Behind The Lens Maui

Behind The Lens Maui

Favorite
Wailuku, HI
 
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service
5.0
Responsiveness
4.9
Professionalism
4.9
Value
4.9
Flexibility
5.0
Profile Picture
Clay and Kristin
2 Reviews
06/30/2015
5.0

Thanks to Nicole at Behind the Lens Maui, our beach wedding was captured beautifully! We hadn't met Nicole prior to our big day (our wedding coordinator lined her up for us), and we couldn't have been happier. She was professional, friendly, and attentive to our requests, but more importantly she took spectacular pictures that we will forever cherish.

At first, we were only going to have her at the actual ceremony. We ended up having her come to our reception as well, and we are so glad we did! She did a great job of staying out of the way (our reception area was rather small), while still capturing all of the beautiful photos that we could have hoped for.

We absolutely recommend Nicole - she's fantastic!

~Clay and Kristin

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on WeddngWire. I really appreciate your sharing your experience and am so happy for you both. My best to you and your family and I hope to one day see you all in Maui again.
Nicole

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Private User
1 Review
Recently Married
5.0

Excellent person and service!!

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Many thanks for taking time to write me a review. I really appreciate it.

My best,

Nicole

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Private User
9 Reviews
Recently Married
5.0

The pictures overall turned out amazing! We wanted photos to capture the vibrant colors of Maui and that is exactly what we got in the photos for our wedding day and the trash the dress photoshoot. We had several phone conferences to prepare and reiterate what we wanted. Nicole is very quick to respond if you ever have any questions! We were lucky enough to also meet before the wedding rehearsal to pick places we could take photos, which was great for saving time. We wanted creative, fun photos that caught the moments of our wedding, not posed smiles. Luckily with our group of guest, capturing raw moments during our wedding night wasn’t hard. The two assistant photographers, Ian and Trevor were a blast to work with. There were like Ninja’s, ready and able to capture anything that happened! The only downfall was at times it seemed like Nicole felt overwhelmed or unable to keep up with the group of guests we had. But, when we worked just with her and Trevor for the Trash the Dress, she was extremely fun, easy, and open to work with. Definitely a talented photographer. Although her energy didn’t quite match us, Nicole is a sweet, professional, and talented photographer to work with.

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I appreciate your kind words as well as apologize to you if It seemed I was overwhelmed somehow in your eyes. You and your guests were certainly a high energy group but, I enjoyed every moment with you and your group but do have to admit, my feet were killing me by the nights end. I learned my lesson the hard way by wearing brand new shoes to an all day event, not smart on my part. Maybe it was the blisters rubbing my feet raw that gave me the overwhelmed appearance. I;m super happy you all had such a fab time, it was a amazing wedding. Congrats to you both.

Nicole

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

Nicole is a wonderful person and an equally wonderful photographer. Nicole was a pleasure to deal with right from the start (via emails from the UK) right to the moment we met her and Trevor (her lovely assistant) on the beach for our wedding day. Nicole is fun, professional and passionate about what she does- which completely reflects in her fantastic photography. We would thoroughly recommend Nicole (and Trevor :) for your photography- you will certainly not be disappointed. Nicole and Trevor...you are brilliant :) very best wishes, Louise & Ian xxx

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Oh my goodness, I am humbled by your words. Thank you kindly for taking the time to write us a review on weddingwire. I enjoyed meeting you and Ian and hope in the future you will be able to come back to Maui for a visit. My best to you both. Sincerely,

Nicole

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Elizabeth
1 Review
04/25/2015
5.0

We married at Makena Cove Beach April 25 2015. That was the first time we met Nicole in person with her assistant, and she was really easy to get on with, it was as if we had known her for years! We had communicated mostly by email and had a couple of calls to clarify what we had in mind for the day. Nicole made the whole process seamless, she also acted as co-ordinator and included recommendations on beaches, the ministers, and even hair and makeup! That is not to mention the fabulous pictures she took of us on our very special day. We chose a sunset wedding and the pictures were outstanding, she captured the essence of us and gave us beautiful pictures we will treasure for years to come. If you are looking for something more than the average wedding snapshots I would highly recommend Nicole and Behind the Lens Maui.

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Private User
1 Review
Recently Married
5.0

Amazing photographer Nicole, she knew what to do and what we wanted. She made our day even more special. Will definitely recommend her. We love love our pictures.
Thank you for making our day more special.

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Aloha,

I'd thank you in person for the glowing review but, I'm not sure who took time from their day to write this review. Whoever you are, thank you for making my day and for writing such nice things. Sincerely,

Nicole

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Private User
2 Reviews
Recently Married
5.0

Nicole Sanchez of Behind the Lens Maui was our photographer for our small beach wedding at Kapalua Bay, December 2014. She went far above and beyond what is expected of a professional photographer.

We live in Toronto and had no idea how to pull this off. We just wanted something small and simple. Still, there are so many things to know and do. Nicole was basically my wedding planner and helped us decide on the best beach location for a sunset ceremony. She also pulled our beach permit, sent us all of the information and links on where and with whom to obtain our marriage license and gave us info on zillion other small but important details. She even recommended wonderful places to dine after the ceremony.

