Larz Anderson Auto Museum
A unique venue located in a beautiful setting. A special place with something for everyone.
15 Newton St.
Brookline, MA 02445  | map
Services: Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 150
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (19)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.5/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 5 Reviews
It was great having our wedding at the Larz Anderson Auto Museum. Karen was great at letting us walk around the museum and plan during the year prior to the wedding, and let us in a little bit early to set up our decorations for the day of. My only complaint would be that they had an event the day before which prevented us from dropping off supplies early (and didn't tell us about the event until the day before). But other than that, it was a beautiful space to have our 100-person wedding and to celebrate with all our friends and family...
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We recently got married at the Larz Anderson Auto Museum. It is such a special place! Our ceremony was outside in the park area, our cocktail and dancing was in the museum, and we had a tented dinner to accomodate our 130 guests. It's a beautiful venue and we highly reccomend it for couples wanting a more unique wedding site. Book early as the museum holds many weekend events!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Larz Anderson auto museum, well... any auto museum, has always been a dream wedding venue for me. Luckily, my bride agreed and we had an amazing time. All night, and still over a week later, we still get compliments on the venue. Such a unique place, and it really cleans up nicely for a wedding! We had a total of 115 people with 12 tables, and a sweetheart table, and it was probably the limit for comfort while still maintaining a large dance floor. Karen was very helpful in planning throughout the previous 10 months, and Sylvia and the staff were also very helpful the night of the event.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I recently held my wedding there and could not be happier! Its a beautiful Museum and just perfect for an off-beat event if you're looking for something less traditional. I highly recommend the staff there and the vendors they use are superb. I wouldn't change a thing!
Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
My son's wedding was held in Larz Anderson Park - the ceremony was outside on the top of the hill and the reception was in the Auto Museum. The auto museum is a beautiful place. It was the carriage house of the Larz Anderson estate (just imagine what the house must have looked like!). It is now a museum. As a museum it is an interesting place to explore. As a wedding venue it is a wonderfully unique, pretty and relatively spacious setting in which to celebrate. The guests numbered about 110. This number fit perfectly in the space. We had hoped to serve the appetizers outside and bring the guests in for dinner but the weather didn't cooperate requiring us to hold both the reception and dinner inside. This worked just fine. There is a back area that was spacious and the guests enjoyed wandering through the museum exhibits. There was also plenty of room for our table set up (three long rows) while still allowing plenty of room for dancing by the front door. It was a romantic evening in a wonderfully different setting. I also must comment on the staff at the museum, particularly Karen Hasenfuss. Everyone was helpful and professional. They are charged with protecting the displays while assuring the customer and guests enjoy their time in the setting. They were more than able to accomplish both. I worked with Karen for nine months during which she "talked me down" from "crises" to crises. She was always responsive, cheerful, encouraging and helpful. You will notice that I took away one star for flexibility. This is simply because of the nature of the venue. It is a museum. They have rules. You need to abide by those rules in order to protect the museum and it's contents. But I found that, even within "the rules" Karen made every attempt to be as flexible as possible. We loved Larz. Our guests loved Larz. It is a unique and charming venue for nearly any event.
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The museum is a wonderful location for the right sized reception and the staff was very accessible. The only caution I would offer is that it's a museum first and a reception venue second, so couples may find their plans forced to change unexpectedly as a result of changes at the museum. In our case, a few spaces that were shown to us when we viewed the museum were subsequently converted to exhibits before our wedding and were not available to use as we had intended.

