Behind the Veil, LLC
Bridal Hair and Makeup Artistry
    150 Reviews
537 Ritchie Hwy
Suite 1D
Severna Park, MD 21146  | map
Services: Hair, Makeup
Consultations: Yes
Large groups: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (150)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
LOVED these ladies. Renee did hair and Melanie did makeup and they were absolutely amazing. Not only are they incredibly talented and made us all feel like beauty queens, they were just fun to be around. That was almost as important to me as how our hair/makeup turned out! I had 8 bridesmaids and then my mom and myself. That is a lot of people, and they managed to get everyone finished in the time they set up. It was a long day, but it honestly felt like they were just part of our group and chatting and laughing with us about whatever nonsense we were talking about. When my photographer arrived, they were getting ready to head out but were gracious enough to stick around for some photos :) Cannot recommend these ladies enough! Thank you Renee and Melanie for making us look like babes, and tolerating Mariah Carey Christmas music and 90s Toni Braxton slow jams. You guys rock.
Wedding: 10/11/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The team at Behind the Veil, LLC (BTV) was a pleasure to work with. BTV gives you all the information you need to know before your big day so there isn't any last minute confusion. BTV is very responsive via email and even text messages so you feel like you are working with people rather than a company. You know all the costs up front and have to pay in advance so there is no "business talk" on the Big Day.

I would recommend booking a trial so you can get a good idea of what you will look with your desired look. I found that I wanted to "tweak" my vision a little bit so I would be the happiest on my big day. My artists Renee and Nancy had such great personalities and could do ANYTHING you ask them to. They were fun to be around but still very professional. They worked quickly but meticulously.Some of my wedding party was reluctant to get their hair and make-up done, but Renee and Nancy made them feel comfortable and beautiful. The results on were incredible! Finally, I can not rave enough about how I felt on my wedding day. I received so many compliments on my hair and make-up throughout the day and nothing moved! I looked exactly the same at 2 pm and 2 am. Working with BTV was an amazing experience that I hope to enjoy again in the future!
Wedding: 10/10/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
I hired Behind the Veil for my October 2014 wedding in St. Michaels. Angela did our makeup and Maria did our hair. They were wonderful to work with. They did exactly what each person asked for and happily did touch-ups or made changes upon request. I loved spending the day getting ready with my friends and family, and Angela and Maria helped make it so fun and easy! Everyone looked absolutely beautiful!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Behind the Veil was a fantastic choice for getting my bridesmaids and my hair done for the wedding. The reception was in Chevy Chase MD and they had no problem driving that far to do our hair and even got there early! Everyone was pleased with the outcome and I loved the quality of service they provided me from start to finish!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Tara 7 Reviews
Let me first just say, my wedding would have been ruined without this company. My wedding was on 9/13/14, and it was Memorial Day. I was getting the 'it's-getting-really-close" jitters and starting to contact all my vendors to make sure all of the details were confirmed. I had unwisely half-assed my beauty vendor, thinking it would be the easiest one to find. I had picked a similar company to Behind the Veil. I had my misgivings about them since our initial booking conversation had been less than professional. However, their pictures and website looked good, so I went forward with keeping them. So Memorial Day rolls around, and after many attempts to contact and confirm with my beauty vendor, they send me a TEXT saying that I didn't, after all this time, have enough bridal party members for them to come do our make up! It was terrible. I panicked and contacted any beauty salon and bridal make up company I could find. It was pretty dire, being two weeks out from the wedding.

That's were Behind the Veil swooped in to the rescue! Not only were they the quickest to respond, but they worked hard to find girls who would come to our hotel for us! It was truly such miracle. We were assigned Kristi and Melissa for hair and make up. It was probably a pain for them to be booked on such short notice, but they came bright and early (because my ceremony was at noon) in great spirits. They were very professional, prepared, and laid back.

They were so helpful every step of the way. They talked with the girls and me to get an idea of our vision for hair and make up for the day and explained why they used what and where. They made my morning so pleasant and carefree.

