McGrath Clambakes, Inc.
Authentic New England Clambakes and Catering Since 1969
    66 Reviews
Newport, RI 02840  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 2000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (66)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Shawn 2 Reviews
Mcgrath's catered both our rehearsal & wedding nights. Allie , TR, and the rest of their team were just amazing. My Husband and I were across the country planning and everyone at Mcgrath's made the process so easy. From the phone calls, finally our face to face meetings, the set up , to the food and service. All of our guests came up to us saying the food on both nights was the best food they have ever been served at a wedding and said the staff was fantastic. They were much than just a caterer helping with small touches such as putting our homemade napkin ring holders on the napkins, setting up special tables for our ceremony, to helping coordinate the entrance of the wedding party. We can never thank them enough for helping make our weekend something we will never forget.
Wedding: 08/24/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Melissa and team were wonderful to work with! We felt happy providing a great traditional New England meal for our visitors from far away.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Thank you seems completely inadequate but my husband and I are just so grateful to McGrath Clambakes, specifically Kerry Sullivan, the bartenders, servers, and cooks at McGraths. My husband remarked that he wishes the food was not as good because people kept coming up to tell him just how much they enjoyed the meal! We are just so happy that McGraths were our caterer and, Kerry Sullivan's organization, professionalism, and attention to details was absolutely incredible.

From the very beginning, Kerry answered my endless streams of questions quickly, with excellent suggestions, guidance and wisdom. As we neared the big day, Kerry took care of every detail and was an excellent liaison with all our vendors (coordinator, DJ, venue, and Newport Tents). I knew that we were in excellent hands! On the day of out reception, everything was flawless. The food was extraordinary, the execution perfect, and everyone was just so nice! McGraths even received compliments on the tap Guinness from the our Irish guests! (They have high standards for Guinness)

Thank you. I'm going to search for reasons to throw a party in order to eat the McGrath's food again. What a wonderful day and Kerry's wisdom was essential in the final execution.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Samantha 1 Reviews
Thank you so much for catering our wedding! Working with your company was a joy.

The entire planning process went smoothly and was very enjoyable. It was difficult for us to pick the menu because all of the food options were so delicious. You and your staff were always readily available to answer our questions and concerns.

We had an outdoor wedding at my moms house with about 60 guests. The day before the event the crew came and started setup. They were quick and efficient and it really helped to make the day of run smoothly. The day of TR and his staff arrived on time and ready to go.

The food and service was impeccable and we along with all of our guests were beyond impressed. We are so grateful and appreciative to you for going the extra mile to create a menu and atmosphere that reflected our personalities. Thank you again to you and your staff, you all really helped to make the day perfect!
Wedding: 08/08/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristen 1 Reviews
My daughter's wedding was perfect!! McGrath's was amazing from the minute I contacted them until the event was over. Every aspect of our event was truly exceptional. The service was friendly and attentive, the food was just delicious. Guests continue to comment on how wonderful the meal was. I know McGrath is famous for their clambakes, but that is not all they do. Our menu consisted of Steak or Chicken and it was incredible! The appetizers were delicious and the presentation was impeccable. Our event coordinator Kerry really made the whole process easy. She was attentive, accommodating and detail oriented. The day of the wedding she took the stress away which enabled me to really enjoy the special day. TR prepared the incredible meal and personally checked to make sure everyone was happy. The whole experience exceeded my expectations. It was perfect!
Wedding: 08/08/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Janie 1 Reviews
We felt the food was very good. The staff was very helpful. All our guests who have been to many events raved about the food. We would highly recommend them!
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Allie was beyond helpful, anything we asked she did or pointed us in the right right direction to get it done. Can't say enough of good things about her and the McGrath staff!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Michelle 1 Reviews
I cannot say enough good things about McGrath! Everyone raved about the food, it was definitely the star of the show! I loved all the attention to detail and quality of service- particularly the signature drink, it came out fabulous! I must give a very special recognition thank you to Kerry, the senior event coordinator, for always being available and for being so incredibly accommodating. I must have sent at least a hundred emails to Kerry and she was always prompt to respond and completely wonderful to work with. She really made planning easy!! I appreciate that she was really committed to making my day perfect from the first email to the last table put away. Thank you to everyone at McGrath!
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jean 3 Reviews
With the guidance of Kerry Sullivan & TR, I was able to organize a wedding that guests have described as the best wedding they have ever been to!

Kerry & TR have a personable manner and great depth of knowledge, they made the planning process easy. They and their staff are professional, friendly and attentive to detail.... resulting in a beautifully presented and orchestrated event. Kerry saw to the flow of the day & TR saw that our food was amazing! They effortlessly provided for all my guests even those with food allergies.

My guests are still talking about the fabulous food. Cocktail hour was a hit with a delicious chowder station and beautifully presented passed appetizers. The grilled lobster tails and fillets were cooked to perfection & beautifully served with delicious sides. Even the wedding cake was presented beautifully with fresh whipped cream and assorted berries.

