Nels Akerlund Photography
305 St. Louis Avenue
Rockford, IL 61104  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism
Packages: High Resolution Images
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (24)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nels and Anna Akerlund are simply the BEST wedding photographers, period. They are very professional, they know exactly what they are doing, and they operate flawlessly as a team on your big day. Their photography is fine art quality – I knew I wanted to hire them as soon as I saw their portfolio online, which is rare for me because as an Art Director I am extremely picky. I've seen wedding photographers half as talented charge thousands of dollars more for their services, so I was extremely happy with the value I got with the Akerlunds. They are also the nicest people and so easy to work with – we worked with them on our engagement shoot a year before the wedding and by the time we saw them again they felt like old friends. Bottom line – HIRE them if you can for your wedding (they book up really fast so you will need to contact them at least a year and a half early) – you won't regret it!!!
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Nels and Anna helped make our wedding the best day of our lives! They got along great with our wedding party and were able to capture every detail beautifully. They worked with our wedding planner flawlessly. We decided to add more hours so we could have pictures of us getting ready, and Nels and Anna were very flexible. I am glad we chose to get these amazing pictures, and I am even more glad that Nels and Anna were there on our big day!
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Photography
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Tala 2 Reviews
INCREDIBLE! Where to start... Professionalism and responsiveness... top notch! Anna was so on top of everything from planning, to answering emails, to making sure she had a feel of what we wanted in our photos. Everything moved so smoothly and their work speaks for itself. We love our pictures! And they were available to handle any questions or requests after our wedding even though they are constantly working jobs.

This was our splurge on the wedding as far as budgeting, but they are worth every penny!

Nels and Anna are a great team and have a true passion for their work. You won't regret choosing them for your wedding.
Wedding: 03/02/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Nels and Anna are amazing! They are the perfect team and were so organized! They are so fun and make such beautiful photos! They have photographed for National Geographic and the New York times. They are very creative and are awesome at what they do!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired Nels and Anna for our wedding, and we could not have been happier with them! They are incredibly talented photographers who are also very personable and easy-going. We felt so comfortable around them during our meetings and during our big day. I have only gotten a few of the pictures back so far, but what I have seen has been AMAZING. Nels and Anna also are fabulous at communicating by email, which I really appreciate. We will definitely be using their services again, and we highly recommend them to all!
Wedding: 07/14/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't say enough about Nels and Anna. They are fantastic people to work with. We had our engagement and wedding photos taken by them. They make the picture taking easy for people who don't even like it. They take phenomenal pictures! So happy we decided to do first look photos so we had more time to take pictures. I even provided a list of picture ideas I loved and they did a great job fitting them all in. I can't wait to see all the pictures.
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Photography
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were so excited when we found Nels & Anna! They are amazing photographers that use photoshop to clean not to create...which is exactly what we were looking for. I remember looking at the back of the camera after a couple of shots and was astounded by how perfectly everything was captures.

Finding an amazing photographer was top on our list and I think Nels and Anna went above and beyond our expectations. Thank you for capturing so many beautiful memories for us!
Wedding: 06/25/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This should be a 10 star rating scale!

There are NO words to describe to you what Anna and Nels mean to us but I'm going to try. I get teary-eyed just thinking about the impact they've had on us over the past two years. Anna and Nels are the most incredible people you'll ever meet and I'm not talking about their talent. Thank you (Nels and Anna) for touching our lives.

Now, lets talk photos. Phenomenal! Priceless! Mind-blowingly Gorgeous! The talent these two possess is like no other. I would in a heart beat book them again for any and every event I have for the rest of my life. This was by far the most fun I'd ever had with photographers. Not only were they fun, impressive, kind, organized and professional, they were apart of the day. And not just because they were there. They were an actual part of our wedding day. They knew their stuff. They knew where to be when. Who to tell to do what. They knew where to go on the property for the best shots. They knew what photo arrangements were going to mean the most to us and they got them. They even took photos we didn't know about that we didn't think of. It's incredibly nice and especially comforting as a bride to know that by having Nels and Anna on our side, you don't have one more thing to worry about. They have it covered.

