DestinationWeddings.com
We Have Your Perfect Destination
    97 Reviews
Nationwide in US and Canada  | map
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (97)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.1/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.1/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.2/5.0)
Value:
 (4.1/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.2/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
Called these guys for info n details. Lady says 1,000.00 dollars per 3 night stay in panama plus tax n fees per person no food included. Thays pretty much all they do then they give u the hotels pjone # so u can arrange the rest. After I said that sound expensive she laughed n hung up on me. Their services r very limited. U can get better pricing on expedia. Sounds like all they r doing is just taking ur money. I dont vouch for this company I think u can do a lot better on ur own. After all is not that complicated n they r over charging ppl. What guests r gonna attend a location n pay over 1000 dollars plus food plus air fare aint nobody got time for that. This website is gear for ppl that probably wanna spend some serious money and ppl that have plenty of guests that dont mind dropping a few 1000 dollars just to come see u. So I do not recommend them cuz frankly I think most smart ppl will get a lot more on their own.
Wedding: 04/18/2014
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wife and I were married by our Officiant, Angela Keen in Secret Cove in Kapolei, Hawaii on November 2, 2013. She was fantastic to work with and did a wonderful job on especially short notice. She organized all the paperwork online, prepared the marriage license and found a secluded cove in Kapolei for the ceremony. She also coordinated the signing of the marriage license for my wife and I after work with a local official from the local municipality in Honolulu so I would not have to miss work-she is that client focused. She did everything and had us ready to go within 3 days which was unbelievable. She is a former television newscaster and is very well connected in Honolulu and gets things done very professionally and very, very quickly. She was also very patient as I really didn't know how to get it set up but she took over and made it happen without a hitch on very short notice. She was a God Send and we needed that as our time in Hawaii was short and she came through in fine fashion. She is also so good to work with...just a pleasure for my wife and I. I want to recommend her services to anyone who wants a wonderful client experience as she is the best. I can't say enough good things about how she officiated our Marriage and we will obviously never forget it. Angela Keen is excellent at what she does and provides superior service and our experience was fantastic! Oh, and her prices are very reasonable! Thank God for Angela Keen.
Lenny Avalos
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
For professional high definition make-up that doesn't run in the sun and stays put even for your beach wedding, nails and hair (an updo, or other fancy hairstyle for your special day), I highly recommend Salon & Spa "Mi Secreto" in Isla Mujeres right below the Rocamar Hotel. The owner, Anne-Marie, greeted me warmly, and arranged an appointment for me with her employee Vicki even on very short notice. I was prepped and pampered to the fullest, with head massage, foot massage, hand massage, pedicure, manicure, make-up and hairdo! When I walked out, I looked beautiful and felt ready for my beach wedding. It was money well spent, and I have zero regrets. My wedding pictures prove it :-)
Wedding: 08/26/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
1.8 out of 5.0
1.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Worst customer service I have ever experienced. I was the mother of the groom and have tried to get resolution from Destination Weddings for the past four months. I have emailed numerous times, offering to be contacted by phone but their resolution is the hotel offering me two return nights in the Dominican Republic resort and $175 credit from FunJet Vacations. Since I refuse to ever return to the resort I had issues with, I guess they are not going to send me the FunJet credit!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Travel
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 3 Reviews
I had the worst experience in my life working with Destination Weddings. Luckily, I only linked to the website of Destination weddings through my website at "The Knot". Luckily, I could stop booking through Destination weddings after booking myself and a few close friends. I was able to warn everyone else to use Bookit.com and Cheaptickets.com where the prices and the service were far superior to Destination Weddings. When I signed up with DW, I didn't realize that they were just a "middle man" and had no intention of trying to get better prices then I could find elsewhere. This was because the first travel agent I worked with there told me they could compete because they got bulk prices. I say, the first agent because I changed 3 times during the 6 months I was planning our wedding. I thought I just got a bitter agent the first time but I soon realized that they are all the same there. Everyone I worked with had the same "chip on the shoulder" when I said I could find better prices for more services through "online travel companies". They offered nothing extra and in fact, the only reservations I had that had any issues were the ones through DW. One of the agents, actually told me "you get what you pay for" when I was having issues and she thought it was one of the "online companies" that had problems when, in fact, it was DW reservations. I had found the resort that I ended up having my wedding at on my own so really, they did nothing to help me and after a month or two, I just stopped contacting all together and finished planning the wedding on my own and with the actual coordinators at the resort I was having the wedding at. Our wedding turned out beautiful but no thanks to Destination Weddings. In the end, I had to call several times to get my hotel transfers for the few reservations I did make through them. They never even called to say thank you or congratulations or a single word. I would never recommend this shady, middle man of a company to
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Travel
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 5 Reviews
I used destination weddings.com and they helped me with booking the hotel, flights and travel arrangements to and from the resort at the Hard Rock Hotel in Punta Cana. I had already picked the hotel so they didnt have to help us find that but they can.They set up a website for us and all the guests contacted our specialist to let us know if they were able to come. She worked with everyone and got all the flight information. The only thing that bothered us is that our specialist went on vacation for 2 weeks durring the 30 days that we had for our guests to book, and because she was gone they werent able to contact her. It was frustrating but we made it through that. Also she was really bad at hitting REPLY ALL and would either email myself or my husband instead of both of us, even after asking her to make sure we both were on the email. Other than that everything went really well. All the transportation to and from hotel went great.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Travel, Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  0.5
They did not provide us with the best pricing for the hotel. We were able to get better rates through Expedia.com Waste of money and time! Stay AWAY!!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Travel
1.2 out of 5.0
1.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0

