Finch and Thistle Event Design
vintage florals, modern vision, organic style
6549 Fauntleroy Way SW
Seattle, WA 98136  | map
Consultations: Free
Services: Breakdown, Delivery, Setup
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (34)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
As someone who has experience working as a wedding florist, I know quality and value when I see it, and Finch & Thistle is all that and more. I was a bridesmaid in a lovely but rather demanding wedding, and she handled every curve thrown at her with fantastic customer service and poise. The flowers were breath-taking and completely elevated the entire event. I highly recommend Finch & Thistle to any and all, because you'll be glad you worked with her!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Flowers
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jaimie 1 Reviews
From day one, Rachel's professionalism and responsiveness were truly exceptional. She helped me create a vision for my wedding that I would have never been able to accomplish by myself. She listened carefully to what I had envisioned for our wedding, and brought it to life more beautifully than I could have imagined. She was an absolutely joy to work with. I would highly recommend her if you want your wedding to be truly a spectacular event!
Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: Flowers
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rachel at Finch & Thistle Event Design made my wedding "over-the-top" beautiful!!! She was a pleasure to work with; extremely professional, and exceptionally detail oriented (as you would want your florist to be!). I had tons of questions and design inquiries beforehand regarding my flowers, sweetheart table backdrop, and centerpieces. I appreciated that she always wrote back in a timely manner and addressed everything (even when she was busy!) with input, ideas, and suggestions which truly made me feel at ease. To boot, she took the time to drive all the way to the venue (Laurel Creek Manor) from Seattle to help and provide her input at the venue meeting. Rachel's experience, website portfolio, and professionalism really helped me to feel confident that I was getting what I've envisioned for my wedding! She was easy to work with and VERY generous with the amount of flowers & accessories used for the wedding! The quality of all the flowers were superb! I had specific requests including props and vases that I wanted and she went of her way to find them for me! On the day of our wedding, my husband and I were just in awe with how everything turned out...All of the details from the ceremony arbor, centerpiece vases, ribbons, lace, design placement, and all the flowers for the wedding party...everything was "fine-tuned!" I didn't have flowers ordered for the father of the groom or the mother of the bride but Rachel made accommodations to have a boutonniere and corsage ready for them without me even asking! She went over and beyond for us! Everything was absolutely beautiful and perfectly poised. With Finch & Thistle, you truly are in excellent hands!

Choose Finch & Thistle for your wedding or special event! It will not be just beautiful, it will be --
"Finch & Thistle" beautiful, which will brand your event as exceptional!!! Guaranteed!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristen 1 Reviews
We met with a few decor stylists and planners in Seattle before deciding to work with Rachel. When I met with her, I showed her a Pinterest mood board I had created and instantly she and I were discussing possible floral design and decor pieces that were exactly what my fiance and I had envisioned. Floral design was very important to me for our event and her knowledge and creativity gave me confidence that she could pull off exactly what we were looking for.

Rachel was wonderful to work with over the months leading up to our event. She was responsive and helpful with the many questions I had. In addition to floral design, she created the entire look and feel of the event, including vendor sourcing and management for vintage furniture rentals, lighting fixtures, linens, etc. She also recommended several fantastic photographers in our price range, one of which we hired and were very happy with. On the day of, I had ZERO involvement with setting up the venue. Her team took care of everything and I actually didn't really even get to look at it until the event began. The entire venue was beautiful and EXACTLY what I had been envisioning for months.

Rachel's services are a bit more expensive than what you will find working with other designers, but absolutely worth it if you are looking for something truly custom and creative. She completely transformed our venue and I can't recommend her enough.
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nikki 1 Reviews
Hiring Rachel from Finch & Thistle was, hands down, the best decision I could have made for our wedding. From our first meeting, I could tell that Rachel would really take my ideas to heart, and would work to turn these ideas into much more than I could have hoped for. The color palette, floral arrangements, textures, and theme all came together perfectly-- it was all so beautiful and romantic! Simply put, our wedding was a dream thanks to her. All of our guests could not stop raving about how lovely the day was, and my jaw literally dropped when I saw everything.

Rachel is an incredible florist and event designer-- her creativity, attention to detail, and awesome personality make her the very best to work with. I will continue to recommend her services for anyone who asks!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Edwina 1 Reviews
Rachel was so sweet and I loved her floral style! My event went very smoothly and I was thankful she was there. It was a lot easier to have her do both florals, event design and day of coordination. I trusted her vision in a lot areas and she didn't disappoint! She listened to my ideas and we collaborated with a pinterest board. My favorite part was my bouquet which was gorgeous!
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I got married recently at Hotel 1000 in Seattle. Rachel did all our flowers, and we were so thrilled with the results! The flowers were a complete reflection of the vision I had. And even though we hired her only a month and-a-half before the wedding, everything went very smoothly. Rachel was easy to get a hold of, and had no problem working with my schedule for meetings. We look forward to working with Rachel on future events!
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Flowers
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Gwyneth 1 Reviews
When we began to think about the style of wedding that fit our personality, there was no doubt that Rachel was the only one to create the perfect atmosphere. Her style is simply stunning and every element and detail is perfectly designed. We provided broad ideas of our vision “take the inside out” “vintage” “rustic chic” “gatsby” and Rachel flawlessly interpreted our loose ideas into an expression of us. Her design carried through to flowers (beautiful antique colors), lighting (chandeliers and silver candelabras), rustic props (velvet couches, antique furniture, and farm table) and even guidance on the invitations. Rachel was a true professional and pleasure to work with and our wedding wouldn’t have been as uniquely ours without her.
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Serena 1 Reviews
Rachel was recommended to us by a mutual acquaintance. We met with Rachel and one other planner. We ultimately chose to go with her because of the style and beauty of her previous weddings. We also appreciated the fact that she is a florist; having both the eye for the aesthetic and the means and experience to put into place a cohesive set of decorations is a huge bonus. We chose to hire Rachel with the Extended Day-Of package. We were budget minded and we didn’t mind doing the extra labor required to make many of our own decorations.

