Okyne Medialab, Inc.
Redefining the Wedding DJ
1341 W Fullerton Avenue
Suite #201
Chicago, IL 60614  | map
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (183)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Regina 3 Reviews
Al Okyne and his team came through while we were in a pinch. They were so helpful in a short amount of time and the results were amazing! Their DJ, Erich, was awesome and made our wedding the best party ever. We were so happy to work with them!
Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I used Okyne Medialab because my brother used them at his wedding 4 1/2 years ago. We used DJ Erich because he did a phenomenal at his wedding and was confident he would do the same for ours. Knowing he had been with the company for that long was comforting. Our dance floor was packed all night! I told him ahead of time that our friends and family tend to get a little wild at weddings and he catered to that. We gave him a very minimal Do not play list and a must play list and let him roll with that. HIs music selections were perfect and you can tell he knows what he's doing! He put me at ease all night and was very flexible with last minute changes. Our entire experience with Al and Stacy was wonderful. They know how to run a business and gave us one less thing to worry about. We loved our Video Chat meeting the week before the wedding as we would not have had time to drive somewhere to meet with them. Thank you Okyne!!
Wedding: 03/15/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DJ Matt of Okyne Media Lab was one of the best parts of our wedding reception. We had a reception only at Belvedere Banquets and Events in Elk Grove Village on 1/4/14. Matt went above and beyond what we could have ever asked for from a DJ. He MC'ed, DJ'ed, made sure everything was going smooth, checked on us to see if we needed anything while eating. He just made sure that we were taken care of from start to finish. We made sure to let him know in one of our phone calls that we wanted EVERYONE to be up and dancing, so he made sure to play an eclectic mix of oldies, new stuff, rock, r&B, dance, everything. We were complimented on our DJ choice all night!

What I'm trying to say is that Matt is a true professional, from introductions to last dance. We'll be recommending him to every couple we know. Great job DJ Matt!!!

Mike
Wedding: 01/04/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were so happy with the professionalism and quick response to any questions and concerns. Our lighting was set up beautifully, the dinner music was just what we wanted and exactly what we requested for the dancing was above and beyond our expectations! The guests didn't leave the dance floor once DJ Dan started! We will definitely book again and tell everyone Okyne is THE BEST!
Wedding: 11/29/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have had the pleasure of working with this amazing company for corporate functions and they have been FLAWLESS. So naturally when I was planning my wedding I could not wait to book Okyne. The whole process from the first meeting was amazing. I didnt even need to convince my fiance he was just as excited to have them as I was. They were the only vendor that I never had to worry about through the whole wedding planning process. Al and Stacy are beyond words fantastic and make the planning and organizing a breeze. I went into the wedding day not thinking I could feel any better about this company... I WAS WRONG!!! DJ Erich was soooooooooooooo amazingggggggggggggg! From following the flow we wanted, to making friends with all of our guests, to checking with my before he played a country request from a guest because he knew I hated country (!!!!!) I would not have changed a thing. I would recommend them to everyone! Your DJ is the one who essentially keeps the whole reception on track and going and for lack of better words Erich was like a 2nd maid of honor- he was so helpful with everything!!! THANK YOU TO THE WHOLE OKYNE TEAM!!! There is a reason you guys have such an amazing reputation!

Amber and Christopher Wirkus
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Before our wedding we had high expectations for our DJ and DJ Dan met all our expectations and more!!!. He was right on time even before the reception place was setup. He communicate with us really well letting us know what to expect in the next 30 minutes. Then the music came which it was amazing, he mixed all the music that we asked without any problems. DJ Dan was great, everyone was dancing until the last song, they even request an extra song. I will recommend Okyne and DJ Dan to everyone. Great company, very professional and great DJs.

Juan
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If we could give more than 5 stars to Okyne, we would!

Okyne made the wedding planning process and wedding day itself smooth and perfect. Al and Stacy are easy-going, considerate, and professional.

My husband and I couldn't be happier with DJ Matt's amazing musical talent. His piano pieces during our ceremony brought us to tears. The songs we chose were so important to us, and he nailed them. Also, we've gotten so many compliments about the reception music...even my Grandma had a fantastic time dancing. :) Matt went above and beyond to check in with us throughout the night. He made sure the entire event ran smoothly. We continue to get compliments from our family and friends on our wedding music, and the overall feel of the wedding.

Thank you so much, Okyne! If we could do it all over again, we would.
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't say enough nice things about my experience with Okyne Medialabs.

