Cappy Hotchkiss Photography
    26 Reviews
New York, NY  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism
Packages: Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Prints
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (26)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What can we say about Cappy? From the first moment we met here we just new it would be a great working relationship. She is super sweet, organized and willing to be creative and flexible. Whatever you want she will do everything to make it happen! "You want pictures outside, in the freezing cold with snow, no problem". Her pictures are to die for and we are so happy with them. We have gotten so many comments from friends and family stating "These should be in a wedding magazine". If you want pictures that are timeless and classy then Cappy is your girl!
Wedding: 12/14/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our experience with Cappy was wonderful. She really understood the look we were going for at our wedding, the pictures at both our beach house and the vineyard came out beautiful!
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cappy is a wonderful photographer. Her work is simply amazing and she is so fun to work with. The day of the wedding we barely realized she was there/she was so unobtrusive but truly captured the essence of our day right down to the expression on our faces. She also asks you alot of questions before your day so she knows what you are trying accomplish and what photos are important to you. I would highly highly recommend her. She is truly worth it.
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Cappy was a pleasure to work with, and our photos are gorgeous. She used a variety of cameras, so we ended up with a great mix of new digital images and old vintage prints. She was easy going and fun to be with. We would highly recommend her.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding wouldn't have been the same without Cappy! Right from the start, we knew that deciding to work with her was one of the best decisions that we made. She completely understood our vision and was able to capture our day in the most beautiful way. From the engagement shoot to the wedding, she always made us feel comfortable in front of the camera. Cappy took such incredible pictures of all the important moments on our day, yet, our favorite pictures were the small moments when we didn't even realize she was shooting. We strongly recommend working with Cappy and have her to thank for capturing our wedding day in the most magical way!
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sheri 1 Reviews
Cappy was a pleasure to work with. We love the photographs! She captured every moment and we would recommend her to anyone!
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Cappy shot both our wedding and rehearsal dinner. WE LOVE our photos. She is so sweet and professional and truly captured all of the important moments throughout both days. We didn't have a videographer and I feel like our pictures easily tell the story of both nights. She even managed to get all of the "posed" shots thad we had requested. We really enjoyed working with her and couldn't imagine having anyone else share our special day.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cappy is amazing! Our photographs are perfect and I couldn't have asked for anything more :)
Wedding: 09/14/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
In short, Cappy was every couples dream photographer.

My husband was really focused on finding a vendor who could capture every special moment and turn it in to a work of art. After searching high and low from overseas (We are based in the UK), we found Cappy. Correspondence across the Atlantic commenced and we arranged to meet in NYC to have a chat and see how we got on; we loved her blog and portfolio but it seemed important to us that we 'clicked' too. In person, Cappy is warm, professional and clearly extremely competent at what she does. We spent a lot of time going over our thoughts for the big day and discussing the various types of films and cameras to be used.

On our wedding day, Cappy was prompt and perfect. She spent the whole day making sure that nothing was missed and that we had a complete and stunning photographic account of what happened. We quickly received all of our photos presented beautifully and digital copies too.

The quality of the photographs were beyond anything we'd expected and truly look like something from a magazine. We will cherish them forever and are indebted to Cappy for all of her hard work.

I've been meaning to write this review for ages, but I can promise that anyone who needs a high quality, talented photographer for their NY wedding need look no further than Cappy. If you're interested, we're on her blog under 'Brits in Brooklyn.'
Wedding: 08/12/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Eileen 1 Reviews
We love Cappy! She listened to our needs and captured so many of those incredible moments that we either a) missed or b) experienced but never want to forget. She also did our engagement photos which are stunning as well.

Our photos are incredible - we will treasure them forever. Thanks, Cappy!
Wedding: 08/11/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
We absolutely loved working w Cappy. She's fun, creative, and made us and our family feel at ease while being photographed. She takes her craft seriously and produces beautiful results.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My fiance and I couldn't be happier with Cappy's photographic expertise. She was incredibly easy to work with and professional throughout. She truly cares about you and the entire event, which shone through in the exquisite photographs. My fiance and I had some traditional group posed photos with friends/family, including just him and I alone, and the rest were candid: exactly what we wanted. Cappy knows exactly what you are looking for in photographs without you having to say a word. She truly makes you feel special, without being over the top gushy. She uses both digital and film cameras which made for gorgeous, authentic photos. We would recommend her to any of our friends soon to be married.
Wedding: 03/10/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cappy was the photographer for our August 6, 2011 wedding. From the
very beginning when we first contacted and booked the date with Cappy,
she was prompt in her communications, professional, and warm. She was
primarily concerned with ensuring we got the photographs we dreamed of
and impressed us all along the way. Cappy is more than just a
technician with a camera, she has a true artist's eye, sense of
perspective, color, framing, and the dramatic! We looked at portfolios
of several potential photographers and were continually disappointed
with the casual feel of most wedding photographers photos. My husband
and I wanted gallery quality photos that we could cherish for years to
come and that wouldn't look like they were taken by just anyone with a
digital point and shoot camera. When we saw Cappy's work we knew she
was it! Her portfolio is full of beautiful, unique images that tell a
story. She is able to capture relationships, emotion, and time. When
we received our photos in the mail from Cappy, we were just amazed and
overjoyed. In addition to producing a phenomenal product, Cappy was a
pleasure to have at the wedding and worked with guests and the wedding
party with fun and humor. She was prompt, polite, didn't miss a moment
and we really could not have been happier with her work. On our
wedding day it rained and Cappy was persistent and resourceful in
figuring out how to still capture the photos we really wanted. Her
first priority was making sure she got the best photos and she was
able to do this with grace and diplomatically worked with the Inn
owner to arrange the necessary movement of people to make it all
happen. I felt like at that moment she was my best advocate as I was
feeling overwhelmed and would have just gone along with whatever
anyone told me to do. Cappy had the beauty of our day as a priority
and I am grateful for that! She is a true professional and a true
artist.
Wedding: 08/06/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cappy was SO easy to work with and our pictures were incredibly beautiful and poignant. She got exactly what we wanted/needed. She and her assistant were almost totally in the background, so I was amazed at how intimate the photos were. No one felt like she or the assistant were in anyone's way. Cappy is so nice and thoughtful and funny, it was a joy just having her around. She's so experienced, so she had great advice! I loved that Cappy shot on both film and digital and used an assortment of different cameras, filters and techniques. Cappy was totally flexible! I loved that we didn't have to buy a package and just paid her by the hour. I was so happy to get all of the pictures at the end and be able to customize albums myself for everyone in our family. I have already recommended Cappy to all of my friends getting married...I loved her!!!!!!!
Wedding: 07/23/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cappy was a pleasure to work with.
Wedding: 05/14/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't say enough great things about Cappy! In addition to being an incredibly talented photographer, Cappy is an absolute pleasure to work with. She was with us every step of the way and was extremely responsive in the weeks prior to the wedding. Her black & white film images are stunning -- and she is able to perfectly capture those intimate, beautiful moments that every bride wants to hold on to forever.
Wedding: 10/09/2010
Services Used: Photography
 917-741-2730
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0