In the end, we worked through it and the day turned out great. We had 110 people and a band, and I wouldn't recommend trying to get much more in. Highly recommended for a couple looking for something different and willing to adapt if necessary.
Wedding: 09/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  2.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
I loved the idea of a wedding here at the museum, but for the price I would never do it again. The $3,500 fee ($4,500 I believe for Saturdays) covers the museum rental for the day, the liquor permit, and police detail. Everything else, be prepared to pay for. If you want to get married outside on the museum front lawn, it's free but to get married anywhere else in the park it's a $250 permit fee to Brookline. Be prepared to spend an extra couple grand to rent all the tables and chairs from your caterer, including ceremony chairs if you want them. It added a good $2,500 onto our final catering bill for 75 people (more than the food), and we chose the cheapest option for almost everything. The museum is also not air conditioned, and they wanted to charge us something like $1,200 to have a portable air conditioner for the evening. Seeing as we already spent so much on furniture, we couldn't afford the air conditioning and it turned out to be a HOT day. Everyone was sweating and uncomfortable. Also, our 75 person group left just enough space for dancing. If you want a large dance floor (without keeping the front doors open) I wouldn't recommend a larger wedding even though they can accommodate them. We saw a wedding set up for about 100-125 people and there was such little room to move and no dance floor. Karen was phenomenal. We had a little issue with a new museum policy (after we had booked with our caterer and signed the contract with the museum) and the caterer wanted to charge us an extra $5 a person....blaming it on a new museum policy. The museum obviously pinned it on the caterer, saying it's their decision to charge it or not to existing customers. Karen explained the entire situation to us and always answered my questions promptly. (Needless to say we lost that battle since we weren't about to look for another caterer and lose our deposit, but that's on the caterer.)
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved our wedding at the Larz Anderson!! It was truly beautiful, magical, a great location and unique venue! If you are looking for something other than the usual hotel or country club, this is for you! Karen was absolutely wonderful, the place looked great, everything went smooth and the ceremony in the Larz Anderson park overlooking the city was gorgeous. It is a bit on the expensive side and you do need to find all your own vendors, but they have great recommendations and it was all totally worth it! I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful wedding in such a great setting and the staff was fabulous throughout the process! Highly recommend, especially if you are a unique bride looking for something different!
Wedding: 05/19/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The Larz Anderson Museum was a fantastic location for our wedding reception in early October. We had a reception for 145 guests at the museum that used both the interior of the museum and a tent on the front lawn. We held cocktail hour in the museum, dinner in the tent, and then invited everyone back inside for a band in the museum.

The things I loved about this venue:
-Unique and memorable venue - guests loved it (even non-car enthusiasts). The exhibits include cars, artwork, and fashion.
-Exhibits have lots of bright colors so the rooms don't require extensive decorations. There's a gorgeous front door to the main hall that makes for a grand entrance when the wedding party is announced.
-Main room has gleaming hardwood and is large enough for a band, dance floor, and some tables
-At night the museum looks striking from the outside when lit up
-Mini theater off the main room to show a slideshow
-The Larz Anderson park down the hill is great for photos.
-Karen was very helpful and responsive during pre-wedding planning
-Sylvia is one of the few bargains in wedding planning. We hired her as a day-of coordinator at the reception. She worked with all of our vendors and helped the night run smoothly.

Downsides:
-In addition to the cost of renting the venue, you have to bring in everything. I wanted an event that was far more customized than a traditional wedding hall or hotel could offer - but I paid for it. Renting tables and chairs and bringing in all the vendors is expensive.
-You must comply with Town of Brookline regulations. If you serve alcohol, you have to hire a police officer (though they are discreet - I never saw him/her). We did not end up using any propane heaters in the tent, but if we did, we were supposed to also hire a fireman. Also, Brookline doesn't allow for amplified music after 11pm so any band or DJ has to wrap up at that time.
-You have to use an approved caterer. This wasn't a problem for us as Peppers was an approved caterer (and they're fantastic), but this might be an issue for others.

Overall, I highly recommend this venue to any couple who is looking for a unique reception location. Our wedding guests loved it and my husband and I had a wonderful evening.
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Staff was great to work with! Very friendly and accommodating, they were very easy to get a hold of.
Wedding: 06/25/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got married at The Larz Anderson Auto Museum!!!

