Hotel Viking
    44 Reviews
One Bellevue Avenue
Newport, RI 02840  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (44)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It really was the perfect wedding weekend! Our ceremony was held at Kay Chapel, our cocktail hour was in the courtyard (thank god for warm September weather) and our reception was in the Viking Ballroom (downstairs). We also hosted a breakfast Sunday morning in the courtyard for our guests that stayed in the hotel.

I really loved the overall experience and style of the Hotel Viking, it definitely has an intimate, classy and charming feel to it, which was a perfect fit for our wedding.

Kay Chapel is simple and elegant, certainly a gem! Our guests also loved that it was a short walk from the Chapel to the Hotel for the cocktail hour/reception (no need to get back in the car). The cocktail hour was really nice, we had rented white lanterns from our florist, and he placed them throughout the courtyard. They looked lovely! The ballroom looked beautiful, the food was excellent (I received many compliments from our guests), and the staff was very friendly and attentive. Our waiter came over to us many times during the evening to see if he could get us anything else.

I worked with Linda Ferguson at the Hotel Viking, and she was a pleasure to work with. She was very helpful throughout the planning process, very responsive to my many, many questions, and certainly accommodating. The day before our wedding, our wedding day and at our Sunday breakfast, Linda checked in with us to ensure everything was going well. She goes out of her way, to make sure everything goes well.

Overall, our experience with the Hotel Viking was PERFECT…. I wouldn't have changed a thing. We had such a nice and fun weekend, certainly a time to remember!!!
Wedding: 09/20/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Linda Ferguson and the entire Hotel Viking staff were absolutely on point from start to finish. The hotel is a historic iconic building in this beautiful city by the sea but the staff made the event even more memorable. They all deserve 5 stars!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Every detail of our wedding weekend was amazing! We were first drawn to Hotel Viking for the location and atmosphere. We also held the ceremony at Kay Chapel and hosted a brunch the next day in the Colonade room. The convenience of all the events was wonderful, as we had many out of town guests. The entire staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and accommodating. Our event planner, Linda, was THE BEST! Her attention to detail and responsiveness thoroughout the whole 12+ month process was wonderful and made the wedding seamless. Thank you!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I celebrated our wedding at Hotel Viking recently. The ceremony was at the charming Kay Chapel and the reception in the beautiful Bellevue Ballroom. We planned our wedding from Boston and I am a law student, so I was expecting it to be a very stressful several months leading up to the big day. Our event coordinator Linda Ferguson was amazing - responsive, accommodating, and completely on point. She made the entire process so easy and stress-free. She made great suggestions and knew exactly how to execute our beautiful wedding. Our day went off without a hitch, and my guests are still raving about the venue, the food, and how much they enjoyed our wedding. The staff at Viking was also fantastic. Servers and bartenders were friendly and helpful, and valets and everyone working at the desk was great. I really cannot say enough about Hotel Viking. We will remember our wedding day for the rest of our lives and look forward to returning to the Viking for our anniversary for years to come.
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our winter wedding at the Viking was so great!
We were married in Kay Chapel (simple, cozy, New England charm) and we hosted our reception in the Viking Ballroom. We also hosted a morning-after breakfast in the Bellevue Ballroom. Everything, from the moment we arrived on Thursday morning until the moment we drove away on Sunday afternoon, was handled with professionalism, wowing our parents, guests and us (the bride and groom).
Furthermore, the months and months of planning with Linda Ferguson were productive, efficient and smooth. Linda is on the top of her game. She is smart, kind, flexible and thoughtful. She works seamlessly with your vendors. She gets to know you and your family and then alleviates any doubts and ultimately delivers an experience that keeps to your budget and exceeds your expectations. As someone who somewhat works in the business, I had zero concerns when working with Linda.
Overall: The location in Newport is perfect, the hotel rooms are comfortable and nice, the food is delicious, and the staff (kudos to the front desk team and bells who didn't blink when we handed over our room drop spreadsheet) is focused and nimble.
Thank you, Hotel Viking (and thank you x 1,000, Linda)!
Wedding: 02/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 1 Reviews
Linda far exceede all of our expectations. She was not only extreamly professional and excellent in her job. She was flexible , friendly and made us feel like we were her only priority. That our day was just as important to her as it was to us. Weddings are stressful as we all know and to know Linda was taking care of everything and was so dependable I sis to have to worry abt anything venue related. I could focus on other aspects only wedding. She really created a special memory for us and we will be coming back to the Viking to celebrate each anniversary. Linda is amazing without her we would have been lost.
Wedding: 12/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding at the Hotel Viking was perfect. The chapel and ballroom were gorgeous, the service was fantastic, and the food was outstanding. Linda Ferguson was very easy to work with and very responsive to questions and concerns, and everything went very smoothly for us. We would definitely recommend this venue.
Wedding: 12/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I planned my elopement package with Linda at the Hotel Viking and had my wedding at the charming Kay Chapel. Everything from the moment we arrived was just perfect! We met with the officiant and Linda, and when we arrived in our suite, there was champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The next day was my ceremony and due to unexpected rain, the Hotel provided transportation for me to the Chapel which is only a block away. The gentlemen who work the valet area were also commendable, helpful and very personable. Our package included a wedding dinner and bottle of champagne in the Hotel's restaurant, One Bellevue. The manager, Frederico, was the best--he personally came over to make sure everything was to our liking and that we had a nice corner table. The food was delicious. Overall, we had a great experience and can't wait to come back for our anniversary, if not before!
Wedding: 11/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The Hotel Viking was fantastic. Linda Ferguson was simply the best. Her guidance, effort and constant assistance made for a flawless wedding. The hotel and chapel were beautiful. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and always greeted us with a smile. I would recommend the Viking Hotel to anyone that is looking to have a wedding in Newport, RI.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The most beautiful and warm and inviting venue I have ever been to. The staff at The Hotel Viking was beyond exceptional. Our guests said they have never tasted food as good as the food at our wedding. The historic elegance is a statement in itself and created a beautiful atmosphere for our special day. I have never had a better day thanks to The Hotel Viking
Wedding: 11/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I chose the Hotel Viking for our wedding and it was a dream come true! right from the start Linda was fantastic and was able to make everything that we wanted a reality. The room we had was big enough for all our guest to feel comfortable and not crowded. We went for a food tasting and was nervous that the food we had then wouldn't taste like the food at the actual wedding, we were wrong! The food was beyond delicious! Our guests really enjoyed what we chose and how it was prepared. We had a few guests that would need special accommodation's due to allergies and the Viking had no problem creating something as delicious as everyone elses dinners.
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Food was awesome.....and staff was suberb
Wedding: 03/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 9 Reviews
While we had our reception elsewhere, we chose Kay Chapel for our ceremony for its history and simple beauty. We worked with Marianne from the Hotel Viking, who was fantastic. She was very thoughtful in helping us plan the flow of the day, making suggestions on how to proceed with music and décor. During the rehearsal and day of, she kept everything running extremely smooth and effortless. Kay Chapel is such a special place for a ceremony and their team is wonderful.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

