Manhattan Penthouse & Alger House
Serving NYC for 40 Years!
    76 Reviews
80 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10011
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 225
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (76)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Renee 2 Reviews
Amazing food, great service - we had the perfect wedding. Monica and her team went out of their way to ensure that our wedding party and guests were taken care of. Everyone of our 80 guests commented on how perfect the venue was. We had a great time
Wedding: 12/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough positive things about our experience working with Monika and having our wedding at Manhattan Penthouse. My husband and I really wanted to find a unique venue that was very "New York" for our 105 person wedding, and we both knew that we had found the perfect place when we showed up to see Manhattan Penthouse.

Our wedding was this past Sunday, and the venue exceeded all of our expectations. Having our ceremony set right in front of the Empire State Building was truly a special experience, and there is really no comparison to the space when the sun sets and all you can see are city lights at every angle. Our guests raved about the food and service during cocktail hour and our menu during the reception, and everyone was raving about the space. I might be biased, but I think it was the best wedding I've been to!

My review could not be complete without a few more words about Monika - I was so impressed with her throughout the process. I don't know how she does it - I was probably her most annoying bride and was emailing her all the time, and she was always incredibly responsive. I don't think I ever had to wait longer than a few minutes for a response from her. She was incredibly patient and calming in helping us work out the details of the day - our menu, the schedule, and the little details we wanted to personalize the day. She doubles as catering director and wedding planner. On the day of - she helped set up our programs, table cards, assemble favors, corral our guests, coordinate our ceremony, and work with our DJ to ensure every detail of our day went off exactly as she wanted. She was there throughout the evening, pouring me champagne and making sure we were happy. You will not regret working with her or choosing MP as your venue!

Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Alger House was a dream venue for our October wedding reception --- lovely, classic, warmly intimate, tastefully decorated and the perfect size. The in-house catering did a wonderful job with great service and delicious food that many guests are still complimenting three months later.

The ultimate high point of our Alger House experience though was working with Monika and Jeno. LOVE LOVE LOVE. Monika is just an outright amazing human being! I adored her. And Jeno is so great --- he should have his own television show! Both were complete professionals who were super responsive from point A to Z. They were also incredibly patient with ALL of my questions and offered a ton of helpful insights and valuable suggestions to help with the planning. Monika and Jeno know this industry like the back of their hands and it shows. We are so, so happy that they and the beautiful Alger House will always be a part of our happy wedding day memories.
Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jeno and Monika made my big day absolutely amazing at the Alger House. Thank you so much for the great organization, flexibility and guidance! You guys were the most professional team I've met.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding reception at Manhattan Penthouse and we can not say enough about it! Jeno worked with us throughout the whole planning process and stood by us throughout the whole night. He is amazing and I can not thank him enough for everything he did. He was so easy to reach and if I had any questions or concerns he was always there to help us along. The food was amazing and the views were spectacular! Manhattan Penthouse is a great venue especially if you have a wedding of about 140 people like we did. It fits more but it was so comfortable and spacious.
Wedding: 08/18/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We had our wedding at Alger House in August 2013, and cannot recommend the venue enough for a unique, elegant NYC wedding. The decor at Alger House is beautiful and one-of-a-kind, and has a real vintage look and feel. We loved that the venue was already decorated, so there was not much we had to worry about in terms of needing to bring in lots of flowers or other items. The food is delicious, with options for cocktail hour ranging from seared tuna and bacon-wrapped dates to sliders and french fries (which were a big surprise hit with our guests!).

We worked with Monika throughout the entire process; she was professional, responsive, flexible, and extremely helpful. Planning our wedding and the actual day-of went extremely smoothly thanks to all of Monika's efforts and the great team at Alger House. The ceremony and reception all took place in the same room, and the Alger House team was super efficient at flipping the space.

We had 90 guests who were all wow'ed by the venue, service, and decor. We could not have chosen a better location for our wedding and are so happy with how it turned out.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had such a wonderful experience with our July 2013 wedding at Alger House. We worked with Jeno for the past year leading up to our wedding, and could not have been in better hands. Jeno was EXTREMELY responsive to all our questions and emails - I honestly never had to wait more than a couple of hours to receive a response from him. In addition, the space is intimate and beautiful, with so many gorgeous decorations and details - and the Garden Room is a perfect space to get ready and take wedding pictures. This is a perfect venue for a wedding of about 85 guests...there's a lovely, close knit feel to the room, yet enough room to move around, dance and have fun.

On the day of the wedding, everything went seamlessly, and my husband and I could just sit back and enjoy our ceremony and reception, again, thanks to Jeno's meticulous planning and attention to detail. So many of our guests raved about the service and the food, too - we truly could not have asked for a better venue for our ceremony and reception!

