Blue Steel Lighting Design
1407 Stephanie Way, Suite D
Chesapeake, VA 23320  | map
Events: Corporate Events, Private Parties, Weddings
Services: Event Concept & Design, Event Décor, Event Lighting
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (73)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I would HIGHLY recommend Blue Steel Lighting! John was awesome and flexible to work with! I would also recommend if you are going to splurge on one thing for your wedding I would 110% pick lighting!!! The lighting for our wedding was truly Magical and made the night that much more special to us!
Wedding: 09/25/2014
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Blue Steel Lighting was the best addition to our wedding vendor team, and I'm so happy we decided to add lighting for our wedding. Our photographer's recommended using lighting at Jennette's Pier for backlighting and a spotlight, as it really adds a lot to the space, and I am so happy we went with their recommendation. Blue Steel was super easy to work with, and with little direction from us delivered exactly what we were looking for. The whole room was backlit with changing colors, and the spotlighted really added a special element to the evening, and I know it will show in the photos. Thanks Blue Steel for rocking it!
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jeremy and his staff provided us with some unbelievable lighting that added an impeccable atmosphere to our wedding. It set the vibe and made our decor, and pictures turn out beautifully. He was right when he said he could really soften the stone of the Chrysler, and turn it into a stunning setting for our wedding. I would highly recommend Jeremy and Blue Steel!
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Jeremy, Michelle and the whole team at Blue Steel are worth their weight in gold. When we saw the cafe lights at our venue during an early site visit, we knew we had to have them. What we didn't know is that with Blue Steel, we would have such a strong team on our side. They treated my wedding like it was their own, and proactively took care of so many small details. Their positive attitudes and attention to detail alleviated so much stress during the planning process. The cafe lights set the perfect mood, the spot light on the cake was perfect for our toast, and the luminary path helped many guests to navigate their way to the garden ceremony and reception. These details (all executed perfectly) absolutely made my wedding.
Wedding: 09/06/2014
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 8 Reviews
Wow!!—This is what we kept hearing from our family, friends and guests at our reception when they saw the lighting design by Blue Steel. And we couldn’t agree more—they made our event truly magical!

We wanted something romantic and whimsical hanging over the dance floor, and boy did they deliver. They carefully considered the overall look and feel of our event and put together a really creative concept for “floating” candles—something they hadn’t done before but were willing to take on the challenge. The end result was really spectacular and I we are so grateful for their willingness to take on new challenges and their ability to execute so flawlessly. Michelle was a joy to work with and you can see the creative synergy between she and her husband, Jeremy. I would absolutely recommend them to any bride and groom looking to really add that “wow” factor to their big day!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Blue Steel was great to work with --- effortless even from states away. I worked with their team on lighting in my tent and explained to them my vision briefly over the phone and they nailed it-- everything was perfect. I'm a wedding planner out of Baltimore and I wish I lived closer to this company because I'd recommend them all of the time. Thanks again for everything!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were so impressed with blue steel and how their lighting completely transformed our ballroom into a wonderland. It turned an ordinary ballroom into a fairytale. We had the uplighting, pin lighting, and our initials on the dance floor. I had so many people come up to me and tell me it was the prettiest wedding they had ever been to and I know it is because of blue steel. It provided that wow factor and I loved how the color of the room changed as the mood of the night did. They were very professional, punctual, and responsive. They worked with us to customize the lights for our reception and gave us some great ideas. I love how the lighting added to the pictures as well. Im so glad we decided to spend the extra money on the lighting, well worth it!
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Blue Steel is way more than lighting! In addition to lighting, they helped us build a stage facade, hang a framed menu over our dessert table, and built custom wall designs for our wedding. They are very professional, creative, and a really fun group to work with! The lighting and other decor they helped with really helped transform our venue into a spectacular site! We were so happy we booked them as our vendor! Also, they stayed the entire night and helped change lighting throughout the evening and they were so discreet I never saw them! We highly highly highly recommend them!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lyndy 11 Reviews
When I saw Blue Steel Lighting at the first bridal show I went to, I knew they were a vendor I had to have for my wedding. They offer such a unique service that truly transforms your wedding venue space. The owner Jeremy & his wife Michelle are so nice and can really take your ideas and make them a reality. The pin lights really make the centerpieces and cake standout and look even more amazing. The personalized monogram light on the dance floor is such a nice touch. We even had snowflake lights in our lounge area that really made it a winter wonderland. And the uplighting really transforms the space - we had our ceremony and reception at the same place, but it was, literally, day and night with the way things looked! The combination of the lights and a custom designed pipe/draping helped us to make the spaces look completely different. Blue Steel went above and beyond to help us design this space and make it exactly what we were hoping for! Additionally, their on-site person helped our wedding planner hang things from the ceiling which was a huge help! The lighting was beautiful throughout the night and changed appropriately for the different aspects of the wedding (ie. dinner, first dance, cake cutting, dancing). It really made the pictures amazing, too! Blue Steel gives you excellent, friendly service, tons of experience and options, and the biggest bang-for-your-buck you can get in wedding decor. We highly recommend that you book with them!
Wedding: 02/08/2014
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Easy to work with, highly professional and displayed one of a kind, unique lighting for our winter wedding. Thank you for a seamless experience from start to finish. Highly recommend working with this company to set the atmosphere for your event. It was worth every penny!
Wedding: 01/11/2014
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
They will make your reception go from Blah to Beauty! They arrived on time and never made a decision without talking to me first. My husband and I were so happy with the way the lighting turned out. Although they are a bit pricey, they are a quality vendor that will make it all worth it. All my guests said it was breathtaking.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There was a bit of a hiccup at first, but things seemed to get cleared up just fine. We met at the office and gave a run down of what we were looking for and a week later received a proposal - it was, more or less - the exact opposite of everything we asked for.

