Gold Events LLC-Samantha Goldberg & Co

Gold Events LLC-Samantha Goldberg & Co

Extravagant Designs, Innate- One of a Kind Event Coordination..

12 Bank Street
Suite 201
Summit, NJ 07901 | map
Weddings: Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly / ...
Services: Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning
 
4.4
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
(4.4 / 5.0)
Responsiveness:
(4.5 / 5.0)
Professionalism:
(4.4 / 5.0)
Value:
(4.4 / 5.0)
Flexibility:
(4.5 / 5.0)
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

My son's bar mitzvah was set over the top with the help of Samantha!!!
I was so lucky to be able to have worked with Samantha and recieved her experience and expertise when selecting both photographer and videographer. Her contacts are amazing and enlightened me into how the trends have changed and literally blew us away. She helped turn a wonderful day into truly a treasured memory and for that I will always be gratefull. Always eager to help and do more she is a true pleasure to work with and a true professional. Thank You Thank You Thank YOU!!! You truly made our day!!!

Gold Events LLC-Samantha Goldberg & Co responded with the following comments:

Helene!! I want the photos!! Inna said you were in tears! Will you allow for her to share a book so I can show off the Mitzvah services we offer etc...I just started asking for the Mitzvahs lol about time right?....Eddie I am sure wiill give me a video..Cannot wait...Sent'an email about the FAM trip..lets chat after holidays ? XX for the review I am so happy you were happy! I need to send you info again about my first tour in Canada..Toronto First weekend in March and Calgary would be next Maybe April?..Need a hotel..Hiton obviously offered at n/c as it's a sales seminiar..If I speak about different locations can you help me?? HH

  • Wedding: 10/16/2011
Services Used: Photography, Unique Services (Other), Videography
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I have to say, I am very impressed with the service and professionalism I received from Samantha and her team for my wedding in September. I will be recommending them to my friends that are getting married in 2012. Thanks so much again for the best day I could have imagined.

  • Wedding: 09/10/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
0.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 0.0
  • Responsiveness: 0.5
  • Professionalism: 0.0
  • Value: 0.0
  • Flexibility: 0.0

Hiring Samantha was the worst decision we made while planning our wedding. Due to her constantly being sick and never having a backup, she was very unresponsive and impossible to get a hold of. We went through numerous "Senior Planners" within her company because her staff kept quitting. A month before our wedding 90% of our punch list was not completed and we were scrambling to pull everything together. A wedding planner is supposed to ensure a smooth planning process and we received the exactly opposite. Don't let her 'fool' with her sales pitch that she can work low-budget weddings. She has you sign a contract and then pushes you aside for more expensive clients. She claims she doesn’t accept vendor commissions - ha! It was recorded she took in over $20K in vendor commissions from ONE florist last year. Lies lies and more lies. She definitely put on a good act - I will say that. My husband and I had a gorgeous wedding but it was no thanks to Samantha!
12/22/11: The below posting from Samantha is completely false. The length to which she goes to justify her case only validates our initial review.

Gold Events LLC-Samantha Goldberg & Co responded with the following comments:

Post was condensed not for reasons other than to give recognition and staying factual.

The current post remains under investigation (legal department at SG, shared with Wed Wire they're aware) along with staff and vendors.

Lauren, fails to admit she knows we have inhouse legal. They are present mainly to protect our clients from contracts & limited rights.

I truly believe we work w/ some of the best vendors in the country. Based on the reviews, our clients share the same thoughts. Is inhouse legal needed? In some cases, it is. I'm lucky to afford this service which is not extra for the clients that work with us. It's a complimentary service. Even my very own contract has areas to protect the client.

Lauren Gussis, has described her "experience" as being unpleasant, the information contained in her email, is not consistent with reviews anywhere.
Factual information regarding embezzlement, plagiarism and stolen property are just not actions one can prevent. It happened to us. It also happened to Lauren.

I could assume Mrs Gussis might be upset over the relationship which was terminated (whether SG or employee leaving) no relevance to what she chose to rate SG- Co. She is also rating our advice and guidance with every vendor "I" personally recommended as well. Do the right thing and at least thank these vendors that made such a beautiful wedding without me. They basically handed their services to you, it's the least you can do.

