NYIT de Seversky Mansion
"I am easily satisfied by the very best." Winston Churchill
    85 Reviews
Northern Blvd
NYIT - West Road entrance
Old Westbury, NY 11568  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (85)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I cant imagine a better, more professional, well run, and accommodating venue- it was really more than I could ever hope for. The service by every single person there was done well and with a smile. We were treated as though our event was of utmost importance to them. Even our other vendors, such as the florist, complimented them! For example, the weather was unusually beautiful and without asking they opened their doors to the patio, put out heat lamps, moved our guests throughout, all without any prompting. This was the wedding I hoped I could give my daughter, and it will always be an incredible day for her to live, and to remember.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved deseversky!!! I truly can't say enough and the food was truly amazing. The grounds were beautiful and our ceremony was on site outside just the way I wanted it. A little chilly but perfect. I felt like I was at home having all my friends there and the run of the mansion all to my self it was perfect. We used most of there vendors, cake, photo and flowers. The cake was really yummy and I am a cake person. It looked beautiful and tasted just as great. The flowers were amazing. Mum mom loved them and Bella was so easy and great to work with and the personal touch we were looking for. Photos and I just waiting to see my pics but I think they did a great job.
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am a groomzilla and mico managed!! I am in the food/catering industry and am aware of how easy it is for a party to be the best ever or the worst ever. It is a very fine line.

As the planning began I was dealing with Eric and Gabriella. Both of whom were very great. Two months before my wedding I find out they both left. So of course I was super nervous and took a ride down there asap to speak with whomever would now be in charge.

Jessica was now in charge of my wedding and all other future venues. Jessica was great! She will listen to what you have to say because her goal is ultimately to make the client happy. If she makes any recommendations I suggest you really consider them.

Not only Jessica but the entire staff is very helpful and you will never feel rushed.

The Wedding Day...
All the staff was friendly, well kept and clean.
Their uniforms were ironed and clean.
The cocktail hour food was amazing. Your guests will rave.
The main course: Phenomenal (ask about the duets)
Dessert Cafe was all inclusive and great.
Good coffee and cappuccino.

The Mansion likes to host a European Style Wedding.
This style is different than the traditional style wedding. The way a European Style works is that..

1st Cocktail Hour
2nd Sit Down Dinner
3rd Dancing and Party
4th Dessert cafe

This style is great! During the sit down dinner it allows time for the bride and groom to go table to table and thank everyone. SO during the dancing portion you can hang out with everyone dancing and actually enjoy your wedding. The sit down dinner really is nice and something different. Best part is you will also have time to eat! People really wont leave after dinner. It was one of my fears too. Also make sure you communicate with the DJ because your guests need to be made aware that dancing will than follow the dinner and it will be in a separate room in the mansion. You will be able to utilize every room for whichever portion of the evening you will like.








Wedding: 11/29/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jessica 2 as great and did an amazing girl job for us from start to finish. The food was amazing and we used there recommended florist Bella flowers who did a amazing job. We felt as if we were in a dream the whole evening. I am sad the night is over what but what an experience.
Wedding: 11/17/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the moment we got engaged and planned on having our wedding on Long Island, I knew I wanted it to be a little "different". I didn't just want the standard catering hall or country club wedding. I wanted it to be in a mansion and I wanted it to be unlike any other. When I researched mansions on Long Island I found de Seversky and the instant I saw the pictures online, I knew this was the one. Visiting the mansion and meeting with the friendly staff only confirmed my feelings and we booked on the spot.

On the day of our wedding, as is customary, not everything went according to plan but the staff at de Seversky always kept our nerves at bay and ensured the day was special. We chose the European–style wedding (there are three options to choose from) and our guests were amazed by the abundance of food and access to the mansion. We truly felt that the mansion was ours for the night and the staff treated us like royalty.

The food was plentiful and unbelievably delicious. There was so much to choose from, our guests could not have wanted for anything and many didn’t save room for dinner!