For starters, my wedding was logistically difficult as we were planning from the wedding from overseas. Stacy, Al, and our DJ Jonathan were incredibly accommodating through the entire process.

Since I hadn't even seen my venue till 5 days before my wedding, they were able to make a number of last minute changes and, I feel, really went above and beyond my expectations as they made every effort to make our wedding day amazing.
Thank you again Okyne!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My experience with Okyne Medialab was amazing! I lived out of state and was not able to meet in person and they had no problem with working with me via Skype. Al was great and very personable the first time we talked and I knew immediately that his company was the one we wanted to go with. Stacy was also great with returning my many emails very quickly. Their online planning tools are great and very easy to use. You get to pick all of your own music which allowed me to be as involved, or uninvolved as I wanted to be.

As far as for the big day we had DJ Jonathon and I seriously loved him. He was perfect. Everything went so smooth I didn't have to worry about anything at all. He changed my uplighting colors without any problem and did a great job with the ceremony music. I was a little worried about that since we got married in a church but it turned out wonderful. Jonathon kept checking with me to make sure everything was to my liking throughout the night and always checked with me before doing anything (first dance, cake cutting). We also were getting a lot of strange music requests and he checked with me before just playing anything. He was phenomenal and I was highly recommend to anyone!
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Okyne Medialab is nothing less than amazing!! Hiring Al Okyne as the DJ for our wedding was the best decision!! The music mix was perfect so everyone stayed on the dance floor the entire night! Having Al as our DJ made the night so much more fun! It also led to a lot of great dance photos of our guests having fun & getting crazy on the dance floor!

I booked Al at our first meeting; I could tell he was someone I would love to work with. My fiancé could not make the first meeting so Al suggested we meet up at a later time with he & his wife so they could get a feel for our personalities & music preferences. They are such much fun & great to work with!

We used their easy online system to provide to list a handful of our favorite songs as well as some songs to avoid. It worked great because Al was able to get a feel for the types of music that we liked & what genres to play so that everyone would have the most fun & stay on the dance floor.

We trusted Al to tailor the playlist & keep everyone on the dance floor having fun! It worked perfectly. We received so many compliments from our guests!! You could tell Al was also having fun being our DJ throughout the night!

We also hired Okyne to provide the uplighting as well as a Gobo icon image projection. I was initially nervous about everyone's suggestion to use a soft amber uplight in the dining area (my colors were B&W) & I told Al, I'm so glad that I trusted them as the uplights were perfect! They provided 2 colors (dance floor area & another for the dining room area). The Gobo was an icon designed for us and they made it look fabulous! Everyone loved it!

Overall, Al & Stacy were great to work with & did a fantastic job! They went above & beyond to make sure everyone's names were pronounced correct, they understood our music preferences, & that everyone had a blast at our wedding reception! I would hire them for any DJ needs & have referred my friends to them already! They deserve 10*
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Okyne from start to finish was a world class experience. After discovering Okyne at a wedding more than a year ago, I knew this was the company/DJ that had to be at our wedding. From the very first Skype meeting with Al we knew we were in good hands. The big difference maker for us was the fact that Okyne took the time to get to know us as a couple. We are very big on customer service and from the start, it was evident so is Okyne. Everything from planning, payment and execution was easy and flawless with Okyne. Which, when you are in the mix of dealing with a whole slew of different vendors, that makes a huge difference.


With regard to our DJ, Dan, there really isn't anything more to say than "he crushed it." As previously mentioned we saw Dan more than a year ago and within 20 minutes of walking into the wedding, I was at his booth asking for a card, as I knew he had to be at my upcoming wedding. Okyne fulfilled our request for Dan and we couldn't have been happier. Dan was able to incorporate all of our requested music and was able to learn our style and carry it through the event. Dan set the tone for our wedding and had the dance floor packed the entire night. He was a attentive to all of our requests (including dusting of some old Sisqo & Shaggy tracks) and made the night perfect. We have not stopped hearing rave reviews from our guests about how awesome our DJ was.

In my opinion, the DJ makes or breaks the wedding and without a doubt, Dan and the entire Okyne team, made our night. Without any hesitation I would recommend Okyne to any and everyone.
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Okyne Medialab was 5-star quality from the time we requested information through our wedding day. Stacy was extremely responsive to all of our questions and flexible in accommodating our appointment requests, especially since we were planning our wedding remotely. She provided all of the necessary details instrumental towards our decision-making.

