Dunham's Bay Resort
The Best Kept Secret in Lake George!
    30 Reviews
2999 State Route 9L
Lake George, NY 12845  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 240
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (30)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our daughter was recently married at Dumham's Bay and she had the wedding of her dreams! Lynn and the entire staff worked tirelessly to ensure that the bride and groom were relaxed, happy, and stress-free for their big day. As well, the bridal party, families, and many guests were all treated with the utmost of cheerfulness and attentiveness. Chef AJ 's culinary creations were pleasing to both the eye and the palate. We could not have wished for anything more, better, or different than the wonderful experience of a Dunham's Bay wedding for our daughter.
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 2 Reviews
Dunham's Bay is amazing! Not only is it a beautiful location but there food is great and they are very accommodating. Every thing was always taken care of and if I ever had a question Lynn was just a phone call away.
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alexis 2 Reviews
The food was amazing, the people were amazing, Lynn was amazing!! If I could do it all again I would do it the exact same way. This venue helped create my dream wedding, and a life time of memories!
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
as a professional wedding vendor myself I can honestly say nobody does it like Dunham's Bay when it comes to personalizing your wedding and meeting all your needs. The property is beautiful and welcoming to all friends and family along with the gorgeous lake views its delicious food .Lynn being there to make sure everything ran smooth and facilitating our every need.we felt like are wedding was completely unique to us this place is not a wedding factory popping out cookie cutter weddings and thank God for that.Highly satisfied wedding couple here!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What a wonderful venue! Rustic, yet elegant. The wedding reception set up was amazing! Loved the white covers on the seats!
We had a weekend wedding and several people stayed in cabins. The "common area" of the cabins was smaller than expected but the bedrooms and bathrooms were very spacious.
We are parents of a bride and paid for the wedding. We were pleased with the cost and the way the "wedding planner" worked with us and with the bride and groom. She had their wishes in mind the whole weekend.
We had rehearsal on Friday night which Lynn (the wedding planner) handled well. Her instructions are concise and easy to follow... you can tell she has been doing this for several years! Our pizza and wings "dinner" was delicious and the kitchen kept them coming! Our cash bar for the evening was reasonably priced and the bar tenders were polite and caring.
The wedding ceremony went off with out a hitch, thanks to Lynn and the great staff. The entrance for the bride having an outside wedding was awesome! The ceremony had the lake as a back drop.
The reception was beyond compare... we had so many people tell us over the course of the evening, the next day and after how wonderful the wedding and reception were, that they had not been to a better wedding. The food was grand! Hot was hot and cold was cold. There was plenty of food and people even had seconds from the buffet. There was plenty of room for the 90 or so guests, and the dance floor was ample size. We even did the National Dance Day dance and had room to move!
I cannot say enough about the staff who took care of us, they were courteous, polite, caring and followed through on all our requests.
We had Metro Music (see review) as our DJ and he was also a great addition.
I wish I could post a review for Lynn, the wedding planner, she was over the top! She doted on the bride and groom and had their interest in mind over all else, yet she was helpful to everyone.
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I would highly recommend Dunham’s Bay to anyone planning a wedding! Beautiful venue and the staff are great. Lynn makes the wedding planning easy and the wedding day stress free. Everything greatly exceeded our expectations! The food was delicious, many guests told us that it was the best they have ever had at a wedding. We requested a specific type of beer, which they were able to get with no problem. Everything was perfect! Thanks again Dunham’s Bay Resort! :)
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Excellent location for our reception! The place and surrounding environment is beautiful and the staff is very polite and attentive. They were very flexible and made sure the big day was all about us. The food was very good and it was great to have a bonfire outside that evening to unwind after a very busy and exciting day.
Wedding: 05/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was the maid of honor for my friend's wedding here, and I've got to say how FABULOUS everything was. Lynn Clausen was so accommodating and really went above and beyond to make everything perfect for my friend's wedding. She is a real asset for this resort and for anyone interested in getting married here. What a lovely place!
Wedding: 05/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you want a wedding done your way, create your own perfect day, and get the best added value in the Lake George area, Dunham's Bay is THE choice you need to make. My wife and I got married on May 17, 2013 and couldn't have asked for a better experience. From the first day of planning until the day after the wedding, Lynn and her staff went above and beyond any level of expectation that we had.
There were many things that attracted us to Dunham's Bay and booking our wedding here. The ability to have exactly what you want in your wedding without having to settle for any type of "wedding package" was ideal for a Bride who is artistic and creative. I can't even remember how many times Lynn told us, "If that's what you want, we can do it." The second thing was the price. You can customize your food menu, setup, and ceremony location (we were the first to get married on the front lawn!). This allows you to create a price point that works best for your budget. From the first day that we met Lynn, it felt like we had known her for years and we knew that she was going to help give us a day we would never forget. She knows what she is doing. Trust in Lynn and you won’t be disappointed.
We did the food and drink tasting in December of 2012. This was the first time we met Chef AJ and Jack who runs the bar. The quality of AJ’s food is amazing. He uses local fresh food and makes some of the best food I have ever tasted. As we sat there, my wife and AJ created their own chicken dish from the top of their heads and it tasted great! We were able to sample some of the food that we decided on and were thoroughly impressed. He makes the best alfredo sauce you will ever eat. After we met with AJ, Jack sat down with us and we talked about some drink options. Again, this is whatever you want it to be. Nobody at Dunham’s Bay tries to sway you one way or the other. (Continued in another post)
Wedding: 05/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you want it, they can do it. We created some signature drinks (and of course tried them) and completed this part of our planning.
We were at a bit of a disadvantage because we live in North Carolina and were doing some long distance planning. Lynn was so helpful when it came to contacting other vendors. Once we got to Lake George the week before the wedding, we had everything we needed to set up. My best man built an arch for us that Lynn let us store on site, we had made our own decorations for the tent, and stored our wedding favors on site as well. I went into that week expecting to have a higher level of stress the big day drew near. I couldn’t have been more wrong! The staff was more than ready and everything within their control went smoothly. Everything that they expected of us was laid out from the start and Lynn was right there every minute to let us know what we needed to do next.
The night went off without a hitch and all of our guests couldn’t believe how beautiful everything looked and how amazing this venue was. We are so grateful for Lynn, AJ, Jack, and the rest of the Dunham’s Bay staff. Even though the planning process was stressful at times, looking back, I think that we were very lucky to have chosen Dunham’s Bay. Not having to worry about all of the little things allows you to really enjoy your wedding that much more. It was bittersweet having to say goodbye to everyone there the morning after the wedding. We can’t wait to go back and visit and will definitely be having future events at Dunham’s Bay. If you want the wedding of your dreams, at a budget-friendly cost, then this is the place to be. Thank you again to the entire staff at Dunham’s Bay!
Wedding: 05/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My daughter's wedding at Dunham's Bay was a wonderful experience. When we first met Lynn, she listened to our requests and wishes intently, offered suggestions and even promised good weather. We felt welcomed, comfortable and unstressed.The chef offered our choice of menu, prepared wonderful samples and made adjustments to our taste. Lynn was very clear about pricing and variables, what the quote did and did not include, with no unexpected expenses. Greeting us with her huge smile, Lynn directed the rehearsal so we all knew exactly where to go and what to do. Dunham's Bay allowed us to bring our own barbeque for rehearsal dinner, provided the grill, picnic tables and facilities without charge and saved us a bundle of money. Wedding day, amidst attending to details, Lynn was available to help any of us within minutes. We had an issue with the bride's flowers, and she immediately called the florist and had the matter handled without fuss. As Lynn stepped into the bridal cabin and saw my daughter in her gown, Lynn's eyes filled with tears; I knew she puts her heart into every wedding she plans. On the way to the ceremony, Lynn walked my daughter over to the reception area, to show her that all requested details were attended to. (The staff converted the huge white tent into a beautiful reception.) The ceremony took place on the hill in front of the main lodge; chairs placed so all could see and hear. The bridal procession and ceremony were beautiful beyond words. The reception was also wonderful. We received many compliments on the fabulous food. After the reception, we were provided a bon fire in the fire pit next to the tent. The wedding party and out of town guests stayed in the cabins. Lynn placed flower pedals on the wedding bed and made their room look so romantic. We all had the most wonderful and exceptional experience. Dunham's Bay, the staff, Lynn and even the weather could not have been more perfect, exactly as we were promised.
Wedding: 05/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We really can't say enough wonderful things about Dunham's Bay Resort, Lynn, AJ, Jack and the rest of the staff. The food was great, Lynn ran the day like clockwork despite some wild weather, and all in all we got exactly the ceremony and reception we wanted.

