McGrath Clambakes, Inc.
Authentic New England Clambakes and Catering Since 1969
    52 Reviews
Newport, RI 02840  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 2000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (52)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Pat 1 Reviews
Prior to my daughters wedding I had only spoken with Allie Casham event coordinator for McGrath Clambakes on the phone or via email . I would like to say that the service that was provided was second to none from the moment I called a year ago through the night if my daughters wedding. Great job Allie, and to the staff, what can I say you were all more than helpful. Anything that we needed you were right there. Onto the food, it was amazing , the seafood, the filets all were outstanding and again the staff was wonderful .

I have been too many events in my lifetime but have to say that this was wonderful and everyone is still talking about the wedding and our selection of caterers.

When my daughter first decided that she would like to get married on the beach in rhodeisland and that she would like a clambake/boil our dear friends referred us to McGraths and we can't thank them enough.

Pat Peterson
Wedding: 06/26/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Laura 2 Reviews
We used McGrath's Clambakes for my daughter's wedding and couldn't have been happier with both the food and the service. The Lobster Bake Buffet that McGrath's provided was fantastic! We received many compliments and felt it was sumptuous and delicious. Allie Cashman was easily available for every question we had, even on the weekends and was very responsive to our e-mails. Allie was very helpful seeing to every detail before and during the event. I highly recommend them for any event you're planning!!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We hired McGrath's to cater our daughter's wedding. The staff was great to work with. Kerry our coordinator was very helpful and made sure the whole evening ran perfectly. The food was fabulous and the service was excellent.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

David 1 Reviews
Dear TR:

As you probably could have guessed from Carol and my numerous meetings, emails and phone calls, this clambake was really important to us. Neither of us had ever been to one before and didn’t know quite what to expect. All we knew was what people had told us “…if you’re ever going to do a clambake, let McGrath’s do it.”

Well … words like thank you - it was perfect - it exceeded our expectations - don’t really convey our feelings. From the very beginning, working with you, Kerry, Allie and everyone else was a total pleasure. No concern of ours was ever too small. It was a joy throughout the entire process.

As for the clambake itself - it was beyond words. Everything was professional and seamless - and orchestrated to perfection. The lobsters were much larger than we thought, the brown bread was exceptional, the corn, the clams, the chowder were all fantastic. We heard dozens of times “…this is the best barbecue chicken we’ve ever had.” There was not a single thing that Carol or I would have done differently or even suggested you do differently. Every staff person was pleasant, personable, professional, and meticulous in every detail. As soon as a bucket for shells was half-filled, it was emptied; water glasses were constantly refilled; and the tables were set exactly as planned.

And Kerry was unbelievable! She was there the entire evening and made sure everything went off without a single concern. She conveyed total confidence throughout the evening and that made it so much more enjoyable for us. I don’t want to be too dramatic, but it was like watching a Broadway play where everything just clicked in perfect sequence.

So TR, we thank you and we thank all of your staff for such a wonderful evening. I will add that 80% of the guests were from Florida and probably had never heard of a “clambake” before - and they were truly blown away. They complimented us (and thus you) the entire weekend.

Thank you again.

David & Carol Bazarsky
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had a lobster bake at our wedding reception and we knew McGrath was the way to go! It was a pleasure working with their staff- Kerry, the events coordinator, was so professional, personable and helpful. The planning process was smooth- they were quick to respond to emails and update us on new menu items available. I was so greatful and pleasantly suprised to find out how much they were willing to help with the set up of table decor. From the time I arrived at the venue to get ready and saw how beautifully they had everything set up, I knew the day was going to run perfectly. The cocktail hour was wonderful with great food everyone enjoyed (especially the scallops and chowder station)! They made sure the bride and groom were well fed despite being off getting portraits taken. I also appreciated their flexibility, making sure the menu was just the way we wanted it and that our wine and beer options were suited to our taste. The reveal was so much fun and all our out of town guests loved seeing this for the first time (the steam also makes for some really great photos). All our guests are still talking about how good the food was and how much fun it was. Everything ran so smoothly at our wedding day and I credit this to McGrath Clambakes and the wonderful staff.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had the great pleasure of working with Allie at McGrath Clambakes for my wedding this May. The service they provided was outstanding - they were helpful in planning all aspects of the day, and everything ended up running very smoothly. The food itself was absolutely marvelous. All the guest raved about the appetizers (the bacon wrapped scallops and goat-cheese stuffed mushrooms were hits!) and the clambake itself was a blast. The food was amazing and watching the unveiling of the bake was a real treat. I received an incredible number of compliments on the food and presentations, and I cannot recommend McGrath highly enough.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kathleen 1 Reviews
McGrath's was the caterer for our son's wedding rehearsal dinner. Melissa & Allie were so helpful with responding to every detail of our event. The staff on site during the event were very friendly and true professionals. The food was fabulous. Every single detail of this event exceeded all expectations! It was truly a magical night and I would highly recommend them.

Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The staff at McGrath's were professional and everything flowed smoothly on our wedding day. We had the mixed grill buffet and it was amazing. The lobster tails and filet were top notch! Allie, the coordinator made planning our wedding easy and worry-free. T.R. and the rest of the staff were so kind and attentive to us as well as our guests. I am so pleased that we chose McGrath's to cater our special day. The set up and take down were flawless. If you are looking for a clambake, look no further!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Colleen 6 Reviews
My family, friends and I had such an awesome experience with McGrath's! Kerry and Melissa were awesome. Kerry was always there to help me with any question I had and she was always quick to respond to emails or phone calls. Melissa was so helpful and nice the day of our wedding. We ordered the filet and lobster tail and it was amazing! Everyone keeps talking about how great the food and venue was and I can't wait to use McGrath's again in the future!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Laura 1 Reviews
McGrath Clambakes were the utmost professionals! My wedding was performed flawlessly by their very professional crew. McGrath had to meet with the owner of he house who was very meticulous about his property. They made the owner feel very comfortable about the event and they emphasized how much they would respect his home. During the wedding, the food was on time, hot, and served very professionally. I barely knew the staff was there as they were quiet, professional and accommodating. I had everything I needed as the bride including a fresh glass of wine in my hand at all times! I even through a few curve balls at them late in the game and you would have never known I did. I can't say enough about McGrath and their level of service! Allie Cashman was so very pleasant as the coordinator. She kept me informed of anything that was going on during the night but never made me feel as if I had to worry about anything. The next day, you would have never known there was a clambake at the property. Everything was cleaned to perfection. Have no doubts about using McGrath!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ronald 1 Reviews
No complaints at all. The food was amazing and the services was great! They paid special attention to detail and provided an amazing experience.
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Kerry and the whole McGraths team is amazing! Super helpful in the planning stages and extremely professional throughout the event.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Allie was a pleasure to work with. I would recommend McGrath clambakes to everyone who asks.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
McGrath Clambakes Inc. was the catering company of my dreams!!! Seriously....

In one sentence: The food and service were top notch.

Our guests raved about the meal all night ("This is the best meal I have ever had at a wedding!")and the staff were beyond attentive and friendly.

As a bride that did all of the planning on my own, I really appreciated having Allie and Kerry to help guide the process and coordinate everything from the floor plan to the timing of the first dance (and everything in between) on the day of the wedding.

McGrath Clambakes helped us throw the best party of our lives. Be sure to hire them for your special event.

Justine & Tyler King
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristin 1 Reviews
On Sat Sept 28th 2013 my husband and i were married at Fort Adams in Newport RI. We chose to have our reception be a traditional New England Clam Bake. Kerry and the entire McGraths team were phenomenal!!! From the moment we started this process Kerry helped us every step of the way. She was an absolute professional who helped us with everything from seating charts to decor, to the amazing food that was prepared for our special day. She kept us calm and organized, And the end result was absolute perfection. I have never heard so many compliments about how amazing the food was at a wedding. From the appetizers to the reveal of the bake and the food that came with it, it was all so good. We actually dream about the lobster and talk about it on a frequent basis, lobster will actually never be the same to us again!!! We had our dream wedding planned and McGrath's gave us just that! We can not thank them enough for all the hard work and dedication that they put into our wedding. If you ever have the opportunity to be at one of their events, don't walk RUN to join in on the festivities:) We highly recommend working with this team for a wedding, rehearsal or really any special event!!! You will not be disappointed!!!
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 1 Reviews
Great food, great staff. Guests said it was the best wedding food they ever have. Allie was great to work with - very attentive, she took care of everything! We would highly recommend McGrath!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Catering
 401-847-7743
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0