Colleen Rosenthal Photography
San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Ynez, Paso Robles, Monterey, Pebble Beach, Los Angeles
    41 Reviews
3737 sequoia drive
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism
Packages: Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (41)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Colleen Rosenthal was the photographer at both of my children's weddings - my son and daughter-in-law's in April of 2014 and my daughter and son-in-law's at the beginning of August of 2014, so I can speak as both the mother of the groom and mother of the bride. Colleen is more than a consummate professional whose photos elicit such remarks as "Wow! These photographs truly reflect the magic of the day!" and "These are the most beautiful photographs I've ever seen!" and "She really captured everyone's emotions!" She is a photographer who deeply cares, and who is amazing at reading people and bringing out their best. Colleen takes care of the bride and groom foremost; however, she also takes care of everyone else involved - parents, grandparents, families, friends, and does so with contagious positivity - AND she does this with grace, humor, generosity, and love. Prior to the engagement photos, Colleen met with my kids and really got to know them. It was evident from the very beginning that they were in good hands. And the engagement photos were amazing, a true preview of what would come wedding photos-wise. In essence, It's as though each wedding is an opportunity to make everything just a bit more beautiful; it's evident that she takes her job as the memorialized to heart! I cannot recommend her enough! She is a gifted photographer who puts her clients first and who with humility produces some of the most magical shots I've ever seen!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Colleen did the photography for both our engagement pictures and our wedding. She was amazing! Colleen made a day trip all the way to Big Sur for us just to take our engagement pictures. Her personality made us feel extremely comfortable and natural which helped capture some wonderful photos! She is so amazing at capturing a moment (not overly posed pictures). Colleen went above and beyond her duty as a photographer and was involved in many details to help make our wedding day perfect. One thing we wondered when deciding on a photographer was if a second photographer was needed or not. After having Colleen I am confident that a second shooter was not needed. Only having one photographer not only allowed us to be more relaxed, her pictures are amazing quality and she didn't miss a thing. I would highly recommend Colleen not only for her ability to take quality photos, but her calm and confident personality is the type of person you want around on a stressful and busy wedding day.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing photographer!!! When I was looking for a photographer for my wedding last May I came across some of Colleen's photo's on pinterest! She definitely has a creative eye for capturing intimate moments which is exactly what I was looking for! After chatting with her on the phone I knew she would work out well for us! She was very easy to work with & very quick to respond to any questions that I had! Her professionalism & timing was excellent & allowed our special day to go very smoothly! I loved that she knew how to direct everyone where to stand & could catch things that seemed out of place! Every bride is eager to see their photos right away & Colleen did not disappoint! She sent us a few sneak peaks & had our entire album available online soon after! Thank you Colleen for capturing our special day!!
Wedding: 05/27/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Colleen for both our engagement photos and our wedding. Colleen is the absolute BEST ! Everyone was completely blown away by our photos, including us. Colleen has this magic ability to capture the emotion of the experience....it's unlike any other photographer's work I have ever seen. And she does it in a way where you have absolutely no idea she's even there. What I loved instantly about Colleen was her genuine enthusiasm not only for what she does but for us as a couple in love and getting married. She took the time to sit down with us, ask questions, get to know us, and get to know our style. I felt like she knew us completely and our photographs were truly a reflection of the overwhelming positive emotion of our big day. Some of the photographs you almost feel as if a private moment was intruded upon. Even though our wedding was almost 4 months ago, still today when I look at the photos I find myself tearing up. Everyone who has seen our engagement and wedding photos have told us they have never seen more beautiful photographs. The only problem is trying to figure out which ones you want to frame because they are all so outstanding. Photography is such an important part of the day and choosing Colleen to be a part of our wedding day was by far the best decision we made.
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The moment I saw Colleen's work, I knew I had to have her as my wedding photographer. She has a very timeless and elegant style which was exactly what I wanted. After talking with her, I had no doubt I had found my photographer, she is very professional but personable, lovely and fun to be around. It seemed like she became more than just my photographer, she always went the extra mile and just played such a key part in my wedding. She shot my engagement photos, as well as my wedding, which are all stunning. I don't know what I would have done with out her. When your wedding is over, all you have are photos and I'm so glad I picked Colleen for this task. She is the best photographer I have ever found and she will be my photographer for life!
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Colleen is the absolute BEST photographer I could have chosen for my wedding. She if professional, extremely talented, responsive, efficient, and listened to all my requests. I was so comfortable working with Colleen from the moment we met, and was so happy to have her around throughout the rehearsal dinner and wedding. When I saw our wedding proofs I couldn't have been happier. Her work is SO beautiful!

In short, Colleen is exceptional. I would recommend her to any bride-to-be in a heartbeat. Thank you so much Colleen!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wow! is all I can say about this phenomenal lady! Her photographs of our daughters wedding are the most beautiful pictures I have ever seen! Our daughter knew just what she wanted in her wedding pictures and Colleen surely delivered! These are not just your average pictures of a wedding, they are photographs that are able to capture every special moment of the night. When you see her website and see all the beautiful shots, that is what you are going to get!!! I just can not say how happy we are that we choose Colleen to photograph the most important day in our daughters life!!
Wedding: 08/30/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't say enough great things about Colleen and her work! From the first phone call to last email I've been so impressed with her creativity, professionalism and kindness! I knew the most important part of having a stress free and Fun wedding was being able to have complete confidence in the vendors I worked with; Colleen was at the top of that special list! I just want to share the thank you note I sent Colleen after getting our images:

"I LOVE the images! ALL of them! As I logged onto our album from your website I noticed the favorites tab and thought 'how fun'; but have now decided that the button is a waste- picking favorites would be impossible! You beautifully captured all of the moments I watched go by and wished I could just hold onto forever; Now I can! My husband laughs that every time I look at the images I have a huge grinned plastered to my face and move in a little closer to the screen! But I just love them that much, it is involuntary and completely necessary! The images you captured were so sweet and honest and real. I smile at everyone laughing and tear up when they're crying but most of all I feel overwhelmingly good reliving each moment! I can't thank you enough for this huge grin I have on my face every time I look at our wedding pictures!