The Planning Process:
We met with Rachel early on to set general guidelines of our budget and set-up a timeline. We also discussed the style we wanted. We already had our venue chosen so we worked around that as a starting point. Rachel had great ideas for low-budget decorations that matched the look and feel we were trying to achieve.

We had our wedding colors in mind as well; Rachel was able to brainstorm the flora she would use to meet them. It is truly amazing what she can do in this department. Not only did the flowers match the colors perfectly, but she picked herbs and other aromatic plants to create a full sensory experience.

+ recommended a great photographer
+ recommended a great dessert maker
+ stuck to the budget
+ was incredibly helpful and reassuring when we had some problems with our venue when it was sold a few months before our wedding date

- communication - didn’t always respond to each and every question
- would have liked to have her initiate more of the check-ins rather than the other way around

Day Of:
+ it was a dream- every detail was taken care of and we didn’t have to worry about a thing on the big day!
+ worked with her husband to set-up an absolutely perfect reception venue; better than imagined, our guests (and the venue owner!) was raving about how amazing it looked.
+ autonomous; out of the way, but always present when needed
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Hands down, Rachel does amazing work. She has an incredible eye for design, color, and detail. I wanted to commission her for more work, but my budget was set, and so I chose a few pivotal items that I wanted to be perfect and Rachel knocked the ball out of the park. Even though I didn't have a massive budget, she added such elegance to everything she touched, and that made all the difference. All of guests noticed the beautiful details she added and they popped in all of the photos. There were delicate flower vases (hanging behind us at the ceremony) that she filled at the base with moss, the boutonnieres were displayed in a wooden box atop a beautiful layer of moss, the cake flowers cascaded dramatically down the front of the cake and were a focal point at the reception tent... and of course the bridal party bouquets were a stunning mix of my colors that improved every photo they appeared in. Rachel excels at arranging flowers, and decoration; she will make your wedding absolutely GORGEOUS and unique; if anything I wish I had more money to hire her as my full-time decoration coordinator at the wedding!
Wedding: 08/12/2012
Services Used: Flowers
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rebecca 1 Reviews
Rachel is an extraordinarily talented florist. Her unique eye for classic and current style is worth the investment, and her professional ease makes her a joy to work with.
Wedding: 08/03/2012
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rachel was a dream to work with -- she caught my vision immediately and infused it with her breadth of floral creativity and knowledge, while honoring our request for both local and organic sourcing. The florals she ultimately provided for our Graduation ceremony and reception were gorgeous and I very happily recommend her work!
Wedding: 06/10/2012
Services Used: Flowers
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rachel at Finch and Thistle is an incredible event designer with so many beautiful ideas, there was never a decor question she could not answer. Her flowers are also stunning and a great value for the quality and uniqueness of design.
Wedding: 06/10/2012
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Finch and Thistle Event Design made our wedding absolutely beautiful. Rachel is very professional, creative, knowledgeable, and kind. She works with you on a personal level and incorporates her style and savvy with your ideas and desires for the setting. She is timely and very prepared. I would recommend her to any of my friends!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Flowers
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Finch and Thistle's work is unbelievably beautiful. Once you provide Finch and Thistle an idea of your vision, she will make it come to life in a way that is far more gorgeous than you could have even imagined. I don't know when I will need a florist next, but she is certainly the one I will call! She was also extremely accommodating to my whacky scheduling, which was so appreciated on the wedding weekend!

Finch and Thistle is, of course, more than just a florist. With her background in event planning she understands the overall event planning process, and can be hired to style the entire event! She doesn't focus solely on the bouquets and centerpieces, but on the overall look of the entire venue, and all the small details that go into making an event successful and beautiful.

She is such a pleasure to work with. She is extremely professional, but also fun to have around!

Hiring her was one of the best decisions I made with regard to the decor at my wedding! I can't recomment Finch and Thistle highly enough!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Flowers
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Rachel at Finch and Thistle created beautiful bouquets and displays for my September 2011 wedding. I was going for the romantic English garden look and she put everything together just perfectly. I especially loved the garland she made for our flower girl. Thank you Finch and Thistle for helping to make my wedding day beautiful and memorable.
~Erin
Wedding: 09/04/2011
Services Used: Flowers
 253-225-2152
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0