Polkadots Cupcake Factory
2826 Rio Grande St
Austin, TX 78705  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Vegan
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (29)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
I used Polkadots Cupcake Factory for my wedding and everything was amazing! We did a dessert bar with 4 desserts. Olga and her team made us caramel macaroons, mini apple pies, snickerdoodle cookies, and pumpkin spice cupcakes. Everything was DELICIOUS! Our guests loved it all! She was so sweet throughout the entire process. I would highly recommend using Polkadots Cupcake Factory for you wedding or any other party or event!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Izabelly 2 Reviews
My wedding was on a Sunday and Polkadots are not open on Sundays. Olga was a very nice lady and flexible enough to let me get my cake on Saturday around 8pm so it was still freshly baked.
We had a unique design that we used as our theme and it was on our invitation, tables, signing book and a few other things. She was able to reproduce the design on our cake and it looked amazing. I wish a had a few pictures to show how beautiful our cake was.
Thank you Olga for your amazing hard work!
Wedding: 05/04/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ever since Polkadots opened near UT's campus during my time at school I KNEW that they would have to be the ones to do my wedding cake. Olga and her team not only make delicious desserts, but they're so pretty too! Working with her was so easy and fun and she really was able to give us everything we wanted---a little wedding cake for cutting, mini cupcakes, and mini cookies--something for every palate! And on the day of the wedding she even gave us a little goodie bag complete with the full-size version of the cupcakes we served and a very sweet card. We could not be happier with how everything turned out and I cannot wait to get back to Austin and Olga's delicious cupcakes!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Polkadot Cupcake Factory made some delicious cakes; bridal cake was not only delicious but also quite pretty. The grooms cake was delicious and was done very nicely—looked more like a longhorn than we ever expected! We also really appreciated that they were able to make sugar free cupcakes to go along with our cakes. Olga was always great at answering questions. The cakes were a little more expensive than we had originally wanted, but were not at an absurd price.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Olga was great to work with from the start. We had an unfortunate experience that she went the extra mile to get resolved. The cake was sooooo good! We had guests asking for take home bags the week after when they found out we had leftovers.
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I loved working with Olga at Polkadots. She created a two-tier wedding cake and the design was beautiful and based off of our invitations. She also made mini cupcakes. I needed some to be gluten-free and that was easy enough for Olga! Everything was delicious, pretty, and exactly what I wanted. I totally recommend Olga!
Wedding: 04/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am so glad I used Polka Dots for my wedding cupcakes! Olga was so great to work with and helpful. In my experience, wedding cake (or wedding cupcakes) can have the tendency to not be very good, these cupcakes are the opposite which is why I picked Polka Dots. The frosting is light as air and the cupcakes aren't so sweet that your jaw hurts when you take a bite. They are delish! We had 4 different flavors (mint chocolate, vanilla, strawberry shortcake & red velvet) and I received tons of compliments on them after our wedding! If you want something good, go to Polka Dots!

Thank you,
Lexi & Jim Rourke
Wedding: 04/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ever since the cupcake craze started, I knew I wanted cupcakes at my wedding for the sole reason that they can be prepared fresh the day-of. I absolutely did not want a cake that was made a week in advance and then frozen.

When we got engaged and decided to have a mini-destination wedding in Austin, we knew Polkadots would be our cake vendor. Our friends used them for their wedding, and I thought they were the best cupcakes I've ever had. We were so sure of our decision that we didn't have any other cake tastings, which is the best part of wedding planning!

Olga doesn't usually have tastings on the weekend, but she made an exception for us, since we live out of town, which was so sweet on her part. We tried 5 different flavors and had a difficult time narrowing down which ones we wanted because they were all so good! In the end, we went with honey & chai, dulce de leche, strawberry shortcake, chocolate peanut butter, and chocolate vanilla. We ordered about 20% more cupcakes than we needed, and they were all gone by the end of the night, like I knew they would be. My only regret is not ordering more to take home.

Olga and her team are so incredibly talented and artistic. I "like" Polkadots on Facebook and see the work they do - it's amazing! To top it all off, Olga was so sweet to send me home with some surprise treats, which I didn't discover until the day after the wedding.
Wedding: 03/02/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ever since the cupcake craze started, I knew I wanted cupcakes at my wedding for the sole reason that they can be prepared fresh the day-of. I absolutely did not want a cake that was made a week in advance and then frozen.

When we got engaged and decided to have a mini-destination wedding in Austin, we knew Polkadots would be our cake vendor. Our friends used them for their wedding, and I thought they were the best cupcakes I've ever had. We were so sure of our decision that we didn't have any other cake tastings, which is the best part of wedding planning!

Olga doesn't usually have tastings on the weekend, but she made an exception for us, since we live out of town, which was so sweet on her part. We tried 5 different flavors and had a difficult time narrowing down which ones we wanted because they were all so good! In the end, we went with honey & chai, dulce de leche, strawberry shortcake, chocolate peanut butter, and chocolate vanilla. We ordered about 20% more cupcakes than we needed, and they were all gone by the end of the night, like I knew they would be. My only regret is not ordering more to take home.

Olga and her team are so incredibly talented and artistic. I "like" Polkadots on Facebook and see the work they do - it's amazing! To top it all off, Olga was so sweet to send me home with some surprise treats, which I didn't discover until the day after the wedding.
Wedding: 03/02/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Delicious!!!! I had the strawberry cream cake, she did chocolate cake pops and cupcakes as well. I tasted others that looked good but did not taste good. Not the case here, it was beautiful and it was amazing. If you want a good cake I highly recommend Polka Dots Cup Cake Factory.
Wedding: 02/02/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stephanie 9 Reviews
Both my husband and I have been LONG-time patrons of Polkadots (I think since they opened). I had and still have an unhealthy craving for cupcakes on an almost weekly basis and Polkadots let me indulge myself :p Since we've been enjoying their cupcakes since we were undergrads at UT, it was a no-brainer to have them make our sweets for our wedding!

