Lake Mohawk Country Club
    23 Reviews
21 The Boardwalk
Sparta, NJ 07827  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (23)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Everyone on staff at lake Mohawk was so helpful and attentive from the minute we booked our wedding to the day itself. They helped us with anything we needed and made sure to accommodate any special request. When you add that to an already beautiful venue with the lake and the rustic almost castle like place you could not ask for more
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This is a beautiful venue with fantastic people. Our wedding went off without any problems, at least that we know of! Larry was great to work with and Jake, the executive chef, sculpted an amazing Ice Sculpture for us as well as fruit carvings.

Our food was amazing and there was so much of it. Everyone was stuffed!

Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everyone who came to my wedding said it was the most beautiful and most fun wedding they had ever been to, The food was incredible.....and I mean INCREDIBLE.....as was the wedding cake, which is a miracle since wedding cakes normally taste like cardboard. Larry is awesome and was so nice and on-the-ball every step of the way. It's amazing how inexpensive it is as a venue considering the fact that the quality is five-star. The staff made everything run smoothly and made everything so easy for us. I couldn't believe how amazing it was. I know of about fifteen different couples who have gotten married there and not one would have done it differently. Trust me, everyone raves about LMCC because it is honestly THAT amazing. I would recommend LMCC to anyone planning a party, but especially a wedding.....if you do, you can rest assured your wedding will play out like a fairy tale. -Allie
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Amazing View and Attentive Staff! The lake is gorgeous and is a unique location for a wedding. The staff is extremely attentive and always aiming to please. There were a few minor things we asked for that didn't happen, but that's too be expected in a large event. Overall, our wedding was an incredible day and everyone was thrilled to be at a wedding that wasn't at a banquet hall.
Wedding: 07/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Andrew and I had our wedding here at LMCC on July 13, 2013. From the beginning of the planning process to the end of our wedding reception, LMCC was perfect in every way! Larry Patton was easy to talk to and made all our plans come true. The staff was impecable, especially Brendan and Victoria, who were there to pick up my dress, grab us a drink, or make sure that we actually cut our cake:) The food was delicious and our guests are still raving about it. We would recommend this venue to anyone and everyone!
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our ceremony and reception at Lake Mohawk Country Club. The venue is beautiful and the food was delicious. The staff was extremely professional and so, so helpful. They treated us like royalty. I am a control freak and was worried about having someone else decorate for me, but they truly exceeded my expectations in every way! AWESOME place!
Wedding: 06/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Lake Mohawk Country Club was an incredible venue for my wedding. Even though it rained, the view from the windows was absolutely stunning. They have an adorable bridge over a pond that is perfect for a first look if you do that before the wedding. Larry was so knowledgeable and great to work with. He has been there for years so he really knows his stuff. The food was incredible. It is also very reasonably priced.
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The LMCC team lead by event planner Larry Patton and Chef Jake Dominguez was truly the BEST team we could've ever asked for. They were extremely helpful and flexible to put together a whole new personalized menu for us and signature bride and groom drinks.
Jake went above and beyond to surprise us with delectable Spanish-Peruvian fusion dishes for cocktail hour and our reception; and Larry by making sure we stayed within budget and still providing us with the best quality on everything we asked for.
Larry, Jake, Michael and the rest of the LMCC team: Thanks so very much for your outstanding work and caring on our BIG DAY! We truly appreciate all your hardwork!

THANKS A MILLION!

