectacular setting. Due to some town laws no music or alcohol can be served outside (RLI's working on this) but guests said the "silent" ceremony was better because they could really focus on the purpose of the day.

The cocktail hour was in the Salon. I didn't get a chance to have any of the appetizers, but I have not heard anything but raves. They had champagne, cheese, and fruit waiting for the bridal party right after the ceremony. So fabulous!

The food is amazing. Every good thing you've read/heard about the food is true. The chef puts a lot of effort into his plates and it really shows. Bar staff are awesome and accommodated a lot of tomfoolery.

The Room captain, Steve, is awesome. He was there when I needed him but never intrusive. It's like he magically knew when I needed a new drink, safety pins for an unruly bustle, or to cool off under an air vent. Steve is a true asset to the RLI team.

Helena: French. Demanding. 100% awesome. She knows weddings and will settle for nothing less than perfection. While I didn't see her much during the reception, I know she was in wings making sure everything was magic. I'd work with her any day
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
The Red Lion Inn was an awesome venue for our wedding. The uniqueness of the barn setting was something that all of our guests kept complimenting us on all night. The food was great, and all our guests loved it. Our wedding coordinator, Elizabeth, was the best! She was always available for meetings and gave us great advise if we had trouble deciding on things. All the staff was so friendly and accommodating.
Wedding: 05/11/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Overall, we really enjoyed having both our ceremony and reception at the Red Lion Inn. The wedding barn is gorgeous and if you are looking for something rustic in MA, there aren't a ton of places that will fit better than the RL. The day of our wedding everything went smoothly and we heard nothing but positive feedback from our guests regarding the quality of food/service etc. The staff there worked very hard to make sure everything went as seamless as possible and even handled a few unfortunate situations that arose without ever bringing it to our attention.

My only complaint is that during the planning process, the staff can be a bit hard to get a hold of if you have a quest/need information quickly. The owner travels out of the country a lot yet does not allow the coordinators to negotiate or make changes/grant special requests which can prolong the planning process as they try to track him down and ask permission etc. All of the coordinators share an AOL email address so sometimes when you email and don't get a response, you're not sure if the wrong person opened your email and didn't pass it along to your coordinator etc. While my coordinator always knew the details of our day off the top of her head when I spoke to her, promptness in responses was not always there.

That said, everything went off without a hitch and as planned and the food was excellent so I'd still recommend anyone choosing this venue to host their wedding.
Wedding: 05/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  2.5
I’m really struggling about what to say in a review about them, because in the grand scheme of things, when it comes down to it, the place looked absolutely gorgeous, it was the best day of life and I had an absolute blast and so did my guests. However, there were quite a few things throughout the process, and the day of the wedding that bothered me and created unneeded stress.

From the second I walked in there I was in love and it looked 10 times more beautiful than I could have imagined on our wedding day. Our wedding food was really good as well and tasted great. At our tasting we tried SO much food—and literally there wasn’t one thing I didn’t like. From there though, I don't have much other great stuff to say about them to be honest, while I personally liked my wedding coordinator there, I found her difficult to work with and unfortunately unresponsive (sometimes over a week to respond to emails).

You will read a lot of bad reviews about the Red Lion from previous years. I do think that they have gotten their acts together quite a bit since those reviews, but customer service is definitely not their foretay.

On the day of the wedding, they lacked a lot and that is where I was most disappointed. To this day I've been asking around and every single guest I have asked has said that they did not see or receive ANY passed appetizers (we had 4 different passed apps). This includes my parents (who paid the entire bill) and my bridal party. To me this is just unacceptable. There was a lack of leadership throughout the reception, at one point I was dying of thirst and couldn't find anyone to even get me a water during dinner. My sweetheart table was in the middle of the dance floor and was suppose to be removed immediately following dinner -- at 9:45 and 3 broken glasses later, I had to go into the kitchen to find someone to take it away.

