Function 45 Event Entertainment
Wanna have some fun!?
9198 Greenback Lane
Suite 106
Sacramento, CA 95811  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (21)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Steve is the BEST! If you want to see everyone dancing and having an awesome time, you NEED this DJ! I can't tell you how many people came up to me to tell me how great he was! People are still talking about my wedding! I HIGHLY recommend him :D
Wedding: 09/20/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It was very important that our wedding reception was a lot of fun.

As soon as I spoke to Steve Schon from Function 45 over the phone he was very knowledgable, understood my vision and was able to provide many helpful suggestions on how to make this happen (this was even before we decided to have him DJ/MC).

During the planning process he was very accommodating and suggested many things that I had not even considered.

On the night he kept things running smoothly. We kept guests engaged with games and dancing. Many guests walked away saying what it was the best wedding they had been to!

If you want a wedding that is a lot of fun, I highly recommend Steve.
Wedding: 07/11/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lets play word association to start off this review. Michael Jordan - Basketball. Jerry Rice - Football. Ali - Boxing. Steve at Function 45????? DJ'ing!!!!!!!

Steve was highly recommended to us by another industry professional. He was described by the well known photographer as the "best DJ he had ever seen." Naturally, we contacted him with the highest of expectations. After a wonderful, not-so-brief (in a good way) consultation, we knew we found our guy. He was charismatic, passionate and a real professional. He gave us an idea of what he had in mind and gave us plenty of time to personalize our big day. During the final meeting he was very attentive and detailed. He took notes on exactly how we wanted everything to go. On top of that, he made suggestions and walked us through it all. We felt special whenever we left. We knew we were in good hands.

All we wanted was a wedding that was a lovely, fun and memorable event that no one would forget. Here we are, two and a half weeks after our wedding and, we are still hearing from our guests how wonderful of a night our wedding was, because of Steve.

Thank you so much Steve! You are TRULY THE BEST.
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Function 45 was recommended by another DJ that we wanted to book. He was already booked for the weekend that we wanted him so he suggested Steve and Jeff. They very were flexible with their schedule on our first meeting and the meetings after that. They are very easy and fun to talk to. I could tell right away that they know what they're doing. They had plenty of suggestions and it worked for us because we had no idea what we wanted to do. I just wanted really good music. Since Steve was not available on our wedding day, Jeff pretty much met with us a couple of times to discuss the program. I never thought a DJ could play such a big role in the tone and flow of an event, especially a wedding! I had a DO NOT PLAY list and Jeff made sure he didn't play those songs. Jeff is fantastic and more than just a DJ/Emcee - he took control of the entire night with the order of things in our program. We would've been so lost! The games kept everyone engaged. It was so awesome to see all our friends and family having so much fun. There was no dull moment at our wedding! He kept everyone on the dance floor! We still get compliments from everyone and they said it was the most fun wedding they've ever been to. We really got our money's worth and more! Jeff was the last one who left the reception, and made sure we had a great time. Thank you for making our wedding super fun and extra special. We just can't thank you enough for being an integral part of our wedding reception. YOU made the party!