Our guests had a blast staying in the cabins and enjoying the activites outside all weekend long. Also, we fit 150+ inside with a band and photobooth without trouble.

A few tips. Spring for the lakeside rental for pics and the ceremony. The results are spectacular. Also, give chef AJ a little freedom, your guests will not be disappointed.

Thank you Dunham's Bay Resort!
Lucia & Jeff
Wedding: 05/11/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lisa 5 Reviews
Lynn, AJ, and the rest of the staff were terrific in helping us plan the wedding we wanted.
Wedding: 05/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding day was absolutly perfect.Lynn handled everything from beginning to end.I had nothing to worry about.She took care of it all.My wedding was stress free.I couldnt have asked for a better day and its all thanks to Lynn and her crew at Dunham's Bay!
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lynn and her team at Dunham's Bay made our day everything I could dream and then some. Anything we needed we were reassured it was taken care of. Many people commented on how laid back I was in regards to planning even up to the day of the wedding. My response was thank Lynn and Dunham's Bay. It was a magical day and all the guests had a great time. The food was absolutely amazing!
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing Venue!! We didn't have to worry about a thing the day of our wedding, Lynn took care of everything & let us enjoy our day without worrying about the "what if's" that can happen. The food was amazing & Jon was great to work with to create our perfect menu for our guests!
Wedding: 07/08/2011
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 518-656-9242
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0