Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace

Barbara Ann Michaels, Jester of the Peace

Celebrate your Love and your Creativity in your Wedding.

PO Box 715
Planetarium Station
New York, NY 10024 | map
Services: Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Cere...
Religious affliliations: Agnostic, Baha'i Faith, Buddhist, Christian (no deno...
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
(5.0 / 5.0)
Responsiveness:
(5.0 / 5.0)
Professionalism:
(5.0 / 5.0)
Value:
(5.0 / 5.0)
Flexibility:
(5.0 / 5.0)
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Met Barbara at a friends wedding were she was the Officiant and was impressed with both her style and the customized wedding agenda. As a result we began to work with her for our garden style wedding. Barbara was extremely flexible in tailoring our wedding agenda to meet our needs. In addition her professionalism was greatly appreciated. Our decision to have Barbara officiate our wedding really made the event special. Many of our guests complimented us on her unique approach on the delivery of the ceremony.

  • Wedding: 11/08/2014
Services Used: Officiant
Profile Picture
Belle & Lloyd
1 Review
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We are beyond delighted to commend Ms. Barbara Ann Michaels as the PERFECT wedding officiant. We met Barbara online after interviewing several officiants, and the moment we crossed words with her we knew she was the ONE. Her voice, projection and spirit blew our minds away. Not only she projected herself perfectly but also she was very receptive to the vision we had for our wedding. Since day one, Barbara was very prompt and diligent communicating to us the progress of drafting our ceremony. She provided us with several drafts for us to review and comment. Every single wish/request we made Barbara made sure was addressed. We had requested Barbara to draft a non-religious ceremony, as we are an interfaith couple. However, we felt that we were missing a divine blessing as part of our ceremony.
So at the 11th hour on the day of the ceremony right before us walking down the aisle, we requested a prayer (not included in the final draft). Sure enough, Barbara said the most wonderful prayer we could implore for our marriage.
Her ideas were mind-blowing as well! She helped us come up with the most elegant idea for a ritual during the wedding ceremony, and engaged all of our guests in the ritual as well. ALL the guests loved the ceremony, as they too felt blessed, touched and impacted by this special moment.

The entire ceremony was admired and cheered by ALL wedding guests and even the hotel staff! Barbara made the ceremony be a true expression and celebration of love.

Deeply from our hearts, C+D

  • Wedding: 10/04/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Barbara did a fantastic job building a unique ceremony for us. We knew after meeting her that she would be the perfect person for us, her warmth, energy and enthusiasm for what she does was evident from the start. We loved the questionnaire she had us answer and after reading her first draft of the ceremony, we were thrilled with how she wove our own words into the ceremony.

Many of our guests commented on how great Barbara was and how fun she made the whole ceremony. We highly recommend working with her! Thanks Barbara!

  • Wedding: 09/20/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Barbara was excellent to work with. She was full of energy and cared to learn touching details of our relationship. She then used our stories to craft a beautiful ceremony. We highly recommend her.

  • Wedding: 09/06/2014
Services Used: Officiant
Profile Picture
Private User
3 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Barbara is a warm and caring individual who will celebrate your love during each step of the ceremony planning process. She will imbue each meeting, message, phone call, or email with kind words of comfort and encouragement.

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
Profile Picture
Private User
1 Review
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We knew Barbara would be something special before meeting with her. Reading the reviews and email correspondence confirmed how great Barbara is. But we couldn’t imagine how she would transform our wedding into something awesome.
We met Barbara for the first time at the ceremony location in central park and we immediately felt that she understood us and understood the kind of wedding we wanted. During that first meeting we exchanged many ideas and started building our custom ceremony. Barbara made us feel like we've known each other for a long time.
We wanted a traditional but still fun ceremony. The end result became so us and personal, we could not have wished for better. We were so happy during the ceremony we spontaneously started dancing.
On our wedding day she was well prepared and created the most fun and sweet ceremony full of harmony and joy. She made us feel calm and natural. Not only did she make the perfect ceremony but she also learned words from three languages which she perfectly pronounced. She is truly skilled, fun and professional. All our guests keep talking about the ceremony and Barbara, we keep on smiling everytime we thinking about it.

