Dj Shakey - **Top Rated & Affordable**
NY / Brooklyn / Metro Area, NY 11205  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (41)   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DJ Shakey is awesome. We wanted a full on dance party at our wedding, and we shopped around a bit for DJs, only to find a lot of commercial companies. Shakey is a one-woman show, was great at feeling the vibe of our party, and did a great job of satisfying all the various age groups. Everyone had so much fun! She is also just a really cool person, was very responsive and took care of everything. I highly recommend her!!
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DJ Shakey was an awesome addition to our wedding! We really wanted a big party where everyone danced and had fun all night and that is exactly what Julie gave us. Throughout the whole process she was super responsive and knowledgeable. She had worked our venue a few times which really helped out and took a lot of the guessing out for us.

We highly recommend Julie!
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: DJ
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Julie has awesome music taste and knowledge (and a huge library). She was understated, professional, and kept the focus on the music and kept the party going strong. She was also responsive, friendly, and on top of all of the little details before the event. Our guests kept complimenting our music selection, and we had to admit we didn't choose almost any of it! Highly recommended.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
DJ Shakey did such a great job at my sister's wedding after party last year that I asked her to do my own! She was extremely easy to coordinate with and very responsive. She provided a music worklist, allowing you to request songs and artists, which she stuck to during the after party. She had everyone dancing until the last song!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

M 2 Reviews
Julie is an amazing DJ with a great selection of music. She really understood the flow that we wanted for our wedding and delivered on keeping the music at the pace we wanted. Everyone raved about the music selection. I gave Julie mostly a general outline and let her DJ skills shine. She really made our wedding day the party we wanted. Thanks Julie!
Wedding: 04/18/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Julie was super professional. Playing to a variety of age ranges and tastes, she was able to pack the dance floor almost immediately and was able to keep people there. Julie was accommodating to guests' requests without derailing the overall inclusive and banging vibe she established. She instructed the crowd to join in after the first dance had reached it's emotional peak and at created an unexpected moment where my wife and i looked up and were surrounded by loved ones. She played all of the right songs at the right times. Solid jams, solid person. THANKS.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
A friend recommended DJ Shakey to us, and I am so glad she did -- and I, without a doubt, will recommend her to others! She was so helpful and on top of things, especially in those last couple of days when we (the couple) were stressing about last-minute details.

As for the music itself -- let's just say the moment when our first dance finished and she immediately segued into "I Wanna Dance with Somebody" by Whitney Houston, I knew it was going to be a perfect night. Her transitions were flawless. The dance floor was full all night, and everyone has been raving to us about how great the music was.

It was a perfect night, accentuated with perfect music from DJ Shakey. (By the way, her prices are extremely reasonable!)
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julie (DJ Shakey) did a phenomenal job! She made the process easy, understood exactly what we wanted and executed it perfectly, and was fun and easy to work with all along the way. She has an expansive knowledge of different styles of music, and is versatile and knowledgeable. I would recommend her to anyone.
Wedding: 09/29/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
BEST. DJ. EVER.

My husband and I have very eclectic and non-mainstream tastes in music and pretty much despise modern dance/pop music, so we were wondering exactly how this whole process would go. We know we wanted an awesome dance party with music that people knew and would dance to, but didn't want to resort to the stuff we didn't like. PLUS, it was on a farm, so we really wanted to keep a laid back, Americana folk kind of vibe during the cocktail hour and dinner, so I knew our DJ really had to be comfortable with more than the mainstream playlists. I knew DJ Shakey because she had spun at a bunch of parties for my roller derby league, played great eclectic music and was always able to keep people dancing until the wee hours.

When it was time to make a song list, she sent us a 4 page list of bands/songs and asked us to highlight a sampling of the kinds of music we liked... and our choices were all over the place. We had reggae, Motown, Parliament, bluegrass/folk, The Rolling Stones, Price, T-Rex, RUN DMC, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Led Zeppelin, Loretta Lynn. Seriously. All over the place. I was waiting for a phone call from her telling me that we'd have to mainstream a bit if I wanted it to be coherent, but the opposite happened! She called to check in a few days before the wedding, and told me how excited she was to work with such a unique mix of music, and that it wasn't often that people veered this way. Phew.

And the night was STELLAR. She played all the random music we had picked and put it together FLAWLESSLY. I don't think anybody (young or old) left the dance floor, including my 90 year old grandmother! She was also very accommodating in setting up more than one set of speakers for the different locations on the farm.

