Julie Allen Bridals
    69 Reviews
154 South Main Street
Newtown, CT 06470  | map
Services: Bride, Bridesmaids, Father of the Bride, Father of...
Accessories: Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Undergarments, Veils
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (69)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you are looking for the dress of your dreams you need to Julie Allen. They are professional, and they know every dress in the store! Every dress I tried on flattered my figure, so it was hard to pick t"he one!" Melanie was fabulous. She was patient, kind, and honest. It felt like family from the moment my girls and I walked in! She was happy to help me narrow it down when I asked her opinion, which was a big help since I am so indecisive. I can't say enough for the ladies at Julie Allen. Everyone treated my friends and I like royalty. Highly recommended!
Wedding: 05/16/2015
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
This family owned business has much experience in assisting you find the dress of your dreams. I found my wedding dress here and absolutely adore it! They are prepared to make your time as stress free as possible with the in-store seamstress and preservation service afterwards.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I had an amazing experience at Julie Allen's. It was my first time searching for a dress. I walked in with a few pictures of wedding dresses that I liked, and they actually ended up having one of the exact dresses. It was the first dress I tried on and it was perfect! I ended up choosing this exact dress I had wanted. All of my bridesmaids and my maid of honor came with me. Jessica (the woman helping us) asked if they wanted to try on some bridesmaids dresses since we found my dress so quickly. Then, she helped us pick out the perfect bridesmaids dresses and maid of honor dress on the same day! They were great at Julie Allen's, incredibly friendly and helpful, and I LOVE MY DRESS! (Also, the dress was totally within my budget! They carry a range of dresses and can fit almost anyone's budget). I highly recommend you go to Julie Allen's!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I found my wedding dress and bridesmaids dress at Julie Allen Bridals. The staff was so helpful. I found a dress in a magazine that I loved for my bridesmaids that I wanted for them. They did not have it in the store so they called were able to get the dress quick so I could see it. When I was there looking for my dress I told them what I liked and did not like. The consultant pick out dresses that fit what I was looking for. I absolute love my wedding dress.
Wedding: 08/24/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Pamela 7 Reviews
Julie Allen and Melanie helped me find the perfect dress !
Wedding: 06/22/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Not only did Melanie find the dress of my dreams, they completed my entire bridal party -- and my girls looked amazing! We had all kinds of compliments! I wouldn't recommend any other bridal shop in the area, and I did go to a few. Julie Allen Bridals is simply the best! - Laura
Wedding: 06/22/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Amazing!!!! I'm in love with my dress. And my bridesmaids dresses were gorgeous!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Words cannot express how truly outstanding my experiences have been with Julie Allen Bridals. All of the staff members here are extremely helpful and enthusiastic about helping you find that perfect dress. After picking what I thought was THE dress, I later called Melanie to let her know I needed to come back in to make the decision. She welcomed me back the following week and helped me to decide on the perfect dress. Three months later, my mom and I went in to look at some bridesmaids dresses, without an appointment, and the staff non only remembered us upon arriving and greeted us with open arms, but helped us to find wonderful dresses. I went to two other bridal shops for bridesmaids dresses and it only confirmed why I will never go anywhere else other than Julie Allen Bridals. Huge selection!
Wedding: 06/08/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Julie Allen Bridal was simply amazing! I was taken care of mostly by Melanie and Cassie, but the entire staff was polite, professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. They made me feel like I had known them my whole life and they truly seemed to care, not just about my dress/accessories, but also about making the process stress-free and fun! I got my bridesmaids' dresses, my dress, and my accessories at Julie Allen and all were high quality, well-fitted, and beautiful. Thank you Melanie, Cassie, and all the staff at Julie Allen! I would highly recommend this Bridal Shop!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I got my wedding dress from Julie Allen Bridals and had such a good experience from beginning to end. The bridal consultant helping me was impressive in her ability to pare down what I wanted in a dress and bring me dresses that only included elements that I wanted. I had two different dresses in mind and she was great, but not pushy, in helping me make a decision. I ended up with a dress by a designer I hadn't heard about (Marissa) and was absolutely delighted with what I chose. I also didn't really want a belt, but ended up leaving with one because my consultant enlightened me as to how good it could look.

