Old Carolina Barbecue & Catering Co.
Extraordinary Barbecue Served with Genuine Hospitality
Akron/Canton, OH 44333  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed...
Maximum capacity: 5000
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (34)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We had old Carolina barbecue cater wedding and couldn't be happier about our decision. Everyone couldn't stop talking about the food! Workers were extremely friendly and professional. We paid a little extra for the package and it was worth every penny. They took care of tables chairs linens plates silverware cake table and etc we didnt have to worry about anything! Highly recommended!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Old Carolina did my wedding this weekend and the were just awesome. I got so many compliments on the food and the service. They did an awesome job of continually picking up empty plates and glasses to keep the table looking nice, I had many guests tell me that they were very sweet to them while also being "unobtrusive." The venue I used was not full service, so at the end of the night the Old Carolina staff helped me gather up all the decorations and things that I needed to take home with me so my bridal party could leave quickly and not spend a lot of time cleaning up. The day can not have ran smoother.

The company they work with for linen and place setting rentals has a ton of options, and they take care of lining up all of that so all you have to do is pick your styles!

I love, love, loved that they went to my venue the night before and put down all the linens so my bridesmaids and I could set up our homemade centerpieces before the rehearsal and not have anything to worry about or have to rush around the day of the wedding.

Leslianne is also great to work with. She responded quickly to my emails, was always on time for meetings (even if I wasn't, haha), and made sure I had everything I asked for, even when I changed linen colors and added extra rentals only one week out!

I also have to add that the staff at the actual restaurants were very nice as well, when we went in for meetings and to drop off contracts or checks. Always offered us a free drink...its a little thing but it makes an impression of great customer service.

Overall, fantastic.
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ashley 6 Reviews
All of our guests were excited when they found out we were having Old Carolina BBQ as our caterer. We received many compliments that night and for days to follow on the food. We even had some leftover food to take home that night! They showed up on time to the venue to set up and everything was ready to serve on time. The only thing that went wrong was that some of our rental chairs were wet from sitting out the night before the wedding. They went around and dried them off before the reception started....but some guests and some of our wedding party had some wet bottoms!!!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Catering
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
The food was very good, everyone seemed to enjoy it. We used the delivery catering and the delivery person was on time and very friendly. I wish that there had been some more flexibility. I initially spoke to one of the other catering managers for a different area who said they would work with me so that I could have formal catering even though we only needed catering for 30-40 and it usually requires a minimum of 50. He did tell me that it was up to the individual catering manager so I wasn't surprised that the Akron manager did not offer this and it wasn't a big deal so that was fine. The Akron manager was also not easy to contact by phone. The only time I actually spoke to her was when she needed payment. Otherwise, she was available by email which was ok as usually that is the easiest way for me to keep in touch as well! Overall, I was looking for good food for my casual, picnic wedding and I was very pleased.
Wedding: 06/01/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used them to cater our rehearsal BBQ dinner . The young man that was came and set everything up arrived in a timely manner and was extremely professional and helpful! The food was great! Everyone had plenty to eat! Thank you for making our event a successful one!
Wedding: 05/23/2014
Services Used: Catering
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
There is nothing more to say other than they did an absolutely amazing job!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
very professional staff, definitely get your money's worth and EVERYBODY loved the food!!! Would highly reccomend to everyone.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Amazing!! Everyone loved the food and the staff was nice and professional. They did a great job. Would highly recommend to anyone. Great job!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
0.1 out of 5.0
0.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Our experience with Old Carolina can only be described as a nightmare. Everything seemed fine and Stefanie, our event coordinator, was wonderful to work with, until the date of the event. However, the day of my wedding 30 guests did not receive meals. My wedding planner had to go out and buy extra salad while people waited hungry. Several people left to get food and came back. This was humiliating, to say the least.

As if this wasn't enough, though, my wedding planner contacted Todd, who is higher up in the company, requesting a refund for the food we did not receive. When my she sent that email, she received this in response from him:

"All misled communication of responsibility and denigration of my company to your client will have swift and heavy rebuttal from my legal council. Damages encountered from your misguided presumptions and false accusations will lead a road no one wants to pursue."

Several weeks in and we are still trying to get a refund to no avail...