We are so thankful Barbara was part of our special day.

Barbara will make your day beyond special. Do not hesitate to contact her!!

Forever thankful, Anooshé and Pascal

  • Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I have been trying to come up with the perfect review for a perfect officiant, but I think there aren't enough words to describe the happiness and the joy we feel every time we think back to our ceremony.

Let's start from the beginning. We first contacted Barbara because I could sense a really beautiful energy through her pictures and videos in the website. We also wanted a custom ceremony, and she seemed to be happy to work with the couple. We emailed back and forth, she was very responsive, energetic and sweet!

We scheduled a call, and we fell in love! She was just the coolest. We knew in that moment that our wedding wouldn't be the same without her. And Boy we were right! She worked so hard helping us edit our ceremony and make it perfect for the timeline and for us. She was on time and super prepared ( I forgot to bring my wedding vows, but she had a copy! ). Her energy is so beautiful and calming. She did something very special for my husband and I right before the ceremony (which I will leave as a surprise for future couples) which really calmed us
down and gave us an incredible peace. Just a couple of seconds of her calming energy were enough!
The ceremony itself was so much fun, Yet heartfelt and spiritual. So many different elements. Peace, laughter, nostalgia, dreaming, crying! All in thirty minutes. When the ceremony was over my husband and I were shocked at how much fun we had during it. Later on everyone... Everyone! was asking about Barbara, everyone was impressed by her persona, her tone, her way of speaking, energy, the way she so beautifully conducted the ceremony and the crowd!

Barbara, Max and I thank you so much for helping us create a ceremony perfect for us.

  • Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We are so happy we found Barbara. She provided us with a personalized service that went above and beyond anything we could have imagined. It was sweet, funny, and meaningful and meant the world to us. We LOVE Barbara and recommend her to anyone who wants to create special memories on their wedding day.

  • Wedding: 05/30/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Trying to organise a wedding from the other side of the world (Australia) isn't easy. Well, at least that's what we've heard. With Barbara, everything just fell perfectly into place like a movie.

Our decision to hire Barbara was the best one we made (apart from getting married of course!). We read all the amazing reviews online and decided Barbara was just the officiant we needed. Boy did she deliver – and she was even more amazing than what we initially read in the reviews!

One of the most important things Barbara does is she really takes the time to get to know you. We Skyped several times with Barbara and also had many email exchanges. In many ways she knows more about our relationship than most of our friends and family.

From this, she created a truly bespoke ceremony that fitted our personalities, our relationship and even our guests so perfectly. The creative genius that allows Barbara to do this is incredible. How she can take all this information and tie it together without it sounding like a script is just amazing. Barbara has really found her true calling in life and it's clear she absolutely LOVES every second of what she does. She put her heart and soul into our ceremony and we understand that she does the same for every couple she works with.

I think the comments from my Dad summed things up pretty well: "That was by far the best wedding ceremony I've ever been to, including my own! It was the most heartfelt, meaningful and beautiful ceremony ever. I was amazed at how well Barbara knew you both and how beautiful and personalised the ceremony was. It was perfect". Everyone there pretty much felt the same way, including us.

It wasn't just Barbara's part of the ceremony that was absolutely perfect. It was also how easy she made the rest of it. She introduced us to John who totally nailed the photos - we still can't believe how good they look and also they are exactly the style we wanted - beautiful moments of the day capturing real emotions

  • Wedding: 05/20/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I'm so happy we chose Barbara to officiate our wedding. We were both a little overwhelmed at the idea of creating a ceremony from scratch. We wanted a ceremony that was personal and intimate, yet also containted nods to traditional elements. Barbara took the sentiments we shared with her during the interview process and created a framework that then went through several rounds of patient editing and evolution. Through the editing process with her we were able to discover what would really resonate with us, and then Barbara made it sound good, too! On the day of our wedding Barbara was a calm and personable presence. She gracefully handled a last minute microphone glitch, and delivered the ceremony without amplification. Many of our guests told us they were very moved by our beautiful and unique ceremony.

  • Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Barbara was awesome! Her attention to detail was great and she really enjoys celebrating each couple's love story and making the ceremony unique for you. She had complete flexibility with us - we changed our ceremony style with only a few weeks until our wedding and she accommodated us with no issue at all. We were honored to have Barbara as our officiant and I highly recommend her.

  • Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Barbara is amazing at what she does and we cannot recommend her highly enough. From the moment we first made contact with Barbara we felt a sense of empathy, commitment and understanding. And from there on in, her professionalism, sensitivity, humor, grace and style never faltered. It was a great pleasure working with Barbara on our ceremony. It was a collaborative process but skillfully guided by her - always supportive, always ready to offer a suggestion, always ready to be sensitive and funny when required. Our wedding ceremony was incredibly special and pretty much all of the credit goes to Barbara for this. We opted for quite a lengthy ceremony, but many of our guests said they would have liked it to go on longer...their reason....Barbara Ann. In fact a couple of guests have asked us to do it all over again...just so they can enjoy Barbara once more! Our guests were universally full of praise for our celebrant. It's hard to find the exact words that summarize the mood and feeling Barbara created at our wedding but that is all part of her magic and charm. There is no method or theory you could study to do what Barbara does...it just flows from here in a natural and wonderful way.

So if you are reading this and wondering whether Barbara is right for your wedding....don't wonder or hesitate. Barbara will be right for you - she just is wedding perfection.
We can't thank her enough for her amazing contribution to our special day, but we certainly know she helped make the day as special as it was.

So we fully endorse Barbara as a celebrant you will be one hundred per cent happy with. She is a woman who is full of integrity and humanity and whom it has been our absolute pleasure to get to know.

Go Jester Of The Peace! - we are full of gratitude to you and marvel at what you do and the fact you do it so well.

Thank you

Howie and David Xx

  • Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Barbara Michaels made the day so special and memorable. Throughout the process Barbara accommodated our needs. During the ceremony, Barbara captured the essence of our true love story and evoked an atmosphere that was personable and meaningful. Her style is graceful and spiritual.

  • Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We were so beyond lucky to find Barbara Ann and have her as our officiant. She composed the most beautiful, humorous and heartfelt ceremony for the two of us and every one of our guests asked us if she was a friend of ours because she seemed to know us so well. From our first meeting through pronouncing us married, working with her was a wonderful and fun experience. What we truly loved and appreciated about her process is that it is such a collaborative and creative method between her and the couple, continuous communication back and forth crafting the ceremony until it is just right. Barbara has amazing instincts when it comes to weaving a couple’s story into a ceremony, even knowing the exact right place to put readings and making suggestions of where to expand and where to cut back. We had so many guests tell us that it was the most beautiful and touching wedding ceremony they had ever been witness to and, sorry to brag, but we have to agree and we have Barbara Ann entirely to thank.

  • Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Sven and Emmy Buijs (the Netherlands).

  • Wedding: 02/11/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

To be told that you are not able to marry the person you love has always been a disappointment. For the past ten years, living in Texas our state has dictated to us that we are not allowed to Marry each other. To proclaim our love for each other we agreed to marry New York. We were thankful that two of my family members were able to witness this great event. Although we had a very limited time to have our ceremony and nearly no time for planning, we were very grateful to have found Barbara Ann Michaels. She was able to put our service together within a matter of a couple hours. When we met her in Central Park for the 1st time, it was as if we had known her for years. She was so very personable, caring, and compassionate. A very beautiful soul really. She personalized our service and it was as just for us; nothing seemed scripted. After the service was complete, she had already arranged a warm place for us to sign our marriage license and helped us top off the evening with a wonderful dinner recommendation. She genuinely cares about the couples she marries. If you are looking for a warm heart felt ceremony that was created just for you, please contact Barbara Ann Michaels. You will not be disappointed!

  • Wedding: 02/07/2014
Services Used: Officiant
Prev
646-648-0128
Please let this vendor know you found them on WeddingWire
5.0
out of 5.0
117 Reviews

My Awards
Bca 2014 logo small
2014 Couples' Choice Award®
Bca 2013 logo small
2013 Bride's Choice Award®
Bca 2012 logo small
2012 Bride's Choice Award®
Bca 2011 logo small
2011 Bride's Choice Award®