I had to have alterations done twice because I lost weight (great problem to have) but the seamstress that they have on site is a riot. She was so skillful and funny to boot that my mom, sister and I were literally in stitches (bad pun) when we left. She recommended specific types of alterations that would preserve the integrity of the lace dress and make the dress fit me perfectly.

My mom was even able to get her MOB dress and a second dress for my cousin's wedding!

The ladies that work here are great and if you even have a small idea of what you envisioned yourself walking down the aisle in, they can help you understand what your options are to make the best decision for you. You won't feel like you are being forced or rushed into making a decision.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Staff and expertise helped me feel that I will look my best and make my son proud of me on his wedding day. I found the perfect,age appropriate gown with their help. Even though I was late in looking for my dress, they worked to get it for me for my sons May wedding even when it was delivery for June weddings that were being scheduled at that time. This experience was relaxing with no pressure to make a sale. Anyone who doesn't stop by to look for your mother's dress here is missing out on a very pampered experience.
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mel and her staff at Julie Allen are absolutely amazing!!! I would shop there for any event! They have gone above and beyond for myself and my party. They have truly helped make wedding planning a breeze!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thank you, Julie Allen, especially Lauren who helped me find the perfect dress after bringing in so many pictures of different styles that I liked and Cassie, who tailored the dress to perfection. I cannot imagine a more beautiful dress. I really appreciated the one-on-one help, the honest opinions, patience, and kindness that the employees extended to me. I hope I have the opportunity to go to galas and other events in the future so I return to Julie Allen where among the most beautiful of dresses in the world and among the most best employees that there could be exist!

I thought bridal dress shopping would be overwhelming, take several days, several trips to stores, but Julie Allen was the first store I visited and my dream dress was among the first few that I had tried on.

When our wedding date was changed to an earlier date, they were able to get my dress for me earlier, and for a small fee.

Thank you again again, Julie Allen!!!
Wedding: 01/26/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Bought my gorgeous wedding gown here and had a great experience! Erika worked with me and was very patient and kind!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katie 1 Reviews
I picked out by dress in April. I had a fabulous Salesperson named Lauren who helped me pick out the perfect dress. She gave me the best choices without even knowing what I wanted. Everyone is so wonderful and helpful there I would recommend this to anyone who wants a great wedding dress experience. They also have a variety of dresses in every budget. :)
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katie 1 Reviews
I happen to select Julie Allen Bridal at random because it was near my friend's house whom I was going dress shopping with. It was probably the best decision I made. I went dress shopping about a year before my wedding in January. I walked in and I felt that they really took the time to get to know a little about me and ask what kind of dress I was looking for and where the wedding was going to be. Once I said sweetheart neckline, lace and that I wanted a sash and at the time I wanted the wedding to be in a barn, the lady who was helping me said, "oh I think I have the perfect dress for you!" Although after that "perfect dress" I tried on a bunch more just for kicks, (they were very patient and didn't tell me there was a time limit or anything like I have seen on some of those wedding shows) I actually ended up buying the first dress that I tried on and it was exactly what I wanted and it was within my price range of $1,000. Every time I called on the phone to schedule appointments they were very friendly and helpful. Closer to my wedding I ended up purchasing my beautiful veil from them and doing the alterations there too so my dream dress fit me like a glove. I have been married for over a month and I am still getting compliments on the dress and veil and how stunning I looked on my wedding day. The dress and how you feel in the dress truly makes you day, so it's important that you trust the bridal shop to help to bring out your beauty! Thank you Julie Allen Bridal for everything!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
 203-426-4378
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0