You are amazing and have such a gift and I thank you for sharing it with me and my family!"
Wedding: 08/30/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Let me begin by saying that I am a photographer, so choosing a wedding photographer was particularly strange and difficult for me. Colleen is absolutely amazing. She's like a photo magician. Not only are her photos breathtaking, but working with her was a real treat, too! My husband HATES having his photo taken and has been known to make an awkward face from time to time; Colleen was able to get him to relax in front of the camera. You'd never know he didnt love having his photo taken! She's able to capture the most incredible candid shots. She's very natural in her editing. They are perfect. She is wonderful. Her sense of timing is perfect.
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
As the staff at my venue put it, Colleen is the "gold star" of photographers on the central coast. This is the truth. You cannot get better than her. Although, if you look at her portfolio online, you can already tell because her pictures are beautiful.

From our first conversation Colleen was incredibly organized, knowledgeable, friendly, flexible, and professional. She was confident in her ability to give me and my now husband exactly what we wanted, which helped easy my wedding anxieties. She has been in the business for awhile so she also had helpful suggestions about our pictures and knows many of the vendors in the area which helped make our wedding flow well. She followed through with her promise to produce beautiful pictures. The pictures she took of my wedding are amazing and I am continually getting compliments on them. Colleen really has an eye for beauty including understanding how certain lighting will translate into film. She took some pictures as the sun was setting which look breathtaking. You cannot fake good, natural light in pictures and she has a talent for finding it. She is also very energetic, friendly, and upbeat, which just added to the excitement for me and my guests.

I do not have enough good things to say about Colleen. If you can, I'd book her without hesitation if you want the pictures of your wedding to be as beautiful and amazing as you remember the experience.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We are delighted with the inspired quality of Colleen's work that captured each special moment of the wedding and the attendees.
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Colleen did a wonderful job of capturing our special day!! We would highly recommend her if you want the photos of a lifetime!! She really knows how to capture the special moment of a wedding.
Wedding: 07/16/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I wish they would let me give Colleen more than 5 stars! Her pictures come out looking incredibly organic and romantic, and we truly love them. She had a great eye for capturing the quirky personalities of the guests, wedding party, etc. Everyone who sees our wedding pictures has been very complimentary about them, and many people ask who the photographer was so that they can use her for a future event. After the wedding, she had a much faster turnaround time than the photographers my other friends used for their weddings, and she did a beautiful job of photo finishing.

In addition to the wonderful photography, Colleen has a calming presence and is great at making nervous photo subjects feel comfortable. She is a wonderful and positive person, and we loved having her at our wedding. I very very highly recommend her to anyone looking for a top quality photographer for wedding or other life events.

I would recommend trying to book Colleen pretty far in advance of your wedding, because the busy season can fill up quickly.
Wedding: 06/02/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The aren't enough superlatives to describe Colleen!!! I feel so incredibly fortunate to have chosen her as the photographer for our rehersal dinner and wedding day. Colleen has ability to connect with people and capture the essence of their spirit. Her photos feel natural and have an emotional quality to them. I was a little concerned about wedding photos since my husband is shy in front of the camera, but Colleen made it very comfortable and casual. Her fun and enthusiastic personality makes it easy to smile. It felt as if I had known her forever. I had always envisioned taking photographs with my horse in my wedding dress. You may have noted them on Colleen's website. Most people thought I was nuts, but Colleen was up for whatever I threw her way. They turned out amazing!!! Colleen was always responsive to emails or phone calls and open to all of our ideas. Colleen is a true talent. You're crazy not to have her behind the camera on your wedding day. I wish we could do it all again :) Thank you. Thank you. Thank you Colleen!
Wedding: 05/19/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Colleen is an enormously gifted photographer who captured the most precious moments of our Wedding in classic, beautiful, fun and creative ways. Every picture is a treat and they will be treasured forever. A true professional, Colleen set us at ease beginning with our engagement photos with both her humor and calmness. She was always on time, prepared, and had a Plan B when the weather didn't cooperate at our engagement shoot. You don't get a second chance at these types of photographs and we are SO GLAD we selected Colleen.
Wedding: 04/28/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There simply are not words to express how wonderful it is to work with Colleen, but I am going to try anyway! My family first met her for my little sisters wedding in October of 2010 and it was love at first click! She was an absolute joy to work worth and as others have already said she has the most amazing knack for capturing unscripted moments, be they funny or tender, the images she captures lets our family relive a perfect day over and over again! We loved her so much that when it was time for my wedding I knew that Colleen had to be there...and when I discovered that she was already booked, I moved my wedding date. Because, yes, she is THAT amazing! Every time I look at my wedding photos its like experiencing the day I married my best friend again and again. My family and I are already crossing our fingers that Colleen Rosenthal will still be working her magic when my nieces get married! Colleen, you are a gem! If you are looking for the perfect photographer, you found her!
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Photography
 805-541-4304
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0