Bill's Toupee
Hudson Valley's #1 dance/cover band since 1994
4 Eldorado Drive
Poughkeepsie, NY 12603  | map
Agency or Band: Band
Band size: Medium (4-6 musicians)
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Blues, Classic...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (21)   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We first found Bill’s Toupee when looking at photographers’ pictures of other weddings at our venue. We preferred a band for multiple reasons, and it was good to know that they had already used our venue. They looked fun and the guests looked like they were having a great time. I looked up their reviews and was amazed to see how many people loved them. We assumed that they would be very expansive but decided to call anyway. We were surprised that they were relatively affordable. Mike was awesome and so helpful and he didn’t mind our multiple questions. We felt so comfortable with him that he was the first vendor we officially booked (yes, even before the venue). They were great throughout our engagement, getting in touch with us to finalize things as it got closer to our wedding. On the day of they were INCREDIBLE. The dance floor was packed the whole time (in fact, the wait staff had trouble getting food to the tables because there were so many people dancing). They were really great with reading the crowd and playing all different types of music. For the special songs we wanted for cake cutting and first dance, they downloaded and played an mp3 so that we could have the exact song. They let my sister-in-law sing a song with them and even let my husband and his friends play a song on their instruments. A few days after the wedding they even emailed us a wonderful picture they had secretly taken of all of us from above as we were putting the boutonnieres on the groomsmen and fathers. It was super awesome because it was such a special moment that not even the photographers had gotten. Two weeks after the wedding I realized that I loved the songs they had played so much that I wanted to make a wedding mix tape. I emailed them and they were so nice about it, they all brainstormed and gave me the list as best as they could remember. It was so sweet and something they didn’t have to do.
Thanks to them we had the most fun night of our life!! We are still hearing complim
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everyone LOVED Bill's Toupee! They played a great variety of music and had everyone up on the dance floor. To this day people keep telling us how great the band was and how much fun they had at our wedding. My father (who originally told me I was silly to hire a band) told me during our father/daughter dance that the band was really good and everyone was having a blast. My most cherished moment was our first dance. We took dance lessons and had listened to our song at least a hundred times. To finally hear "Wonderful Tonight" live was amazing. My husband and I are so glad we hired Bill's Toupee for our wedding. They are a fantastic group of people and talented musicians. They were also so sweet to let my 4 year-old nice play tambourine with them for over an hour.
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Bill's Toupee was fantastic! They sounded great and their set list was a perfect mix of older and newer songs that everyone knows and can sing and dance to. The dance floor was full from the first song until the end of the night. We got tons and tons of compliments from our wedding guests about how great the band was. I can't recommend them highly enough.
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We just got married this past weekend and I can't say enough great things about Bill'sToupee! They were amazing and even dealt with a time change due to rain without any complaints. Here is the email that I sent to Mike, who was also awesome to work with! There was never a moment that the dance floor was empty. I wish I had another reason to plan a party so we could hire them again!

"Thank you so much for playing this weekend and being so flexible with the time change and staying late. We received so many amazing compliments on your professionalism, ability to play songs that fit all ages and reading the crowd.  We couldn't have asked for a better band to top off our already amazing weekend."
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Being in the wedding business for over 35 years Bills toupee is on the top of my list for live wedding bands. There sound & vocals are authentic to the original song. I was blown away by the band & I highly recommed them. Tom Nicchi Owner of The Stateroom Albany NY
Bill's Toupee responded with the following comments:
Thank you, Tom. Your kind remarks are greatly appreciated. I'd certainly put The State Room at the top of my list as well. I look forward to working with you again in the near future.
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Bill's Toupee is an awesome band! Family members and wedding guests came up to me during the wedding just to ask about them! They have great energy, and stick really close to the original versions of songs - almost like listening to a more awesome, live version of the radio! Mike was super helpful from start to finish, calling me to discuss what I wanted and making changes and accommodations when I needed them. A+!
Wedding: 09/09/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We've been having a family reunion (150+ people!) for 33 years now, and Bill's Toupee was one of our best bands yet. People came up to me the next day to compliment the "amazing band" we chose for the event... so YES, I recommend them for any event. Mike is very accommodating and they are great at sizing up the crowd and knowing what works. They rock ; )
Wedding: 07/06/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Bill's Toupee was absolutely wonderful! I really can't say enough about how great they are. No matter what your taste in music they are very adaptable, and get your guests moving! They played our song "Thank You" by Led Zeppelin flawlessly. I highly recommend them for your wedding or event.
Amanda
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This band is AMAZING!!! I will just copy and paste the note I wrote to them after the wedding:

Mike,

I wanted to send you a quick email saying THANK YOU for the awesome music last night. You guys are amazing! The sound was so good, and you did a great job with reading the pulse of the crowd/song selection. Everyone in the band is so talented. The MC'ing was perfect - enough to keep it fun but not cheesy. The music was the #1 thing we were complimented on by our guests. Many people told us it was the best wedding band they've ever seen and we agree.

Thanks for making our night so special, fun, and rockin'!

Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Bill's Toupee entertained over 400 guests at our annual Gala, and they had them dancing the entire evening. Tremendous talent, great vocals, and they know how to entertain audiences of all ages. We look forward to having them back next year - rave reviews from our attendees. Barbara Klassen, Benedictine Health Foundation
Wedding: 12/09/2011
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Bill’s Toupee Rocks!! That’s all we have to say but we will give you more because everyone that is getting married should have them play their wedding. We were looking for a band that was more party than traditional wedding. We wanted contemporary with enough standards that our parents and their friends would enjoy. We got both and more - from Cat Stevens, Lady Gaga, Coldplay, Billy Joel and even Toto (that’s right, they broke out Africa by Toto) the whole place was dancing from beginning to end. We had a 130 guests and if everyone that we talked to didn’t come up and ask who the band was I would be shocked. They got the party going with a great Hora that led into Black Eyed Peas, PINK and Bon Jovi. They were the exact band we were looking for and delivered on all accounts. They handled the MC duties to perfection and worked with all of the vendors we hired to make sure the wedding ran smooth. I would be remiss to not mention that Mike, the band leader played our ceremony and learned a new song for our procession. He played Coldplay “til kingdome come” masterfully and the whole place was in awe, it was special.

We can’t say enough about how great our wedding was with Bill’s Toupee. Desiree, Mike and the rest of the band are top notch. Hire them, dance with them and have a great time partying with them. You won’t regret it. Feel free to write us with any thoughts or if you want to hear more.
Wedding: 10/22/2011
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Bill's Toupee played at my wedding in Schodack in September. It is now almost the end of January and I am still getting compliments from friends and family members on how amazing the band was! Of the over 250 people at our wedding, 99% of them were on the dance floor the entire night. I can't say enough how great these guys made my wedding!
Wedding: 09/24/2011
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Bill's Toupee played for my husband at I at our wedding this past weekend. I think the best compliment I can give is that the dance floor was packed all night long! Over half of our guests were still on the dance floor, late in the evening for the final song of our reception.
Our friends and family were having so much fun! We conga-lined and sang and the band kept the enrgy high from the beginning of the evening until the very last song.

We contacted Bill's Toupee after a recommendation from oru reception venue, and their responsiveness to our initial request confirmed from the beginning that they were the right choice. Mike responded to evey request, question, and sent song clips so that I could here various songs. They made sure that we had everything we wanted from our introduction song, to the all important first dance, and made sure that the last song was one that would have us all singing.

They were professional and kind. They were flexible and worked around a small hitch in the start time of the reception with our reception manager. They knew the space, they made sure we were organized, and they even provided lights! It was awesome! Their attention to detail and their love of music made the night.

I can only say, if you need a band, this is the one!
Bill's Toupee went above and beyond our every expectation. We danced the night away and it was a wonderful experience. Our reception was everything we dreamed thanks in large part to Bill's Toupee. I have several friends who are getting married in the near future and I only hope we're lucky enough to get to see Bill's Toupee again!
Wedding: 08/20/2011
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
"OH WHAT A NIGHT"... Bill's Toupee played for our daughter and her husband at their wedding this past weekend. My phone has been ringing off the hook...people raved about them! The dance floor was packed, people were having fun and dancing, singing, laughing - you name it....Bill's Toupee made that wedding one to remember!

The dance floor was so busy! People were having so much fun! From the moment we walked in...they had the pulse of the crowd and people were just having fun!

Now, we all know weddings are expensive, well this band was affordable, they responded to every phone call and e-mail with a quick response back. They KNEW YOU....they took the time to get to know us, the bride and the groom, they knew the venue, what would work best for the rooom, they were WONDERFUL! They were professional and smooth, they were flexible and worked around our changing times. I am telling you....when you are planning a wedding, things can get tense, especially in the last days. Well, Mike made it so easy, he said he had it covered and he did!

I can only say, if you are planning a wedding and you want a band that is affordable, professional, responsive, a great value and offers flexibility - then Bill's Toupee is the band for your event!

Hands down...this band went above and beyond our expectations of what a band should be like, they were just perfect...just perfect!

One last closing comment...You could tell Bill's Toupee LOVES what they do...it just shined through out the night, they even hooked up and included a light show on the ceiling...that offered a real dreamy feel to the evening. I cannot say enough about them...I just needed to pass it along to others. I think they are the best kept secret in the Hudson Valley! By the way, my other daughter caught the bouquet and I think you all know what band we will be using!

Enjoy planning your event!
Wedding: 08/13/2011
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mike,

I hope all the people that raved to us about you guys actually told you how great you all were. It was kind of funny how the feedback all sounded just about the same. The place/view was amazing, the food was fantastic, and the band kicked butt (or some variation of rocking). We knew going into this that we had an all-star lineup, but you always hope all the effort and plans come together when they need to, and in our case they did. We couldn't have hoped for better.

We got a bunch of positive feedback about the lights also. Anyone thinking of using them should do it without hesitation. The people on the dance floor at first were looking at themselves and the ground mesmorized by the display and effects until they realized what it was, and kept on dancing. And many thanks for letting our neighbor Andy sit in on a couple of songs.

If anyone contacts you that is on the fence about who to use as a band, tell them to call/e-mail me, and I will recommend you 10,000%. We couldn't be more pleased about not only the band's performance, but the ease of the transaction and the flexibility and patience you showed us. You took the worry out of the musical portion of planning the wedding.

Many thanks again,

Cheryl & Michael Lachant
Wedding: 10/17/2010
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Bill's Toupee Band did a fantastic job for our wedding! Mike was extremely helpful and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. We received so many great compliments about the band- even from my cousin who can be the harshest music critic! Our first dance was to "At Last" and several guests commented on how Desiree did an amazing job singing it. They also accommodated some last minute song requests from my mother & mother-in-law, including a tribute song to my deceased father which I greatly appreciated. They perfectly embodied the spirit of our wedding- elegant but also fun & laid back. There were no cheesy antics- just GREAT music. I would highly recommend them for any event!
Wedding: 08/07/2010
Services Used: Band
 845-485-4226
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0