Thankfully, the man met up at the site with the father of the bride to detail what we were looking for and everything got straightened out.

We were thrown a curveball due to potential weather concerns (although it turned out sunny) and had to rearrange everything, and they did an outstanding job of completely switching things up with us. If I could, I would give their flexibility higher than a 5.0.

On the wedding day, they had an entire crew there to set up, and one guy stuck around for the entire wedding to make sure everything went smoothly, even supplying extra outlets for the band.

They're more expensive than I imagined they would be - and that initial hiccup had me majorly concerned - but I was very pleased with the result and would definitely recommend.
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Good quality good product good service a little pricey
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I love these guys! Lighting really does add that special touch to your wedding décor, and it makes a huge difference in your photos. Blue Steel is the best in the business and the job they did on lighting my wedding venue was amazing. In budgeting for the wedding we decided to cut back on our flower funds so that we could incorporate the lighting, and I’ll never regret the decision to do so. Big shout out to Rachel for being so helpful with turning our vision into a reality through all the planning and great customer service. She even took extra time to help me create a custom logo to light the dance floor with. It’s the special touches like that that make your wedding more than what you’d hoped it would be.
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rachel was a big help. They made the lighting look great. The package they offered fit all my wedding needs and everything looked beautiful.
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
what is a wedding without LIGHTING DESIGN???? Rachel and Jeremy made my every dream come true. It started out with a drawing on a piece of paper, elementaryly done and Jeremy took the vision and ran with it. Rachel is so AWESOME and talked lights, colors and vision with me in a language I could understand and see. The end product was AMAZING. Even when they came to the event location to set up, they were flexible enough to change and make decisions based on the other elements of the cermony and reception. They were well prepared and made adjustments without even asking, knowing that I wanted NOTHING but the BEST. The ambiance that the lighting created set the tone for the ceremony and reception. The best part is I created a bond with Rachel and Jeremy that I will never forget. Just GREAT PEOPLE that keep the mood light at all times, even when I was unsure of exactly what I wanted and me trying to figure out ways to get everything I wanted, in my budget. I love the keepsake hat and bag they gave me also. They are ALLSTARS of LIGHTING in my book. I have the pictures to PROVE it.
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
 757-816-1939
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0