I think the budget statement, you need to let that one go. I have clients with less than you, and it's their own funds...not like youself, who had mommy pay.

Remember, accusations and fact are very much like oil and vinegar. They don't mix well...They won't mix ever based on structure. Fact.

Being accused publicly of "kickbacks" is an opinion, ask any vendor we have here. If you were to see what type of disc they offered Lauren, it's unheard of. No mention she was given a program that was not a specific package..It was clearly stated what my staff was to provide & myself. Not one person had neglected to do what was signed. Don't miss 3-6 emails daily on my end alone (staff having more), were more than a client's budget 15x more than you. That fact alone shows I personally care about everyone we work with regardless of the investment.

You fail to share I left the hospital against orders after surgery, to come home, treat her to dinner- sit for over 3.5 hours discussing songs she should dance to or design ideas that were not of an emergency. I felt after losing an employee due to listed, this was of merit. The very next day, I had to return back to the hospital due to reasons I was asked to stay. While I'm upset with Lauren at the moment, I would have done this for anyone-will never stop this empathic mode for a more deserving client.

Look at the reviews, they are consistent with what I am "preaching".

The comment below was a collaboration from our team-clients whom emailed us when this post was public...Not from me.

"We wish Mrs. Goldberg a speedy recovery and hope that these issues will teach other vendors to stand firm on their own agreements. Mrs. Goldberg has been rated for many years with Wedding Wire and various forms of rating systems"
There are no similarities of neglect, not truthful information or accusations of taking money from a vendor who remains nameless.

Since you have failed to thank those I sugggested and personally neogtiated with I will for you.

I thank Open Aire for their genreous discount of the per person rate- asking for only 1/2 of the fee for Lauren's ask of a "Clear" tent top and sparkle lights". Larry Ott is an amazing person & vendor who was and still is one of the most generous people I have ever met. Thank you to Eddie of Stix Productions (Video) who based on my ask in Feb to give Lauren a package that was over $1500 of a discount. I thank Laura Madden and Merri Makers which was Lauren Gussis org venue for not only allowing her to cancel the contract, but not charging her for anything at all. I did not want to ask that of you, as you are such an incredible caterer who has always accomodated my staff -myself w/ a more than fair way of saying "affordable". TY to Marty of Romanza (Ceremony music, who not only sent an email stating I was the one who suggested the service but gave a generous discount as Lauren's budget was limited). TY to "Flowerful Events" for trying to meet with Lauren, and being mocked, critiqued due to your dudilgence and asking for information about her wedding date as all vendors do. I am very sorry she said the things she did such as "you were a joke" or incompetent, I have reviews below that will smother this comment you are TRULY amazing; I thank you for even meeting w/ her.
I would like to thank "Dave Nase of NJ Best DJ's" who was/ and hope still is a fan of mine, generous along w/ being a true friend successful is an understatement Dave..I have chosen not to list what was done w/ this specific vendor due to the planner who stole my pride, trust- funds+...I truly am sorry Dave, you did not deserve this. With the exception of Makeup/Hair..and last products of items place cards etc..we gave Lauren 100% and more. I am 100% confident that I did above an beyond for this client.

Lauren, I think America is smart enough to know, a designer, as public as I am, would never leave a bride with 90% of a punch list just weeks before their wedding. You forgot to mention you did not pay us what we were owed. Lauren asked for a refund on everything that she was charged with my attention 100% of the time Feb-Aug 14th (along with Erica)..She seems to forget the small amount of money that was paid, was given as hourly to those who worked for you. Legally, you do owe us. I'm asking you to pay the balance of over $1000 to a charity of your audience's choice..You may take my little interaction as you call it and keep it, BUT, the balance, I want donated to a better cause than to fight with you over an amount that will bring good to one who was dealt the wrong cards in life.

