Blue Steel Lighting Design
1407 Stephanie Way, Suite D
Chesapeake, VA 23320  | map
Events: Corporate Events, Private Parties, Weddings
Services: Event Concept & Design, Event Décor, Event Lighting
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (66)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Blue Steel is way more than lighting! In addition to lighting, they helped us build a stage facade, hang a framed menu over our dessert table, and built custom wall designs for our wedding. They are very professional, creative, and a really fun group to work with! The lighting and other decor they helped with really helped transform our venue into a spectacular site! We were so happy we booked them as our vendor! Also, they stayed the entire night and helped change lighting throughout the evening and they were so discreet I never saw them! We highly highly highly recommend them!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lyndy 10 Reviews
When I saw Blue Steel Lighting at the first bridal show I went to, I knew they were a vendor I had to have for my wedding. They offer such a unique service that truly transforms your wedding venue space. The owner Jeremy & his wife Michelle are so nice and can really take your ideas and make them a reality. The pin lights really make the centerpieces and cake standout and look even more amazing. The personalized monogram light on the dance floor is such a nice touch. We even had snowflake lights in our lounge area that really made it a winter wonderland. And the uplighting really transforms the space - we had our ceremony and reception at the same place, but it was, literally, day and night with the way things looked! The combination of the lights and a custom designed pipe/draping helped us to make the spaces look completely different. Blue Steel went above and beyond to help us design this space and make it exactly what we were hoping for! Additionally, their on-site person helped our wedding planner hang things from the ceiling which was a huge help! The lighting was beautiful throughout the night and changed appropriately for the different aspects of the wedding (ie. dinner, first dance, cake cutting, dancing). It really made the pictures amazing, too! Blue Steel gives you excellent, friendly service, tons of experience and options, and the biggest bang-for-your-buck you can get in wedding decor. We highly recommend that you book with them!
Wedding: 02/08/2014
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Easy to work with, highly professional and displayed one of a kind, unique lighting for our winter wedding. Thank you for a seamless experience from start to finish. Highly recommend working with this company to set the atmosphere for your event. It was worth every penny!
Wedding: 01/11/2014
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
They will make your reception go from Blah to Beauty! They arrived on time and never made a decision without talking to me first. My husband and I were so happy with the way the lighting turned out. Although they are a bit pricey, they are a quality vendor that will make it all worth it. All my guests said it was breathtaking.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There was a bit of a hiccup at first, but things seemed to get cleared up just fine. We met at the office and gave a run down of what we were looking for and a week later received a proposal - it was, more or less - the exact opposite of everything we asked for.

Thankfully, the man met up at the site with the father of the bride to detail what we were looking for and everything got straightened out.

We were thrown a curveball due to potential weather concerns (although it turned out sunny) and had to rearrange everything, and they did an outstanding job of completely switching things up with us. If I could, I would give their flexibility higher than a 5.0.

On the wedding day, they had an entire crew there to set up, and one guy stuck around for the entire wedding to make sure everything went smoothly, even supplying extra outlets for the band.

