DJ Elwood

DJ Elwood

15 years DJing in New York City, now serving Kansas City

Brooklyn, NY 11232 | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Classic Rock, Country, Danc...
Liability Insurance: Yes
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
(5.0 / 5.0)
Responsiveness:
(5.0 / 5.0)
Professionalism:
(5.0 / 5.0)
Value:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Flexibility:
(5.0 / 5.0)
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We are so thrilled we selected Sean to DJ our wedding! We purposefully had two dance floors at our reception and they were completely full the entire evening. We had tons of people still on the dance floor when our reception ended, and it's all thanks to Sean! He was great to work with, was an amazing emcee for the evening, kept the reception on schedule and was worth every penny. Highly recommend!

  • Wedding: 08/23/2014
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
Gina
3 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We had DJ Elwood as our DJ for our wedding at The Guild on 8/16/14. We couldn't have asked for anything more from Sean and were more than happy with the service. One of the most important aspects of our wedding was the dance party which was even better than we were hoping for. DJ Elwood was great and we couldn't have asked for anything better. We had people making music requests and other demands (turn lights up, turn lights off, more bass, less bass etc) and he was more than accommodating to all of our demands. Great to work with throughout the whole process and would definitely reccomend to others.

  • Wedding: 08/16/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Sean did a fantastic job! He was very professional and easy to work with. We gave him a general idea of our music tastes and some must-plays. He made sure to get all of our must-play songs in even though our dancing time was a bit shortened. The dance floor was packed the entire time and everyone loved the music. Could not have asked for a better DJ at our wedding!

  • Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

From the very start DJ Elwood was so responsive and helpful. I could text, call or email him with any questions and he responded right away. He was in charge of the music for both our ceremony and reception. We got so many compliments on the music for both. We have a more conservative family but our friends like to get down on the dance floor so we wanted to make sure both crowds would have a great time. Both our friends and family had a wonderful time. We're still hearing about how great the music was. In my opinion the music can make or break the entire night. The night couldn't have gone more perfect! He is so organized which was something else that was important for me. I felt completely comfortable putting our wedding day in his hands. During the reception DJ Elwood played whatever was requested as long as he knew it was ok with us. If he had any questions he was sure to ask me or my husband which I greatly appreciated. I would recommend DJ Elwood to anyone looking for a great DJ for their wedding!

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
Private User
1 Review
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Sean single-handedly made our wedding a huge hit! We had countless compliments about the DJ during and weeks after our event.

He worked with us through the entire process and made it painless. We had an extensive list of do-not-plays and Sean honored those requests. We asked that he not do anything "cheesy" or "theatrical" but simply emcee the evening and he did that with professionalism and class.

Sean knew exactly what to do to keep our night lively and our guests constantly entertained with the music. He cut off our first dance, mother-son, father-daughter dance at the PERFECT time as to not make it drag out and bore our guests. We were extremely happy with his knowledge of when to move things along.

There was a specific instance where our guests had requested a certain song(s) on our do-not-play list multiple times. Sean expressed this to us and asked our permission to play said songs. We, of course, defaulted to his expertise and allowed the song to play...I have no problems admitting I was wrong and the dance floor was full!

I cannot understand why someone would use any other DJ. Our guests are still talking about how fun our wedding was, and I have no doubt in my mind that we have DJ Elwood to thank for making our night such a success.

Book him. Immediately.

  • Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Sean was an awesome DJ! Not only is he just a really cool, laid back guy and easy to work with, but the music at our wedding was perfect for us. He's extremely versatile and is willing to work with you to make sure all your favorites are played and then sticks with the music type you like throughout the night while weaving in music that's perfect for all ages as well. Our dance party was awesome and got started early and remained strong the whole night because of Sean's dj-ing skills!

  • Wedding: 10/18/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

DJ Elwood made our wedding AMAZING! He was there throughout the planning process to help answer any questions we had. We wanted music that would have our guests up and dancing the whole night, but also music that would appeal to anyone--no matter the age. He had JUST the right mix of music! Everyone was up and dancing the whole night, just like we wanted. So many people complimented the DJ and said it was the most fun they have had in a long time. We would change nothing about our experience with DJ Elwood and recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ who cares about your experience and truly wants to make you happy on your big day!

  • Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Sean is such a great, cool guy! He put so much effort into understanding what type of music we like and ironing out every little detail along the way. On numerous occasions, we met with him to talk about the event. He is great about emailing back and forth and making himself available to talk. He truly made our wedding reception fun and organized. He is very in touch with the crowd and has a great ability to keep the flow of the night going and make sure everyone is enjoying themselves. Thanks again Sean!!

  • Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Sean did an excellent job! He was very professional and kept the dance floor dancing all night!

  • Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
Private User
4 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We had a 1920s theme for our wedding, and wanted to have the music to go along with that. Sean was FANTASTIC in working with us to build a playlist that was really fun and set the perfect atmosphere for our wedding. In addition to being a great DJ, he is easy-going and completely professional/reliable. I highly recommend Sean...KC is lucky to have him!

  • Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

DJ Elwood was exceptional throughout the entire wedding process. We were looking for a professional DJ that we thought could help set the right vibe for our wedding. Sean was always laid back and understanding while providing us with very helpful information during our planning process. He will never leave you hanging on a follow up email or phone call. The day of he was there to guide you through the night without intruding on your party. His announcements were always appropriate and on time. He makes the day about you and not him. We had comments from 3 different generations about how great the music was. He had everyone dancing all night long. We gave him limited direction on what we wanted, but he played everything that we requested and timed the songs perfectly. Great DJ!

