Columbia University Faculty House
At the Corner of Campus and Cosmopolitan
    13 Reviews
64 Morningside Drive
New York, NY 10027  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (13)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Xuxu 4 Reviews
I had my wedding at Columbia Faculty House. The setting there was perfect for a small and intimate wedding. The event planning officer there was very helpful and worked with my wedding planner to create a perfect wedding for me.

The catering was absolutely wonderful. My wedding planner came to the food tasting with me, and she said out of all the weddings she helped planned in NYC, this place has the best food and service. The cake was also covered with the catering service.

The price is very reasonable for the quality of services and quality of catering.

Highly recommend this place for a wedding ceremony and reception.
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Leslie and the staff at faculty house are amazing. They were always responsive and flexible. They were professional throughout the process, and the event ran smoothly the day of the event. I would highly recommend.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The Presidential Ballroom was the perfect size for our 110 guest wedding. Set up for the reception and ceremony were superb- fast and efficient. The staff were extremely courteous and professional. Everything was done according to what was discussed. Food and drink in the bridal and grooms suits exceeded our expectations- we never had to ask for any refills. Food was excellent- better than what we expected for wedding catering. The cake was set up so beautifully and served fast. We were given the option of storing our wedding things in the bridal suite and manager's office, which helped us to no end with set up. The cost of everything was reasonable, especially considering we were holding a wedding in Manhattan.

We will definitely be recommending Faculty House as a wedding venue for all the reasons listed above, but mainly for Louise Castellano, our contact person. She was amazing beyond words. Louise was always courteous, professional, and timely in her responses. She took detailed notes every time we asked for anything and was extremely accommodating with our requests. On the day of, everything (yes, everything!) was done according to plan. For example, we had wanted the chairs set up with smaller rows the reception and decided not to go with a small table at the front of the ceremony for the efficient. We told Louise at the rehearsal. Next day, ceremony setup was exactly as we talked about.

We had given Louise an itinerary of the ceremony and reception, and she had that in her hand the whole day. She knew where everyone and everything should be and was always easy to find when we needed her. She was always present but not overbearing or in the way. We will DEFINITELY be recommending Faculty House to all our engaged friends. We will tell them to request Louise. We are supremely grateful for everything she did for us.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Columbia Faculty House was a fantastic venue for us. We had to plan the wedding from California and their fixed-price plan made things easy for us. All we had to add was the music and flowers.

The venue was just beautiful. The organizer, Louise, was incredibly helpful and patient throughout the whole process. The staff was friendly and the food and drink were excellent. We were relaxed and happy once the wedding began because we didn't have to worry about anything!

If you're looking for a venue in NYC you can't do much better than this in my opinion. Objectively it was really a lovely experience, and an even better value.
Wedding: 10/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough great things about Faculty House. From our earliest interactions during the planning stages to when the last guest left, everything was magnificent and professionally done. The entire team at Faculty House was a pleasure to work with. From the moment we arrived that Sunday morning, every detail was looked after and their management team personally supervised everything. All of our special requests were handled with a smile. The venue was gorgeous, and we continue to get a flood of comments from our guests telling us how impressed they were. The food and was absolutely delicious, and the bars were well-stocked. The waitstaff was friendly and efficient -- they were not a bunch of teenage cater-waiters. They truly created a memorable event for us!
Wedding: 06/24/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Faculty House is a fabulous reception venue. Great service, wonderful attentive staff. The space is light and airy. We loved the skyline room with its terrace and views.
The food was delicious and plentiful. The menu choices were varied and the event manager and chef were open and responsive to our specific requests. The premium open bar was a big hit with our guests. This is a five star venue that is affordable. We were extremely pleased and if we had to do it again would choose Faculty House at Columbia University hands down.
Wedding: 04/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely love our reception. The Faculty House was the perfect venue for us. The entire ambiance was exactly what we wanted. It was elegant, and romantic. The food was amazing. All of our guests commented on the food from cocktail hour. The also spoke very highly of the food from the reception. My husband and I are Jamaican and we wanted to have some Jamaican influence at our reception. We asked Leslie if it was possible to make a sorrel martini and have a jerk chicken sate. They delivered our requests with flying colors. Everyone raved about the sorrel martini.

