Manhattan Penthouse & Alger House
Serving NYC for 40 Years!
    83 Reviews
80 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10011
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 225
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (83)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding on a recent Sunday at Alger House. We had the pleasure of working with Monika who was incredibly on top of everything. I had communicated so many minute details with her leading up to the wedding date, and she remembered everything. She was always quick to respond to my correspondences.
The space was everything I dreamed of for our wedding. It was charming on its own but with great possibilities to add personal touches. Because we wanted our event to be an intimate event, we had about 70 guests and it was perfect. We chose to hold a daytime affair which was perfect to show off the beautiful stained glass windows and skylight. Our florist decorated a few arrangements to make it perfect. The space upstairs is also amazing - with an indoor garden, skylight, and a beautiful antique bathroom where we did most of our fun photo shoot.
We received many compliments on the food. Everything was delicious and the portions were quite big. The staff was incredibly friendly and attentive all through the day. They were on top of Bride and Groom's needs, always asking for what we needed. They provided a special plate of hors d'oeurves for us upstairs during our photo shoot, well aware that once we went down to join the party, we weren't going to be able to eat during the cocktail hour.
Because they only book one event a day, we had the flexibility of getting in to the space 3 hours earlier in the morning and packing up afterwards with no pressure.
Thank you, Alger House, for such a memorable wedding! We feel so lucky to have had our wedding there!
Wedding: 09/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Joe 5 Reviews
My husband and I could not have asked for a more perfect night on our wedding! Jeno & Manhattan Penthouse crews were absolutely wonderful to work with and they went way above and beyond to ensure that our wedding was pure decadence. From the food, the service and the view are excellent! We definetely highly recommend Manhattan Penthouse to anyone who is interested in having an absolutely magical wedding experience!
Wedding: 08/29/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
From the "Mother of the Bride"
I have never posted a review online, but I have been moved to do so to compliment The Manhattan Penthouse staff and especially Monika. If you are considering an event here I think you should know that the professionalism of the staff, the care, service, attention to details,delicious food and the beauty of the room met and exceeded our expectations. Monika was attentive in all ways during our planning of the wedding and, when asked, offered suggestions that we happily took and our event went off beautifully. Our guests are still raving about the venue weeks later. Thank you to the Manhattan Penthouse and staff for making our daughter's wedding such a pleasant and special evening!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jeno Steiner the Catering Executive at the Alger House provided excellent assistance as our contact and planner for my daughter's wedding reception. The setting was beautiful and elegant, the food delicious and the menu varied so that it accommodated guests with gluten free and/or vegetarian requests. The event went smoothly and the bride and groom and both families and guests were delighted with how the entire evening unfolded. Jeno was responsive to all our questions and contributed his professional and welcoming presence to a most elegant reception.
Wedding: 05/04/2014
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding at the Alger House 3 weeks ago and were delighted with the whole experience. Jeno, our catering manager, is hands down the most responsive vendor we encountered with throughout our year-long planning process. Jeno's advice was always helpful and to-the-point, and on the day of the wedding he helped make sure everything ran smoothly-- from the processional, to the flipping of the space, to the champagne toast and beyond.

The space and quality of the food are a great value for the money, maybe even the best in the city for couples who are looking for more of an an all-inclusive venue for an intimate event. We received so many compliments from our guests on how lovely the venue was, and we also heard rave reviews about the hors d'oeuvres and food stations we chose! (We never doubted that the food would be great, though-- prior to the wedding we attended a complimentary tasting at the Manhattan Penthouse and were blown away by everything we tried.) It is still hard to believe that we were able to have such an elegant event on our decidedly not-huge budget. Thank you to Jeno and everyone at the Alger House for helping to make our wedding a truly unforgettable evening!
Wedding: 04/25/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Manhattan Penthouse is beautiful venue with fantastic views of the Empire State Building and the Freedom Tower. The staff is experienced and professional and they worked well with all of our vendors. The food was great, we received many compliments on the menu that was served. Monika, the event coordinator and maitre d', was wonderful and was instrumental in making the day go smoothly. This is an excellent location to have a New York City wedding!
Wedding: 03/29/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Renee 2 Reviews
Amazing food, great service - we had the perfect wedding. Monica and her team went out of their way to ensure that our wedding party and guests were taken care of. Everyone of our 80 guests commented on how perfect the venue was. We had a great time
Wedding: 12/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Alger House was a dream venue for our October wedding reception --- lovely, classic, warmly intimate, tastefully decorated and the perfect size. The in-house catering did a wonderful job with great service and delicious food that many guests are still complimenting three months later.