TC 2 Reviews
We were married on July 22, 2012. The ceremony was held at the Kay Chapel and reception was at the Bellevue Ballroom. The chapel was renovated but kept the vintage (not "old") and classy feelings which were perfect for my wedding, or any wedding in Newport. The decor in the chapel is simple and elegant. I didn't have to add in too much additional touch and it was perfect. Similar to the chapel, the hotel also was renovated but kept the vintage and classy decors. It feels just right. The food was excellent. There were so many options that we could choose from. My father-in-law is a picky eater and he LOVED it! All my guests still rave about it today. The staffs were very nice and they did a great job! I have to give a special shout to our catering manager, Linda Ferguson. She is the best! I had visited a few venues in the Newport area before came to the Viking. None of the coordinators came even close to Linda. She is so attentive since day one. She really put her heart into the wedding. Throughout the entire process, Linda was also very responsive and accommodating. She paid attention to what we said and gave us many good ideas. Linda made sure every detail was just the way we wanted. On the wedding day, Linda constant checked in with us to ensure everything was going well.
Overall, our experience with the Hotel Viking was great and we were glad we chose this venue. I definitely will recommend to other brides.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The wedding was elegant and planned perfectly. The food was amazing. People are still talking about it. I had one guest tell me, " You expect to have a good time at a wedding but you never expect for the food to be this good!"
Linda Ferguson is very professional and is extremely organized.
She assures that everything runs smoothly -and it does.
The cake is from Konditor Meister located just outside of Boston. It was fabulous. Beautiful and delicious. I would HIGHLY recommend The Hotel Viking to anyone looking for a wonderful wedding venue in Newport RI.
Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

lgentile 3 Reviews
I literally felt like a princess from the moment I pulled up on friday to the second I left on Sunday. It was the most amazing experience, I didn't want to leave. I worked with Linda Ferguson, the entire process, she was AMAZING!!! Such a sweet woman and would get back to me right away. Linda knew so much and her guidance and expertise helped us through the whole wedding process, not just the wedding day. She would help with anything from Linens to helping us with other vendors, she was fantastic. I also worked with Mariann a couple times and she was great!!!! The Bellman were fantastic! The staff at the Viking is the best The hotel is so beautiful and so clean. Spa Terre inside the Viking was AMAZING!!! I had a hot stone massage done by Catrina, that was fantastic and RELAXING!!!! I would recommend anyone to go there. The FOOD was amazing!!! When we went around to thank everyone, each guest raved about the food. I have people calling us asking what the marinade was in the salmon and how they make the brie passed hor dourves, everyone raved about everything. People keep emailing me and calling my parents about how great the Viking was. I'm so lucky to have gotten married there. I would not have changed a thing, it was the best experience and the best day of my life.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 401-848-4800
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0