Also the view from the skyroom was amazing and the staff at the Faculty House was very accommodating, warm, understanding and patient. We would definitely recommend the Faculty House. Leslie Robinson and her staff were amazing!!!!
Wedding: 04/14/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

makadangdang 2 Reviews
- Why did you choose Faculty House: Anthony's an alumni of Columbia's Master program in Africana Studies. The venue was close to Riverside Church. We're both scholars and it seemed fitting. The space was versatile, food was good and the coordinator, Leslie Robinson addressed each and every one of our needs with efficiency, empathy and a great sense of humor. First, I was impressed by Leslie's ability to manage big personalities including demanding relatives, last-minute changes and general master of chaos! But more, Leslie added the human element to what she provided, from an orchid on the pinafore plates to laughing at my mother's jokes. Unlike some mangers, Leslie can actually communicate. If you are looking for a venue that is organized and experienced, book with Faculty House and ask for Leslie. Not to mention, Miss Robinson has style (note her accessories:)) So if you need an eye on how things will appear, she won't steer you wrong. Also, and this is key, Leslie worked with our budget. A lot of event places will push you to overspend beyond your original budget, and of course in some ways, you expect that you will go over, but there's a difference between working with a venue that you feel wants your money as opposed to your business.Faculty House, as represented by Leslie wanted our business, and that means future business, and glowing reviews like this. We never felt bullied into buying more than we wanted, or forced to compromise our vision in any emotional kind of way.

- What’s your favorite memory from the event: The wooden dance floor and windows are lovely. It's hard to pinpoint a favorite memory, but regarding the venue, I appreciated that there was a bridal suite, stocked with drinks, snacks and peace of mind, in the midst of the big performance. I loved that my family and friends felt welcome, full of good food, music and love. Oh my goodness- and I didn't mention the cake! This was a huge highlight and honor to work with Ron-Ben Israel! Our cake looked was delicious, magical, couture.

- Other vendors you’d recommend: Ayano Hisa was our photographer, and was very professional and affordable price points. We also worked with her recommendation for film, Yusuke Shibata . Both were wonderful to work with, and Ayano was familiar with the venue so if you do book with Faculty House, Ayano would know where to take photos.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I met while going to graduate school at Columbia, thus the school had a great deal of significance in both of our lives. As a result, when we decided to pick a venue for our wedding, we immediately knew that Columbia was our first choice.

First, the St. Paul's Chapel is gorgeous. This historic building is not only on the beautiful Columbia campus but the interior is truly something. The photos from the chapel were amazing.

Second, Faculty House is a wonderful place to get married. The staff is very helpful and responsive and the process leading to the wedding went very smoothly. In addition, the wedding package was great value for the money. The venue's offering was of high quality and everyone had a great time at the wedding. Needless to say, the wedding was a success and we are super happy that we got to get married at St. Paul's and have the reception at Faculty House!
Wedding: 07/16/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fantastic service - it was great working with The Faculty House. My guests enjoyed the food, the space was great, they even gave us access to the lower level for my bridal party and myself to get dressed/get ready for the wedding. I had a phenomenal wedding reception and truly felt at ease with The Faculty House Staff. Would highly recommend them to all.

FYI: We used the faculty house for the reception only.
Wedding: 08/14/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Faculty House was not the site of our ceremony, yet it was where we had our wonderful reception. The staff was extremely accomodating and attentive during the entire event. The food was delicious, and there was more than enough for everyone to have as much as they wished (we did a buffet style). The layout of the 4th floor was perfect, and the terrace provided an extra bonus space for guests to mingle. Our wedding had 100 guests, yet the space could have held more.
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Faculty House at Columbia University was great! Farrah and the staff there were so flexible and helpful. They truly helped us capture the kind of wedding we wanted. The venue is beautiful and bright. We were able to use all 4 floors on our special day and the staff there was attentive to all our needs and made sure we were taken care of. Perfect location for us and great value for a NYC venue!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Faculty House is a lovely venue for a wedding in the city. The view from the 4th Floor terrace (over Morningside Park) is to die-for, and the guests at our wedding couldn't stop raving about it. The food was also excellent, and the Faculty House partners with a phenomenal cake-baker as part of its standard wedding package. Be aware that you need to rent a dance floor for the 4th Floor, if you want to have dancing, in addition to paying an extra fee to rent that floor, but the view is well worth it.

The management staff did a great job executing all the details and working with our other vendors on the day of the wedding. The planning process during the year leading up to the wedding was not always so smooth. We got a fair bit of mis-information from the Faculty House (e.g. about how many guests we could fit in the room for dinner and dancing, about the typical layout of the room, etc.) and the sales staff/coordinator we worked with was often not responsive to our inquiries. In the end, we went with our own assessment of the place and the advice of other vendors (e.g. the florist), and things turned out beautifully on the day-of. We will always have wonderful memories of our wedding here!
Wedding: 08/14/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 212-854-1200
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0