Pier Sixty & The Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers
    20 Reviews
Chelsea Piers
23rd Street on the Hudson River
New York, NY 10011  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 700
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (20)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We recently had our daughter's wedding reception at The Lighthouse. It was perfect! We couldn't be more pleased. Paul got us through without a hitch - he was amazing. Our guests continue to rave not only about the beautiful location, but the food, service and flawless evening. Many have called to say "it was the best wedding they had ever been to!" We were able to enjoy ourselves as each and every detail was taken care of by the friendly, courteous and professional staff. Thank you all for a perfect event.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Laura 2 Reviews
I could NOT be more thrilled with this venue! Everyone loved it and David, our event manager, was amazing! I felt completely taken care of, listened to, and comforted. They really know what they are doing from the flow of the day to the food. Every last detail was taken care of. My bridal attendant was fantastic and I was never without a drink or food in my hand.Overall it was an amazing experience!
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were married on the 8th of February and had our reception at the Lighthouse. I must say: the event was truly fairytale-like. We initially worked with Ashley for dates and contracts and the like; she was a total pleasure. We were then assigned Bob as our event coordinator; he was so personable, professional, and made sure that the event went off smoothly. What the space itself will look like is totally up to you. We worked with one of their preferred floral designers, Botanical Design, and Brian and Vince brought my vision to life. We opted for the pin lights above each table to showcase our incredible arrangements and had tea lights hung from the ceilings throughout the venue; the whole effect was magical. The food was delicious- EVERYONE has raved about it since the wedding. (We thought the raw bar was a "must" and our guests agreed!) Honestly, the team as a whole went above and beyond; we were assigned Gabrielle to help us with small details throughout the day, and she assisted us with everything from the bustle on my dress to making sure we had a stocked bridal suite- and she did it all with a sweet smile. The only thing I'd change about the whole experience and the whole night would be being able to do it all over again!
Wedding: 02/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 8 Reviews
Felt like a guest at our own wedding! Absolutely outstanding service. I love that they encouraged us to take 2 minutes to be alone together, appreciate the moment. Our wedding day went by so quickly and that time together was so important. It also gave us a chance to eat the delicious food! We had some special touches we wanted to include and the team at The Lighthouse incorporated them into the flow of the evening seamlessly. It was just beyond our expectations! One of our guests said he's going to encourage his daughter to have her reception there!
Abigail Kirsch manages the catering for this venue. Our guests LOVED the food, including the wedding cake. Everything was managed impeccably. We couldn't have asked for more.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We recently had our August 2013 wedding at Pier 60. We had a very large wedding of nearly 600 guests. Pier 60 and its staff were simply amazing. If you going to have a large party or wedding with a clean, modern feel, this is definitely a place to consider.
We worked with Greg while signing the contract and up until the two months before the wedding. He was responsive, professional, and eager to help.
In the last two months before the wedding, we worked with Bob as our dedicated event coordinator. Bob was professional, knowledgeable, responsive, and efficient. He was also always aware of our budget constraints. He also played an active role in coordinating details with our florist, including table cloths, floor plan setup, etc.
Given the size of the wedding, we were nervous about how hectic everything would get on the big day. On the day of the wedding, however, Bob made sure that my wife and I felt like guests at the wedding. I barely had to make a single decision. The transition from ceremony, to cocktail hour, and to dinner was seamless. Our guests all complimented us on how smoothly everything went.
THE SPACE:
For some time, my wife and I had some hesitation about choosing Pier 60. At first glance, the venue appears to be very plain and business-like. But after working with our florist, and without going outside our budget, we were able to turn the venue into something modern, classy, and wedding-like. Although pricey, I highly recommend using the pinspots on all the tables.
THE FOOD:
We were disappointed to find out that Abigail Kirsch does not offer food tastings. We chose our menu by looking at photos and with our event coordinator’s help. While this may dissuade some couples from this venue, we recommend that you trust the venue’s chef. The cocktail stations and hors' d'oeuvres were delicious. The main course (filet mignon and fish) was also very good. Even with 600 guests, the steak was served warm and cooked to perfection.
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristina 2 Reviews
My event planner was Paul and he was always available to me, diligent, flexible and prompt. My whole wedding went very smoothly because he was so on top of things. He used my DIY pieces beautifully and set it all up on his own. He was very kind and helpful to all my guests and we received rave reviews about our party. He, as well as all the helpful staff, truly added to the joyful spirit of our wedding day.
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Party Supplies, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
We had a friday night winter wedding and were looking for a location that had a gorgeous view and a unique NYC vibe. We did our reception at The Lighthouse in February and couldn't be happier!

Both Greg (sales) and Bob (our in house planner) made the selection and planning process stress free, and went out of their way to simplify our lives in those last days when the planning process turned into a whirlwind.

The location is gorgeous, our guests have said many times that this is the most beautiful wedding they have ever attended, and the food was delicious. Even our cake, which came with the venue, was both yummy and beautiful.

