Julia MacInnis Photography
6817 Brimstone Lane
Fairfax Station, VA 22039  | map
Style: Contemporary, Portraiture
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (29)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Julia was very professional and gave us excellent photos.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am sure there are many wonderful wedding photographers on Wedding Wire. But if I were you, I would not look any further than Julia MacInnis. After meeting for the initial consult we knew she was the perfect photographer for our wedding. It only takes a short conversation to see her professionalism and passion for her work. A few months before our wedding we booked an engagement session with Julia. After two postponements due to weather, we dragged her to Eastern Market on a 90 degree day in July. Julia took the temp in stride and overcame the not-so-ideal light to capture wonderful photos. We had a few requests for specific photos on our wedding day but having looked through a few of her previous wedding shoots we told her to go with her instincts for the rest. So glad we did! We just received our final photos and they are incredible! Our wedding day was a complete blur but we will always have the memories and the photos Julia captured for us. Thank you Julia!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julia was great. She walked my husband and I through our engagement photos and they came out great. She even picked the location and it was adorable. When it came to the wedding, she was there but she didn't stick out like a sore thumb. She was great with making sure we got all the shots we requested. When my flower girls (2 1/2) was acting up she was able to get her to sit and smile for the group photo! The pictures we have seen so far are great and we can't wait to see the rest!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Christine 1 Reviews
Julia did a FANTASTIC job photographing our wedding! We had only talked on the phone, and not met in person because we were planning our second wedding in a short time period. Nevertheless, she did a great job listening to what we wanted, and we felt like we had really good chemistry when we met in person on the big day. She was everywhere without being intrusive, she made everyone smile and feel natural with ease, she captured the spirit of the day and just took wonderful pictures everywhere, of everyone! She took a ton of pictures of my daughters and their friends doing their own things, and they are some of my favorite pictures. I don't know Julia well, but she is just a radiant person who takes so much pleasure in her work. I would very very happily recommend Julia to anyone who has a wedding coming up. I am certain we will find other opportunities to take advantage of Julia's great photography in the years to come!
Wedding: 09/08/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
I loved working with Julia! She was very professional, easy going, personable and of course took amazing photographs!!! She was also the wedding photographer at my sisters wedding the previous fall so I knew that I was going to be in good hands! Every picture that I asked for, she took and went above and beyond! I am so happy with the results and will recommend her to anyone who is in need of an amazing photographer!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Julia was great. My husband and I live overseas and got married 'back home' and Julia was flexible and responsive on email and phone calls, albums too. She understood the style and feel of our wedding immediately. Julia is also a great person. I highly recommend Julia's services.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jim 2 Reviews
Julia was amazing all the way through!

When we went to sit down and chat with her, we met in her home which was very professionally kept and laid out, a feat given she has kids!

She kept everything in line at the wedding itself and even pulled her camera back out while packing up to make sure to capture a very special moment for us.

The pictures came and we were very impressed with the quality. Through and through we were blown away by everything she had to offer. I'd use her again for other stuff too!
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julia was everywhere on our wedding day. She captured images of our wedding that I didn't think anyone would think to get or be fast enough to snap. The day after our wedding she put four pictures up on facebook as a quick sneak peak. They were perfection. Within a few weeks, she put up a slideshow on her website and also posted it to facebook so my friends and family could see. Shortly after that, we received the whole gallery.

I was very pleased with the quality, the time frame in which she did her work, and that she shared it on facebook. Julia is the kind of photographer that you keep in touch with, you send Christmas cards to and you use every time you have an important family portrait you want to take in the future.

