Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace
Celebrate your Love and your Creativity in your Wedding.
    108 Reviews
PO Box 715
Planetarium Station
New York, NY 10024  | map
Services: Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious...
Religious affliliations: Agnostic, Baha'i Faith, Buddhist, Christian (no...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (108)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We are so happy we found Barbara. She provided us with a personalized service that went above and beyond anything we could have imagined. It was sweet, funny, and meaningful and meant the world to us. We LOVE Barbara and recommend her to anyone who wants to create special memories on their wedding day.
Wedding: 05/30/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Trying to organise a wedding from the other side of the world (Australia) isn't easy. Well, at least that's what we've heard. With Barbara, everything just fell perfectly into place like a movie.

Our decision to hire Barbara was the best one we made (apart from getting married of course!). We read all the amazing reviews online and decided Barbara was just the officiant we needed. Boy did she deliver – and she was even more amazing than what we initially read in the reviews!

One of the most important things Barbara does is she really takes the time to get to know you. We Skyped several times with Barbara and also had many email exchanges. In many ways she knows more about our relationship than most of our friends and family.

From this, she created a truly bespoke ceremony that fitted our personalities, our relationship and even our guests so perfectly. The creative genius that allows Barbara to do this is incredible. How she can take all this information and tie it together without it sounding like a script is just amazing. Barbara has really found her true calling in life and it's clear she absolutely LOVES every second of what she does. She put her heart and soul into our ceremony and we understand that she does the same for every couple she works with.

I think the comments from my Dad summed things up pretty well: "That was by far the best wedding ceremony I've ever been to, including my own! It was the most heartfelt, meaningful and beautiful ceremony ever. I was amazed at how well Barbara knew you both and how beautiful and personalised the ceremony was. It was perfect". Everyone there pretty much felt the same way, including us.

It wasn't just Barbara's part of the ceremony that was absolutely perfect. It was also how easy she made the rest of it. She introduced us to John who totally nailed the photos - we still can't believe how good they look and also they are exactly the style we wanted - beautiful moments of the day capturing real emotions
Wedding: 05/20/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Barbara was awesome! Her attention to detail was great and she really enjoys celebrating each couple's love story and making the ceremony unique for you. She had complete flexibility with us - we changed our ceremony style with only a few weeks until our wedding and she accommodated us with no issue at all. We were honored to have Barbara as our officiant and I highly recommend her.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I'm so happy we chose Barbara to officiate our wedding. We were both a little overwhelmed at the idea of creating a ceremony from scratch. We wanted a ceremony that was personal and intimate, yet also containted nods to traditional elements. Barbara took the sentiments we shared with her during the interview process and created a framework that then went through several rounds of patient editing and evolution. Through the editing process with her we were able to discover what would really resonate with us, and then Barbara made it sound good, too! On the day of our wedding Barbara was a calm and personable presence. She gracefully handled a last minute microphone glitch, and delivered the ceremony without amplification. Many of our guests told us they were very moved by our beautiful and unique ceremony.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Barbara is amazing at what she does and we cannot recommend her highly enough. From the moment we first made contact with Barbara we felt a sense of empathy, commitment and understanding. And from there on in, her professionalism, sensitivity, humor, grace and style never faltered. It was a great pleasure working with Barbara on our ceremony. It was a collaborative process but skillfully guided by her - always supportive, always ready to offer a suggestion, always ready to be sensitive and funny when required. Our wedding ceremony was incredibly special and pretty much all of the credit goes to Barbara for this. We opted for quite a lengthy ceremony, but many of our guests said they would have liked it to go on longer...their reason....Barbara Ann. In fact a couple of guests have asked us to do it all over again...just so they can enjoy Barbara once more! Our guests were universally full of praise for our celebrant. It's hard to find the exact words that summarize the mood and feeling Barbara created at our wedding but that is all part of her magic and charm. There is no method or theory you could study to do what Barbara does...it just flows from here in a natural and wonderful way.

