Millcreek Inn
Utah's finest weddings, receptions and banquets.
5802 East Millcreek Canyon Road
Salt Lake City, UT 84109  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (38)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.4/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.2/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.3/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Deborah 2 Reviews
The Millcreek Inn was the perfect venue for our August evening wedding. The food, service, setting, and kindness of the staff made it easy to plan and execute a beautiful wedding. Our guests raved about how wonderful it all was. I would highly recommend Millcreek Inn.
Wedding: 08/09/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We planned our wedding from Texas and booked Millcreek Inn based only on what we web (mostly gathered from their website and wedding wire). The few bad reviews of the place made us a little nervous booking it from so far, but we went for it anyway and are so glad we did.
Ali was fantastic to work with! She was attentive and responsive and so planning from a distance was really easy. Also, mad props to her for just being tireless. She practically runs that place herself and I'm just really impressed.
We decorated as we wanted, and to a much greater extent than, I think, any wedding before. We also brought in a quartet and a DJ, as well as a lot of our own electric equipment and it all worked great. The one thing we were (initially) disappointed by was the lack of wifi and cell reception. We had to depend on the landline there for communication (which is fine, just no text messaging :) and we really wanted to livestream the wedding to our friends and family overseas. It ended up being a great thing, though, because everyone there was fully present. We were taking videos and pictures, but no one was concerned with uploading and tagging and commenting, and it brought a really special feel to the evening.
All in all, the wedding was fantastic. It turned out even more beautifully than we planned. The servers were great, and the food was delicious! I'm not used to wedding food being noteworthy, but I got a lot of feedback about how great the meal was (we had the chicken w/ prosciutto) and how delicious the juice was. Thank you to Jose and the cook staff!
One final thing that sets Millcreek apart from other venues: we had it the entire day. We arrived at 7 to start decorating and didn't leave until after 11 PM. Loved the freedom to do what we wanted with it and not be constrained by time.
We loved everything and the guests had a marvelous time. I highly recommend Millcreek.
Wedding: 07/27/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Melise 2 Reviews
Millcreek Inn was the perfect venue. The staff there is great! Their food is amazing! The venue is absolutely beautiful. Anyone looking for an outdoor/mountain wedding, this is the perfect spot!
Wedding: 06/20/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can not speak highly enough of the Sason and his staff at Millcreek. He was attentive, helpful, gracious and wonderful to work with as well as his staff. I had booked Millcreek prior to doing my research and I had read some unpleasant reviews that made me apprehensive about my venue choice. I regret every doubt I had. The day started out very windy and ended up being absolutely beautiful and perfect. Thank you Sason and Millcreek staff for making my wedding day and absolute dream.
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
0.2 out of 5.0
0.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
What is a bride’s worst nightmare? Finding out 10 days before your event that there is an unexpected $3000 that must be paid to the venue-or you don’t have a wedding. That is what happened to me at Millcreek Inn. We picked the venue because it was exactly what we wanted: beautiful and in the canyon. We met with their wedding coordinator 3 months before the wedding to work on some final details. We wanted to do the ceremony and dinner for about 100, and then have 50 more people come for the reception later. For those guests, we would do a cake buffet through the baker which was a cheaper option than paying for dinner for all 150. If this was not a possibility then we would not have those extra guests. She thought it was a great idea, so I sent out the reception invites and ceremony/dinner invites. When it came time to pay the final bill less than 2 wks before the wedding, I was called by the coordinator and told that the owner had seen the bill and blew up. He said that we could NOT do what we had planned and that everyone who came to Millcreek Inn had to have a menu item provided by them. The cheapest option would be an extra $3000.00 for a dessert buffet. I thought surely if I explain to the owner that if this were a requirement (though nowhere in the contract did it say this), his employee guaranteed that I could do the cake buffet. I had already sent the invitations out. If she made an error, then he must pay for the actions of his employee , right? Wrong. We were told “You pay or you don’t have a wedding.” Just like that. It was 10 days before the wedding so we did not have a choice, we had to pay it. In order to afford the extra cost of a dessert buffet I never wanted, I had to compromise many aspects of the wedding, and I still was out over half the extra cost. The owner clearly was not concerned with doing the right thing, only what he could get away with. Millcreek only gave me heartache and stress, not the wonderful wedding day I had hoped for.
Millcreek Inn responded with the following comments:
Pegah,

First and foremost, we want to thank you for choosing Millcreek Inn for your Wedding. With that being said, there are a few things in your review we must address. Typically we choose not to respond to reviews given the fact that we feel everyone is entitled to their opinion, but there are many holes in your story that need to be filled.