Again, I would recommend the RLI simply due to its look/feel and how gorgeous it is -- not due to the customer service.
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beautiful place,great staff, great wedding coordnator (Helena) also DJ Bill Iaconelli. I had nothing at all to worry about having Helena and my DJ Bill all I needed to do is show up for my wedding. Anything I needed or mentioned was handed to me on a silver platter. Food was awesome every single person who attended my wedding LOVED the food.
Wedding: 09/09/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Red Lion Inn was the absolute PERFECT venue; our friends and family are still raving about how it was the best wedding they’ve ever been to. At first, my husband and I were reluctant to book it, having read some bad reviews. We didn’t want to take any risks on the big day; we were promised that this was years ago and that staffers had since left . When we went to visit, it was love at first sight. SO much character! At first glance, the inn is unassuming; faded shingles with red shuttered windows. Lovely, but the wow factor occurred when we entered the barn. It was the perfect combination of rustic yet elegant (think French countryside, with beautiful high ceilings and wooden beams detailed with chandeliers. My husband and I met in college in New Orleans but grew up in New England, so somehow this was the perfect combination of Boston coastal charm meets old world French chic. The nooks and crannies throughout the sprawling inn add to its allure). We held our after party at Zapp Brasserie (the cozy restaurant/bar near the entrance), and our cocktail hour at the salon du soleil, a lovely yellow hued room that is accessed by a covered wooden walkway overlooking the pool patio. Perfecto! Guests are still raving about the food both at the cocktail hour and dinner. The location allowed us to take our pictures on the beach which is a 5-minute drive from the Inn. Elena, our wedding coordinator, is intense about executing a flawless day! In fact, our ceremony was slated to take place outside on their back lawn, but the rain forced us to move inside. We thought we’d have to wait an hour for the indoor setup, but not 10 minutes later, Elena had her entire staff flipping our reception room. Guests had a chance to see our beautiful outdoor aisle setup, but they still all say that they loved the indoor backdrop just as much (another reason we chose the Red Lion was that their backup rain plan was beautiful!) All in all, I can’t say enough wonderful things!
Wedding: 07/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am the least detailed person ever. I wanted to buy a dress and show up for my wedding and hope for the best. The Red Lion Inn allowed me to do this. Elena was so detailed and so hopeful I can not express my gratitude for her. On the night of our wedding I was not bothered with a single thing. In fact the anti-bridal bride was guided gracefully by the staff that knows weddings better than the best. My every need was catered to by the amazing staff that I can not thank more for making our day unforgettable.
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We can not say enough good things about the Red Lion Inn!!! We just got married on 2-25-12, and the night couldn't be more perfect, thanks to the staff/service shown at the Red Lion Inn. When we first walked into the space, we fell in love with it...it was absolutely breathtaking. And, it only got better from there. We met with Elizabeth on that first day and from that day on, she couldn't have been more helpful. She is extremely organized, detailed, and it is very clear that she truly wants the best for you and for your day. The pricing was in line with our budget and really great for what you get. We have not stopped raving about our wedding and how great everyone was at the Red Lion Inn. So many people who have attended our wedding have said the same thing to us. The food, the ambience, the service, the planning, the bar, the details, etc. were all perfect! There are so many instances in which they went above and beyond to make our day so special. Thank you just doesn't cut it for what they did for us. We were honored to have our reception there and will forever be raving about the Red Lion Inn and how helpful our event coordinator, Elizabeth and her staff was to us! They made us feel like family, and cared about every little detail of our big day. It was very clear that you are not a number when you walk in here...they will go above and beyond to make sure you have the best day possible and truly care about you! Thanks to all of the help of the Red Lion Inn and all of our vendors, we will forever have the most wonderful memories of our wedding!!
Wedding: 02/25/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What a great venue, amazing food, and friendly staff! The Red Lion Inn is a unique venue that is unlike any other place we've ever been for a wedding, and that is exactly why we loved it! The setting is spectacular, the food is the absolute BEST wedding food I've had anywhere (braised short ribs were all the rave!), and the staff, especially coordinator Elena, is an absolute professional who did EVERYTHING to make sure we had everything in place and perfect for the day, and truly cared about us as a couple and our big day.

We had an after party in "the Cave" reserved exclusively for the wedding guests, and it helped keep the party going and was a great atmosphere to be more casual and relax.

The bridal suite (included in the package) is an absolutely beautiful room, and was one more thing that we didn't have to worry about around our wedding.

For a unique venue, terrific food, and great service, the Red Lion Inn in Cohasset is the place to get married!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 781-383-1704
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9
out of 5.0