The service is what really places de Seversky above the rest. Jessica and Alyson plan events at de Seversky every day for numerous people but you wouldn’t know that from the way they treat you. Each interaction is greeted with enthusiasm and excitement and every question is promptly responded to. Damian goes above and beyond for each couple he works with. We accidentally left our card box at the venue and he drove it to our hotel on his way home that evening! All the staff at de Seversky did a wonderful job and I truly cannot wait to plan another event there. I highly recommend this venue to anyone planning a wedding in Long Island; you won’t regret it for a second.
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ashley 2 Reviews
NYIT was the perfect place to have my wedding, everything was flawless. The staff was so incredibly helpful, Damien and everyone we worked with made what could have been a hectic night, almost relaxing. De seversky truly felt like my home for that night. The food was fantastic and our guests had a blast. Wish I could relive this night over and over. Best wedding ever!
Love Ashley and Chris
Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
my daughter's wedding was fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. Everyone was great to work with. Our guests haven't stopped talking about it. They did a great job. I would definitely recommend it. Even if you decide not to use them, go see it and talk to them. The food was great too.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristen 4 Reviews
The venue is gorgeous, the food is amazing (guest continue to rave about it), and the staff goes over and above the call of duty (shout out to Gabrielle). So very accomodating and it was exactly what we were looking for. It is definitely the venue that rises from the bunch of cookie-cutter halls that have littered Long Island. De Seversky Mansion was the perfect backdrop for our ceremony and reception. We highly, highly recommend it to any couple in the midst of their venue search.
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Cannot say enough good things about the de Seversky mansion. Leading up to the wedding, Gabby was there every step of the way to answer any questions and address any concerns we had. On the day of the wedding, our maitre d' was very very attentive and helpful, and went out of his way to make sure that everything went smoothly.
While we were wary of doing a "European Style" wedding, it was actually a much more sensible set up than the typical eat-while-dancing-and-speeches. Everyone got to sit down and have a nice, civilized dinner, followed by dancing or, for the more reserved guests, sitting in one of the mansion's many rooms and chatting while enjoying drinks and dessert.
In short, the food was amazing, the venue is beautiful, and the staff was attentive and friendly.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
NYIT de Seversky is a special venue, not your typical "wedding factory". The Mansion is yours alone for your special day. From the moment you arrive on the shaded grounds and drive up the circular driveway, you know that this venue is unique. Think "Great Gatsby" atmosphere. The Mansion has been meticulously maintained and restored to its historical grandeur. Our daughter knew immediately that this was the perfect venue for her wedding. It is one of a kind.
The Mansion provides the option of an outdoor ceremony on the stone and brick patio that looks out over the back lawn to a small lake. A large linden tree shaded the guests and the scenery was stunning. We chose the European Style reception. The food at the cocktail hour, served both inside and outdoors, was plentiful and delicious. Our guests enjoyed the lobster, lamb chops, sushi, grill stations and passed appetizers immensely. The sit down dinner in the Dining Room and Garden Room was equally delicious, although we felt the separation of the two rooms was a bit awkward for Toasts. Dancing followed in the Ballroom, and we had a Photo Booth in the Reception Bar area. The Dessert Cafe opened in the Library at 10PM, another dazzling display of sweets, cakes, ice cream and waffles. An overwhelmingly delicious night of food!
As wonderful and special as the Mansion is, its true asset is the Staff. Gabrielle worked with us for 18 months to finalize all the many details for this special day. She answered every email promptly, efficiently and pleasantly. On site, Jessica and Damian anticipated our every need before we had to ask, and always had smiles on their faces. The entire onsite staff was helpful and fun to be around. The reason that de Seversky's events flow so seamlessly is because the Staff are all consummate professionals.
My only regret is that it's over. I would love to go back and do it all again, or better yet, be a guest at another de Seversky event!
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our guests and photographers couldn't stop saying Wow! From the food, to the service, to how gorgeous the mansion is, the De Seversky mansion definitely has the Wow factor. We had our ceremony outside, and no joke, it looked like art. The guests were beyond delighted with the food at cocktail hour. The ballroom is magnificent at night with the dark panel walls and red curtains. It was our photographer's first time at the mansion, and he couldn't help himself. My married friends want to renew their vows there and my single friends want to get married there. I am still getting emails with Wow!

A special Thank You to Gabrielle, who informatively and promptly answered all my many emails. Our guest count came up short, and Gabrielle worked tirelessly to give us options. After contracts are signed, it is impossible to find this level of service.

You will be Wowed during your first visit, and every visit after.
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you want a wedding straight out of the Great Gatsby era then deSeversky Mansion is the place to go. My daughter knew she wanted a Long Island Gold Coast mansion to hold her wedding and, believe me, we looked at them all. None can compare to the beauty and perfection of deSeversky's. Built for the DuPont family back in 1918, it's original majesty and elegance has been meticulously maintained. Not only is the mansion an architectural gem and the grounds eye-poppingly beautiful, the staff makes you feel like this gorgeous setting is your home for the day. Eric, the Events Coordinator, was so gracious and informative from the first moment we had our "love-at-first-sight" look at the mansion. There was no hard sell, only "tell us what you want and we will help fulfill your dreams." Gabrielle and Jessica, sales associates, were efficient, helpful and quick to answer all questions and emails. And Damien, the Maitre'd was one-of-a-kind, fulfilling our every wish even before we knew we wanted something. The food was amazing with the buffet style we requested served at food stations throughout the beautiful rooms of the mansion. It was the kind of event our guests will be talking about for years and the perfect wedding we will never forget.
Wedding: 06/02/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
a wonderful event...delicious food, attentive staff...the perfect day!
Wedding: 04/28/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lisa 2 Reviews
Gabrielle and De Seversky gave me the wedding of my dreams. They nailed every detail from the kind of beer we wanted to the type of cookies to what time every event would happen. We did the European style and our guests absolutely loved it. We did our speeches in the Dining Room and then spent the rest of the evening dancing and partying in the garden room. Seriously one of the best nights of my life. Gabrielle is a pleasure to work with...and the perfect person to have by your side to get through weddding stress.
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jamie-Lee 7 Reviews
NYIT de Seversky Mansion was amazing from the beautiful grounds to the professional staff. They made our day that much more enjoyable and special. Gabrielle and Damien were top notch and made the whole process very easy. The food was fantastic (some of our guests are still talking about the sushi bar and mashed potato bar)! If you want to wow your wedding guests and have a wedding at one of the best venues on Long Island, de Seversky is the place for you!!
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the first meeting at this venue, you know that you will receive professional service, every member of the staff is attentive and polite. My daughter's wedding was an elegant affair, and the guests raved about the food and atmosphere. I did not want to leave!
Wedding: 01/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 516-686-7675
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0