Wedding: 07/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
I had both heard and read nothing but stellar reviews of the MHP since I first started searching for a wedding venue over a year ago. I wanted a space that included catering and an open bar, a great view of NYC and could accommodate up to 200 guests. At first, I thought this was impossible to find in Manhattan at an affordable price, but the MPH is THE space if you want the most for your money. Their caterers have been in business for 50 years and were willing to work with us to create the blend of Latin American and Mediterranean dishes we wanted. Furthermore, one of the managers we worked with, Jeno, answered all of my emails immediately, and was reliable, flexible and made us feel special even though he deals with 100's of clients at a time. You will not regret celebrating an event here- your wedding or any of life's other major milestones.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
I got married at Manhattan Penthouse last month, and I wouldn't change a thing. Monika was so helpful throughout the planning process, and answered every question and email quickly (and I asked and sent a LOT). She is so organized and professional and was just wonderful to work with. Everything went smoothly the day of, and all of the guests raved about the food. This is definitely one of the best values you'll find in Manhattan.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Great place to have your wedding
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Manhattan Penthouse is a fantastic choice for a wedding venue! The space itself is quite beautiful with awesome views of the city. Jeno Steiner, the Catering Executive, was amazing to work with from day 1 - always responsive, helpful and attentive - and we knew every detail would be executed just right. The food was great (we received many compliments from our guests!) and the staff was very professional on point. We truly had an amazing experience with MP and our guests gave nothing but very positive feedback to us.

As for the scaffolding that went up around the building....we were quite upset at first as this happened days before our wedding. But Jeno and the owner were very sympathetic and worked with us to make sure our night was special and unforgettable. In the end the scaffolding did not make a bit of difference - everyone still loved the views, the space gets amazing light while the sun is up, and once it was dark you could not see the scaffolding anyway.

I would very highly recommend choosing MP as a wedding venue, or for any event, scaffolding or not. I would do it all over again without a second thought, and I hope to have the opportunity to enjoy an event in that space again soon. And again, you cannot go wrong working with Jeno Steiner - he is on top of every detail, always responsive, and a pleasure to work with!
Wedding: 04/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a wonderful experience working with Jeno at the Manhattan Penthouse. We booked the venue only about four months before the wedding, so I thought everything would be very rushed, but Jeno was calm and assured us we'd be fine. I sent him dozens of emails with questions, and he answered all of them promptly. He dealt directly with the bakery, band, and florist to coordinate event-timing, which saved me a lot of stress the week before my wedding. He even let us request special beer/liquor to be stocked at the bar! Everything was very flexible, which was great since we were planning on short notice. We were able to come in for a tasing one evening to get an idea of the food we wanted, and had tons of great choices. After the wedding, everyone commented on how delicious the food was. The penthouse looked amazing the night of the wedding, and the staff was very professional. This is a beautiful venue, and I'm not sure I could have gotten through wedding planning without all of Jeno's help, who went way beyond the call of duty.
Manhattan Penthouse & Alger House responded with the following comments:
Thank you Laura! It's our pleasure to have been a part of your magical day!
Wedding: 03/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
I had the most amazing experience with Manhattan Penthouse. I worked with Jeno to plan my wedding and he was absolutely the best, most helpful, professional vendor I worked with throughout the whole planning process. He answered my many emails over the year quickly and always with a thorough, helpful response. He calmed me down when I got nervous about things and offered suggestions to make my day better than I could have imagined. I had 100% faith in Jeno to take care of everything, and he did not disappoint. I really feel like he went above and beyond to make everything run smoothly.

Service aside, the venue is so beautiful and was the perfect location for our Sunday brunch wedding. It was bright and airy and set the stage for a romantic afternoon. The price was an incredible value. I am so lucky to have had my wedding at Manhattan Penthouse!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I would recommend this venue to everyone! The food was amazing and the personal touches by the staff was fabulous! This affordable venue is a really tough to beat! The overall comment from my guests and family was how did you find such a lovely intimate location! I have only good things to say about this venue!
Wedding: 01/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Manhattan Penthouse is just....AMAZING! The actual venue and views are georgeous. And the Catering Manager Jeno Steiner and staff are the absolute best.

We got married yesterday and I'm taking a moment to write this review today. That's how wonderful they made our day. From beginning to end it was perfection. We ended having a miscommunication with our florist but Jeno and the staff were able to get the flowers in place and looked beautiful.

We had planned to have a small Tea Ceremony that actually expanded to fit the rest of the family and MP was able to accommodate it without a problem.

And the food (and fruit and cookies) were soo good! The staff is really sweet and would continue to come around to make sure we had something to eat or drink. Everyone was super attentive and our guests were super impressed!

Overall, if you're reading these reviews to figure out if you like this place~ read no further. It's absolutely wonderful!
Manhattan Penthouse & Alger House responded with the following comments:
Thanks for the kind words Luisa!!
Wedding: 01/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 12 Reviews
The Manhattan Penthouse is a truly special wedding venue that is, in the world of weddings, actually excellent value. The views of the city, including the Empire State Building, are why we chose the space, and they wowed our guests. The cocktail space and ceremony/reception space separation works really well, the rooms themselves are very elegant, and the bridal suite is convenient (and made for some great photo ops). We, and our guests, could not stop raving about the food (especially the lamb). It was nothing like "wedding food" and was truly delicious. Above all, Jeno Steiner, who managed our wedding, is incredible. He never takes more than one minute to respond to email (I am not exaggerating), he dealt with and incorporated my one million emails and requests, and he made the entire evening run flawlessly. He was even thoughtful enough to bring a selection of hors d'oeuvres to the bridal suite for right after the ceremony, so that we could eat a little bit of everything (something I hadn't even thought of). I wouldn't say it's cheap, but for a Manhattan venue that allows for cocktail hour, dinner, and dancing, with such elegance, it's comparatively excellent value. I couldn't recommend the Penthouse more, our wedding was everything we had ever dreamed of.
Manhattan Penthouse & Alger House responded with the following comments:
Thank you for all of your kind words! It's for people like you that we work so hard to provide a great experience! Happy new year!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 212-627-8838
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0