I knew she would be fantastic but the images she captured were more than I could have hoped for.
Wedding: 05/14/2011
Services Used: Photography
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Julia was great to work with and got some amazing pictures of our big day. :) I thought her prices were reasonable for the products we got (the DVD case and labels are beautiful and keepsake we will always cherish). She knew just the right lighting and angles to get awesome pictures of our wedding day. I'd recommend her for any wedding. :) She also did our engagement photos-- they turned out amazing and we're actually getting one of them blown up and printed on canvas.
Wedding: 03/26/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julia was amazing. Not only was her work beautiful, she managed to coordinate photos of a HUGE wedding party, was adaptable when things didn't go as scheduled before the ceremony (which is more than I could say about my reaction) and captured photos of our family and friends during perfect/special moments that my Husband and I would have otherwise not seen. For example, there is a photo of my Mom looking at my Dad after he sat down after giving me away and it's precious! That look happened in a split second, and she captured it, along with many more just like that. The thing that really sets Julia apart is her personality. She is friendly, funny, confident, and extremely professional and made us feel comfortable. She left an impression on everyone; family, friends, Country Club employees, etc. and that says a lot!
Wedding: 09/18/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
No, I did not put five stars on everything because I was lazy! I truly loved having Julia as my photographer! She was nothing but professional through the whole period leading up to my wedding. With my initial consultation, Julia was up front about her services and pricing and her portfolio was beautiful so I was easily sold. Her responsiveness moving forward was always quick and no question was too silly. The day of the wedding, she arrived on time and got right to work. Even during "down times", Julia continued to work--setting up the next photo and making sure she had everything prepared. She also did a great job of impromptu photos. Any ideas I had for a photo she took to immediately and made it better than what I had imagined. My wedding was very relaxed and stress free for me and I loved that Julia fit right in. I was never concerned about what she was doing, I completely trusted her judgement. As far as the photos--amazing! I would highly recommend Julia MacInnis Photography for any type of wedding. She is the best, in my opinion.
Wedding: 08/07/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julia is wonderful!!! She did our wedding last year and she brought another very experienced photographer with her that just made the most beautiful pictures. Everyone gushed over them. Additionally, she is a great person. So fun to be around... we did our engagement pictures and just had such a fun time with it. She was also a very calming presence at the wedding, which is such a bonus for a nervous bride! We loved her!
Wedding: 05/01/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julia was great! Very easy to work with and willing to change the amount of time we had originally scheduled to make it longer the week of the wedding. The pictures are beautiful and very professional.
Wedding: 08/08/2009
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Not to sound cliche, but wow, wow and WOW. Julia is by far one of the absolute best photographers in the Washington Metropolitan area, especially considering our particular cirumstance. Both my husband and I work for the Departement of State, so our wedding was VERY last minute and a bit of a whirlwind. I contacted her three weeks prior to our set date, and without any hesitation, Julia bid on my request - and a great bid it was. Not only did she have reasonable prices, but because we were not doing a full 8 hour wedding, she adjusted her prices to accomodate our short event.

Professionally, she was on time, prepared, courteous, and listened intently to what we wanted as a couple. Some of our best shots are ones that we all collaborated on. As we are African American, and have darker skin tones, this could have proven to be a challenge for any photographer. Nevertheless, she adjusted, added and/or deleted light, and was sure to place us in the perfect position to utilize natural light as well. She touched up a few photos for the blog, but the ones that she did not still portray us in the most perfect way possible. Simply amazing photos.

On a more personal note, I am above and beyond appreciative of her desire to please the customer. Our wedding ran late into the evening hours, so Julia did not get the best shots she thought possible. She texted me the very next morning and said 'lets try this again'. Any other photographer would have allowed us to go on with our lives, giving us what we paid for. Not Julia. She is very detailed and dedicated to her artform, and even if we were satisfied with her final product, she was not. We met again and took even more stunning photos, which we are all pleased with.

To be very direct about it, Julia rocks. She loves her chosen profession and she loves people, which makes for some of the most heartfelt, candid, meaningful photography. Not that I am planning for children any time soon, but when I start showing that lovely bump, I will be calling Julia to document the life of us and our child(ren) for years to come:-)

P.S. - Shes quick and full of energy - makes for a fun, great session!!
Wedding: 08/05/2009
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julia is awesome! We knew right away when we met her that we wanted to work with her. She is warm and friendly but totally professional. We had a great time working with her and we got to do a free engagement photo session with the package we went with which was really cool. Her photography is amazking and really helped to tell our story. We will be getting our albums soon and I am really excited. I would highly recommend Julia to any happy couple!
Wedding: 05/16/2009
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 9 Reviews
Julia is amazing. I am so glad we decided to have her photograph our wedding. She is talented, compassionate, encouraging, and really got to know us throughout the whole process.

Julia's wedding photography is worth every penny. From the engagement session all the way up until I got the album, Julia communicated with us regularly and responded to questions very quickly. I personally hate getting my picture taken at all, but as a bride, I knew I had to! During the engagement session, Julia really made me feel at ease. She was so positive and supportive, and really helped me relax...something that is difficult for me to do when my picture is taken. We ended up having so much fun despite being outside in the cold!

At the wedding ceremony Julia was great. The church we got married in was VERY strict in terms where photographers were allowed to stand. Julia and her co-photographers weren't even allowed to stand inside the main part of the church! Despite this, Julia's pictures were phenomenal. She was positive the whole time and used her professional talent to ensure she got great photos. She used the small areas where she could stand to get some neat aerial photos and some were zoomed in but looked as though she was right behind us at the altar. At the reception, Julia got some great candid pictures of us and our guests, as well as some that were set up.

Photography is the one part of the wedding in which couples cannot afford to look for the cheapest prices available. I know so many couples who looked for really cheap photographers, and once the photos and albums came back they were so disappointed. With Julia, you will not be disappointed! Her photos really captured great moments on our special day, and she has options of parent albums of various shapes and sizes...traditional albums to ones that look like books and more!

I highly recommend going with Julia MacInnis Photography...aside from marrying my husband, it was the best investment I made on my wedding day!
Wedding: 04/25/2009
Services Used: Photography
 703-407-6678
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0