Dana Powers House
535 Mehlschau Road
Nipomo, CA 93444  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (46)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Allie 5 Reviews
My husband and I got married at the barn at Dana Powers House a couple weeks ago. Can we go back and do it again? It was amazing. You dont need me to tell you how beautiful everything is because clearly from the pictures it is the most beautiful place to get married. Judi was so nice and helpful. She answered my million questions. She has the most amazing selection of rentals and everything was so beautifully set up and taken care of when we arrived. She is totally on top of everything. And day of, she was a wedding ninja. She was never seen until the exact moment you happened to be taking off your veil or doing something with your shoes or bustle and then she was right there ready to handle it. She was amazing and has so much experience. Thank you so much for everything Judi! Our day was beautiful and we couldnt have asked for anything more!!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Brea Ellen 1 Reviews
Judi Powers is an amazing person. She created a space that captured everything I could have dreamed of for my wedding day. She is elegant, calm, collected, organized, and so inviting. Her venue is something every little girl dreams of. I feel so lucky to have found the barn along with Judi and her family.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
This past year, my husband Marcus and I got married at Dana-Powers House. We had our ceremony outside on the lawn near the barn and our reception inside the barn. I was planning our wedding long distance from New York City and the owner of the venue, Judi Powers was very responsive throughout all the months leading up to the wedding, especially 1-2 months beforehand. When our wedding day arrived, everything was more amazing and breathtaking than we could have ever imagined! The venue itself is stunning, yet makes a wonderful canvas for your own personal tastes and embellishments. Judi even has rentals for you to decorate with, which made things all the easier to plan. On the day of, our guests could not stop GUSHING about how beautiful, charming, fun and wonderful it all was. Guests felt it was such a special and unique venue. We hired Judi as our day-of coordinator and she was great at taking care of all the small details behind the scenes. She made sure the guests were taken care of while the wedding party was too busy taking photos, etc. She brought parasols out to shade our guests while they waited in the sun for the ceremony to begin — without us asking her to. Judi has a tireless zest for details and lovingly makes sure that your wedding will go smoothly. The only reason why "Flexibility" has 3 stars is because there are venue rules which prohibited us from serving hard alcohol for more than 1 hour and because I really wanted us to be sent off with sparklers or sky lanterns, but neither were allowed (understandably) for fire hazard reasons. Our wedding day, however, was true PERFECTION and overshadowed any of these restrictions by a mile. My groom and I had an amazing time and we wouldn't have done it any differently. Cheers! -Celeste
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I would honestly give Judi and her whole team at the Dana-Powers House way more than five stars, if that were possible here. There are not enough words to describe what an amazing and special venue this is. Judi makes rustic-vintage-dream weddings come true. She was wonderful to work with throughout the entire planning process. Judi is creative, flexible, and an expert in all things weddings. My now-husband and I were planning our Central Coast wedding from a distance in the Los Angeles area, but we never had to worry about anything thanks to Judi. We also hired Judi as our reception coordinator (ceremony coordination is included in the venue package) and I'm so very glad we made that decision. She made everything flow perfectly from the moment we arrived to the moment we said goodbye to all our guests. One of the best things about the Dana-Powers House is the creativity you can bring to the spaces there with Judi's vintage rentals (Embellish Vintage Rentals) and any little special touches you want to bring in. Our guests were blown away by how amazing the whole property is, and everyone wanted to know how I found such a remarkable venue. The answer for me was Google, and if you're reading this now, you've already found it, too!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Judi and everyone we encountered at the Dana-Powers barn and house was truly amazing to work with! Judi always responded quickly to e-mails and calls and was very flexible when we came into town for planning. The wedding was everything we had hoped for and my husband and I felt truly taken care of, there was a lot we tried to do ourselves but Judi and her team came together to finish the little things we didn't think of. All of our guests are still talking about how beautiful and elegant the wedding was. This venue was everything we had been looking for and to have such an experienced, talented, helpful and pleasant person to guide us through this process was more than we could have ever asked for!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I knew The Dana Powers House was the PERFECT venue for my Aug 2013 wedding the second I saw it. Judi's beautiful property and professionalism go above and beyond, I truly do not know how she does it all. Not only did she answer numerous e-mails and come let me see the property twice before my wedding, she made planning a long distance wedding a breeze. I also used her EMBELLISH vintage rentals for nearly all of my décor, which made things very easy and cost effective instead purchasing and shipping the décor myself. The day of the wedding all the little details were perfect and the barn where we held our reception was beyond beautiful. Judi handled my "not so well behaved" groomsmen very professionally during our rehearsal and made sure everyone knew where to be and what to do and kept them all in line. :) My day wasn't perfect, because nothing ever goes exactly as planned, but it was as close to perfect as it could be and I wouldn't change a thing. The Dana Powers House is worth every penny and Judi will make every detail you've planned come to life. I cannot thank her and her staff enough for making my dream wedding come true. :)
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Party Supplies, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Oh, the Dana Powers House...what a gorgeous, charming, love-filled, beautiful, creative, timeless, unbelievably unique setting for a wedding...JUST what we were looking for. We thought we'd never find it until we magically stumbled upon it and just WOW. Our guests could not believe the location, the ambiance, the amazing "feeling" this place has....We are 6 months out from our wedding and people still talk about it like it happened last week. Judi is just amazing. Professional, beyond creative, attentive and an absolute pro. Do not even think about doing your wedding here without renting from her vintage rental company: http://www.embellishvintagerentals.com and definitely have Judi be your "day of" wedding coordinator; you have no idea how much you need her to move things along and make sure everything behind the scenes STAYS behind the scenes. Honestly, I cannot say enough about this special place... The best part was...after all was said and done, on our way out Judi said to us: "Don't forget to come back and do photos with your babies in the garden someday..." What a great idea. :) Love her. Love this place. You absolutely MUST see it...whether you want a demure garden wedding, a rustic vintage wedding or have absolutely no idea what you want...at the very least go see it. It's a true gem. <3
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Dana Powers was truly a dream come true wedding venue. It not only is absolutely gorgeous, but Judi and her staff are so helpful in making your day whatever you want it to be. They offer so many fun details to make your day more personal. She even has her own rental website with tons and tons of items! Our wedding day was absolutely unforgettable and I'm so grateful for Judi and her team. Definitely recommend checking this venue out if you're looking for a vintage rustic wedding!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Judi Powers provided us with an incredible experience for our wedding. We couldn't have asked for anything better. She answered all of my calls, emails and took the time to personally help us decide on vendors. We had planned to have our ceremony on the lawn next to the barn, but it rained on our wedding day. Judi had a back-up plan and beautifully arranged the inside of the barn. It couldn't have been a more romantic and intimate setting.
