Julie Allen Bridals
    43 Reviews
154 South Main Street
Newtown, CT 06470  | map
Services: Bride, Bridesmaids, Father of the Bride, Father of...
Accessories: Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Undergarments, Veils
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (43)   Photos   Events   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I had an amazing experience at Julie Allen's. It was my first time searching for a dress. I walked in with a few pictures of wedding dresses that I liked, and they actually ended up having one of the exact dresses. It was the first dress I tried on and it was perfect! I ended up choosing this exact dress I had wanted. All of my bridesmaids and my maid of honor came with me. Jessica (the woman helping us) asked if they wanted to try on some bridesmaids dresses since we found my dress so quickly. Then, she helped us pick out the perfect bridesmaids dresses and maid of honor dress on the same day! They were great at Julie Allen's, incredibly friendly and helpful, and I LOVE MY DRESS! (Also, the dress was totally within my budget! They carry a range of dresses and can fit almost anyone's budget). I highly recommend you go to Julie Allen's!
Wedding: [Private]
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Words cannot express how truly outstanding my experiences have been with Julie Allen Bridals. All of the staff members here are extremely helpful and enthusiastic about helping you find that perfect dress. After picking what I thought was THE dress, I later called Melanie to let her know I needed to come back in to make the decision. She welcomed me back the following week and helped me to decide on the perfect dress. Three months later, my mom and I went in to look at some bridesmaids dresses, without an appointment, and the staff non only remembered us upon arriving and greeted us with open arms, but helped us to find wonderful dresses. I went to two other bridal shops for bridesmaids dresses and it only confirmed why I will never go anywhere else other than Julie Allen Bridals. Huge selection!
Wedding: 06/08/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mel and her staff at Julie Allen are absolutely amazing!!! I would shop there for any event! They have gone above and beyond for myself and my party. They have truly helped make wedding planning a breeze!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thank you, Julie Allen, especially Lauren who helped me find the perfect dress after bringing in so many pictures of different styles that I liked and Cassie, who tailored the dress to perfection. I cannot imagine a more beautiful dress. I really appreciated the one-on-one help, the honest opinions, patience, and kindness that the employees extended to me. I hope I have the opportunity to go to galas and other events in the future so I return to Julie Allen where among the most beautiful of dresses in the world and among the most best employees that there could be exist!

I thought bridal dress shopping would be overwhelming, take several days, several trips to stores, but Julie Allen was the first store I visited and my dream dress was among the first few that I had tried on.

When our wedding date was changed to an earlier date, they were able to get my dress for me earlier, and for a small fee.