They're more expensive than I imagined they would be - and that initial hiccup had me majorly concerned - but I was very pleased with the result and would definitely recommend.
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Good quality good product good service a little pricey
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I love these guys! Lighting really does add that special touch to your wedding décor, and it makes a huge difference in your photos. Blue Steel is the best in the business and the job they did on lighting my wedding venue was amazing. In budgeting for the wedding we decided to cut back on our flower funds so that we could incorporate the lighting, and I’ll never regret the decision to do so. Big shout out to Rachel for being so helpful with turning our vision into a reality through all the planning and great customer service. She even took extra time to help me create a custom logo to light the dance floor with. It’s the special touches like that that make your wedding more than what you’d hoped it would be.
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rachel was a big help. They made the lighting look great. The package they offered fit all my wedding needs and everything looked beautiful.
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
what is a wedding without LIGHTING DESIGN???? Rachel and Jeremy made my every dream come true. It started out with a drawing on a piece of paper, elementaryly done and Jeremy took the vision and ran with it. Rachel is so AWESOME and talked lights, colors and vision with me in a language I could understand and see. The end product was AMAZING. Even when they came to the event location to set up, they were flexible enough to change and make decisions based on the other elements of the cermony and reception. They were well prepared and made adjustments without even asking, knowing that I wanted NOTHING but the BEST. The ambiance that the lighting created set the tone for the ceremony and reception. The best part is I created a bond with Rachel and Jeremy that I will never forget. Just GREAT PEOPLE that keep the mood light at all times, even when I was unsure of exactly what I wanted and me trying to figure out ways to get everything I wanted, in my budget. I love the keepsake hat and bag they gave me also. They are ALLSTARS of LIGHTING in my book. I have the pictures to PROVE it.
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristin 6 Reviews
All I can say is THANK YOU! Rachel and the guys were amazing. They took our already seemingly beautiful venue and transformed it into the most increadible reception space i've ever seen. Their work set the tone and enhanced every aspect of our reception...especially our photos. This is one of those areas that you should absolutely not skimp on. Photographer, Videographer and Lighting!! I am so impressed with their work and I would reccomend every bride to meet with them. They are so professional and listen to what you want. They knew what I was going for and then I gave them complete creative control as they are experts in their craft. I can't wait to share our pictures with them. Thank you thank you so much for enhancing our special day and making it truly memorable!
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Blue Steel provided that one service that tied the whole event together: Lighting. I was amazed to see how the mood of any room can be transformed, just by adding the right type of lighting. They were so easy to work with, and helped to create a perfect package specifically for my event. I was also impressed to find out that they keep personnel onsite throughout the night to manage the lighting. Blue Steel provided uplighting for the walls with the option to change colors throughout the night, GOBO for the dance floor, pinspot lights on the sweetheart table and cake, and uplighting within our Chupah - giving it a very ethereal look. I receive so many compliments on the lighting, and definitely believe it was worth the investment.
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Blue Steel was great! The pin spot they provided for the cake really helped it stand out and made for great pictures. We also opted for the personalized gobo on the dance floor which I highly recommend. It was very classy and added a special element to the floor. You can personalize it however you wish (including design and font). The company remained professional throughout the whole planning process as well as the day of. I highly recommend them.
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
After spending months in contact with Ampa and failing to get anywhere I almost gave up on the vision we had of hanging Edison bulbs over our reception floor. My wedding planner got in contact with Blue Steel only a week before the wedding. They quickly gave us a quote on our vision and took our payment info over the phone. They came in and set up on the wedding day exactly what we wanted and were very professional and responsive to the restrictions of the venue. I wish I had gone to them in the first place. They made everything so easy and seamless.
Wedding: 08/10/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Blue steel completely changed the look and feel of my wedding and reception! Completely worth the money and they even had a little surprise for us in the end! They really are the best in the lighting business!!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Blue Steel was another vendor that my and my husband knew we wanted. We had a budget and they were able to work with us. We counted on their professionalism and experience.

We didn't do too much for decorations at the hotel where we held our reception. We relied more on the fabulous lighting. We knew that we could set the mood that way.

We had no doubts or worries about Blue Steel and we knew that having them do our lighting would be a way to make our wedding a little more unique with our names on the dance floor and the special lighting during the special moments throughout the night. We got so many compliments from our guests that the lighting was amazing.

Thanks Blue Steel!!!
Wedding: 07/07/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The folks at Blue Steel did a tremendous job with the lighting for our wedding reception. The reception was held at the Westin in Virginia Beach and Blue Steel supplied uplighting around the ballroom as well as a spotlight and monogram design on the dance floor and pin spotting on our sweetheart and cake tables. The lighting switched between teal and coral (our wedding colors) throughout the reception, and when the party really got going on the dance floor, the uplighting switched to a multi-colored party theme. Rachel was extremely easy to work with and took me in their studio where she gave me a sample of their lighting techniques on my initial consult. Great, reliable, company that really made the atmosphere of our wedding a really grand affair.
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
 757-816-1939
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0