Merri-Makers Catering
Eat, Drink and Be Merri
97 Sunfield Avenue
Edison, NJ 08837  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres -...
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (35)   FAQ   Map    
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.4/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.3/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.5/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing people. Once we got close to the date and meet with the maître d', any worries I had were taken away. Food was great
Wedding: 06/22/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 11 Reviews
Merri-Makers food was outstanding and I am a big foodie! I was so happy with the outcome of the food, the presentation was so beautiful, and the options are endless.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot begin to express how grateful we are to have had the Merrimakers & WOD team by our side during this wonderful, but at some points stressful time. I cannot tell you that your wedding won't be costly, if you choose a WOD venue...but I can absolutely tell you that you will remember it for the rest of your lives, and it will certainly be the best night of your life! Merrimakers has an unmatched professionalism about them, that I do not believe is available anywhere else. We worked with Laura D., Mary, Jamie, Kevin, and Kevin, Kate (my bridal attendant, whom I will be grateful for her presence that night for the rest of my life LOL), and Ginny for WOD, and I really cannot express into words how instrumental each and everyone of these people were in making our night BEAUTIFUL. I cannot say one off color thing about this team...I promise you WOD venues are worth the price. The food was exceptional, our ballroom was setup exactly to my specifications, and the staff that worked our wedding were among the nicest people I have ever met. I know for a fact, that people will discuss our wedding for years to come...can't say enough great things. The only thing that upsets me is that I can't do it again 100 times over. We love WOD and Merrimakers!
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Michelle 4 Reviews
The food was delicious, the price was reasonable, and the maitre d' and waitstaff went out of their way to make sure our wedding day went perfectly.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Merri-Makers did such an amazing job! I have received so many compliments on the food. Several saying it was the best they had ever had at a wedding!!!
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

jennifer 10 Reviews
Merri-Makers catered our wedding at The Ashford Estate in Allentown, NJ. The food was delicious, the staff was very professional and the service was perfect. The cocktail hour appetizers were the perfect start to the evening. They offered a large selection of reception meals for us to choose from. The food was served at the perfect temperature and the sides were arranged very elegantly. Our guests are still talking about the passed desserts and fondue table. We would not have changed a thing about our food.
Merri-Makers Catering responded with the following comments:
Jennifer,

We are thrilled to hear that your big day was a success! And we are so happy that we were able to give you everything that you wanted. We wish you the best of luck in life and look forward to doing business in the future. Remember, Eat, Drink and Be Merri!
-Merri-Makers Catering
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Laura and Ellie were out of this world! Laura was very gracious through our entire menu planning process (which means we changed it 3000000 times). The night of our wedding, we had everything we asked for and so much more. Everyone raved about the food and exceptional service all night long!
Merri-Makers Catering responded with the following comments:
Alison,
Thank you so much for your gracious review! We were happy to make your night one to remember. We look forward to doing business again in the future! Remember, Eat, Drink and Be Merri!
-MerriMakers Catering
Wedding: 12/31/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 3 Reviews
When we first saw the Ashford Estate we knew it was the perfect venue for our Wedding, the only downside we could see was that we had to use a caterer and that they did not have an actual kitchen and staff on-site. We were very weary but than we met with Laura and all of our questions were answered and she made us completely comfortable. Merri Makers Catering is such a professional company, the food was FANTASTIC! All of our guests complimented the cocktail hour and the dinner. We were very pleased with all the coordination and details that were handled by Merri Makers. If you are looking for a great caterer, Merri Makers is the perfect choice.
Merri-Makers Catering responded with the following comments:
Jennifer,
We appreciate your wonderful review and were thrilled to make your special day perfect. Remember, Eat, Drink and Be Merri!
-Merri-Makers Catering
Wedding: 12/01/2012
Services Used: Catering
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Deadbeat business. They cannot return a refund for a wedding at their location in Sea Bright after the location was demolished by Tropical Storm Sandy. I am very sorry for their loss but I suffered my own losses without postponing payment of any debt. The losses of Merri-Makers should not be made to be my problem. It has now been almost 60 days.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
AMAZING! The food and service were absolutely PERFECT. They are extremely easy to work with and very accomodating. They ensure that they're with you throughout the wedding planning process and work very hard to make sure that you have everything that you request for the big day. All of our guests could not stop raving about the cocktail hour - the stations and food presentations were absolute works of art. The steaks they served as entrees (we ordered filet mignons) were the best steaks we've had at a wedding -- and we've been to plenty of weddings within the last year and a half! Overall, we are VERY pleased with our caterer selection. Everything went so smoothly - Merri-Makers makes sure that you are satisfied with every choice that you make... they helped make our dream wedding a reality!