Carolina & Harold Wilson (Morris Plains, NJ)
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I loved LMCC it's fabulously Rustic Ballroom worked so well with our theme "rustic elegance". Larry set up a bartender in the ballroom to offset my fears that the bar in the other room would filter out too many of my guests. He also let me mix square and round tables so I could pull off my version of David Tutera's "My Fair Wedding" mixing linens and center pieces. I was allowed to swap out their baker for my favorite Desserts of Distinction INC which allowed us an extra carving station and a seared tuna appetizer. Craig our maître'd was like a member of the bridal party he kept us organized & on-time, he was with us from beginning to end don't know what we would have done without him/luckily we didn't have to! Thanks to everyone at LMCC our day was a success:) Oh and getting married Lakeside with the tents was perfect since on that day there were storms headed our way. Although my Lynchburg Lemonade Stand had to be squashed our signature drink was still by the pitcher at the bar for guests to enjoy. They all complimented us on the food and the venue, many had never been there prior.
Wedding: 10/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I think Lake Mohawk Country club is a hidden treasure. I always knew it was there because I grew up in Sparta but having my wedding there made me look at it in a totally different light. The venue is beautiful. The staff was amazing and so helpful & attentive the day of the wedding. Larry is responsive and helpful throughout the entire planning process. The venue exceeded my expectations. I could not have had a better day!!
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We cannot say enough about the Lake Mohawk Golf Club as a wedding venue. All of their staff that we encountered were professional, caring and courteous. Their prices are very reasonable and their setting is gorgeous!! Everything was incredibly easy with them and there was no hassle or drama. The general manager that set everything up with us was very helpful and was always easy to get in touch with. They met our budget without any sales pitch and respected our bottom line. The food was delicious and plentiful. The wait staff and bartenders were very responsive to everyone's needs and went above and beyond to make everyone comfortable. I would highly recommend their venue for any event.
Wedding: 07/21/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lake Mohawk was the perfect setting for our June wedding. The town is charming and the venue is beautifully set on the boardwalk and lake. We loved that they only did one wedding a day so we had the place all to ourselves from 9am to 11pm. The bridal suite was large enough for both sides of the bridal party to hang out before the ceremony and the outside deck was a unique feature. The weather was forecasted to be in the low 90's but it felt very comfortable with the breeze coming off the lake throughout the day and tents to cover the ceremony and reception areas. Our ceremony was outside on the grotto and the flower planters, flags, and the lake were so stunning that I didn't need to have flowers for the ceremony which saved on money. Our guest were very impressed with the venue and food and kept asking how we found this place. We liked that we were able to personalize the menu, beer and wine selections and the cake was included. We were very happy with the service and Larry was great with answering all of our questions and concerns and was very accommodating. Now that the wedding is in the past, we love that we are able to go back to LMCC whenever we want and walk the boardwalk and reminisce on such a special day in our lives.
Wedding: 06/30/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the Lake Mohawk Country Club. I recently had my wedding there on Nov. 5th. Larry Patton and the entire staff were so professional and made sure the day was perfect. I was considering hiring a day of wedding planner, but it was not necessary at all! The country club set everything up exactly as I wanted! It's an older venue, but it has so much character. Everyone could not stop talking about how beautiful everything was- with the outdoor cocktail hour on the lake, to the beautiful ballroom. The pricing is also very reasonable for what you get with the package. The bridal suite was absolutely perfect for all of the girls to get ready in, plus the lake makes for wonderful pictures.
Wedding: 11/05/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The ceremony space and reception area were BEAUTIFUL!! Larry was amazing to work with and made the day very special. Larry and his staff were very attentive to anything we needed and helped it all go off without skipping a beat. You can not beat the lake views and ballroom this location has to offer! I knew immediately this was the best place to get married in Jersey!
Wedding: 11/04/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The moment I saw this venue I knew it was exactly what I've always dreamt of. My husband and I didn’t want a traditional “banquet hall” or a wedding factory, which is why LMCC was perfect. It was hard to discover, however, as they don’t really advertise which is why I am posting a review. I want other brides to know about this little gem.

Located in the heart of Sparta, NJ, LMCC is a lake front property with a beautiful French/German Château type architecture and beautiful surroundings which make for fantastic wedding photos. I should also point out that they only do one wedding per day and that should it rain the space inside is just as beautiful for a ceremony and cocktail hour. I felt this was a very important feature as weather always need to be considered and most placed we looked at would have stunk had we needed to move everything inside.

Our ceremony took place on the raised deck off the boardwalk overlooking the lake with the entire cocktail hour hosted right on the boardwalk. The guests then moved inside to the dining area with its 30 ft vaulted ceiling, exposed wood beams, beautiful hardwood floors, old world chandeliers, and glass wall which showcases the beautiful lake views. I honestly can not even truly describe how beautiful it all really is. It’s definitely a must see in person.

One of my favorite things about the site was the bridal suite. It’s a two story tower which you have all to yourselves for the entire day. The first floor has a deck/patio with chairs The 2nd floor has a complete vanity and full length mirror which is were we all had our hair and makeup done.

Their food was beyond our expectations and absolutely incredible. There are a ton of choices on their menu for cocktail hour and dinner. They provided our guests with FOUR dinner options. Open bar and wedding cake were all included. LMCC was the 7th and last wedding site we looked at and I have to say that nothing else compared when factoring in location, beauty of property, spaciousness, quality of food and price.

The catering manager, Larry Patton, was extremely accommodating and was a huge help during the entire process. He met with me on 3 different occasions to go over our needs, which really put my mind at ease. Exchanging info through email wasn’t always good as sometimes he wouldn’t receive them so I figured out rather quickly that it was always best to call him to make sure he got the information. As long as you can handle that then you should be completely satisfied. On the day of he was there to help not only organize my décor requests but also organize and do a quick run through of the processional as we did not have a rehearsal.

Our guests haven't stopped talking about how wonderfully different out wedding was, or about how great the food was! Larry & Lake Mohawk Country Club truly let us have a wedding that was "us," and we wouldn't have been able to make it so special anywhere else.

Wedding: 09/11/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This place was fantastic, as a matter of fact after our wedding, 4 other couples were married there because they thought it was so wonderful at ours.
Wedding: 12/11/2004
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
 973-729-6156
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0