Above all, we looked AMAZING all day. Even after it rained on us immediately after the ceremony, our make up and hair stayed fresh and beautiful through reception. It was truly a blessing to have such good people helping me out on such a big day. Book with these ladies, they are the best.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had been referred to Behind the Veil by the venue where our wedding was to be held and I am so grateful they gave me their information! I had the absolute best experience working with Behind the Veil, from start to finish they made everything extremely easy and affordable. My hair artist was Caitlin and my makeup artist was Angela, both of them were extremely sweet, experienced, professional and they did an amazing job. I truly felt so beautiful on my wedding day. The artists listened to everything I asked for and they made my dream idea of what I wanted to look like on my wedding day a reality. I would highly recommend the artists and this company to everyone I know and would absolutely use them again!
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Behind the Veil is a fantastic company to work with for wedding hair and makeup. The trial hair and makeup visit was very fun, started on time, and gave me a great idea of how everything would look. They listened to my needs and expectations and definitely followed through. The morning of the wedding Angela (makeup) and Leanne (hair) were on time and assisted all of us in making sure we looked our best. They are so fun to be around and made the day even more magical and exciting. I really loved my look on my wedding day, which was a bit different - we had a renaissance/medieval wedding. Both Angela and Leanne made sure that we were happy with our looks and even let us modify/offer suggestions. I highly recommend Behind the Veil on your wedding day. You will definitely look your best!
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I was so lucky to have a wonderful hair and make-up artist that made my day wonderful, Renee' and Mara. I would highly recommend them to anyone. Thank you so much!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Behind the Veil was amazing!!! I live in Florida, but was getting married in Annapolis. I really wanted to have a hair trial before the big day, but was having a difficult time finding stylists who would accommodate my tight schedule, but Behind the Veil was very flexible and so helpful!! Ashley and Kaytee were our stylists for the wedding and they were incredible. Everyone looked gorgeous and loved their styles. In addition to making everyone beautiful, Ashley and Kaytee were extremely patient with us. We had a big group of girls and some younger bridesmaids (10 and 12 year old). Ashley and Kaytee handled everything like the true professionals they are. Such a wonderful experience overall!!!
Wedding: 08/31/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough great things about Behind the Veil!!! Maria was my hair stylist and Nancy was my makeup artist for my wedding. They did an amazing job!! We started early in the morning because they had 9 girls including me to do! This seems like a crazy task, but they made it look so easy! They showed up right on time (which on your wedding day is such a relief!) and they were so upbeat and so nice! All of my bridesmaids and mom LOVED Maria and Nancy and kept saying how great they are! They kept us laughing and had a great time getting ready! All of the girls were so happy with their hair and makeup! Maria and Nancy even had enough time to do last minute touches if needed. My hair and makeup stayed perfect throughout the day and night! I was so beyond happy with how everything turned out and I cannot thank them enough!! My advice- stop looking and book them!
Wedding: 08/23/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding was on August 9th and I had Mary as a hair stylist and Leslie as a make up stylist...both were absolutely AMAZING! They styled me and my entire wedding party. All of us looked gorgeous! I had provided Mary with a picture of how I wanted my hair to look and she replicated the hairstyle to perfection! And when Leslie was finished with my makeup I couldn't believe how incredible I looked! Both the hair and the make up lasted the whole day and night despite being outside in the humidity on the water! I was so impressed and pleased! Even my wedding planner said I had the sexiest wedding party she had ever seen....which I credit to my beauty team! Also the company as a whole was so great in being flexible with prep times and locations. They replied same day to all of my questions and concerns. When it was time for my big day I felt 100% comfortable with the timeline and plan Laurie created for me. If you are looking for a style team look no further! you won't be disappointed!
Wedding: 08/09/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ashley and Nancy were amazing!!! They did an a zing job on each and every one of my bridesmaid, my mom and myself! I loved the airbrush makeup! Ashley did my hair exactly like I hoped!
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Last week Melanie came to do the make-up for myself, the two moms, and my four bridesmaids on my wedding day. Every single person was beyond happy with their make-up, absolutely loved Melanie, and the timing was perfect. Weddings are very stressful and it's hard to trust someone with doing your make-up the way you like. Melanie was able to understand and create each girls' request and everyone looked gorgeous. There was a natural quality to everyone's look, but she was also able to add the extra spark everyone wants for the wedding day pictures. I could never say enough about how wonderful it was to work with Melanie and Behind the Veil for my wedding.
Wedding: 07/26/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Behind the Veil was such a pleasure to work with.

Thea (hair) and Joseline (makeup) were both amazing and professional and able to take the pictures and ideas I had and modify them to my hair type and coloring to make me look the best I ever have on my wedding day.

Thea did my hair updo plus five bridesmaids updos and my mom's blowout. She worked so quickly that we were ahead of schedule and really able to enjoy our time getting ready together. Every bridesmaid had their hairstyle exactly to their liking and it stayed through all night (one even to the next morning!). I changed my hair a tad from trial to wedding day and Thea was super flexible and got it exactly right. I was so happy with my hair, I wish she could do it everyday!

Joseline was perfection at making all of us look beautiful. We chose to do a more natural look. The majority of us had airbrush, and in the humid July weather our make up held up all day long. You can't ask for anything better!

Both girls were sweet and helpful and everything you could want helping you and your girls look beautiful for your big day. They were both on time and so easy to work with. I can't thank them enough.
Wedding: 07/26/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was so so so pleased with how my wedding hair and make-up. It couldn't have been more perfect and both were even better than I had imagined. Angela has such a talent for make-up, and Caitlin created my hairstyle exactly how I described and did the exact same for each of my bridesmaids. I am so impressed by their professionalism and skills! Thank you, BTV, for making me and my bridesmaids look and feel so beautiful for my wedding day!!! I couldn't have asked for better artists!
Wedding: 07/11/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Hands down the best! I would recommend BTV to anyone! My hair was flawless. Maria did my hair EXACTLY how I wanted it. Fantastic job! Kaytee did my make-up and it was so beautiful! I couldn't have asked for anything better for my wedding day. Maria, Kaytee, and everyone else from the BTV team are so friendly and easy to work with. All of my bridesmaids were so happy with their looks as well!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
 443-534-8439
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0