"It's All About U" Wedding Coordination and Event Planning
Serving All Areas in Alabama
5520 20th Avenue East
Tuscaloosa, AL 35405  | map
Services: Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (13)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (3.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (3.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (3.8/5.0)
Value:
 (3.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (3.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mrs. Sonya is awesome. She planned everything involving my Graduation party from beginning to end. She even surprised me with a big candy station which I am a candy fanatic, so it was on POINT. The food was great with plenty for seconds and thirds, the DJ kept us on the floor the entire time (way to go DJ), and decorations were Perfect. Mrs. Sonya really did an amazing job, the ceiling were draped and the walls were decorated beautifully not to mention the center piece for my table which was huge and Gorgeous which I have in my living room showing it off. I would like to give a big shout out to It’s ALL About YOU and everything they have done to make my day a special one.
Wedding: 08/04/2013
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Wedding Planning, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Party Supplies
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 1 Reviews
My experience was horrible flowers ugly. She waited until the last minute for everything for the bride.i was a bridemaid and our bouquet was horrible!! My sister constantly had to email her. Her staff was rude to the wedding party and guest. The walls was nasty. The parking lot had a big hole in it that is a hazards for kids and elders. The only thing good was the food cake because the table decor was horrible. I will not recommend this company to anyone
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I wanted to provide my father with a retirement party and had zero ideas. I reached out to Sonya and her team and the evening was exceptional! She suggested a theme event which really made everything stand out even more. All of the guests raved about how there were so many little personable details that made the room amazing. A special thanks to her staff for making sure the drinks were full at all times for guests and for taking care of things that were probably outside of their realm (i.e. Teaching my great aunt how to do the "Wobble"). Thanks again "It's all About U"! Flawless evening and thank you for making this milestone for my father even more special.
Wedding: 06/16/2013
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Invitations, Photography, Lighting & Decor, Party Supplies, Videography, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Furture... 5 Reviews
Sonya and her team made my husband and I dream wedding come true and we thank them so much for that...
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
May 12, 2012 was a day my husband & I will never forget!! It was everything & more that we visioned it would be. We were told by guest that they felt as if they were at a Tyler Perry wedding!! We wanted it to begin at 4 pm & at 3:59 pm the music was playing & the wedding party was in line & ready!! Fabulous Day for the Besteder's, our families & guest!! A slogan Sonya McKinstry & staff definitely lives by "It's All About U"!!
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Photography, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Videography
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
My husband and I hired It's All About U to coordinate and decorate our daughter's wedding. This was our first child's wedding and we were clueless as to the what, where and how. I must say that it was the best decision we made for a flawless day for her. Sonya handled every aspect of her big day and all we had to worry about was being on time, because starting on time was heavily stressed at the wedding rehearsal.

Periodic meetings were scheduled and held to keep a timeline of things to be completed such as - sending out correspondences to the wedding party; sending out save the date notices, invitations, etc.; food and cake tastings; tablescape selection; updates on chosen vendors and of course, keeping our payment schedule. The action plan she implemented really kept us all on point and informed.

She will definitely be our choice for our next big day!!!!
Wedding: 05/28/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
I was an attendee at a wedding that was coordinated by "It's All About U" and for a lack of better words, it was a "hot mess". I will attempt to keep this review to those inadequacies noticed on the actual wedding day as I don't have time to report on all of the shenanigans that occurred during the actual planning phase. The church's decor consisted of placing sheets on some sort of scaffolding in an attempt to hide the choir stands and other things I assume weren't supposed to show. However, the sheets only covered 60% of what it was supposed to be hiding so the resultant look came across as horribly constructed. We were told that we couldn't stand as the bride walked down the aisle with her father. Not only was it a silly request but I thought it took away a very special moment from for the bride.
Once we made it to the reception we were forced to wait at least an hour outside of the venue because "It's All About U" were completely unprepared and the room was not set up. We were not offered chairs, refreshments, or an explanation for the delay. When the reception hall was finally finished and we were able to go in we were herded in by a bunch of cross-checking teenagers equipped with a guestlist (I guess using her young family members as assistants cut down on her overhead cost). I never received an invitation and mailing them out was one of the responsibilities of "It's All About U". So I was fearful that my name wasn't on the list since I was never given an opportunity to properly RSVP. If you were not fortunate enough to be on the list you couldn't be seated. As if, this company was organized enough to have a complete list. When I attempted to re-enter the reception hall after using the restroom I was re-checked at the door as if I were trying to sneak in. We then waited another hour for the wedding party to be introduced and then had to wait for our table to be called before being "served" the food. I assume that the teenager workers were more capable of telling me the most appropriate portion size for me. The bride provided "It's All About U" with money to purchase appropriate serveware but it was apparently never ordered as we ate off of plastic everything.
The lack of professionalism was evident in everything Sonya touched. I know how much effort, time, and money went into assuring that this wedding day was perfect for my dear friend but it was horribly overshadowed by inadequate wedding planning. I wouldn't use this company if they offered to pay for my wedding and honeymoon.