Accommodating, super friendly, professional, very reasonably $, and she even got in the photo booth! :) I still have people asking me who the amazing DJ was and that it was the best wedding they'd ever been to.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Perfect in every way. She got right back to us and kept the dance floor packed all night! She also has an extensive knowledge of all types of music, including indie and nonmainstream genres. She is extremely professional as well. You would be lucky to have her.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Julie was an amazing DJ. I had originally booked her for our September wedding but had to move the date up 3 months at the last minute. She was totally understanding and also happened to be free for the new June date. Even though I never met Julie until the actual wedding, communication with her was seamless. She completely understood everyone's tastes in music - which was tricky considering the guests ranged from 1 - 90 years old and were a mix of Indian, Pakistani, and American. Her transitions from Bollywood music to popular dance music to the Beatles and Frank Sinatra were awesome. All the guests loved her. Julie was even super accommodating with my extremely last minute requests (as in a few hours before the wedding) when it came to introducing people, speakers, etc. For the cocktail hour, I sent Julie some youtube clips of what I was looking for and she quickly understood the vibe and downloaded even better songs than what I suggested. I definitely definitely definitely recommend her!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with DJ Shakey was a great experience. We were married in a private home, and the owner was understandably concerned about having quality vendors in her home and also late-night noise affecting the neighbors. DJ Shakey quickly took care of our owner's concerns and made the entire process so much easier.

My partner and I didn't want to map out the entire night of music, but with just a few suggestions, DJ Shakey turned out songs that were perfect.

Additionally, DJ Shakey worked well with all the other vendors, and rolled with the flow. In any event, details change, and not a single feather was ruffled. So great.

In closing, my partner and I wanted to work with someone that was talented, professional and level-headed. DJ Shakey is all of those things. I would recommend her for any occasion. She contributed to one awesome wedding.
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A friend recommended Julie to us after attending a wedding that she DJed, which she said was an awesome all-night dance party - exactly what we were looking for. We met with her, and we definitely felt like she got what we were looking for. We've been to bad weddings with really cheesy DJs who are constantly talking to the crowd and out on the dance floor, and we wanted the opposite of that. Julie was super professional, made the few announcements that we asked her to make and just let the music flow. She did a great job switching between low-key dining music and the dance sets. We didn't give her much specific guidance - we named some artists and songs we wanted, but I basically told her that I wanted people to keep getting up and saying "I love this song!" and that's exactly what happened. She was responsive to my emails, including my last-minute ones. She also did special edits of our first dance/parent dance songs on my request, which was awesome. She had our must-play and must-not-play lists, and I know at least one of our guests tried to get her to play a must-not-play song and she held out for us. Everyone was out on the floor and didn't leave because the next song she would play would be just as great as the last. We even had several dance-offs! I definitely recommend her completely.
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This woman sets the bar for weddings! She gave us great tips and made sure there was music that everyone enjoyed. She looked well dressed and festive while making sure our guests had the time of their lives!
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stephanie 5 Reviews
We hired Julie for our two-hour afterparty and she killed it! Initially reviewing her music sheet, I was a little concerned that she may not know what kind of music we wanted, but she was super thorough and always diligently followed up...and the result was that she did not play one bad song and people were jumping/dancing the whole time!! She is great!
Wedding: 02/23/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We first heard DJ Shakey when she DJed a friend's wedding, and we kept remarking on what an excellent job she did. When we sat down to plan our own wedding, we immediately knew we would like her to DJ. We are a same-sex couple, and got married in a City Hall ceremony with our wedding party following the next day, and DJ Shakey was totally flexible and open to the slightly non-traditional structure of our event. She was very responsive to our email inquiries and always easy and pleasant to talk to as we worked out the details. After sending her a list of artists and songs we liked, we touched base a few days before the wedding to finalize selections, and it was clear that she had thoughtfully reviewed our list in order to best understand our goals and tastes. She asked all the right questions (things we would never have even thought to bring up) and it was clear that she is super organized and experienced. Going into the wedding, it made us feel completely at ease.

At the actual wedding, the music was PERFECT. We arrived and DJ Shakey was all set up and organized, helping establish a great mood during our cocktail hour. The dinner music fit the tone perfectly, and she gladly facilitated things when we switched gears (like having guests seated for dinner, toasts, etc). It was very important to us to have a fun dance party following our dinner, and in this regard, she completely delivered. We'd talked a little bit about intergenerational dynamics, and she put together a playlist that got EVERYONE on the dance floor. As the night wore on and the older folks tired out, she seamlessly transitioned to continue the flow of the night.

DJ Shakey is amazing. She effortlessly responds to changing dynamics, and was integral in shaping the mood of our wedding. It was a pleasure having DJ Shakey DJ our wedding. She was super easy and professional to work with during the prep, and really helped make our party perfect.
Wedding: 11/10/2012
Services Used: DJ
 201-679-9736
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0