  • Wedding: 09/03/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Both Samantha Goldberg and her team are AMAZING!! I first saw Sam on "Whose Wedding is it Anyway." Her spunky, fun, and perfectionist attitude made me and instant fan! Sam and her team made our wedding a dream come true with attention to every detail that I could not have imagined. Sam was patient with me and took the time to understand me and understand what I loved and what I did not like. This was very important to me because during the month before our wedding, I knew I could trust Sam with making decisions regarding colors, flowers, patterns, linens, etc. From her warmth and energy during our first meeting, to her structured yet flexible attitude the week of our wedding, Sam was by our side every step of the wedding planning process. She designed our menus, place cards, basically everything. I am a type-A personality but I knew I could trust Sam with our wedding. Letting go allowed Sam's creativity and magic to shine and everyone was beyond impressed at our wedding reception. When I think of our wedding, I still get emotional because it was truly a dream. Because Sam took control of our wedding, my husband and I were able to enjoy our wedding day and truly take in everything that was happening around us. We can't thank Sam enough for making this possible. Most brides look back on their wedding and think about things they would have done differently. There is NOTHING we would do differently thanks to Samantha Goldberg :) There is a false assumption that wedding planners are expensive. Sam is not. She works within EVERY budget to make your wedding day amazing :) Sam and her team are all amazing people and our wedding would not be the same if it was not for them. We cannot thank them enough. I would recommend Sam and her team to everyone :)

  • Wedding: 08/26/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Andrea, Lacey, Carla, Alison were all so amazing. Even though Lacey left the company in the middle of planning my daughter's wedding she did a great job in the beginning, putting me in contact with fabulous vendors that helped us stay on budget including a great price on room blocks. All the last minute glitches Andrea was fantastic and Carla, and the intern Alison were so helpful on the day of as well. I 'm creative and enjoyed being involved with my daughter's weddings. My younger daughter lives out of state and there were many health issues with the grandparents coupled with my demanding job. pulling off the wedding she wanted and staying close to budget could never have been accomplished without Gold Events!!!! Even though I spoke to Samantha once on the phone my only regret is that my daughter and I never had the chance to meet her in person as she had health issues. We did communicate via email and I know she would be proud of how her assistants helped with my daughter's wedding.

  • Wedding: 12/11/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I met Samantha and her phenomenal team last December. I had seen her on TV and was very impressed with her work. I could tell from TV that she would be a fun, amazing person to work with. I was right. My wedding ended up being even more fabulous than I could ever imagined. I worked and met with Sam, Carla and Andrea several times over the past 11 months. We were in contact all the time. I always felt I could pick up the phone or send an email and one of them would get right back to me. When I was stressed out with our venue they would call and deal with the issues. They really put my mind to ease.
Since I was getting married in the Poconos and I am from Delaware, I wanted vendor recommendations in the area. Sam knows great people. DJ Mike Narvaez, Eddie Aghahowa(Video), Lisa(A Touch of Elegance flowers), Visions Lighting & Sound, and NJphotobooth were excellent to work with. Sam also designed my programs, menu cards and caramel apple place cards. Carla and Andrea also spent so much time helping me pick out our invitations and getting them out to our guests timely.
At the reception, I got so many compliments from my guests on all the little details. The flowers and decor design was so unique and elegant. When they took us into the room for the reveal, it took my breathe away. I really appreciate all their hard work. I had the best 4 days of my life. They really did a fantastic job taking care of my Husband and I. After the reception Carla, Andrea, and Alison helped pack everything up and take it to my room, while we went and enjoyed the after party. Thanks girls for staying and helping my sister out. Muah!!!
I can't thank Sam and your team enough, they really went above and beyond for me and made sure everything was perfect for us. You guys are the best!! I always felt confident that they would take care of everything. I am very detail oriented and I didn't have to stress about anything. I truly feel so blessed to have had them there making our day so special. I knew they cared so much about me and would make it look beautiful.
Hiring a wedding planner is definitely an added cost but Sam and her team will make it worth every penny. I would definitely recommended this fabulous team of planners. I feel so lucky to have met them, it was like working with family. My wedding would never have been as beautiful as it was without them. Samantha and her team are beautiful people with amazing ideas and visions. Thank you girls, I will never forget all that you did for me. xoxo