Thank you again again, Julie Allen!!!
Wedding: 01/26/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Bought my gorgeous wedding gown here and had a great experience! Erika worked with me and was very patient and kind!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katie 1 Reviews
I picked out by dress in April. I had a fabulous Salesperson named Lauren who helped me pick out the perfect dress. She gave me the best choices without even knowing what I wanted. Everyone is so wonderful and helpful there I would recommend this to anyone who wants a great wedding dress experience. They also have a variety of dresses in every budget. :)
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katie 1 Reviews
I happen to select Julie Allen Bridal at random because it was near my friend's house whom I was going dress shopping with. It was probably the best decision I made. I went dress shopping about a year before my wedding in January. I walked in and I felt that they really took the time to get to know a little about me and ask what kind of dress I was looking for and where the wedding was going to be. Once I said sweetheart neckline, lace and that I wanted a sash and at the time I wanted the wedding to be in a barn, the lady who was helping me said, "oh I think I have the perfect dress for you!" Although after that "perfect dress" I tried on a bunch more just for kicks, (they were very patient and didn't tell me there was a time limit or anything like I have seen on some of those wedding shows) I actually ended up buying the first dress that I tried on and it was exactly what I wanted and it was within my price range of $1,000. Every time I called on the phone to schedule appointments they were very friendly and helpful. Closer to my wedding I ended up purchasing my beautiful veil from them and doing the alterations there too so my dream dress fit me like a glove. I have been married for over a month and I am still getting compliments on the dress and veil and how stunning I looked on my wedding day. The dress and how you feel in the dress truly makes you day, so it's important that you trust the bridal shop to help to bring out your beauty! Thank you Julie Allen Bridal for everything!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My twin sister had purchased her gown from Julie Allen Bridals in 2009 for a 2010 wedding and since she had a great experience, I was absolutely willing to give it a shot. Jessica, the consultant who assisted us, was fabulous. She listens to what you are looking for and did not rest until she found the perfect gown for me (luckily it only took me 11 gowns to find it!). I ordered a gown, all my bridesmaids dresses and a veil that day. After second guessing the length of the veil, I went in 2 weeks later and Julie Allen’s was more than accommodating and flexible. After deciding on a long veil modeled after a shorter veil they immediately called the designer to see if they would make it and ship it to us in time. When the veil arrived unfortunately it was not the right one but Julie Allen stepped in immediately to help fix it. I had all of my alterations done there as well and the dress fit my body perfectly. The result was EXACTLY what I wanted and envisioned. My bridesmaids looked stunning in their dresses. I cried the minute I put both the dress and veil on together – it was perfect. Julie Allen Bridals was with me through every step – finding the dress, altering the veil, fixing the veil, alterations etc. – good or bad. It is not the type of salon where once you find the dress and purchase it, their job is done. I would recommend them to anyone getting married in the area!
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have nothing but great things to say about Julie Allen Bridal. Everyone there was helpful, friendly, and so excited about everything. I went there for my sister in law's bridesmaid dress, my own bridal gown, and my bridesmaids dresses.
They are amazing. I lost my mom to cancer when I was younger and wanted to wear her veil even though it was 30 years old and crinkled in a ball in my attic. They steamed it and stored it for me and it looked brand new on my wedding day.
If you want a positive experience and to feel like you matter, Julie Allen is IT!
Wedding: 07/19/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I got my dress back in October when I did not know my exact wedding date since I was a military bride. Melanie was able to connect with me and picked out dresses that would work any time of year if we had to change the date. She did not overwhelm me with too many choices, and explained to my family when I found a dress that I loved that my family didn't want me to buy that I had found the one. She was not pushy, but it always felt like she was on my team. Luckily we were able to get married with the original date we chose and when I came for my alterations everyone was so awesome. My dress basically fit and just needed to be hemmed and small alterations. Anna was amazing and took the amount of time I needed until I was comfortable in my dress. When I picked up my dress they were helpful with explain what I should do with it for the two days before my wedding. Then finally after my wedding I brought my dress back to be cleaned and preserved. When my sister get married I will definitely recommend taking them to Julie Allen!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Erica 1 Reviews
Melanie and her staff went above and beyond for me! My dress was absolutely amazing, and literally the only part of my wedding that caused me no stress! The staff is always well informed and eager to help.. And answer my million questions! The selection of dresses was all I could have hoped for, and they made sure to not make it overwhelming by suggesting dresses that would look good and match my style.. Thank you Julie Allen!!!!!
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
I LOVED working with Julie Allen. They were very knowledgeable and always responded to my phone calls. They were on top of everything. They made sure that everything arrived on time and even quickly corrected a problem when my grandmother's dress for the wedding arrived in a short version rather then long. The on site alterations were PERFECT! I highly recommend.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I couldn't be happier with my experience at Julie Allen. Their consultant helped me find the perfect dress and the price was great. The owner is friendly and accommodating, which was important because I like in VA and had to make special trips up to CT for shopping and alterations and they made it work for me. My alterations person, Anna, was spectacular and is just SO talented.
Wedding: 09/21/2012
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Absolutely amazing!!!!!!!!!!! They made sure that everything fit perfectly and it did. They have a large selection and patience to make sure you find exactly what you are looking for!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julie Allen was great in the whole process from picking out the dress, to the alterations, to finally wearing the dress on my wedding day. They were always very friendly and accommodating.
Wedding: 06/07/2012
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can not find ONE thing bad to say about Julie Allen! I found a dress in a magazine that I fell in love with. When I found out that it was within my price range I googled different shops in my area where I could just take a look and see if it was as beautiful in person. EVERY shop I called would not let me come in just to try on the one dress except for Julie Allen. They let me come in put me in the sample dress, then I left. A few weeks later I went for my official dress shopping with my mother and MOH.

The sales girl remembered me. They put the three of us in one large dressing room and gave me a slip and a strapless cossetted bra so I would be covered at all time. Then it was like Magic they had me in and out of about 15-18 dresses. They were honest if something didn't look good on me and they didn't push anything that was out of our price range, IN FACT that didn't even come close the the price we were looking at everything was under! I ended up purchasing that first dress I tried on.

Everytime that I have gone in there all the girls remember who I am, which I am amazed by. The Seamstress Anna WAS Brilliant. I fell in love with her the moment I met her. The owner (which I can not remember her name) Is involved in everything and super friendly. Whenever I go into this shop I leaving thinking I want to quit my job and start selling wedding dresses!

Thank you so much!!!!
Wedding: 03/17/2012
Services Used: Dress & Attire
 203-426-4378
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0