Marie Jones
Birmingham, AL
"It's All About U" Wedding Coordination and Event Planning responded with the following comments:
In response to the guest above, It's All About U takes pride in offering good service not only to our clients but their guests as well. We also respect the privacy of our clients and to respond to the bogus accusations suggested and drawn out by this hostile guest would be to invade the privacy of wedding plans, details and preparation between us and the bride and groom from said wedding. Our outstanding work and professionalism at all times speaks for itself, and we received raved personal reviews from the actual couple and family during and after the wedding; however in reviewing this guest's behavior in the upon review can offer a lot about her personality which may have been the cause why she didn't receive an invitation from which we had no control.
Wedding: 09/25/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
Truth hurts, huh? I based my review on my personal experience at an event that you coordinated. By personally attacking me and my character when you don't know who I am or what wedding I attended shows just how "professional" you are. Your response appropriately depicts the inadequacies that I experienced at this wedding. It came from the same inept source. Have a blessed day.

Marie Jones
Birmingham, AL
Wedding: 09/25/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The name says, "It's All About You", is a premier organization, the designer is brilliant, friendly, and most of all professional. When I met with the Planner, Mrs. McKinstry, we sat and discussed the theme, colors, and my desire for those attending to experience. I walked out of the meeting feeling confident; this person truly knew her business. Everyone talks about the "wow factor" I have experienced it! Because I walked in the venue and viewed my dream, it was awesome, breathtaking, and spectacular, as I stood in awe, along with every guess attending the event. You want the best; I suggest It?s All About You!

Five Stars in all categories.
Wedding: 07/04/2009
Services Used: Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
"It's all about U" Wedding Planning is the best thing I could have went with. Sonya wa outstanding and so was her husband. She gave me the wedding of my dreams and people are still talking about it now. She was always avaliable and when crisis came up on the last week before the wedding Sonya handle everything with class. If you are on a budget and want the wedding that you thought you couldnt have Sonya is the one to count on, even if you are not on a budget. I would recommend Sonya and her staff to anyone getting married she is the best.
Wedding: 06/27/2009
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Photography, Wedding Planning, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Transportation, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sonya was amazing and she made our wedding day very memorable. She was always available when I needed her. She was patient, understanding and caring especially when I wasn't. Her staff was very professional during my planning, wedding and reception. If I had to do it all over again I would chose "It's All About U" Wedding Coordination and Event Planning.
Wedding: 05/02/2009
Services Used: Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were absolutely thrilled with the results of our wedding. It was a dream come true for both of us and we could not have done it without "It's All About U" Wedding Coordination and Event Planning! Sonya was organized, innovative and down to earth. She wasted no time in listening to what we wanted and working on making our wishes come true. We were impressed from the day she welcomed us into her home to begin planning to the day she delivered our wedding photos. During the wedding planning, we met with Sonya several times to go over details and she provided us with a planning timeline, which we found very comforting. We never had to wonder about what to do next. We frequently e-mailed one another with questions ranging from details about the ceremony to reception and decoration ideas. Sonya also helped us deal with natural wedding fears and frustrations. The title “It’s All About U” says it all because it was indeed all about us!

----Chris & Ashley Chappell
Wedding: 03/24/2007
Services Used: Beauty & Health, DJ, Flowers, Photography, Wedding Planning, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Videography, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I highly recommend It's all about you and s/d video. When it's your special day, You do not want to become a stressed out "bridezilla" Sonya and her staff took all our worries away. Our wedding was very well organized, beautiful, Christmas and Cinderella wedding. They brought very unique ideas and the decorations were platinum (amazing)! She brings years or experience and knowledge. I can truly say that we would not have had it any other way! It is the best decision a nervous bride can make. Pam and Tyrone McCollins
Wedding: 12/14/2002
Services Used: Band, Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Dress & Attire, Flowers, Invitations, Jewelry, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Transportation, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Videography
 205-826-2793
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8
out of 5.0