Cakes With a Kick
Traditional to Extreme and Everything in Between
7237 Central Avenue
Saint Petersburg, FL 33710  | map
Dietary options: Lactose Free
Desserts: Cupcakes, Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (50)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  3.5
my husband and i got our cake done by cake with a kick for our wedding....that cake was extremely beautiful and and tasted great....all of our guests loooved it..looking forward to get all of our cakes done by them...Birthdays, anniversaries.etc
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
my husband and I had our cake done by cake with a kick for our wedding...we had too many to choose from they can design anything..just name it.. the cake was extremely beautiful..it's like i had my cake dream come true..and all of my guests loved it...im looking forward to book cake with a kick for any event we may have in the future.
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I was looking for someone very talented to do a groomsmen cake for my husband. We got married May 24th of 2013 at Tampa Palms Country Club. I went to Cakes with a Kick with some thought in mind to do a military cake. I left the design completely up to Mike and Rommy! I only told them that my further husband, at that time, was leaving for the US Army and I he loved chocolate. I never saw a design or heard their plan until I walked into my reception on my wedding day (that's because I wanted it that way). I was so impressed with their design! They did an army tank with wedding cans coming off the back and it had our last name across the back of the tank! It looked so cool and so real! I was amazed. I was even happier with the taste. They ended doing a chocolate orange, and oh man! Delicious and so moist! I would recommend them to anyone for any event! I can't thank Cakes with a Kick enough!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cake was beautiful. Tasted good. Product reflected what we asked for. When we went in for cake testing we were impressed with the Chef and owner. It was a clean working bakery. All products were home-made. Fillings were awesome. Especially the raspberry.
I marked a little low on the cost. Cause they are a little pricey. But- we wanted a good cake.
They have a variety of classy elegant cakes, or bold colors with great artistry. Would use again!
Wedding: 03/23/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough about how talented Rommy and Mike are! They absolutely brought my vision of a gorgeous but unconventional wedding cake to life. To be honest the cake almost got more attention at the wedding than I or my husband did ;) The entire kitchen staff came at the venue came out to look at it, and guests were taking pictures and commenting on it all night long. From our first meeting and tasting to the delivery, Cakes with a Kick were absolute professionals and a pleasure to deal with. The cake looked amazing, and tasted pretty great as well. I would recommend them for any Central Florida celebration!
Wedding: 03/09/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
WOW!!! My cakes were STUNNING and DELICIOUS!!! I surprised my husband with a groom's cake of his fire fighter helmet and he was smiling from ear to ear. He was in shock at the detail that Cakes with a Kick was able to get on the cake. Our wedding cake was also simple and absolutely beautiful. I ate two pieces of cake at my reception (And two more that night) I could not get enough of it! I have never had wedding cake that delicious. Everything tasted super fresh and perfect. Honestly, the cakes were way beyond my expectations and I was thrilled with my choice!
Wedding: 03/02/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
My wedding and grooms cakes were beautiful and delicious.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ashley 7 Reviews
Our cake was AMAZING!!! Guests at the wedding didn't even know it was a cake!! It was exactly what we wanted! Cakes With a Kick has SO many flavor and filling options that are unbelievably delicious!! A guest favorite was the pumpkin cake with cream cheese and marshmallow filling!! I would definitely recommend them, especially if you want a unique looking cake!!
Wedding: 11/17/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  3.5
Rommy and Mike created a beautiful and delicious cake for my wedding. We wanted to incorporate our traditions in the design, but it didn't work. So, Rommy made a traditional island rum cake for the Rehearsal dinner. It was delicious and a hit with the aunts. My only critique is that the cake was late on the wedding day, arriving just 30 minutes before guests were to enter the ballroom, which is why the ratings aren't higher.
Cakes With a Kick responded with the following comments:
I'm pleased to know that Patricia was happy with the wedding cake and the Caribbean black cake for the rehearsal dinner.
We, at Cakes With a Kick, always contact the venue to set up a delivery time frame and Patricia's wedding cake arrived within the time frame given to us by the venue. So yes, the cake arrived 30 minutes BEFORE the guests entered the ballroom while the ballroom was still being set up.
The Caribbean black cake for the rehearsal dinner was something I offered to make because I knew how important and meaningful this cake was for Patricia's family specially her mom for whom I basically made the cake. I spent many hours researching Black cakes because I wanted the cake to be perfect. This cake is not inexpensive and it was time consuming to make and this is why not everybody makes it. But we took on the challenge with great results and we were very happy to contribute to Patricia's family tradition.
Wedding: 07/22/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The cake was absolutely amazing and tasted delicious! Rommy was able to make it look exactly like I had envision and the cake tasted just as good as the day we had the tasting. She responded to all of my many many emails quickly and was so helpful since we were doing things long distance. The cake was very reasonably priced especially for all of the special design requests I had. Everyone at the reception thought the cake looked amazing. I couldn't have been happier!
Wedding: 07/12/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beautiful and delicious cake. We chose to decorate it with real flowers on top of the white frosting and it was gorgeous. We had 3 different flavours and liked all of them.
Great service as well as it got delivered in the middle of a tropical storm and just after a tornado !!
Wedding: 06/25/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