It was the perfect location since our theme was "Flowers & Ferraris!" Every table was named after Jason's favorite exotic car companies and his mom made our Orchids with floating candles centerpieces and my red rose & white lisianthus bouquet (and all the bouttonieres & corsages!!) And my mom found my favorite flower, the purple lilacs & found pewter cars with a lil just married couple for everyone's place card & to pair with our Yera Dé Herbal Teas Wedding Favors!! And Pepper's Catering company brought my other request, bamboo & made amazing gluten-free vegan chocolate cupcakes made from flax seeds with tofu frosting & edible flowers!! They were amazing!! And we toasted with non-alcoholic Swedish Lingonberry Sparkling Cider in honor of Jay's mother and his father was even our Justice of the Peace for the Day!! And my dad was the most amazing support & wedding planner extraordinaire! He even agreed to dance to Broadway's Beauty & The Beast "No Matter What" daddy-daughter duet! We were so silly, but it was one of the happiest moments of my life! And Jason looked SOOOOO good! Truly debonaire! And the tea ceremony & rings and vows was exactly what we, as a couple, had intended. Simple. Genuine. Organic. Truly Magical Moment. I felt like I was surrounded by a thousand lights but at the same time, it was just us two up there staring at each other with gleaming tears on the verge of streaming down our face and beaming smiles and I felt nothing but love from every part of my past, present and future. It was the greatest moment of my life. The start of the next chapter of our life together. ♥
Wedding: 05/28/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The setting at Larz Anderson is unique, beautiful, clean and spacious. And we had a great time working with Karen. She's delightful to work with, very cool, responsive, and so flexible! My husband Sean came up with the brilliant idea to make our grand entrance as husband and wife in his 1970 Eldorado. I initially scoffed at the idea, thinking the museum wouldn't let us, but when we asked, Karen said, "Sure!" She was thrilled with the idea! And that's what we did! It was quite an entrance (we were very careful :), and it was a complete surprise to all our guests, and no doubt made our wedding very memorable. We couldn't have been happier with our experience at Larz. 4 thumbs up!
Wedding: 05/14/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Our wedding at the Larz Anderson was absolutly beautiful. Several of our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. The only drawback about the venue is the lack of onside tables and chairs. We had to rent them separately. I'm really happy we chose his venue for our wedding.
Wedding: 10/30/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
The Museum of Transportation is the ultimate venue. It is situated in Larz Anderson Park, Brookline, MA, beautiful property. The Museum itself is a beautiful French style building, spacious, many rooms, with a huge main reception hall. The exhibits are wonderful and add to the event and are nice because the "men" also have something special (as most men like cars a lot). The Great Gatsby theme in the main hall this summer, accompanied by fashions from that era, was very pretty and interesting.
Everything was perfect about our wedding. Karen was great in giving us excellent information, advice, and suggestions in planning the event. I called her many times and she was always available. The museum staff Sylvia was also great that day, making sure everything went well and addressing and snafus as the evening went along.
Wedding: 08/07/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

We had our wedding ceremony on the lawn at Larz Anderson Auto Museum, followed by a pre-dinner cocktail reception inside the beautiful museum! We were looking for a unique, memorable venue to host our 315 guests and found Larz Anderson to be the perfect setting! While we encountered some challenges in regards to the size of our guest list, Karen (the coordinator) did whatever she could to accommodate us and make sure our day was the dream we'd envisioned. This is truly the perfect venue to set your wedding apart and customize many details, but it does require a hefty budget or a lot of creativity (we opted for the latter; warning - it's not easy!). Ultimately, the exhibit and museum ground provided a perfect backdrop for a wonderful day and we are so thankful for Karen and her team's hard work to help us bring each piece together when it counted!
Wedding: 06/26/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Larz Anderson Auto Museum was exactly the type of place we dreamed of getting married: romantic castle architecture, unique, historical museum setting, beautiful landscaping and city convenience all combined. It's ideal for a smaller wedding, but works with larger groups if you set up a tent on the lawn or having a standing cocktail reception. Karen was great to work with (she spoke from personal experience as both her daughters were recently married there) and things went very smoothly overall. The only issues we encountered were due to the Town of Brookline's many restrictions, which put a damper on our plans to be married at the Top of The Hill. I'd highly recommend this venue - it's truly one of a kind.
Wedding: 06/05/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 617-522-6547
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0