I would never recommend Old Carolina BBQ, my experience has been truly awful.
Old Carolina Barbecue & Catering Co. responded with the following comments:
Old Carolina Barbecue Company respects every client's right to offer an honest review of our services. Unfortunately, the events here are grossly misrepresented. With 190 wedding guests ready to eat at a contracted 165 person event, the wedding planner demanded that her support staff of 9 or 10 eat first. There were so many, many other shortcomings of the wedding planner that Old Carolina staff had to overcome, it is evident that she is trying to hide her mistakes from the bride and groom. Hospitality Partners, Inc, the local Old Carolina franchise owner has desperately tried to work directly with the bride and groom and has not been permitted by the wedding planner to do so. The quote by Todd, the owner of the local franchise, was directed solely at the wedding planner after she demanded a full refund or she will "never stop bashing the Old Carolina Company name." Please factor in every review when making your decision to work with the honest and hard working crew of Old Carolina Barbecue Company.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The food was fantastic, and we got lots of comments on that! The only "complaint" we have is that there was a lot of leftover food - way more than we needed. We ate BBQ for a week, and we froze plenty, but there was a lot.

One suggestion, if that amount is normal, is to provide storage containers. Either small ones to divide up the food, or something to store the large amounts in. Even if this is an option that costs more, it would be helpful.
Old Carolina Barbecue & Catering Co. responded with the following comments:
So sorry about the leftovers! Our team should have packaged everything extra up for you and/or your family. Many of our brides freeze the barbecue for future use. We'll work with the team to get it right for the next reception. Glad you loved the food! Hope to see you in the restaurant after your barbecue hangover wears off!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Leslianne was a pleasure to work with. She made it easy to plan from a long distance. The food was great. We were disappointed with the caters because they did not clear tables. At one point I noticed them all sitting outside eating, while my bartender was running around clearing plates off of tables. I also had a young caterer follow me around at the end of the night asking me for a wedding favor. I thought they could have been a little more professional.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sam and Cady 5 Reviews
Old Carolina Barbecue was a real crow-pleaser at our wedding, and I'm so glad we chose them to be our caterer. The catering coordinator was easy to work with, and was willing to work with us to provide exactly what we wanted. To accommodate our vegetarian friends, they were willing to prepare a few side dishes without meat, as well. After looking at a couple other catering options that would have really put a strain on our budget, my fiancee and I agreed that not only was Old Carolina the best best value, but the food tasted the best, too.

The day of the wedding, the staff arrived in plenty of time to set up and they were ready to go right on time. They were courteous, efficient, and cleaned up everything with all of the leftovers neatly packaged for us to take home. The food was hot, flavorful, and there was plenty for everyone. We chose to upgrade the table service (plates, silverware, etc.) so that dinner felt more like a sit-down meal than a backyard barbecue.

We are so glad we chose Old Carolina Barbecue for our summer wedding!
Old Carolina Barbecue & Catering Co. responded with the following comments:
Thank-you & Congratulations Sam & Cady!!!!! It was our pleasure helping make your BIG day special!
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Barbara 1 Reviews
Catered the rehearsal dinner the night before our son and daughter-in-law's wedding. Everyone raved about the food. Generous portions , nice presentation, attentive and professional staff. Made the event very nice. LeslieAnne was so easy to work with, and came through for us. Would definitely use them again. Also thought they were priced reasonably.
Old Carolina Barbecue & Catering Co. responded with the following comments:
Thank-you Barb! It was a great event!
Wedding: 05/31/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Simply put, I have absolutely no complaints. This is some of the best service I have ever received anywhere. From planning to executing service, Old Carolina surpassed my expectations and made this wedding process a piece of cake (pun intended). We would use Old Carolina again to cater anytime and highly recommend them. I was really taken aback at the serving staffs' terrific personality, smiles, professionalism, and how genuinely sweet they are. They my wedding night wonderful and were everything I could have hoped for, as a bride! Thank you!
Old Carolina Barbecue & Catering Co. responded with the following comments:
Thank-you Tosca! You were a pleasure to work with and your wedding was beautiful! So happy we could be part of your special day. Leslianne
Wedding: 05/31/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Food was delicious and everything turned out perfectly!
Old Carolina Barbecue & Catering Co. responded with the following comments:
Thank-you!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Erin 1 Reviews
OCB and Leslianne were so good to us. Leslianne was terrific during the planning process, responsive and full of great ideas. Everyone the day of went above and beyond; they were endlessly helpful. The food was fantastic. I lost count of how many guests raved to me. Numerous people said it was the best wedding food ever!
Old Carolina Barbecue & Catering Co. responded with the following comments:
BEST WEDDING FOOD EVER!? Awesome!!! Thank-you for letting us be part of your big day Erin! I appreciate your review. Leslianne
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Catering
 330-289-7046
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0