  • Wedding: 10/23/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

From the warmth and energy of our initial consultation through their tireless support up until the last minute of our reception's final dance, Samantha Goldberg & Co were by our side every step of the way along the path of what was a truly amazing experience. Having recently moved out of state, we were looking for some help to take some of the weight off our backs since our wedding was to be held so far from our current home. While we expected a helping hand, or perhaps even a dose of vendor recommendations, never did we imagine the degree of passion and zeal that Samantha's staff would pour into our event, almost as if it was the one and only event on their minds. Specifically, our lead planner, Jayme Knast was a true professional and displayed an amazing ability to bring peace and calm to the wedding, from the planning up through the execution. Having come to Samantha herself with only a loose and general concept of the design elements we wanted for our event, she took the reigns with excitement and gusto, and within just a short meeting we had the entire plan prepared for not only florals, but for most every other design item as well! (The pep and vigor she brings to the table made the experience almost like watching her namesake from the TV show 'Bewitched' wiggle her nose and 'Voila!' ---ALL DONE, beautiful and truly one of a kind to boot!) Taking her cues, in what seemed to be a very harmonious family-like working environment, Jayme went promptly to work lining up suppliers and vendors with all the detail and precision of a Swiss watch. Even amidst a couple late changes in the event timing and logistics, Jayme was always on pace to ensure that our needs were promptly met and we always felt like we really mattered to her, as both clients and people. Jayme was such a pleasure to work with, and made the entire lead-up to the wedding so much easier for us, with the actual day being simply perfect; every element of the design was breathtaking and the execution of each portion of the day was flawless. We had not a care in the world, other than to enjoy our special day--and we owe this greatly to all the exceptional planning, labors and insight that Jayme brought to the process. We would wholeheartedly recommend her to any friends or family in need of a planning consultant for a wedding or any other event for that matter.

  • Wedding: 10/10/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Both Carla and Jayme rock. They made the day beautiful and took the time to make sure every detail was on point as well as fulfill my wishes. I would definately use them again for another event. My day had a light feeling to it and the colors, flowers and decors were simple yet sophisticated. All the vendors that they work with are just a delight and are very professional. I will never forget my wedding, it was such a beautiful day and I had the time off my life. my husband felt that all the hard work and time vested was worth. I wish all the brides out there all the joy that I felt and more and know that these girls made it all happen. Thanks a million

  • Wedding: 09/25/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 4.0
  • Value: 3.5
  • Flexibility: 5.0

There was some confusion in the beginning (someone else was handling our wedding) but once Jayme took over everything worked out ;)

  • Wedding: 09/19/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 4.5
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 4.5
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Jayme and Nicole were wonderful, a pleasure to work with, and helped to make our wedding day stress and worry free! On the day of, they made sure everything went as planned and all our vendors were in sync so that our day ran smoothly. The only thing we had to do and really wanted most of all was to truly enjoy our day without having to worry about all the details -- especially after all the time and labor invested in preparation for the big day! And because of the team at Samantha Goldberg & Co., we were able to accomplish this. Also, the vendors they recommended were wonderful and helped to make our wedding day one that we and our guests will never forget. For wedding planning services, especially if you’re on a budget - I would definitely recommend Samantha Goldberg and Co.

  • Wedding: 09/05/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

If any bride is looking the the most perfect wedding planner you must go with Samantha Goldberg and her staff! I wrote an emotional email to her a few months ago about wanting her to plan our wedding and the next day I received a response that changed everything! My father has pancreatic cancer and my future husband was going to deploy early. Samantha explained to me about her organization called the "Dream Team" and they really are the Dream Team. Any questions that I had were immediately answered by Samantha or someone from her staff. We did everything over email and I put so much trust in her making the decisions and I am so glad that I did. David and I had the most amazing wedding and every detail was just breathtaking! Samantha made sure that I had everything that I needed and she was so amazing to work with. She and her staff have such a heart and because of her my father was able to walk me down the aisle and made my dream come true!