I worked with Brittany Schiffler at destinationweddings.com to plan a destination wedding on May 31, 2013 at the El Dorado Royale.

I went with destination weddings because they specialized in weddings, offered many perks and offered payment plans for guests. I wanted them to be the middle man in the travel portion of the planning process. This did not happen. I became the middle man and my guests travel arrangements before the wedding and during their stay was completely unorganized. My main concern in planning a destination wedding was how my guests were handled and I could not have been more disappointed.

I also went with destinationweddings.com because they promised upgrades and perks at their choice resorts. What I did not know was that all of these perks were based on availability. We did not get an upgrade or compensation for not receiving the upgrade. Also, my rooming descriptions provided by Brittany were wrong. She had been to the resort many times. For a bride who has never been there, correct rooming descriptions when choosing rooming options are imperative.

If you want to be the middle man in your planning process, have booking mistakes and poor communication along the way, use destinationwedding.com. I feel that after the agents received their compensation, you become an after thought. I wish I went with someone else.
Wedding: 05/31/2013
Services Used: Travel, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Very flexible. Ultimate customer service
Wedding: 05/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Travel, Ceremony & Reception Venue
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 1 Reviews
My best friend recently got married using Destination Weddings and the experience sadly was horrific.

I have seen it done very well with Destination Weddings, however the Wedding planner Lois at Destination Weddings we feel was the culprit to all of this.

From start to finish, it went very poorly. I was asked to change rooms three times as Lois did not give the resort the names of who was supposed to be staying in what room. She repeatedly made mistakes in not only getting everyone to the appropriate rooms, but we were also missed charge, along with three members of the brides families, having to fight to get our refund. She was unknowledgeable and unprofessional.

We feared that her handling this wedding would not bid well for us, but had the highest hopes that once we got to the resort, Riu Palace Bavarro in the Dominican Republic, things would turn around. Sadly, once we got there, they were confused and were not able to locate our rooms, etc, and seemed confused as to where we were supposed to be. The staff was not friendly and the wedding was not done well at all from our perspective.

If I were a bride, I would think twice before using the Destination Wedding site. It is not worth the gamble. Secondly, after choosing a wedding service provider, I would make sure that the planner steers you away from the Riu Palace Bavarro in the Dominican Republic.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Travel, Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.0 out of 5.0
1.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
They got us there; that's about all we could say about them. It's very apparent that the reps work at home with little to no training on customer service. They were the most unprofessional reps we've ever encountered. A few times when speaking with our rep we could hear a dog barking in the background and could hardly converse back and forth. She was constantly rude and quick. She continually tried pressuring us in going to another resort that we didn't want to (it was apparent they have certain places that they have quotas or want to get people to go to). It was really hard to get a hold of the rep by phone. Our Aunt/Uncle tried 6 times before actually getting correspondence back from her in trying to book accommodations. One of our parents had a medical emergency and couldn't go; luckily they bought the insurance. When conducting that transaction, the other parent was told that it was a huge inconvenience for the rep to do all the paperwork to get the money back for the sick one. Awful - thank god we never have to deal with them again!!! BUYERS BEWARE!!!
Wedding: 05/09/2013
Services Used: Travel
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Destinationweddings.com is more of a travel agency than anything else. When we got engaged, I was overwhelmed with the online choices for destination weddings and a friend of mine referred me to destinationweddings.com. Mariea helped me narrow down the options, but was constantly trying to pressure us to go outside our price range and in the end we went with the first resort I found online by myself. I did feel more confident in that choice after consulting with Mariea, but she made it sound like a complete dump and when we arrived and saw how nice it was I felt pretty annoyed remembering the things she had said about it in order to try to persuade us to go for a more expensive resort. The group amenities through destinationweddings.com were the most valuable piece that we received - we got a $900 refund, couples massage, and 2 step room upgrade based on the number of rooms our wedding guests booked. This did make it worth it to use destinationweddings.com since the service is free for us to use.