Olga was very prompt in communicating through email and we set up a tasting/planning session soon after I first contacted her. At the tasting, the cupcakes were, of course, delicious and moist! Olga even went through the trouble of recreating a cake flavor J & I were looking for but couldn't find. She was also very helpful in suggesting different ways we can display our cupcakes. Polkadots has platters and display towers you can rent, so you don't have to worry about having to contact yet another vendor for those things. On the day of our wedding, the delivery went off without a hitch! All of our guests enjoyed the cupcakes and the variety of flavors. Olga even made a special to-go box of cupcakes for me and J - we weren't expecting it, so we were pleasantly surprised :o)

The only reason why I took off half a star for quality was because the cake was more pink than I was expecting. This might have been because of miscommunication/colors not displaying the same on different computer monitors. I was hoping for a light pink/blush color but I received a bubblegum pink cake. I was also hoping to see a picture of me & J's cake on Polkadot's Flickr page along w/all the other pretty cakes and cookies but it wasn't there. Overall, we had a very good experience w/Olga and Polkadots. We still walk over to the shop for a cupcake every now and then!
Wedding: 12/16/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Olga and the Polkadots team created the perfect cake and cupcakes for my wedding- exactly what I asked for. We received many compliments on our wedding cake, Blackbottom, and Honey & Chai cupcakes.

On my wedding day, Olga also surprised the bridal party with delicious cake pops. After booking Polkadots, I have become a regular at her store (best cupcakes in Austin!) and have gotten to know her. She is so kind and caring and puts passion in everything she does.

A million thanks to you, Olga- everything was perfect :)
Wedding: 10/19/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Olga at Polkadots is absolutely wonderful. Her prices are reasonable, the cake turned out GORGEOUS and HUGE, and best of all it tasted fantastic. She did both the groom's cake at the rehearsal dinner and the wedding cake. Both of them she delivered and set up for a nominal charge. She was very easy to work with, she answers emails quickly, and is very creative. I wasn't exactly sure what I wanted for my wedding cake, I showed her a few pictures and described the general aesthetic I was going for. She sketched a cake based on my dress and both the sketch and the actual cake turned out way more beautiful than I could have ever thought of on my own. She also did a great job on the groom's cake which I had a much more exact idea for.
Wedding: 05/26/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Polkadots' service was absolutely fantastic! My cake was incredibly beautiful. I am not a fan of fondant icing, but I wanted two dummy layers at the bottom of my cake to make it bigger. They were able to put the buttercream icing on smooth enough that there was no way to tell the difference between the actual cake with buttercream, and the dummy layers with fondant. So, my cake was gorgeous AND good! People were very impressed with how great the cake tasted...Our groom's cake was equally as good and perfectly decorated to my liking. The cakes looked EXACTLY like the pictures I had initially given them. If you want to impress with looks and taste, go with Polkadots!
Wedding: 04/20/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This piece of the puzzle was really important to me, so I ended up tasting A LOT of cake before the wedding. Polkadots had AMAZINGLY delicious cake, as well as amazingly low prices. While I stuck to a simple design to keep costs down, based on their stunning gallery, I'm convinced that they would have been able to handle anything that I was looking for. Our guests loved the cake (there were definitely some people taking two slices). Olga was wonderful, responsive, and flexible. She gave us two cake flavors when we couldn't choose just one, and she refunded our rental fee when we found out that the venue would let us use their cake stand. Please don't spend more money than you have to when you can get a beautiful and delicious cake from this wonderful shop.
Polkadots Cupcake Factory responded with the following comments:
Hello Bevin!

Thanks again for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate your business with us.

Here is the picture that I took on Saturday morning.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/polkadotsaustin/6885972076/in/photostream

We are looking forward to work with you guys in the near future.

Best,
Ben, Olga, and Polkadots Team
Wedding: 03/31/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Katherine 9 Reviews
When we were planning our wedding, the husband and I knew we wanted a cupcake tower and searched around for a few quotes. Olga was quick and responsive from the start and we knew she would be a great vendor. I could immediately tell how enthusiastic she was and how easy she would be to work with. Another cupcake place that shall remain unnamed didn't seem all that interested in our business, so we went with Polkadots.

After tasting a ton of cupcakes, we decided on 4 flavors. A huge chunk of our guests were Vegan so Olga let us taste even more cupcake flavors so we could decide on an eggless flavor and to make sure they were still tasty. The Honey & Chai ended up being our eggless flavor, and they were a HUGE hit at the wedding! You couldn't even tell that it's eggless, it tasted so moist and delicious. We got compliments throughout the night and next day about how great the cupcakes were.

Olga also made a cutting cake at the top of our cupcake tower and the grooms cake, both of which she modeled off images I sent her, and they came out great! Most of our guests couldn't even tell that the grooms cake was a cake. Even the fondant, which is usually known to taste like crap, was so delicious that my sister and mom would cut pieces of the leftover cake a few days later just to eat it.

To top everything off, Polkadots cupcakes are so affordable. We were on a budget and Olga worked with us so we could still get what we wanted. I can't recommend Polkadots enough!
Wedding: 03/31/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 512-476-3687
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0