Merri-Makers Catering responded with the following comments:
Anna,
Thank you for the wonderful review, we enjoyed making your day special! We hope to see you again soon for your next special event. Remember, Eat, Drink and Be Merri!
-Merri-Makers Catering
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Catering
0.5 out of 5.0
0.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  0.5
  • Flexibility:  0.5
Extremely accomodating- excellent staff, great food and remarkable service. Not your typical looking wedding venue. If you are looking for something with a spectacular view, no other place in NJ can top this. Truly is a hidden jem. My fiancé and I wanted to have our wedding somewhere none of our family and friends had ever been to. Merri Makers truly exceeded our expectations. If you are looking for a venue with originality, this is your place.
Merri-Makers Catering responded with the following comments:
Oops, we hope you meant for those .5 to be 5's! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your event and were happy to accomodate all of your needs. We look forward to helping out in any future events you may have. Remember, Eat, Drink and Be Merri!
Wedding: 07/21/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Merri Makers is definitely the caterer to use. The food was incredible which of course is first and foremost. Laura, who was my contact person was super nice, attentive and wasy to work with. Everything was flawless and if it wasn't I no one ever knew. A very nice perk that they do is that the bride and groom get any meal of thier choice...and I mean anything....so that was really fun and of course yummy....
Merri-Makers Catering responded with the following comments:
Stephanie,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your special day! We were happy to accomodate you and your guests. We hope to help out with any future events you may have. Remember, Eat, Drink and Be Merri!
-Merri-Makers Catering
Wedding: 05/20/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Merrimakers wasn’t supposed to be one of my favorite vendors. Our venue uses Merrimakers Catering exclusively, so this was the only vendor that we did not actively select. And things got off to a rocky start- we didn't fall in love with the sample food at our group tasting and called Laura to ask her how to proceed. She suggested we design our own menu and then come up to Edison, NJ and try the proposed hors d’oeuvres and 3-course dinner. We did just that, even providing a few family recipes, and were thrilled with the results. Merrimakers was flexible, even allowing us to change from duck to chicken a few weeks before the big day to accommodate someone in the wedding party with a new dietary restriction. The salad was perfect- and I loved that they served the dressing in a small glass so that no one had wilted lettuce or needed to wait for the wait staff to bring them extra dressing- perfect! The golden roasted capon was moist and delicious and the Madeira wine sauce, mushrooms and asparagus/ truffle cake were so good that I wish I had leftovers the next day! Broccolini was crisp and flavorful, cheese plate was supposedly wonderful- although I was too busy dancing to eat mine- and the crème fraiche that accompanied the cake was dense and sour, just like in Paris! The only tiny piece of constructive criticism I have is that timing was a little bit off. I know that the wait staff was being polite by not putting dinner down during speeches- but I had planned it that way so that there would be no down time when speeches were over. We ended up running about an hour behind- luckily the photographer was kind enough to stay for cake cutting. All in all, I would hire Merrimakers again to cater my wedding- the food was FABULOUS.
Merri-Makers Catering responded with the following comments:
Sommer,
We are so happy that we could address your concerns and accomodate your needs! We were thrilled to make your day as perfect as it could be. We look forward to future events you may have. Remember, Eat, Drink and Be Merri!
-Merri-Makers Catering
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
Merri-makers provided wonderful food during cocktail hour that everyone raved about. They also provided us tastings prior to the event so we had some ideas of what the food would taste like. I will say that the quality does vary from chef to chef so make sure you go to the tastings. They try to be responsive but take a few days to get back to you. Once they get back to you they work with you but to tend to up-charge a lot for changes even though they tell you to forget their pre-made menu and they'll do whatever you want. All and all for a wedding caterer, they are excellent and one of their special things is they make the bride and groom whatever they want to eat for their special day. I would recommend merri-makers to others, but depending on which chef they got.
Wedding: 11/26/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Laura and Mary are an amazing team and literally gave me everything I asked for. They were very organized, which I appreciated and really listened to what I wanted. They also had great recommendations about what works well, but were never pushy or impatient with us despite constantly changing our menu. I wanted a few items that weren't on their menu and they were more than happy to accommodate us including filling 150 cannollis from a bakery in my hometown. Their food is amazing and they have such a great variety to choose from, but also are very flexible with changes you want to make.
Merri-Makers Catering responded with the following comments:
Melanie and James,
We were so happy to accomodate all of your needs to make your day as special as possible! So thrilled to hear that everything turned out perfectly. We look forward to doing business in the future! Remember, Eat, Drink and Be Merri!
Wedding: 07/23/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The location is incredibly beautiful, and everyone who was working the night of our wedding was very nice, friendly, and professional. Everything went perfectly. We had no stress at all dealing with them.
Wedding: 04/30/2011
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 732-225-0009
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0