Hotel Viking
    35 Reviews
One Bellevue Avenue
Newport, RI 02840  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party...
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 275
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (35)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our winter wedding at the Viking was so great!
We were married in Kay Chapel (simple, cozy, New England charm) and we hosted our reception in the Viking Ballroom. We also hosted a morning-after breakfast in the Bellevue Ballroom. Everything, from the moment we arrived on Thursday morning until the moment we drove away on Sunday afternoon, was handled with professionalism, wowing our parents, guests and us (the bride and groom).
Furthermore, the months and months of planning with Linda Ferguson were productive, efficient and smooth. Linda is on the top of her game. She is smart, kind, flexible and thoughtful. She works seamlessly with your vendors. She gets to know you and your family and then alleviates any doubts and ultimately delivers an experience that keeps to your budget and exceeds your expectations. As someone who somewhat works in the business, I had zero concerns when working with Linda.
Overall: The location in Newport is perfect, the hotel rooms are comfortable and nice, the food is delicious, and the staff (kudos to the front desk team and bells who didn't blink when we handed over our room drop spreadsheet) is focused and nimble.
Thank you, Hotel Viking (and thank you x 1,000, Linda)!
Wedding: 02/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding at the Hotel Viking was perfect. The chapel and ballroom were gorgeous, the service was fantastic, and the food was outstanding. Linda Ferguson was very easy to work with and very responsive to questions and concerns, and everything went very smoothly for us. We would definitely recommend this venue.
Wedding: 12/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I planned my elopement package with Linda at the Hotel Viking and had my wedding at the charming Kay Chapel. Everything from the moment we arrived was just perfect! We met with the officiant and Linda, and when we arrived in our suite, there was champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The next day was my ceremony and due to unexpected rain, the Hotel provided transportation for me to the Chapel which is only a block away. The gentlemen who work the valet area were also commendable, helpful and very personable. Our package included a wedding dinner and bottle of champagne in the Hotel's restaurant, One Bellevue. The manager, Frederico, was the best--he personally came over to make sure everything was to our liking and that we had a nice corner table. The food was delicious. Overall, we had a great experience and can't wait to come back for our anniversary, if not before!
Wedding: 11/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The Hotel Viking was fantastic. Linda Ferguson was simply the best. Her guidance, effort and constant assistance made for a flawless wedding. The hotel and chapel were beautiful. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and always greeted us with a smile. I would recommend the Viking Hotel to anyone that is looking to have a wedding in Newport, RI.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The most beautiful and warm and inviting venue I have ever been to. The staff at The Hotel Viking was beyond exceptional. Our guests said they have never tasted food as good as the food at our wedding. The historic elegance is a statement in itself and created a beautiful atmosphere for our special day. I have never had a better day thanks to The Hotel Viking
Wedding: 11/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I chose the Hotel Viking for our wedding and it was a dream come true! right from the start Linda was fantastic and was able to make everything that we wanted a reality. The room we had was big enough for all our guest to feel comfortable and not crowded. We went for a food tasting and was nervous that the food we had then wouldn't taste like the food at the actual wedding, we were wrong! The food was beyond delicious! Our guests really enjoyed what we chose and how it was prepared. We had a few guests that would need special accommodation's due to allergies and the Viking had no problem creating something as delicious as everyone elses dinners.
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Food was awesome.....and staff was suberb
Wedding: 03/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 9 Reviews
While we had our reception elsewhere, we chose Kay Chapel for our ceremony for its history and simple beauty. We worked with Marianne from the Hotel Viking, who was fantastic. She was very thoughtful in helping us plan the flow of the day, making suggestions on how to proceed with music and d├ęcor. During the rehearsal and day of, she kept everything running extremely smooth and effortless. Kay Chapel is such a special place for a ceremony and their team is wonderful.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

TC 2 Reviews
We were married on July 22, 2012. The ceremony was held at the Kay Chapel and reception was at the Bellevue Ballroom. The chapel was renovated but kept the vintage (not "old") and classy feelings which were perfect for my wedding, or any wedding in Newport. The decor in the chapel is simple and elegant. I didn't have to add in too much additional touch and it was perfect. Similar to the chapel, the hotel also was renovated but kept the vintage and classy decors. It feels just right. The food was excellent. There were so many options that we could choose from. My father-in-law is a picky eater and he LOVED it! All my guests still rave about it today. The staffs were very nice and they did a great job! I have to give a special shout to our catering manager, Linda Ferguson. She is the best! I had visited a few venues in the Newport area before came to the Viking. None of the coordinators came even close to Linda. She is so attentive since day one. She really put her heart into the wedding. Throughout the entire process, Linda was also very responsive and accommodating. She paid attention to what we said and gave us many good ideas. Linda made sure every detail was just the way we wanted. On the wedding day, Linda constant checked in with us to ensure everything was going well.