Sincerely,
Jeff and Jasmine
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: DJ
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We could not be happier that we chose Function 45 Event Entertainment, specifically Steve (and his wife Tanya) to emcee and DJ our wedding. Originally, we planned to talk to 2 or 3 DJs before making our decision. After speaking with Steve over the phone, however, we decided that we couldn't possibly find anyone better; we canceled the other interview and chose Function 45. We were unable to meet in person because my husband and I were in living in DC and planning our California wedding from a distance until we moved West. Steve is so much more than a DJ! He has a great voice and is an outstanding conversationalist. He’s also one of the nicest and most talented people I have ever met. Because he was emceeing our wedding and would inevitably be talking about us, he made it a point to get to know us. He drove from Orangevale to Sacramento and met us for dinner just to get a feel of our style. Then, about a month before the wedding, we met with him at his office and talked about the event. He gave us several fantastic ideas about how to get guests involved in the wedding reception so that they would be participating instead of just watching the action. Even though Steve had tons of suggestions culled from his prior experiences, he never took it personally when we decided against one of his ideas. He’s very respectful; he always defers to you and emphasizes that the couple should choose songs that mean something to them. I wanted to walk down the aisle to the piano introduction of a specific song and he worked with us to create a loop so that you wouldn’t hear the beat drop. Steve plays AMAZING music. He chose songs that I forgot how much I loved! Our floor was always packed and many our guests commented that we had the best DJ/Emcee/Music they had ever heard at a wedding! Most of all, I didn’t realize how much an emcee can set the mood and the tone. Steve is simply the best and we cannot recommend him highly enough!
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I wish I could put into words how awesome Steve from Function 45 was at our 5/31/13 wedding. He absolutely is the one professional I hired who MADE the wedding. It has been two months and we are still getting told that our wedding was the most fun our guests have ever had at a wedding and I attribute most of that to Steve, who ran the show. He didn’t just play music. He made it interactive and fun for us and our guests. He had SO many unique, fun and totally unexpected ideas that we and our guests loved. His ideas made our wedding much more memorable and fun.
Steve did the music for our ceremony, which went perfectly. But the reception is where all the magic happened. It started with the hilarious introductions for our bridal party, Steve’s idea, which had people cracking up. After we finished dinner, we did all the traditional wedding “events”, which by the way Steve made way more fun than traditional DJ’s, especially the garter toss. Steve then somehow got everyone out on the dance floor, which stayed packed all night.
Steve also did the lighting for our reception, which turned out SO beautiful.
If you are looking for a DJ/MC for your wedding, seriously look no further. He was worth every penny. Take the advice that someone gave me…if you are looking for ways to cut your budget, and perhaps hire a friend or someone cheaper, don’t do it with the DJ. They were so right! I didn’t realize till I saw how amazing of a job Steve did how important the DJ/MC was. They can seriously make or break your event and turn it into a fun, memorable event for you and your guests, or they can just play music and you can watch half your guests leave after the cake cutting. I will be recommending him to all of my friends and family who get married in the future. Book him before he gets booked for your date!
Wedding: 05/31/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Steve @ Function 45 did such a wonderful job at our wedding. He is very professional and also knows how to make you laugh. Steve @ Function 45 finds a way to make everything about you! Whether it be a photo booth or that perfect song, or the amazing lighting that he can do, he does it all and he makes it work! Our wedding wouldn't have been very organized if it wasn't for Steve @ Function 45 being there and making everything move so smoothly. All we kept hearing the day after our wedding was "Who was that DJ? He was Great!". I would highly recommend Steve @ Function 45 to service your wedding. Your missing out if you don't! Again, amazing job my friend. My wife and I are now even planning to reserve Steve for another event very soon. Wonderful job!!!
-Anthony & Megan
April 2013
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I definitely suggest Steve from function 45!!!! He made our wedding so amazing!! We had special circumstances and he helped us figure everything out and was so flexible with our situation!! He had members of our family up and dancing who probably wouldn't have with out him!! He is an amazing DJ and I will recommend him to everyone I know forever!!!!!
Wedding: 12/15/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you're looking for a good time...a time that you'll remember 10, 20 years...a lifetime...someone who puts his heart into it as if it was his own wedding or event, then I strongly recommend Steve. It's an experience that is indescribable; and you'll most definitely want to experience for yourself. I never once thought of the service of Steve Schon from Function 45 as a business transaction, but rather a family affair. I promise you that if you hire Steve, you will feel the same way.
Steve drove down to the Bay Area and met up with me to check out the venue. We rode together and talked about some ideas I had and he asked how the rest of the family was doing. He actually remembered my sisters (Steve was also the DJ at both my sister's weddings). It goes to show that it's not all just business, but that there is some heart that goes into Steve's work and he genuinely cares. To further prove my point...Function 45 is based out of Sacramento. Both my sisters receptions were in South San Francisco, and mine was in Half Moon Bay. That is a 2 hour drive down, and a 2 hour drive back, not to mention traffic. Steve didn't hesitate to accept our request to be our DJ in spite of the of the distance. In fact he drove home the same night to do another gig the next day! Talk about dedication!
Steve represents the true definition of professionalism. Steve's knowledge of the entertainment world is vast, so much so that I couldn't stump him with my 80's trivia, and I consider myself a music buff. His ability to adapt to last minute changes and recommend ideas where we would otherwise be lost, is uncanny.
This is one part of your special day you do not want to cut corners or take chances with. Hire someone who knows what they are doing, someone who cares who his clients are rather than someone who just thinks of you as another paycheck. Remember, it's not a business transaction, it's a family affair!
Wedding: 12/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Entertainer, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 4 Reviews
Jeff did a fantastic job DJing our wedding. We are still receiving compliments about how he kept everyone engaged and the party going. He really listened to what we wanted on our big day and performed it all perfectly!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
AMAZING! Steve with Function 45 was our Master of Ceremony and he helped make our wedding unforgetable. He helped make everything run so smoothly and on time from beginning to end. He had the guests laughing and dancing and generally having a fantastic time. He has amazing ideas that help make the celebration all that more special. Our guests had so much fun and 4 months later I'm still getting compliments on how much fun our wedding was. I would recommend Function 45 and Steve to any bride and groom planning a wedding.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Steve made our wedding unforgettable. He is passionate about what he does and it shows in his work. His emceeing made the event run smoothly. And above all he's fun. He got the entire event up on their feet dancing, which is quite a feet for our group of shy people. So many of my friends and family raved about what a good time they had. I can't recommend Function 45 enough. I wish I could give them 10 stars!
Wedding: 05/11/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Melissa 5 Reviews
Steve was a great MC and made sure that everything flowed and that our guests were engaged, which is exactly what we wanted. Steve really cared about our vision and took great pride in ensuring that it was the best day possible. Prior to our wedding, he went out to the venue to make sure that he would be able to make our vision a reality and on the day of the wedding he arrived early to set up to ensure that everything was in place and ready to go.