Now crying, I urge all of you brides out there in the Chicago/Rockford area to do a few minutes of research. Visit their website, google them, do whatever you have to do. But after you're done, call them! Call them right away. This will be the day of your life you want then to capture, I can promise you that!

Thank you again Anna and Nels. We are forever grateful to know you, unbelievably honored to have worked with you, and sincerely touched to call you friends. T/C
Wedding: 06/11/2011
Services Used: Photography
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nels and Anna Akerlund are fabulous photojournalists! I was thrilled when they agreed to photograph my wedding day. They were extremely professional and extremely personable as well. I felt comfortable, which is important...they were photographing me during one of the most memorable days in my life...and they captured perfect moments in their film. Beautiful...

I highly recommend Nels Akerlund Photography. Nels Akerlund thinks outside of the box....which results in absolutely breathtaking photographs. Props...

~Kim and Derek
Wedding: 09/18/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We couldn't be more thrilled with our pictures! Nels and Anna were fantastic to work with throughout the whole process. They took the time to capture all of the little details of our wedding and really played such an important part in our special day. We have received numerous compliments on our photos and have had so many friends mention "just how great our photographers were"!! Thank you Nels & Anna!!!

-Sarah & Ian
Wedding: 09/11/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We wanted Nels to be our photographer as soon as we were engaged. They are amazing! They were part of the entire wedding. Anything we asked they would do. None of our ideas were turned down. Everyone at the wedding commented on how woonderful our photographers were and then when everyone saw the pictures they were even more amazed. We would recommend Nels to anyone and we already have. Our pictures are amazing and we are so happy with the final product. Thank you Anna and Nels for everything! You truly made our special day more special!
Wedding: 08/07/2010
Services Used: Photography
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I wish I could fully express how wonderful an experience it was to work with Nels and Anna. I found them through a Google search for wedding photographers in our area. Their pictures stood out in comparison to other photographers in our area. I loved how their pictures captured the emotions of the day and looked like works of art. When I met Nels and Anna in person, I knew they were the right people for the job. As our wedding day approached, they were extremely helpful in creating a detailed timeline for the day, helping me pick out places to take pictures after the ceremony, and brainstorming all of the important pictures that my husband and I wanted for our wedding day. They were easy to work with, professional, reliable, and always answered my questions in a timely manner. Above all, they were extremely organized and came with a plan. The pictures we received were beautiful. They were of the same quality and beauty of the wedding pictures posted on their wedding website. We have received many compliments on our pictures. Nels and Anna were one of my favorite wedding vendors to work with. If I could do it all over again, I would hire them again without hesitation.
Wedding: 07/31/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nels Akerlund Photography is wonderful. Nels and Anna are a great team, they work so well together, and we had so much fun working with them. They made sure to communicate about every detail in order to make they captured all of our wedding memories. We had a blast working with them and would highly recommend them to anyone!
Wedding: 07/10/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Anna and Nels were fantastic from start to finish. They made us feel so comfortabie both ahead of time and on the day of our wedding. They were excited about the day along with us and used their creative energy to produce absolutely stunning and unique images. We loved having them be a part of the journey and would highly recommend them.
Wedding: 06/12/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nels and Anna were great! They were fun to work with, super friendly and made me feel totally at ease, which I am so grateful for. The day was captured perfectly and I couldn't be happier with the pictures!
Wedding: 06/04/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We could not have asked for anything more with these two! They paid great amount of attention to everything, they caught every moment on camera, and they made us feel very comfortable! I would highly recommend them to everyone! NELS AND ANNA ARE A WONDERFUL DUO! Thank you very much!
Wedding: 05/15/2010
Services Used: Photography
 815-395-0101
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0