Our event coordinator DID make a mistake in telling you that you could do a cake buffet for your additional guests. That is absolutely something we did and will continue to take responsibility for. What you have chose to leave out is that we made an arrangement with you after we discovered our error to keep your price THE EXACT SAME. You chose to fall through on our agreement leaving us no choice but to charge you for your additional guests. The total charge ended up being $2,200 NOT $3,000, we gave you a Significant Discount on your Buffet, and we also paid for 3 of your centerpieces from our in house florist to take additional cost off of your final bill basically making your additional "$3,000" a wash.

As for our event coordinator not being present at your wedding, that was a choice that was necessary for us to make. There were certain things said that made it an unsafe environment for her to be subjected to. We wanted your day to run as smoothly as possible and given the types of conversations the two of you held, it was in both parties best interest for our other event coordinator to fill in.

We wish you the best in your marriage.

Sincerely,

The Staff at Millcreek Inn
Wedding: 09/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
I was blown away by Millcreek Inn's beauty when I first saw the place - I knew I had to get married there. After reading some bad reviews online, I was a little hesitant to book them but after having my wedding this weekend, I can honestly say those reviews couldn't have been more wrong. I picked the most perfect place with awesome people working my wedding. Ali was our wedding coordinator - she addressed all my questions (which were alot) with promptness and she was very accommodating to all my needs on the actual wedding day. Overall, it is a pricey venue, but you do get what you pay for. EVERYONE at my wedding said they've never been to such a classy wedding and could not stop raving about the food. Highly recommend to future brides and anyone who wants a rustic, classy wedding in the mountains.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
0.2 out of 5.0
0.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
Millcreek Inn's grounds are pretty, but anyone who knows that Salt Lake City is surrounded by beauty and that the staff of Millcreek Inn can hardly take credit for Utah's natural wonders. What they could do or should, is know their job, get it right, be professional, courteous and available. None of these were the case for my wedding reception. After leaving our appetizers off and then trying to make amends by rushing our dinner, thus throwing off the pace of the whole night, she left, made no comment about leaving, just slipped off and let her terrible planning run the rest of the show--which it did. The wait staff began looking as if we'd crawled out from under rocks at around nine or so. They left us without silverware and forced guests to hunt them down to request anything. The bride (that would be me) was serving cake on plates and in cartons requested from the staff and brought over grudgingly. I cut the cake and distributed it and helped guests take leftovers home. Did I mention that I was the bride? To top it off, a portion of the custom wedding topper was served to guests and somehow thrown out. I made a point of telling the wait staff to be cautious with it as it was very pricey and very sentimental. When the pieces went missing, the wait staff tried to blame the bakery or imply that the pieces had never been there. Every remark made in the more hidden negative reviews about the owner is correct. He does not think the customer is worthy of his communication or follow-through. It is a wonder that this business has not been run straight into the ground. It put a shadow on my event, don't let it do so to yours. You can great scenery and great food almost anywhere for this price and I'll bet you can find good service and gracious vendors to go along with it.
Wedding: 09/15/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
I was very hesitant to book Millcreek Inn for my wedding after meeting with the owner Sasan. He was a little weird. Seemed like he was always drunk (every time I saw him). And due to several bad reviews regarding the staff and the pricing. I decided to book Millcreek Inn for my wedding because it is the prettiest venue in the whole Salt Lake Valley. I must say, I could not have been more pleased with my wedding. Everything went perfect! From the coordination to the food to the staff. Everything was great. Ali (event coordinator) was great to work with. I must admit, the food was very expensive, but it was delicious. Their head chef did an amazing job. I would highly recommend this venue to any bride. My wedding was perfect thanks to Millcreek Inn. THANK YOU MILLCREEK!
Wedding: 08/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I recently had my ring ceremony and reception at Millcreek Inn. They did an amazing job and really made my day perfect. The staff was extremely helpful and made sure everything ran smoothly. They worked with my family and bridal party during set up so the flowers and decorations were beautiful. I highly recommend going with Millcreek. It was an amazing experience and everyone loved the location, dinner, etc.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 7 Reviews
We had our dream wedding at Millcreek Inn! All the staff were helpful and professional. Especially Ali and Rebecca who coordinate the majority of the event. They also gave a great list of recommendations for vendors such as: DJ, Cake, Transportation, florist, videographer, and photographer. The atmosphere is very romantic with lots of beautiful areas to take photographs. The sit down dinner and desert bar provide by Millcreek was delicious! We could not have asked for a better experience!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Becca did an amazing job, its like she pulled the ideas out of my head and made them reality
Wedding: 08/16/2013
Services Used: Flowers
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
I was so glad that I had my wedding reception at millcreek inn. The wedding planner and all the staff there were so wonderful. They did an amazing job of making every detail perfect. Thanks again for everything you did to make my day so wonderful.
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5