So if you are reading this and wondering whether Barbara is right for your wedding....don't wonder or hesitate. Barbara will be right for you - she just is wedding perfection.
We can't thank her enough for her amazing contribution to our special day, but we certainly know she helped make the day as special as it was.

So we fully endorse Barbara as a celebrant you will be one hundred per cent happy with. She is a woman who is full of integrity and humanity and whom it has been our absolute pleasure to get to know.

Go Jester Of The Peace! - we are full of gratitude to you and marvel at what you do and the fact you do it so well.

Thank you

Howie and David Xx
Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Barbara Michaels made the day so special and memorable. Throughout the process Barbara accommodated our needs. During the ceremony, Barbara captured the essence of our true love story and evoked an atmosphere that was personable and meaningful. Her style is graceful and spiritual.
Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were so beyond lucky to find Barbara Ann and have her as our officiant. She composed the most beautiful, humorous and heartfelt ceremony for the two of us and every one of our guests asked us if she was a friend of ours because she seemed to know us so well. From our first meeting through pronouncing us married, working with her was a wonderful and fun experience. What we truly loved and appreciated about her process is that it is such a collaborative and creative method between her and the couple, continuous communication back and forth crafting the ceremony until it is just right. Barbara has amazing instincts when it comes to weaving a couple’s story into a ceremony, even knowing the exact right place to put readings and making suggestions of where to expand and where to cut back. We had so many guests tell us that it was the most beautiful and touching wedding ceremony they had ever been witness to and, sorry to brag, but we have to agree and we have Barbara Ann entirely to thank.
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
To be told that you are not able to marry the person you love has always been a disappointment. For the past ten years, living in Texas our state has dictated to us that we are not allowed to Marry each other. To proclaim our love for each other we agreed to marry New York. We were thankful that two of my family members were able to witness this great event. Although we had a very limited time to have our ceremony and nearly no time for planning, we were very grateful to have found Barbara Ann Michaels. She was able to put our service together within a matter of a couple hours. When we met her in Central Park for the 1st time, it was as if we had known her for years. She was so very personable, caring, and compassionate. A very beautiful soul really. She personalized our service and it was as just for us; nothing seemed scripted. After the service was complete, she had already arranged a warm place for us to sign our marriage license and helped us top off the evening with a wonderful dinner recommendation. She genuinely cares about the couples she marries. If you are looking for a warm heart felt ceremony that was created just for you, please contact Barbara Ann Michaels. You will not be disappointed!
Wedding: 02/07/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Barbara was awesome. We wanted a wedding in the snowy park in the morning (before it gets crowded and the snow gets walked-on), and that means a 12 hours notice to make sure we expect a snowy night. Barbara was super responsive and flexible, and totally open to our unusual requests. She then built a beautiful ceremony tailored to our style and preferences. Everyone found it moving and sweet.

When it gets to the formalities and paperwork, again Barbara proved to be super sweet and flexible. She helped us get everything to the city fast and even met me there few days after the wedding to speed up the process (we needed the certificate for something urgent).

All in all - a fantastic choice for any type of a wedding!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Barbara Ann Michaels was absolutely amazing, she made our wedding ceremony so beautiful, meaningful and fabulous for everyone. Thank you for making this day more amazing than we could of dreamed of!
Wedding: 01/03/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace was a wonderful officiant!

She joyfully guided both of us, after being partners for 25 years, through the process of determining what we wanted to include in our marriage ceremony, how to include special items of meaning, and and ways to best welcome participation, support and love from family and friends.

She engaged everyone in our wedding party and was able to help us both articulate our special love for each other in a way that included all.

Truly an amazing event because of her experience and ability to share her wisdom so gracefully with all involved, making the day truly magical (before, during and after)!

Jeff's mother commented that this was the best wedding that she had ever been to or had personally been in. All those who attended commented specifically to us how much they loved the way Barbara created our special day.

Thank you Barbara!