I would definitely recommend the lighthouse, it is totally worth the spend. I wish I had an excuse to have an event here again.
Wedding: 02/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

R 5 Reviews
AMAZING!!!!!! Our wedding was all we had hoped for and more! The Lighthouse is the most amazing venue. The views are spectacular, the food is incredible and the staff is awesome!
We got rave reviews from all of our guests! And Jeff was the BEST!
Wedding: 08/30/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Crista B 5 Reviews
There aren't enough amazing things to say about The Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers. From the service to the food to the ambiance, you can NOT go wrong booking this venue for your wedding day. We looked at several venues in the city and found flaws with each (from awkward layouts to TERRIBLE service). My husband and I were sold once we met Greg and did a walk through of the space. Greg was extremely attentive and made our decision to book the Lighthouse a no brainer. Greg always responded quickly via email or phone even after we set the date. We were then placed in the hands of Bob, our event manager. My family still talks about how incredible Bob is. He was a pleasure to work with! He always responded very promptly to all of my questions and concerns, which is comforting when you are getting closer to the big day and have so much on your plate. He guided us through selecting our menu and helped us with any food requests we had (from Kosher to special meals needed due to allergies). The day of we felt even more blessed to have him. He helped to accommodate us when we arrived late to our cocktail hour. We noticed that the lighting wasn't placed in a hallway like we requested and fixed it immediately. He made sure that we always had our drinks refilled and something to eat. Bob was the reason our wedding day was picture perfect. Just a quick note, our guests all said that this was the best wedding food they've ever tasted and were amazed by the views. I would HIGHLY recommend to all of my friends and family. BEST decision we've ever made!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Danielle 7 Reviews
I would give this venue 10 stars if I was able to! I can't say enough praise! I originally had a concern as to how all three events were to take place in the same room (ceremony, cocktail hour & reception). No matter how many times me event planner, Paul, explained it, I still couldn't quite grasp it. I was worried my guests were going to be bumped into while the staff changed everything over, but no one even NOTICED the staff moving anything around! They were quick, quite and very effective. The layout was fantastic, and Paul made everything very simple. I trusted him to do his job and he did it wonderfully!
Wedding: 06/10/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ruth 1 Reviews
I got married on a Saturday night at the Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers. The service there was amazing and they took care of everything. Our event manager Bob was our angel without him we would have been clueless but he kept everything running smoothly and made sure we even ate. The food was delicious and everyone keeps raving to me about the venue!
Wedding: 03/10/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Initally, we were not sure whether to choose The Lighthouse (primarily because Abigail Kirsch venues do not do tastings) but we are very glad we did. The venue is such a professionally run operation. From our planning meetings to the day of the wedding, they think of and attend to every detail so you can really enjoy your day. Also, the food was amazing (even our finicky guests were impressed). I would recommend The Lighthouse to anyone planning a wedding.
Wedding: 06/26/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
My husband and i just had my wedding at The lighthouse, Pier 61. All the guests loved the venue, delicious & abundant food, and said the wedding flowed very well, thanks to our wedding coordinator, Richard Martin. He was provided to us a month before our wedding. He was very professional, detailed-oriented, responsive, sweet & knew what he was doing. He also worked well w/ our vendors & really delivered on our wedding day. Richard was so good, he was on schedule, almost to the tee, according to the schedule that we created. My husband & i got to eat & enjoy ourselves. i got a bridal assistant, so she tended to my needs. All the guests said they had a great time. We both love the way our wedding turned out. I highly recommend them.
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We had a wonderful experience with the Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers. Having your wedding there is not cheap, but it was honestly worth every penny. All of our friends and family said it was the best wedding -- or indeed, any event -- they had ever been to (and I think they were being serious).

The venue is beautiful -- on the Hudson River, with a view to the Jersey skyline (which is prettier than I might have thought) and even down to the Statue of Liberty. The big draw for us was that the space is indoors but there are large garage type doors that can open up for an outdoor feel. It was too windy and rainy on my wedding day for them to open the doors, but to be honest the venue was so gorgeous that I did not even mind (people can still get out onto the deck via regular doors). The space itself has an unfinished/industrial yet elegant look that we really liked.

The food is great. There are no tastings, but there are so many choices that had us drooling just reading the descriptions. They show you pictures of all the food so you can see exactly what it will look like before making up your mind. The sheer amount of food bordered on ridiculous (in a good way). The beef entree was the best beef I have had in years. Just some of the many many delicious things we ate were: lobster and corn salad with a corn souffle, bbq chicken macaroni bites, mojito granita intermezzos, chocolate covered bacon...I need to stop now because I am getting too hungry.

The best part though was our banquet manager, Bob. He was fantastic. He kept the night running smoothly. He also made sure that my husband and I had time to eat and were well looked after (someone else mentioned the private plate of cocktail munchies for the bride and groom and this is indeed awesome). It basically felt like we didn't have to worry about anything, as if we had hired a wedding planner (which we hadn't).

They do have a relatively small list of required florists, but I think actually that is a smart move because they then ensure that people are working there who are very familiar with the space. Also, it makes your planning easier. Aside from that they were very flexible and bent over backwards to meet our every request.

You won't regret going with them! They do a great job.
Wedding: 05/14/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They are the place to go if you want to be taken care of on the day of your wedding and not worry about the small details; they have a wedding organizer who takes care of everything on the day of and even makes sure that a plate of appetizers is ready for the bride and groom write after the ceremony. I actually ate at my own wedding! And hands down, most of the guests said it was the best food they'd ever eaten at a wedding.
Wedding: 09/25/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We had originally booked our reception at another venue, but when they were unable to reopen after Sandy, we were scrambling to find another option. We were so relieved to find that Pier Sixty still had availability on our date. It was like falling up--our reception was even better than we could have imagined!

Pier Sixty's location on the Hudson River wowed our guests! The food from Abigail Kirsch was delicious and beautifully presented (we only wish we could have done a tasting). Above all, the service was fantastic. Our banquet manager Paul answered all our questions during planning and took great care of us on the big day. We could enjoy ourselves and spend time with our guests during the reception, confident that we were in good hands and the event would run smoothly. I don't know if I'll ever be planning an event for 200 guests again, but if I do, Pier Sixty would be on the top of my list!
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 212-336-6144
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0