Wedding: 11/17/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Phenomenal is the word that comes to mind when I think of "The Dana Powers House". I had the pleasure of having my reception in the beautiful barn and it was nothing less than perfect. Judi is the most organized and amazing wedding coordinator (especially on the big day). She was so helpful during the months leading up to the wedding and on the day of she was so wonderful. She even went as far as bandaging up my feet and giving me a pair of flip flops because of horrible blisters. This place really has it all!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Judi Powers and her staff create a very special and memorable experience. We couldn't be more pleased to have chosen this unique location.
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
Unbelievable! ALL my guests raved about how gorgeous the wedding venue was. No one had ever been to such a beautiful place for a wedding. The first time I visited the Dana Powers House, I knew it was THE ONE. No doubt about it :) I utilized the barn portion of the site, which fit mine and my husband's personalities better. But the house portion of the site is also absolutely gorgeous. Anywhere at the Dana Powers house is spectacular. Judi does such a great job and she is so talented with the decor she comes up with. Her and her crew did such a great job accommodating me and my guests. She made sure everything went smoothly and perfectly. Judi was calm, which kept me calm, and she always had a smile on her face. The Dana Powers House made my wedding day a dream come true!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Dana Powers Barn is the perfect venue to have a vintage/rustic wedding on the Central Coast. Judi, who owns and runs the venue does an amazing job and is there for you every step of the way. Also she has some of the most AMAZING rentals if you want to add something extra. Additionally, the barn is so well decorated and kept up that you don't really have to do any extra decorating. What Judi provides as part of the package is outstanding as well. You get all the tables and chairs (for reception and ceremony), square ivory or white table cloths (I didn't use these, but have seen weddings where they did and it looked great), Judi coordinating the ceremony, 2 bartenders, water, lemonade and ice tea beverage station, coffee and tea station with china, the list really goes on. If you are looking for an outstanding barn (or vintage house & garden) venue then check out the Dana Powers Barn.
Wedding: 06/17/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Judi was an absolute joy to work with from the beginning! Daniel and I immediately fell in love the Victorian home, gardens, and restored barn and knew that it was the perfect setting for our wedding. We put to use her extensive collection of vintage rentals and used things such as chandeliers, vintage forks and cake plates, vintage champagne coupes, an assortment of vintage tables, vintage milk glass, mercury glass, and aqua ball jars for floral arrangements, a settee for our photo booth, and a metal carved facade for our altar! Her attention to detail allowed me to relax the day of the wedding and I knew all of my hard planned details would be perfectly pulled together! Judi also did our day of coordination and everything was perfectly timed, from vendors to cake cutting!
Daniel and I spent months planning every detail of the wedding and Judi ensured that it was all executed flawlessly. We could not be happier with both the venue and Judi, our wedding was more incredible than we ever could have imagined it to be and we are so thankful for Judi and the Dana-Powers House!!
Wedding: 05/27/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alessandra 6 Reviews
If you want to have the most beautiful wedding……have it at THE DANA POWERS HOUSE!!!! Judi was great to work with and she made sure that everything I wanted to happen on my big day did and on time. She is very professional and truly cares about her brides. I highly recommend booking her as your day of coordinator too. THANKS FOR MAKING MY DREAM WEDDING COME TRUE!
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My experience working with Judi Powers was beyond wonderful. She is SUCH a sweet lady and I couldn't be happier with how everything turned out. The grounds are gorgeous, she is so flexible to make your "vision" a reality, and she is just so down-to-earth and supportive of your wedding dreams! I love her vintage rental business too! What a great thing to have all that amazing stuff right there at your fingertips to rent! There were a few times where I wish I could have gotten a hold of Judi a bit more quickly (I left a lot of messages). She was always so good about returning them, but I should have just asked for her cell number a lot sooner so that I could get a hold of her for quick questions...especially when the wedding was just a couple weeks away. I needed questions answered quickly and there was just a little lag time. But, seriously, I couldn't be happier with my ENTIRE experience and would get married there again in a heartbeat! Not that I will, but you know what I mean : ) I would recommend it to anyone and everyone. GORGEOUS spot...and SO unique! It also photographs SO beautifully! Keep up the amazing work Judi!
Wedding: 04/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 805-471-4291
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0