Kristal Lane stylist / make up artist
Your beauty. Your location.
Chesapeake, VA 23322  | map
Services: Hair, Makeup
Consultations: Yes
Large groups: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (41)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jessica 2 Reviews
I had my trial session with Kristal back in June and she did an amazing job! My engagement pictures looked so good! I told Kristal I would like her to do my makeup the same for the wedding in August.The day of the wedding, she arrived at the hotel on time, and did an amazing job with my makeup! It looked exactly like it did back in June! My makeup stayed on through downpour rain and through my reception without having to touch up! She is so upbeat and friendly and is really easy to be around! I would recommend her services to anyone! Thanks Kristal! YOU ROCK!
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
0.5 out of 5.0
0.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  0.5
  • Flexibility:  0.5
It pains me to write this but I must be honest about the service I received from Kristal, which is shocking as I had a wonderful experience w/ my other vendors & gave 5 star reviews. First, I emailed her in advance about my cousin, a BM w/ significant hair loss, b/c I wanted to plan styles for her but Kristal offered no advice. There was no guidance from her for the schedule & she wanted to do hair/makeup by herself for 6 people in 4 hrs - only 40 min per person!, continually saying that "it always goes by faster." Anything I ever read stated AT LEAST 45 min for hair & 30-45 min for makeup. We finally agreed upon a schedule allowing an hour per person. Day of, she did my MOH's hair/makeup first & rushed w/in 45 min for BOTH. She said she had 2 other weddings that day & told me that I needed to have my other BMs come earlier because it’s going to go by faster. We had an agreed upon schedule and I gave my BMs that info so they could plan for it. It is completely unprofessional to stress the bride out about that on the day of. She rushed through everyone and it showed, we all either had to have it redone/touched up or redo it ourselves. My hair was not what I wanted and makeup didn't last long. It simply was not a way to start one of the most important days of your life. My aunt, who witnessed everything, said that you could tell her heart wasn’t in it. It wasn’t until recently, after having my hair done as a BM and hair/makeup done for a photo shoot, that I had my experience w/ Kristal validated as being VERY subpar. The time alone it took for my hair as a BM was an hour and the outcome was SUPERIOR to my hair as a bride, which is sad. I hope this can help prevent future brides from experiencing what I did. Ask questions about scheduling and know upfront about other commitments your stylist/MUA has for your day before booking so that you can be sure you are working w/ someone who is dedicated with adequate time and resources. It was by far my BIGGEST regret!
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Hanna 2 Reviews
Kristal is amazing! She does an outstanding job with hair and makeup! I was so happy with the way my hair and makeup, along with my bridesmaids hair and makeup, turned out. She does the most beautiful hairstyles I have ever seen. She knows what she is doing and is very, very experienced. She has been my hair stylist for years and she will always be the person I turn to for anything involving my hair. I love her to pieces! I would recommend her to anyone!!
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristal and her assistant provide hair and makeup for myself, 4 bridesmaids, and 2 mothers. Her and her assistant showed up right on time and were very quick..about 3 hours to finish all of us! Her and her assistant were super sweet throughout and calmed nerves. The bridesmaids had a little bit of a problem with their hair falling before we left the house for the wedding, but Kristal fixed it and sprayed it real good to stay.

My hair did not look exactly like my trial, but I liked it so much better than the trial. At the trial, my makeup flaked a little, and I expressed that to Kristal after. The day of makeup was flawless. My husband doesn't like heavy makeup and she did a great job of creating the "subtle" look for me. I was overall very pleased with the outcome of all of our hair and makeup. It held up great for the whole day (10 hours!) and looked amazing in all of the pictures!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Kristal was warm, personable, kind and most of all, a great makeup artist! Exceeded expectations. She has a calm personality that put us at ease during the rush of getting ready.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  1.5
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a couple of problems with working with Kristal. I have porcelain skin and her airbrushing doesn't go that light but I didn't find out until I had my trial. Then when she nicely offered to redo my makeup with MAC cosmetics. It looked good but when I went outside my family and I noticed the color was too dark again. I ended up doing my own makeup because of color selections. The day of my wedding she did 2 bridesmaids and my mother. My main issue was my cousin who was my Maid of Honor and is a hair stylist was doing hair. When Kristal was doing the makeup of my sister she told her she is a hair stylist too and told her bobby pins aren't done correctly and that I hope you don't mind hair spray residue. Then she kept saying I am a makeup lady today not a hair lady. I find this behavior unprofessional. I had both individuals do a hair trial on me but my cousins was much better. By saying what she said she was insulting not just my cousin but me as a bride. Everyone's hair was great and looked great all night no thanks to her comments.
Kristal Lane stylist / make up artist responded with the following comments:
Michelle, thank you so much for allowing me to work with you and your family. And I am truly sorry you feel your experience was nothing but amazing as all my review state. I do feel right In Saying true, I was not the hair stylist, and would never over step another stylist. As a seasoned professional of over 20 plus years I give every opportunity to help teach any tricks I may have in aiding newer stylist to the field. As for the residue, I gently combed it through and would've loved to help in any way possible if need be, or in your mothers hair. I believe Your stylist did a great job.but to say unprofessional, I will disagree. I wish you all the very best and congratulations on your new marriage! And again thank you for always allowing me to learn more about my business strengths..