jannet 1 Reviews
Can not stop talking about this place. Out of all the vendors that provided services for my wedding, the cake is all people keep talking about. At least I will be able to tell all my friends at their weddings; "I told you to call Cakes With a Kick", believe me, I will know if they called someone else. My wedding was a destination wedding, although I visit the Tampa Bay area often, all communication was done by e-mail and phone. Trying to get my ideals and what I wanted for that perfect day for me was not easy but one vendor really listened and soared way beyond my expectations; CAKES WITH A KICK! You can tell the time taken for the small details in decorating the cake that they really pride themselves or their talent. At first bite, you know it was hand crafted by a master baker using the best ingredients, not someone that helped mom open the cake mix box when they were a kid. A real piece of art to both the eyes and mouth. Even the Pastry Chef at the venue wowed about the cake design and taste.
Rommy, I can not thank you enough for the wonderful job you did.
Wedding: 06/05/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When I first started planning my wedding, I told the groom that I didn’t really care about much – just my dress and the cake. When I finally found my dress, I knew I had to find the best place in the Tampa Bay area to make the wedding cake of my dreams. I researched for a good while, basically just going through pictures on cake vendor websites until finally I stumbled upon Rommy from Cakes with a Kick. When I saw the pictures, I knew she had to make our cake.

I had a particular cake in mind, an intricate Mario Bros. cake that I’d found while researching for my sister’s wedding. I sent the pic of the cake to Rommy and she sounded really excited to make it, the only issues I encountered were the price and the size (it could only serve up to 50). I asked if we could somehow customize it so we could keep the concept of the cake and the topper, which was Princess Peach’s castle with Mario and Peach kissing in front of it. I also wanted it to serve all of our 150 guests. Rommy quickly drew up a mock-up of the cake with sizing and everything, and it looked great! From there the groom and I went in for a tasting with his parents, every cake flavored we tried was better than the last! We finally settled on lemon cake with lemon filling for the bottom tier, marble cake with raspberry filling for the middle tier and orange almond cake with dulce de leche for the top tier.

When the wedding day finally came I was super excited to see the cake, it was actually one of the things I couldn’t wait to see! When I finally did see it I was taken aback at how great it looked. It was everything I dreamed of and more, Rommy definitely out did herself! I’m sure she’ll eventually post pics on her website of the cake but everyone at my wedding loved it. My photographer even took the groom and I aside to ask us about it, he said it was the best wedding cake he’d ever seen. What’s more is how great it tasted! Although I was only able to try one flavor (my favorite – the lemon with lemon) I heard the other flavors were awesome as well.

I would totally recommend Cakes with a Kick to anyone looking for a one-of-a-kind wedding cake, or any cake for that matter! She was great to work with, prompt to respond, open to suggestions, everything a bride-to-be is looking for!
Wedding: 05/26/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A lot of bakeries can make pretty cakes, but very, very few create delicious ones too. Cakes With A Kick delivers on all levels. They listen attentively to get a true understanding of what you want, and they're very prompt in answering any questions you may have, so you get exactly the cake you've dreamed of. Several of our guests have begged for the recipe to our chocolate chip cake, and they keep telling me that it was one of the BEST desserts they've ever had. I have to agree! I couldn't be happier!
Wedding: 04/15/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had Cakes with a Kick do both our wedding cake and groom's cake. It was such a pleasure working with them and our cakes were beautifully designed! In addition, we had so many delicious flavors to choose from but were very happy with the ones we chose! We would highly recommend Cakes with a Kick to anyone who wants someone who is creative and pleasant to work with.
Wedding: 04/14/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My experience with Cakes with a Kick was fantastic! I am still receiving compliments from my guests about how beautiful and delicious the cakes were. I had my regular wedding cake and a grooms cake. Rommy and her husband both worked with me to get what I had in my mind made into a cake design for both of the cakes. It was hard to describe but they both made it super easy for me and they turned out perfect. The groom's cake was designed to be a mud tire, with sidewall writing of our name and the date and all. It was adorable and everyone (including the groom) LOVED it. I will always remember what a fantastic job Cakes with a Kick for my wedding cakes!!!!!! Can't recommend them enough!!!! If you'd like to see pictures look at my wedding wire photo album :)
Wedding: 03/17/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 727-280-4087
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0