Also, if you are looking for a photo booth, then you have come to the right place! Steve has a great photo booth that is roomy and can pack in A LOT of people, which your guests will love. Our guests are still talking about the booth and their pictures.
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It has been two weeks since our wedding and it is still the hot topic among our family and friends. We had the best "Master of Ceremony" around.

Function 45 will bring the Party to your wedding reception. Our family has
had Steve from Function 45 for all three of our family wedding receptions. Each wedding was a huge success, which we owe to Steve!


No one sits!! Young and old alike are on the dance floor ...all night!! He just doesn't spin records as many a D.J. does. He will work with you and your caterers to make sure the reception runs smoothly from dinner service, father/daughter dance, toasts, cake cutting, etc.! He made our first dance as husband and wife incredible by adding personal messages that my husband and I had recorded for eachother at his studio. There was not a dry eye in the room!

You can leave the evenings events to Steve/Function 45 and he will make sure that your vision of a perfect wedding reception is what he delivers. After our first meeting with Steve, we knew with his knowledge and energy, we had no need to stress about the wedding. We were able to sit back and enjoy our day while Steve ran the show. Everyone says "your wedding will fly by and you wont remember a thing"-- We remember every detail! We feel that having Steve run the show, we were able to really let every detail sink in and just enjoy our day. Our guests left the wedding with rave reviews!

Your guests will be talking about your great reception for months to follow!!
Wedding: 07/16/2011
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Steve iwas our favorite vendor. He is an amazing person and truely cares about your wedding day. Steve wants your wedding to be evrything you dreamed of and he wants your guest to be involved in your big day.
I met Steve many years ago at a friends wedding, before I even knew who my husband was. :-) I knew when my big day came, Steve would be our dj. So when my day came I called my friend and said " i want teh dj that did your wedding to do mine" My hisband and I met with Steve but I already knew we were going to book him.
If you want quality then Steve is your guy. He personalized our day and it was perfect. He has so many great ideas that will have guest saying " this was one of the best weddings I have been to."
We added up lighting to our event which was such a great touch, and we also added the photo show to our event. The photo show was AMAZING!!!! This was such a personal touch.
So if you want your wedding to have have a flow, your guest to have a good time, and not want anything to worry about, hire STEVE. Best vendor by far and Jason and I cant thank him enough for making JUne 4th 2011 such a wonderfull day!!!!
Wedding: 06/04/2011
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Steve and co are great people. The location where we got married allegedly did not allow music or microphones during dinner (even the location staff themselves told us that)... since that is such a critical component - we dont want to go downstairs "cold" and straight into dancing - Steve was great with meeting OUR request and setting up speaking during dinner anyway! He really didnt even blink.. just did it. We got a pretty good deal, I think - but he is a bit on the pricey side - but for GOOD reason. I had seen him perform at other weddings, and I knew exactly what I was getting and I was more than happy to fork out a few extra bucks. This is the one area you dont want to skim on... sure, you can pay a guy on craigslist $500 or so if you just want someone to play music... but Steve is an ENTERTAINER... not just a DJ.

That said, I was going to rank him 4 on "value" instead of 5... but then I decided it was really the venue's fault... not his. Basically, at the place I got married, everyone had to go to another room to dance... this made everyone really talkative and not really focused on the important stuff. He did a great job getting everyone going (which would NOT have been possible if we went with someone else!). It took him a while - again, not his issue - but once everyone got settled down, we had a GREAT time and I have heard a lot of compliments.

In addition, he always responded to our requests and actually went above and beyond to meet our requests.... Before booking with anyone you think is "cheaper" be sure to have a talk with him.
Wedding: 05/22/2010
Services Used: DJ
 800-446-8235
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0