Gold Events LLC-Samantha Goldberg & Co responded with the following comments:

Elizabeth, I don't know what to say. You are just an amazing woman and I am so honored that you reached out to us to assist with this special day. Despite the issues we couldn't not control, I hope you are able to remmeber that the one you really wanted the blessing from was with you 100%. Live is funny as you just never know when the people in your life are going to be 10 years from now. Cherishing each day like it could be the last..and staying int he moment. I am so proud of you. You have much going on and i want you to know that while planning I was your partner in crime, you now have over 30 professionals that have also been touched by an amazing family. Dave is a wonderful man and he is going to take care of you I have no doubt about it. Please stay in contact with us about your stepdad and you and Dave. I hope you will come back to NY and spend some time with us when you do! xoxox Sam

  • Wedding: 05/02/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

It was definitely fate that I worked with Samantha!! I was struggling with planning my wedding, I just couldn't find a place that I liked, and independently from one another, my sister and I called and set up appointments for me to meet, and finally Samantha put it together that we were calling for the same wedding!! I was so lucky to have her as my planner. I was in my first year of grad school and sooo stressed out, so adding a wedding on top of everything was nearly unbearable until I found Samantha, she and her team not only made my wedding possible, but made it beautiful. I couldn't have asked for more!! It was an amazing night, thanks to her!! :)

Gold Events LLC-Samantha Goldberg & Co responded with the following comments:

Hey Holly! It was def fate! How crazy is that your sister calling me and setting a meeting and you an hour later setting a meeting with Lacey! It was such a pleasure working with you! I hope you stay in touch as we are neighbors. Keep an eye open for a mag with someone's wedding being featured from the Bernards Inn :) xoxoox Please send my best to your family! Still cannot get Holly Hobby and her sister Heather out of my head lol..xoox

  • Wedding: 04/23/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Samantha and team are great to work with! They were extremely professional, detail oriented and quality services. When it comes to asking for an opinion and/or a reality check (esp. when it comes to budgets) they will tell you exactly what you need to hear. They services cover everything you'll ever need or want for planning an event from start to finish. Their partnerships and recommendations for vendors made our event planning easy and affordable. No detail went over looked, no phonecall/email unanswered. Samantha designed the most beautiful centerpieces, menus, ambiance for our wedding - words just can not describe. She really captured the personalities of my husband and myself and really brought them to life for our affair. Having Samantha and her team manage our wedding from beginning to end provided peace of mind through out the whole process... if you ask my husband and I what the services are worth - PRICELESS!

Gold Events LLC-Samantha Goldberg & Co responded with the following comments:

Stacy and Chuck it was YOU who made the process easy and fun! You know how much I enjoy making people laugh as this can be so stressful. I am so glad this was an event that you will remember. Even though you guys are Mr and Mrs beautiful I see you as a couple that copliments whatever you touch. I see you and I staying in contact and you bets be calling me for the baby shower..I have ideas already and I sure hope it's a girl..You know we must use feathers :) xoxo I miss you both Love to you..

  • Wedding: 04/03/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Samantha and her team are absolutely amazing. If it were not for them and their constant help before and during my wedding, it would not have been half as wonderful. I recommend Samantha's services to anyone with good taste and high expectations!

  • Wedding: 11/06/2009
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I absoutley loved working with Samantha and her team. Our wedding day was seamless and more than we could have ever asked for. She knew exactly what I was looking for and was able to take my vision and turn it into a beautiful day, which I could have never done without her. I would highly recommed Samantha and her team.

  • Wedding: 09/18/2009
Services Used: Wedding Planning
0.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 0.5
  • Responsiveness: 0.5
  • Professionalism: 0.5
  • Value: 0.5
  • Flexibility: 1.5

Big dissapointment

Gold Events LLC-Samantha Goldberg & Co responded with the following comments:

We are sorry to hear that you were not happy. We try our best to work with each client as if they were our only client. It would have been helpful to hear that you were unhappy immediately after your event instead of almost 2 years later. Your planners did everything with-in the guidelines. If we were a part of your day from the beginning, you would not have been so unhappy with your vendors. We could have directed you to professionals that we know deliver results. We wish you and your husband the very best.

  • Wedding: 09/04/2009
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Prev
908-219-4028
Please let this vendor know you found them on WeddingWire
4.4
out of 5.0
24 Reviews

My Awards
Bca 2011 logo small
2011 Bride's Choice Award®
Bca 2010 logo small
2010 Bride's Choice Award®