  • Wedding: 05/11/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

From the moment we first met DJ Elwood, he was kind and professional with many options and a great deal of flexibility. He was helpful, never pushy, and offered an excellent resource to be able to give a good idea of the type of music we were looking for.

He was the most responsive vendor that I worked with in all the planning that went into the wedding. The first time I contacted him (via email) he had responded within minutes, and he quickly responded every time I had any questions. As it can be a very stressful time with many details to worry about, this was an incredible relief!

On the wedding day, he exemplified professionalism and was extremely helpful in ensuring that things ran smoothly throughout. His friendly demeanor was noticed by several of our guests as well. He ensured that the dance floor was busy throughout the night and kept people engaged in the reception. The range of music that he played throughout the night pleased the younger generation along with the parents and grandparents. He also provided the music for the wedding ceremony, and it was flawless in execution.

Overall, the quality, value, and service DJ Elwood provided was excellent, and we would highly recommend him as a DJ for any wedding (or possibly other events).

  • Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Sean did an awesome job for our wedding a couple weeks ago. So many great things to say about DJ Elwood. First off Sean was one the first and most responsive to get back with me when I started my DJ search. He contaced me right away looking for more information and was ready to meet in person to discuss the wedding. We pretty much decided on Sean the night we met with him and from then on he was so helpful. He assisted us with picking out songs for first dances and recessional songs. He also has a huge list of songs that you can pick to hear at your wedding. I asked Sean to pick prelude music, cake cutting, bouqet toss and garter toss songs and they were all great. He really helped us plan out how the evening was going to go too. He also checked in with us multiple times to see how things were going and to see if we had any questions. We got nothing but compliments from family and friends for his great work. I would highly reccomend DJ Elwood.

  • Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Sean Elwood was everything we wanted and more. We were probably difficult clients because we know nothing about music, how to plan a wedding, we couldn't agree on the important songs and we like all types of music - so he basically ran the whole show. And we got nothing but compliments! People thought we planned every second of the reception, some even asked me for a copy of the playlist!

More specifics on his style: Our first interview was via skype, we met in person a couple months later and discussed the informal (no sit down dinner, no seating assignments, etc) of our wedding; He thought it sounded great, very comfortable with the freer laid-back style. Kept in touch very well via email to check in with us until the wedding day. Day of he was extremely professional, kept an excellent mix of music playing, and periodically checked in with us about timing of big things - cake cutting, tosses, etc., in a way that was professional and not intrusive of our time with guests.

Our main instruction was keep people on the dance floor, and he did a great job of it. We actually had a difficult crowd, but he kept up the variety and responded very well to what kept different groups on the dance floor. People even commented to me that they could tell he was great at judging the crowd and responding to it. I almost went with a DJ who wanted to plan everything down to the minute beforehand - so glad I went with Sean and his adaptable style instead!

Our wedding was a party, and DJ Elwood is the reason it flowed so well. Thank you!

  • Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

In Short, Sean (DJ Elwood) was awesome and you should book him immediately. You make a lot of decisions when planning a wedding and picking DJ Elwood was perhaps the best decision we made.

We got a good impression from him right away and it was obvious he took his job seriously. We did a skype meeting before booking him then a face to face meeting (both at his suggestion) on top of numerous back and forth emails throughout the planning process. He even came to the rehersal to get a feel for the space and how the big day would unfold (he was responsible for playing the pre-ceremony and ceremony music and wanted to make sure he got it just right).

He asked us numerous questions not just about what kind of music we liked but our history, etc. He wanted to get a feel for who we were. On our wedding day he showed up plenty early, did a great job of getting organized and communicated extremely well with our DOC (Day of Coordinator) throughout the ceremony and reception.

And the music... it was awesome. We provided all the pre-ceremony and ceremony music as well as some of the dinner music but we turned him loose for the dance music and he turned it into a full on dance party, which is exactly what we asked for. Not only were his song choices great but he was spot on with what song to play next as well as the transition between those songs. It flowed very well. We wanted a lot of 90's hip hop and he delivered. The dance floor was packed for the final two hours and we have the amazing pictures to prove it.

DJ Elwood is great. From our initial meeting thru the final song of the night he exemplified professionalism. We felt very comfortable with him and it was a relief to know our DJ was great, so it was one less thing we had to worry or think about!

Music and dancing is a huge part of what makes a wedding fun and memorable and if you book DJ Elwood I promise you wont be disappointed!

Just be ready to dance!

  • Wedding: 10/26/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I was very nervous to choose a DJ when I found out our friend was unable to be our DJ. We met with DJ Elwood and were so comfortable with him. He was wonderful! We had a lot of random songs we wanted played and he was so flexible and helpful in making sure everything was perfect. He is organized and has great communication throughout the process. We are so happy we went with him and would recommend him to anyone!

  • Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: DJ
Prev
917-755-3938
Please let this vendor know you found them on WeddingWire
5.0
out of 5.0
38 Reviews

My Awards
Bca 2014 logo small
2014 Couples' Choice Award®
Bca 2013 logo small
2013 Bride's Choice Award®
Bca 2012 logo small
2012 Bride's Choice Award®