Overall, our experience with the Hotel Viking was great and we were glad we chose this venue. I definitely will recommend to other brides.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The wedding was elegant and planned perfectly. The food was amazing. People are still talking about it. I had one guest tell me, " You expect to have a good time at a wedding but you never expect for the food to be this good!"
Linda Ferguson is very professional and is extremely organized.
She assures that everything runs smoothly -and it does.
The cake is from Konditor Meister located just outside of Boston. It was fabulous. Beautiful and delicious. I would HIGHLY recommend The Hotel Viking to anyone looking for a wonderful wedding venue in Newport RI.
Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

lgentile 3 Reviews
I literally felt like a princess from the moment I pulled up on friday to the second I left on Sunday. It was the most amazing experience, I didn't want to leave. I worked with Linda Ferguson, the entire process, she was AMAZING!!! Such a sweet woman and would get back to me right away. Linda knew so much and her guidance and expertise helped us through the whole wedding process, not just the wedding day. She would help with anything from Linens to helping us with other vendors, she was fantastic. I also worked with Mariann a couple times and she was great!!!! The Bellman were fantastic! The staff at the Viking is the best The hotel is so beautiful and so clean. Spa Terre inside the Viking was AMAZING!!! I had a hot stone massage done by Catrina, that was fantastic and RELAXING!!!! I would recommend anyone to go there. The FOOD was amazing!!! When we went around to thank everyone, each guest raved about the food. I have people calling us asking what the marinade was in the salmon and how they make the brie passed hor dourves, everyone raved about everything. People keep emailing me and calling my parents about how great the Viking was. I'm so lucky to have gotten married there. I would not have changed a thing, it was the best experience and the best day of my life.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We chose the Hotel Viking because of the atmosphere, location and overall level of service from the staff. I had always envisioned an elegant and classic setting, and fell in-love with the 1920's, great-American allure of the Hotel Viking. The chapel is perfect in size and demeanor, and you can truly bring it to life with your own style and character. We planned our wedding from out-of-town and the level of attention from the staff was unprecedented. It was exactly what every bride wants and needs, especially from afar. The experienced staff were true professionals and flawlessly brought our vision to life, especially our dedicated coordinator, Linda Ferguson. She provided excellent recommendations for other services including rehearsal dinner, hair and makeup, and flowers. The food was phenomenal for both the cocktail our and reception - large portion-sizes from an award-winning chef. The servers and staff made us feel like our wedding was the only one in the world that mattered that day. Our guests stayed at the hotel, which made for an all-inclusive weekend. Located in the heart of Newport, it felt like a romantic voyage back in time. Our wedding day at the Hotel Viking was absolutely magical - every bride should be lucky enough to have the same experience.
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Linda was absolutely amazing to work with, very helpful, responsive, and such a sweetheart. I cannot comment about this venue without saying this- The Hotel Viking has fantastic food!! Our guests are still raving about the incredible meals that that they enjoyed at our wedding. We have had several people tell us that they are willing to take the drive to Newport just to eat at the restaurant because they enjoyed the food so much. We spent the weekend at the hotel and loved the fact that everything was in the same spot and we had so much to do... the chapel is right there, the ballroom of course, our guests could stay right on location, even the spa and the pool was available for the bridal party to relax and enjoy. I highly recommend this venue to anyone who is considering it!
Wedding: 02/19/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything was perfect!!! I would definitely recommend to a friend.
Wedding: 02/18/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding was at the Kay Chapel and our reception was at the Hotel Viking. It was so well done and the staff at the Viking was outstanding. Everyone I talked to said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. I can't thank the staff at the Hotel Viking enough!
Wedding: 12/10/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got married at the Kay Chapel and had our reception at the Hotel Viking in December of 2011. The entire event was everything that I hoped it would be! The Hotel Viking is traditional, outstanding and eloquent. Linda Ferguson was our wedding coordinator and she did a fantastic job!! I was so nervous that our guests would not know where to go but Linda made everything so perfect. Everyone was informed and escorted to where they needed to be. From the Chapel to the cocktail party to the reception, the night was flawless.
Our reception was in the Bellevue Ballroom and everything was beautiful. The staff was exceptional! They were there for us throughout the evening and payed such close attention to all of the guests! The hotel service was also outstanding. I am delighted to give the Hotel Viking the highest of reviews.
Wedding: 12/10/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 401-848-4800
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0