I commend all at McGraths and I thank you for a memorable day!
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lisa 1 Reviews
Greetings, I wouldn't regularly give a five out of five review but TR McGrath and Allie of McGrath's Clambakes and their incredible staff and crew deserve every star and more! Can I give McGrath's a ten star review, please?! We celebrated my daughter's wedding under a tent in June and everything had to come to us which adds to the stress that any wedding already creates. From the moment we contacted McGrath's until one in the morning after the wedding when they stayed late to ensure that every detail had been attended to, they surpassed our expectations. TR even worked after hours Friday night before the wedding to redesign the tent lay-out to accommodate a last minute request on my part. Allie was incredibly patient and supportive as she worked with us to refine the menu (again and again!!) and order the linens and glassware and flatware. Their professionalism and good humor put us all at ease. And the food! Wow! One would expect that the clambake, their specialty, would be great. And it was amazing! An impressive, spectacular, unveiling of the bake entertained and delighted our guests. I can add that the passed appetizers, especially the corn meal crusted fried oysters, are still on my mind two months later! And, as I am allergic to lobster, I ordered the filet mignon. Best filet I ever had. And I have been lucky to have some nice steak house filets. The service was perfect. We had 180 guests and no one waited for their served dinners. The food was presented hot and beautifully plated. Guests were taking pictures of their plates! Our guests had a blast and raved about enjoying the food and the wonderful staff who come together from the Newport community with generosity of spirit and care to be sure that Jane and Kevin had a memorable and care free wedding. I cannot thank them enough. Jane and I wish we could do it all again next June! Bravo McGrath's, Bravo!!!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jane 1 Reviews
Throughout the entire process, McGrath Clambakes was outstanding. They were incredibly enjoyable to work with, responded quickly and helpfully to our questions, worked with us on every detail, and served an incredibly delicious meal. At out wedding, their staff was very friendly and at the ready to be of help in any way they could. We are so thrilled we chose McGrath Clambakes!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Pat 1 Reviews
Prior to my daughters wedding I had only spoken with Allie Casham event coordinator for McGrath Clambakes on the phone or via email . I would like to say that the service that was provided was second to none from the moment I called a year ago through the night if my daughters wedding. Great job Allie, and to the staff, what can I say you were all more than helpful. Anything that we needed you were right there. Onto the food, it was amazing , the seafood, the filets all were outstanding and again the staff was wonderful .

I have been too many events in my lifetime but have to say that this was wonderful and everyone is still talking about the wedding and our selection of caterers.

When my daughter first decided that she would like to get married on the beach in rhodeisland and that she would like a clambake/boil our dear friends referred us to McGraths and we can't thank them enough.

Pat Peterson
Wedding: 06/26/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
McGrath Clambakes did an amazing job for our June wedding. They built the clambake on the beach, rang a bell and gathered all guests to explain the process and show the food - they were friendly, fun and accommodating and did an amazing job. I would highly recommend them and I personally would use them again for another catering event.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Laura 2 Reviews
We used McGrath's Clambakes for my daughter's wedding and couldn't have been happier with both the food and the service. The Lobster Bake Buffet that McGrath's provided was fantastic! We received many compliments and felt it was sumptuous and delicious. Allie Cashman was easily available for every question we had, even on the weekends and was very responsive to our e-mails. Allie was very helpful seeing to every detail before and during the event. I highly recommend them for any event you're planning!!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We hired McGrath's to cater our daughter's wedding. The staff was great to work with. Kerry our coordinator was very helpful and made sure the whole evening ran perfectly. The food was fabulous and the service was excellent.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

David 1 Reviews
Dear TR:

As you probably could have guessed from Carol and my numerous meetings, emails and phone calls, this clambake was really important to us. Neither of us had ever been to one before and didn’t know quite what to expect. All we knew was what people had told us “…if you’re ever going to do a clambake, let McGrath’s do it.”

Well … words like thank you - it was perfect - it exceeded our expectations - don’t really convey our feelings. From the very beginning, working with you, Kerry, Allie and everyone else was a total pleasure. No concern of ours was ever too small. It was a joy throughout the entire process.

As for the clambake itself - it was beyond words. Everything was professional and seamless - and orchestrated to perfection. The lobsters were much larger than we thought, the brown bread was exceptional, the corn, the clams, the chowder were all fantastic. We heard dozens of times “…this is the best barbecue chicken we’ve ever had.” There was not a single thing that Carol or I would have done differently or even suggested you do differently. Every staff person was pleasant, personable, professional, and meticulous in every detail. As soon as a bucket for shells was half-filled, it was emptied; water glasses were constantly refilled; and the tables were set exactly as planned.

And Kerry was unbelievable! She was there the entire evening and made sure everything went off without a single concern. She conveyed total confidence throughout the evening and that made it so much more enjoyable for us. I don’t want to be too dramatic, but it was like watching a Broadway play where everything just clicked in perfect sequence.

So TR, we thank you and we thank all of your staff for such a wonderful evening. I will add that 80% of the guests were from Florida and probably had never heard of a “clambake” before - and they were truly blown away. They complimented us (and thus you) the entire weekend.

Thank you again.

David & Carol Bazarsky
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Catering
 401-847-7743
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0