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough about Kristal and her team. From our initial consultation to finalizing details to Jess and Paula the day of...they truly made the entire experience so enjoyable and stress free. All my bridesmaids and mothers were so happy with the work that Jess and Paula did and they even found time to give my Dad a little trim :)

I would recommend them to anyone who is looking for hair and make-up for their special day. Thank you Kristal, Jess and Paula!!
Kristal Lane stylist / make up artist responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much! I love my team and so happy we rocked it out for you wish you the best! Xxoo's
Wedding: 12/28/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristal is a true professional and very talented at hair and makeup. I got married on 12.21.13 - she was on time, quick and thorough. She also did up-do's for my mom, girlfriend, and did a quick turn of a pretty necklace into a headband for my step daughter. Everyone was extremely happy with her work.
I did a trial run with Kristal, which I highly recommend to any bride. On the day of the wedding, I expressed some needed small changes with my hair, and she quickly adapted to my request. She also did my make-up - I can't say enough good things about her. She's sweet, funny, professional, and really good at her work. You will not be disappointed with Kristal.
Kristal Lane stylist / make up artist responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much Audra! Just got another inquiry for your beautiful venue at Warner Hall, and was giddy with excitement about returning. Congrats!!!!! beautiful!!!!!
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Kristal Lane was awesome to work with. She was always easy to get in touch with and easy to work with. She has a great deal of experience and that truly shows and I never had one worry about how my hair and makeup would turn out. She was very efficient as she did my hair and makeup as well as hair for six others all by herself. She was professional yet a blast to hang out with while we were getting ready. When I had my hair and makeup trial with her, I had many different styles I was considering. After talking to me for a few minutes, she was able to create a style combining all the different things I wanted that I just loved. I would highly recommend her!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Couldn't have been happier with Kristal! She is top-notch! I would recommend her to any of my friends/family that are getting married -- she is super easy to work with and made my day even more special than it already was!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristal Lane was the best person to work with. My wedding was at 10am on a Sunday morning, I had myself, two bridesmaids and a flower girl for Kristal to work on so we had to start at 5am. She was the most punctual, patient, professional, gracious, and wide awake person I have ever met. I could not have asked for a better person to have that morning. I was so grateful to her not only for the early time , but also because our little flower girl was not in the most happy of moods. But Kristal did not let that drag her down she was able to get in there in a jiffy and work her magic. I will absolutely use Kristal for any other event that I have or If I know somebody else I will recommend her to them as well. Thank you so much Kristal Lane :)
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristal is so great to work with. They come to you and are willing to work with whatever style you are looking for. I had a hair and make up trial at the salon, which i reccomend, because we used a foundation i didn't like and so for the day of we decided to do airbrush instead. Wouldn't have know if i hadn't done the trial.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
WE LOVE KRISTAL! Look no further Ladies! She's WONDERFUL, professional, fun and *incredibly talented*. My wedding was only two days ago and I couldn't wait to write a review and express my complete gratitude for Kristal and her work--her talent and hard work gave me the exact "wedding look" I was looking for. I've never felt so beautiful and my girls were absolutely gorgeous! We were all in complete awe with her--she had 11 ladies to beautify in a 6.5 hour window (11 Heads of hair, 6 faces) all on her own and was still finished an hour early! Book Kristal for your wedding right now!
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Kristal and Vivianna were professional, friendly and creative, able to take my hair and make-up visions - and my bridesmaids' - and make them a reality with simple effort. I was so thrilled with their energy - they simply "get it".
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristal was so great and professional! My hair and makeup turned out great and lasted even under the sun at our beach wedding! She worked with me...I just showed her a couple photos of what I had in mind and she went to work! My bridesmaids also loved her and they looked fabulous. I loved that she came on location, which eased A LOT of the stress and we were able to get ready while looking out at the ocean. I would HIGHLY recommend her! Thank you so much Kristal. I'll send a photo of the gorgeous wedding party ASAP.
Wedding: 09/08/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I decided on my wedding day that I really wanted a different hair style from the one that I requested on my trial hair and makeup day. Kristal went to work and created a beautiful hairstyle that was exactly what I had hoped for and then some! She also did some terrific hairstyles for my bridesmaids! The makeup she did for me was stunning! She covered a large tattoo on my shoulder as well but I would definitley suggest that anyone getting married outside (beach wedding) or any other outdoor wedding in the warm months, consider having their photographer simply touch up their photos rather than getting your tatto covered. The heat and humidity caused the makeup to bubble and run and I ended up removing the coverup at the beginning of the reception. If you want a hair and makeup artist who listens to what you want and has plenty of great ideas for anyone who is unsure of the style they want, I would highly recommend Kristal! She did a fantastic job!
Kristal Lane stylist / make up artist responded with the following comments:
Love you Tracey! Made my day! Glad you listened and cleaned it off, it was a moist day!
Wedding: 08/11/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
 757-469-6130
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0