Mark & Jeff
Wedding: 12/26/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Barabara was fantastic in helping us prepare for and officiate our wedding. My husband and I had no idea what to do or how to prepare..we were so overjoyed with the overturn of DOMA but were also unprepared on how to make our dream come true. In walks Barabara, who helps us prepare for the happiest day of our lives and makes it look so easy!

Barbara was fun, engaging, highly knowledgable, and went out of her way to make our day special.

I knew I wanted to spend the rest of my life with my husband 20 years ago when i first heard his voice. Barbara helped make a dream I've had for over half my life finally become a reality.

Thank you Barbara! David and I will never forget what you did for us!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Barbara was such a joy to work with on our wedding. She was extremely professional while being thoughtful and caring at the same time. She made the process fun and easy. Many of our guests actually thought that we were close friends. I can't recommend Barbara enough. She will make your wedding ceremony witty and personal, joyous and loving.
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
I can't even begin to say how much I adore Barbara, and how happy I am that she was our officiant. After she married two friends of mine, I knew I had to have her officiate my own wedding. Barbara is all about love, hope, and positivity, and it shows in everything she does.

I feel like so many officiants don't really KNOW their couples, and you can always tell in those ceremonies. That is never the case for Barbara. By the time we were done crafting our ceremony, I knew Barbara "got" us and knew us well. Our ceremony reflected who we were as a couple perfectly. Our guests kept coming up to at the reception and telling us how wonderful and personal the ceremony was. One even said it was like "poetry."

Barbara - thank you again, so very very much, for being our officiant. You are an amazing one-of-a-kind person!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I just got married this past weekend, and we were so incredibly moved by Barbara Ann's ceremony she created for us that we felt compelled to immediately shout praise from the rooftop! She is a wonderful person with an amazing gift and passion for what she does.

To all the couples out there looking for that certain someone who can put words into YOUR story and share it with meaning and love - Barbara Ann is your woman! She absolutely loves what she does, and it's apparent in her dedication and support she gives to those she works with. She was so pleasant and patient throughout the months we worked together collaborating and building the ceremony, it really calmed our nerves knowing she was going to be the one standing up there with us on our big day. She made is so easy, we just talked and told her what we felt in our hearts and she put it into beautiful words that became our ceremony.

Fast forward to wedding day…before the ceremony Barbara came in to the bridal suite to say hello and meet the MOB and the bridesmaids…she was so cool and did something fun and special that helped calm everyone's nerves making us smile and relax - much needed on wedding day! During the actual ceremony itself, we felt so comfortable with Barbara up there, she knows exactly how to guide you when you nervous and even stood behind us to help us repeat the vows so we didn't miss a beat. After the ceremony, we literally couldn't keep count of the amount of guests coming up to us and telling us how moving the ceremony was and how amazing our Jester of the Peace was. Many many many happy tears. Even our 7 year old "tough guy" nephew who carried the rings got teary eyed during ceremony, if that doesn't melt your heart I don't know what does!

Please do yourself a favor and book Barbara Ann for your wedding, you will have the most amazing ceremony and memories that will last a lifetime.
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
As if you can't tell from reading all the other fabulous reviews, Barbara is fantastic. My fiancé and I were fairly laid back about the whole wedding planning thing, but we did want something more meaningful to us than the "do you take this person, do you take that person" thing. Almost immediately upon meeting Barbara for the first time, we knew that she fit the bill perfectly.

Over the course of a couple months, we met and corresponded with her several times, and the end result was a wedding that was completely us. We got to share our "official" story with those closest to us, which was great to hear and be able to tell. I'll admit, I was one of the "I'm cool with whatever" brides and didn't want anything that I personally thought of as kind of tedious (sand ceremonies? You mean every time I move from now until I die I have to not break this vase of sand?), but Barbara suggested a couple little touches that made the wedding that more meaningful. My guests still talk about how great the ceremony was, and I'm so happy that we decided to go with her.

If you're on the fence about Barbara, get off. She's awesome.
Wedding: 10/25/2013
Services Used: Officiant
 646-648-0128
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0