Magnolia Plantation and Gardens
    91 Reviews
3550 Ashley River Road
Charleston, SC 29414  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (91)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Magnolia Plantation was a perfect place for my daughter's romantic, vintage wedding in July. It is absolutely gorgeous, has a wonderful bridal suite and a huge Carriage House for the reception. Jessica was very easy to work with, was prompt with communication and was very professional. Even though the vendors that we used had to be approved by the Plantation, they gave us plenty of options to choose from. This venue is absolutely amazing and I would definitely recommend them! I also loved the fact that our guests were allowed free admission to the plantation during the weekend of the wedding - what a nice perk!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We booked our ceremony and reception at the Carriage House and it was absolutely perfect. Any time I had a question or needed assistance with anything at all, Jessica was quick to respond and very helpful. The weather was great and our guests had amazing time, I would recommend this location to anyone!
Wedding: 07/05/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From my first visit to Magnolia with my now husband, Kevin, I fell in love with the beauty and charm of the plantation and grounds. We met with Jessica Cruz who showed us all of the venue options and advised us on what would be the best choice based on what we wanted and the size of our wedding and reception. She also gave us a folder with all of the venue rental information and contract along with a packet of vendor information for us to look through as well. Very helpful with our process! We went back home (destination wedding, lived in Illinois) and talked to our parents. We visited again in July with my parents and Jessica met with us again to show us around our chosen venue. My parents loved it as well. Throughout the whole process, Jessica was very prompt to answer any questions I had and all of my numerous emails. She even designed our floor layout for the reception and sent that on to our caterer. The wedding day was perfect and Jessica had everything ready for us when we arrived, even though I arrived earlier than I had originally planned. Thank you so much Jessica and Magnolia Plantation and Gardens!
Wedding: 06/09/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My daughter and son-in-law had their June 8th wedding in the Carriage House at Magnolia Plantation. Working with their Events Manager, Jessica Cruz, had already been a delight but when rain required the ceremony to be moved inside, I can't begin to express my appreciation for the great job Jessica did. Always professional, confident and calm, Jessica (with the manpower of our groomsmen), transformed the venue to a beautiful ceremonial site by moving tables to the sides and creating an alter with seating for guests. The rain stopped as the ceremony concluded and Magnolia became the backdrop to gorgeous pictures of the bride and groom. I would HIGHLY recommend this venue for a wedding or any special occasion!
Wedding: 06/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Magnolia plantation was an absolutely magical backdrop for our low country wedding! Jessica Cruz was our point of contact and she was incredible to work with. She offered suggestions on vendors, was willing to meet with us on multiple occasions, responded to countless emails, and was even out in rain boots helping set up during a downpour on our wedding day! She truly exceeded my expectations and helped make our wedding day a success!
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jessica helped us from the moment we expressed interest of booking Magnolia as our venue. We had our wedding on the dock next to the Carriage House with reception following. Jessica scheduled time with us to show us the venue and explore all other options at Magnolia. She was extremely helpful and answered every question immediately. The venue is gorgeous and the staff was truly helpful. Also, all our guests were from out of town and we thought it was wonderful that Magnolia granted them free general admission on the days before/after the wedding so they could take their time enjoying the Plantation. We loved everything about this venue!
Wedding: 05/06/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The venue is stunning and Jessica and the team are really helpful and easy to work with! I highly recommend the venue!
Wedding: 05/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Magnolia was phenomenal! I called a year and a half in advance and got the date I wanted by a hair so call early. It rained on our wedding so we went inside and it was STILL beautiful. Jessica is really flexible and leaves you alone with how you want to use the space. It is really great the way she leaves it up to you. I recommend getting a day of coordinator because it is hard to plan a wedding for this venue- it comes with nothing, tables, etc. If you go with this venue choose Royal Grande catering!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What an absolutely beautiful place to get married! My friends were married this past weekend on the Long White Bridge Lawn by the Plantation House and the setting was just so picturesque. The wedding was perfect and I'm so happy that they will have such wonderful photos of their special day. How could you not with a place like this?! Thanks to Jessica and Richard for their help.
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Magnolia Plantation was the perfect venue for our April 4th wedding! The day could not have been more beautiful and gone more smoothly. Our day of coordinator was Margaret Mckenzie who was absolutely amazing, the wedding would not have been a success without her guidance, support and help with even the smallest details. On our wedding day, she was with us from start to finish, she kept our wedding on track and took care of everything, we didn't have to worry about anything she had it covered.
Margaret was truly amazing to work with she went above and beyond the "normal" day of coordinator she met with us on an almost weekly basis two months out from our wedding day to help us with last minute details while staying within our budget!It was through her planning, organization and guidance that we were able to get everything in place for the wedding day. If you are looking for a wedding planner or day of coordinator I would recommend Margaret Mckenzie. she will guide you through your wedding details and to do's , help you stay within budget and create the perfect wedding day free of stress!
Wedding: 04/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Allison 3 Reviews
This venue is absolutely gorgeous and the event manager is so friendly and helpful! Our wedding was in the Conservatory and School House Lawn and our guests were absolutely gaga over the beautiful grounds. It is the perfect beautiful and intimate venue for a smallish gathering of 70 to 75 people.

The support crew at Magnolia were so professional about giving advice and handling all types of situations: carting my 92yo-grandfather to the ceremony, helping guide my decisions on lighting and rainy weather contingencies, giving advice about good vendors, and even providing layout documents to help us plan seating and other elements. This is an unforgettably beautiful venue that really knows weddings!
Wedding: 04/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My daughter was married at the Carriage House March 28th, 2014 and we could not have found a more beautiful location to have our ceremony and reception. We had to have the ceremony inside but the interior of the carriage house gave such a wonderful backdrop for the ceremony. We had about 90 people inside for the wedding and reception with plenty of room for our food stations, bar, cake table and room to mingle and dance
Wedding: 03/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Carriage House at Magnolia Plantation. What an incredible venue overlooking the Ashley River! The Carriage House comes empty like a blank canvas allowing your own touches making your wedding or whatever celebration special. There is heat as well as air conditioning, kitchen for caterers, and rest rooms. Our planner provided beautiful lighting, flowers, tables and plenty of room for a dance floor and band or DJ. The plantation is very accommodating and allows your guests to obtain free entrance to the gardens over the weekend of your event. Absolutely beautiful over the Spring and Summer months. Known as America's oldest garden established in 1676.
Wedding: 03/23/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Riley 7 Reviews
Jessica and the team at Magnolia Plantation was amazing while planning my wedding. She was always helpful and responsive when I had questions or needed anything. She provided me with a packet of recommended vendors when we booked the venue and it was extremely helpful. The caterer needed to be chosen from a list of preferred vendors (which turned out amazing) but the rest were recommendations on everything from florists to DJ's to officiants and we pretty much found all of our vendors as a result of this listing and every one of the was perfect. The venue itself was beautiful and perfect for a ceremony + reception plus extremely affordable for such an amazing place.
Wedding: 03/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
I got married at the carriage house last month and it was exactly what we hoped for. Jessica, the event manager, is amazing! She was more like a wedding planner. She was out there the day of decorating and setting up. It all turned out absolutely perfect!!!! We loved it!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nicole 8 Reviews
This venue is so gorgeous and really allowed me to have my dream wedding. They are professional and will work with you to make your day perfect. Even if you don't have an event here, it should be on your bucket list of places to visit. My wedding guests are already planning trips to go back and visit.
Wedding: 02/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 843-571-1266
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0