Private User 1 Reviews
I had my ring ceremony and wedding reception at Millcreek Inn. Overall, I would say my experience working with this venue and it's management was successful. The actual ceremony & reception were beautiful and I am glad I chose to have my reception at Millcreek. The DJ & photographer they recommended on their preferred vendor list was exceptional as promised. They catered to my special idea of doing a waffle bar, which was not on their standard menu and it turned out just as I had imagined- a huge success! People were raving about the waffles. I very much appreciated Millcreek doing this custom favor for me, however, I'm not sure they were convinced it would turn out (at least that's the impression I got and it felt like it was putting them out to do it). I was also a little surprised that on my wedding day, the owner was not at the venue. I met with him for the first consultation, and that was the only time we spoke. The office manager was good, but I felt the day of the wedding she was not as readily available. For example, the wind picked up while the wedding party was having their pictures taken. A large picture frame blew over and glass went everywhere on the walkway as you enter. I would have thought there would have been someone on the staff there to help pick up the glass. Instead, I found my parents doing it when they should have been taking photos. I also heard of a couple instances where the tables weren't being cleared regularly and the punch bowls were not being refilled. My father-in-law finally had to ask the staff to clean the tables and refill the punch bowls. This surprised me. I also never got my cake vendor's acrylic plate back that my wedding cake was sitting on. After the wedding, we went to pick it up and were told that it was not there. That seemed strange. Other than these few complaints- I was very happy with how my wedding turned out. It's for these few reasons that I did not give a full 5.0 rating.

Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I was so excited to have my wedding at Millcreek Inn beacuse I have spent so much of my life playing in Millcreek Canyon. I read some negative reviews about the staff at Millcreek Inn and I just have to say that my expereince could not have been more positive. Not only do I think that the staff was responsive and helpful but I would go as far as saying that the service was some of the best I have seen and I work in the (restaraunt) service business. I am so thankful that I was able to have my wedding here and I hope that brides looking for a venue in Salt Lake City look to my review for answers about Millcreek Inn. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for everything!!!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Spectacular atmosphere, beautiful rustic decor, delicious menu and incredible staff. Could not have asked for a more perfect venue!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The reason I choose this venue is because the location and venue was beautiful! It is situated in the forest, and provides a secluded, private feeling for the small wedding that we had. I also likes that they had an on-site florist, caterer, and wedding planner, so it felt like a "one-stop-shop". The caterer was fantastic! The food tasted great (we had the slider buffet) and they were very flexible with the time we wanted the food served. The 'planner' aspect of this place, however sucks! At first I was talking with one planner, whos name was Ciera, who was great at responding to phone calls and e-mails. Then, three months in, all communication just stopped. Come to find out, she no longer worked there, and nobody had informed me of the change. A few weeks later I started talking to the new planner, who was very kind and comforting and was knowledgeable about wedding planning. I met with her a few weeks before the wedding to go over final details, and I left very happy with what we had planned. However, the day of the wedding, yet another planner, I cant ever remember her name, came in to greet me. I had never seen or talked to her before, and she had no idea how I wanted the day to go! I still don't know what happened to planner # 2! The wedding itself went smoothly, but then the reception came. It was great for the most part, but the "planner/coordinator" who was supposed to be there was nowhere to be found! We had to go FIND HER to let her know when we wanted to cut the cake (cuz we didn't know how to cut the cake), and when we wanted to move on to the next activity. Then (this is the main part that im angry at) when my groom and I wanted to leave, we were informed that she had already LEFT without telling us! So, we were left with the task of making sure all of our things were picked up and all the gifts were in appropriate cars. So my advice is to hire your own planner! You will be grateful you did!
Wedding: 05/24/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 801-278-7927
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0