Otherwise, I would say destinationweddings.com can't be expected to help you in the wedding planning or travel process. Every question I had for Mariea, she either referred me to someone else or didn't reply (the number of emails I sent her that she never received is astonishing considering she works via email almost exculsively). At least a dozen of our guests complained that Mariea was rude and unhelpful, and she was very aggressive with collecting money for the rooms booked before the deadline had passed - going so far as to threaten to cancel the reservations of our immediate family, some of which we were personally paying for and had assured her we would pay before the payment deadline. I found this to be highly unprofessional considering the lack of service we had received from her up to that point. If you're considering using destinationweddings.com, don't expect much other than group amenities and someone to confirm the choice you may have already made.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Travel, Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.0 out of 5.0
1.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
BUYER BEWARE!!!

Sheryl Dabbs at destinationweddings.com made a mess of my friends' wedding in Playa del Carmen. She booked us all at different hotels so when we arrived at the wedding we were asked to pay $395 to attend the wedding. This would have covered a group of us including the brides mother, the brides son and the GROOM!

Details of the shoddy hotel she booked us at are found in my email below. I contacted her after our stay and her response was unreal. She said it wasn't her fault because WE NEVER ASKED HER any questions before we booked. Weird how we just trusted a professional travel agent to know what she was doing.

IF YOU GET SHERYL DABBS as you planner RUN AWAY! Here is the email i sent to her enumerating the issues we had.


Dear Sheryl,

I am writing to share with you that we had a surprisingly dissappointing experience at the Blue Bay Hotel during our stay in Mexico for our friends wedding.   I can honestly say this was one of the shoddiest resorts we've ever experienced.  I thought initially it must be on par with other hotels around Playa del Carmen, however, we spent time at the bride and groom's hotel and the Playa Real and found them to be a higher quality.  We also met friends who were staying in some of the less expensive hotels in Playa del Carmen ($35 a night!) and found their accommodations to be significantly nicer than the Blue Bay.

The most surprising thing about this booking was the location.  Our understanding was that we would be within walking distance of the wedding and our friends in Playa del Carmen.  In fact, we were a 15 min cab ride away.  We spent over $150 in cab fare ($25 each way) to get to and from Playa del Carmen to Blue Bay.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Travel, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I used Destination Weddings Travel for our wedding in Riviera Maya, Mexico at Azul Sensatori. Cathy was wonderful and made everything flow smoothly. We had 80+ guests and we didn't need to worry about a thing. Everyone had such a wonderful experience (as they said) abut the entire process of booking their trip. Cathy was available through the entire process for questions and continued to be while we were on our honeymoon at El Dorado Casita Suites. She followed up with us afterwards to see how everything went. Destination Weddings made our experience so wonderful, everything went off without a hitch!! We absolutely loved our wedding, it was perfect!
Wedding: 02/08/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Travel, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Laura 5 Reviews
Our destination wedding planner, Tina, was amazing. She was with us throughout the whole process. She helped us pick our resort and got everyone's travel booked. She was very fast and always willing to price match for the best deal. She was even available after we arrived at the resort and a few guests had some travel issues (mechanical plane issues). She fixed the problem and got them to the wedding on-time.
Wedding: 01/26/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Travel, Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.6 out of 5.0
1.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Not recommended and Vivian Ross was the agent. They did not price match. Guests found prices $200 cheaper on expedia and they said only could match hotel and if we didn't book through them bride would be responsible for extra rooms. Vivian messed up one couples credit card payment 4 times and they had to fight with her on it. Out of 4 couples only 2 received the information promised in the mail and several times wrong information was sent to couples. Very poor reliablity and service. I would never recommend this site to anyone.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Travel, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 888-704-1921
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2
out of 5.0