The ultimate high point of our Alger House experience though was working with Monika and Jeno. LOVE LOVE LOVE. Monika is just an outright amazing human being! I adored her. And Jeno is so great --- he should have his own television show! Both were complete professionals who were super responsive from point A to Z. They were also incredibly patient with ALL of my questions and offered a ton of helpful insights and valuable suggestions to help with the planning. Monika and Jeno know this industry like the back of their hands and it shows. We are so, so happy that they and the beautiful Alger House will always be a part of our happy wedding day memories.
Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough positive things about our experience working with Monika and having our wedding at Manhattan Penthouse. My husband and I really wanted to find a unique venue that was very "New York" for our 105 person wedding, and we both knew that we had found the perfect place when we showed up to see Manhattan Penthouse.

Our wedding was this past Sunday, and the venue exceeded all of our expectations. Having our ceremony set right in front of the Empire State Building was truly a special experience, and there is really no comparison to the space when the sun sets and all you can see are city lights at every angle. Our guests raved about the food and service during cocktail hour and our menu during the reception, and everyone was raving about the space. I might be biased, but I think it was the best wedding I've been to!

My review could not be complete without a few more words about Monika - I was so impressed with her throughout the process. I don't know how she does it - I was probably her most annoying bride and was emailing her all the time, and she was always incredibly responsive. I don't think I ever had to wait longer than a few minutes for a response from her. She was incredibly patient and calming in helping us work out the details of the day - our menu, the schedule, and the little details we wanted to personalize the day. She doubles as catering director and wedding planner. On the day of - she helped set up our programs, table cards, assemble favors, corral our guests, coordinate our ceremony, and work with our DJ to ensure every detail of our day went off exactly as she wanted. She was there throughout the evening, pouring me champagne and making sure we were happy. You will not regret working with her or choosing MP as your venue!

Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jeno and Monika made my big day absolutely amazing at the Alger House. Thank you so much for the great organization, flexibility and guidance! You guys were the most professional team I've met.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding reception at Manhattan Penthouse and we can not say enough about it! Jeno worked with us throughout the whole planning process and stood by us throughout the whole night. He is amazing and I can not thank him enough for everything he did. He was so easy to reach and if I had any questions or concerns he was always there to help us along. The food was amazing and the views were spectacular! Manhattan Penthouse is a great venue especially if you have a wedding of about 140 people like we did. It fits more but it was so comfortable and spacious.
Wedding: 08/18/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We had our wedding at Alger House in August 2013, and cannot recommend the venue enough for a unique, elegant NYC wedding. The decor at Alger House is beautiful and one-of-a-kind, and has a real vintage look and feel. We loved that the venue was already decorated, so there was not much we had to worry about in terms of needing to bring in lots of flowers or other items. The food is delicious, with options for cocktail hour ranging from seared tuna and bacon-wrapped dates to sliders and french fries (which were a big surprise hit with our guests!).

We worked with Monika throughout the entire process; she was professional, responsive, flexible, and extremely helpful. Planning our wedding and the actual day-of went extremely smoothly thanks to all of Monika's efforts and the great team at Alger House. The ceremony and reception all took place in the same room, and the Alger House team was super efficient at flipping the space.

We had 90 guests who were all wow'ed by the venue, service, and decor. We could not have chosen a better location for our wedding and are so happy with how it turned out.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had such a wonderful experience with our July 2013 wedding at Alger House. We worked with Jeno for the past year leading up to our wedding, and could not have been in better hands. Jeno was EXTREMELY responsive to all our questions and emails - I honestly never had to wait more than a couple of hours to receive a response from him. In addition, the space is intimate and beautiful, with so many gorgeous decorations and details - and the Garden Room is a perfect space to get ready and take wedding pictures. This is a perfect venue for a wedding of about 85 guests...there's a lovely, close knit feel to the room, yet enough room to move around, dance and have fun.

On the day of the wedding, everything went seamlessly, and my husband and I could just sit back and enjoy our ceremony and reception, again, thanks to Jeno's meticulous planning and attention to detail. So many of our guests raved about the service and the food, too - we truly could not have asked for a better venue for our ceremony and reception!

Wedding: 07/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
I had both heard and read nothing but stellar reviews of the MHP since I first started searching for a wedding venue over a year ago. I wanted a space that included catering and an open bar, a great view of NYC and could accommodate up to 200 guests. At first, I thought this was impossible to find in Manhattan at an affordable price, but the MPH is THE space if you want the most for your money. Their caterers have been in business for 50 years and were willing to work with us to create the blend of Latin American and Mediterranean dishes we wanted. Furthermore, one of the managers we worked with, Jeno, answered all of my emails immediately, and was reliable, flexible and made us feel special even though he deals with 100's of clients at a time. You will not regret celebrating an event here- your wedding or any of life's other major milestones.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
I got married at Manhattan Penthouse last month, and I wouldn't change a thing. Monika was so helpful throughout the planning process, and answered every question and email quickly (and I asked and sent a LOT). She is so organized and professional and was just wonderful to work with. Everything went smoothly the day of, and all of the guests raved about the food. This is definitely one of the best values you'll find in Manhattan.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Great place to have your wedding
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 212-627-8838
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0