Nicole quickly responds to all emails and also phoned me a few times to ask us our preferences, etc. She was a lifesaver to us and we could not have done it without her help considering how overly hectic our lives were leading up to the ceremony.

Her photography is a work of art and we love our wedding pictures. We can never thank Nicole enough for making our day absolutely perfect!

The Lum Smith Family.

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Aloha,

I'm not sure who wrote this review but, it was very sweet of you to write such nice things. My goal is to give each and every client the best possible service so your words mean the world to me, thank you so much.
Sincerely,

Nicole

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Claire
1 Review
12/27/2014
4.6

My husband and I got married December 27 2014. Behind the Lens was arranged by my wedding planner to complete the photos.
Our photographer was Ian and he was terrific. The pictures were perfect as was the day. Ian quickly understood our style and adapted. The result are truly candid shots that captured the essence of Mark and I, our family and our day. I am very pleased with the outcome.
All the photo's were uploaded to the Behind the Lens website and I was able to access them almost immediately upon my return home. I was also able to provide the link to my friends and family so they could view as well and help me make choices for our album. The whole experience was easy and hassle free. I would highly recommend Nicole and her team at Behind the Lens.

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Kristy
1 Review
10/14/2014
5.0

We were married in October at Kapalua Bay, Maui and had the pleasure of working with Nicole & Travis. We cannot recommend them highly enough, they were both very professional and alot of fun. Our photo's look amazing and we couldn't of wished for a better day. Behind the Lens Maui has great photography packages available that are really well priced. I did alot of research before I made my decision and found Nicole to be highly recommended. I can now see why. She is fantastic and we can't thank her enough for capturing our special day.

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Aloha Kristy,

I wanted to say, " Thank you" for writing me a review. It was a very nice surprise and simply a pleasure to work with you both on your special day. Thank you for allowing me to capture you on film. My best to you both. Sincerely,

Nicole

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Josue
1 Review
09/08/2014
5.0

Everything turned out wonderful, thank you Nicole!!!

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Aloha Josue,

It was my pleasure, it was wonderful to be apart of your special day and I thank you for allowing me to be apart of it all. My best to you both.

Nicole

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Rebecca & Arnd
1 Review
07/25/2014
5.0

We had a lovely fotoshooting during and after our wedding on Ironwoods Beach, Maui, Hawaii. It was very professional and we felt very well cared for. We have received beautiful photos of the most beautiful day of our lives and can only recommend Nicole!

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for me. I hope your both doing well and I hope to see you both back in Maui one day very soon.

Sincerely,

Nicole

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Private User
1 Review
1+ year ago
5.0

We are more than pleased with the pictures that Nicole took for us at out wedding, very professional team and service. We highly recommend to anyone!

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I wish I knew who you were but, not knowing is kinda fun too. :)

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Private User
5 Reviews
1+ year ago
5.0

Nicole was the BEST vendor out of anyone that we worked with for the wedding. She was very proactive, reaching out to me to make sure we had everything we needed, offering local tips and advice too. So, SO helpful when trying to plan this beach wedding from Denver! She made the whole process easier and less stressful.

I really like her process, she has us set up some photos we liked on Pintrest so we could make sure to get every shot we wanted and also she could shoot the way that we wanted, since everyone's style is a little different.

Very fair prices and great work - just look at her galleries to see for yourself. We were thrilled and ended up upgrading to more photos afterward.

She was also a LOT of fun to work with, which makes all the difference in getting good shots I think. We were relaxed and playing around in a lot of the photos. Even my husband who *hates* to have his picture taken was having fun and loved how they came out. Right on, Nicole!

Can't say enough good things, Nicole is the real deal and we would work with her again in a heart beat.

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Oh my goodness, I just saw this review and it brought the biggest smile to my face. I'm more than pleased that you two were happy with the photo and my services. You totally made my day!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking time to write a review.

Hope to see you in Maui in the near future.

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
April
1 Review
06/21/2014
5.0

Nicole at behind the lens is amazing she did amazing photographs for a trash the dress as well as the next day at our wedding. she even went above and beyond what a photographer is supposed to do and helped me find a location and gave me lots of details I love the extra attention. I would recommend her to anyone

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Aloha April,

Thank you for taking time from your day to write a review for us at Behind The Lens Maui. We hope to see you and Corey on Maui soon. We appreciate your business and thank- you once again for choosing us to capture your special day and Trash The Dress session.

Nicole

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
5.0

Behind The Lens shot our wedding as well as a Trash The Dress session the night before for us and the results were amazing. She had the perfect location for us as well as was wonderful to work with. I would recommend her to anyone looking to capture your special event or occasion. You will not be disappointed.

Behind The Lens Maui responded with the following comments:

Aloha Corey,

I saw the review you wrote and wanted to say, "Thank you" for taking the time to write a review and for the kinds words. I loved working with you and April and hope you'll give me a call to say hello if you and when you make it back to Maui. Congrats to you both. Hugs and Love to you both.
Nicole

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes
Profile Picture
Matt
1 Review
06/14/2014
5.0

Nicole is a wonderful photographer. She was more than willing to work with our last-minute changes and the photos turned out well beyond our expectations. I would absolutely recommend her to anyone looking to get married on Maui.

Services Used: Photography
Thank you for voting on this review
Did you find this review helpful? Yes