As soon as we met Al in person, we knew he'd be the perfect fit for our music needs for our wedding. Al has a fantastic personality, is very knowledgeable and professional, and helped us develop a great rapport with him from our initial meeting. Al was early/on-time for all of our appointments and on the day of, and asked very thorough questions about our venue logistics since it was a new venue for him.

We love how progressive Okyne is with using technology to manage our profile, timeline, song lists. We also hired Al to provide music for our ceremony; after only speaking with him for about 30 minutes during our venue walk-through, the timing and coordination of every ceremony song was perfect during the ceremony itself.

They were very accommodating in enabling us to choose a playlist for our dinner music and adhered to our request for no song requests from our guests. As a result, Al helped create a perfect playlist that kept our guests on the dance floor throughout the night.

It a big help to us that Al has extensive experience, especially working with our other vendors such as photographer and planner. It also helped greatly that Al was more than willing to offer his services for no additional charge for another 30 minutes since our reception fell behind schedule.

Overall, we highly recommend Al & Stacy Okyne for any couple seeking first-class DJ service for their upcoming wedding. It was worth every penny!
Wedding: 09/22/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kara 2 Reviews
Okyne Media Lab was a wonderful source of entertainment for our wedding. We really could not have been more pleased with their services - from beginning to end. Our wedding night went off without a hitch, and was everything we had imagined (and more), which, is in large part due to their professionalism, promptness, attention to detail, charisma, creativity, personality and the passion they have for what they do.

Al Okyne was FANTASTIC and truly made both our experience, and our guests' experience, a special one. He played all of the right songs at exactly the right moments, and kept the dance floor full until 1am - which, is quite an accomplishment, considering we had more than 300 guests at varying ages in attendance! Al was also an amazing MC with a "contagious energy" - keeping the night on track and flowing at an absolutely PERFECT pace. He even brought along a live sax player (per our last minute request) to play along with his sets throughout the night; it was quite a hit! My husband and I really could not be happier with our decision to hire Al for our reception, and would do so again in a heartbeat.

We received an endless number of compliments specifically pertaining to the music / our DJ, and already have requests for Al's contact information from guests who are currently planning their own weddings, which, again, shows just how amazing he was.

Choosing your DJ is one of the most important things you will do in the wedding planning process, as the DJ really does control and lead the vast majority of the night. He / she sets the tone for your guests, and for you.

If you're a Type A perfectionist who not only personally loves to dance until the sun comes up, but who also wants everyone around her / him to, with permanent smiles on their faces, dance until the sun comes up, Okyne Media Lab is the company for you! I PROMISE, you will NOT be disappointed.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I found Okyne Medialab through the most logical method a future groom assigned the task of securing a DJ would – Internet searching and reading reviews. It’s because of those reviews that we ended up hiring Okyne to DJ our wedding, and I feel the need to add my own review to help promote their services. I can testify that they are as advertised on their website. A few short emails, two skype calls, and a conversation with our DJ was all it took. These people are professional, so it was refreshing that with a thousand things to plan for a wedding, this was very efficient. It was also nice to know what the all inclusive price was up front, that made it easy to determine if they were within our budget (with no hidden add-ons) – for what they provided my wife and I thought their price was more than reasonable. Our DJ was Jonathan, if you are lucky enough to get him you’ll have a worry free event for sure (not to take anything away from the other DJ’s but I can only speak about Jonathan). Al and Stacy were also very easy and friendly to work with. I would recommend Okyne Medialab to anyone looking for a DJ service with a fresh style.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thank you Okyne Medialab and Alan! We had such a great time, and so did all of our guests, thanks to you guys. Alan was really kind, helpful and fun- he kept the party bumping all night- and even a little longer just because our guests were having so much fun, and we really appreciate his hard work! He played great music and also accommodated some of our friends' requests, which they loved.

Leading up to the big day was great, with Stacy and Al communicating with us. We never got to meet up with Al in person, but that was never an issue as we were able to chat on the phone and also use the online portal to submit our info. One thing I would say is an annoyance is that when you want to make revisions to the DJ Timeline, you can't just drag and drop the items up or down- you have to completely re-fill in all the fields again. :P Therefore, I would recommend writing/typing it all out first in detail and then filling it out online only when you are exactly sure of every part and have also gone over it with Al, if necessary.

Other than that, we really enjoyed working with Okyne and would highly recommend them to anyone out there! Thanks again for your service and for helping make our wedding so much fun~~
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DJ Dan kept my guest dancing all night! He was dressed formal and really stuck to the wedding timeline! I am extremely pleased with the service and the ease of their online tools.
Wedding: 08/23/2013
Services Used: DJ
 800-996-5963
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0