Baltimore Museum of Industry
1415 Key Highway, Inner Harbor South
Baltimore, MD 21230  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (43)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Robin 5 Reviews
The reception was held under the pavillion. We had perfect weather and everyone had a great time! Wonderful people to work with.
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A wonderful venue! Great view of the city and we loved seeing the Domino Sugar sign in the background. We held our cocktail hour outside on the patio overlooking the harbor. Our guests loved walking around the museum during cocktail hour, too. Museum staff was very helpful; we were able to stop by the museum several times to see the space, make plans, etc. The price was also very reasonable compared to other downtown locations. Highly recommended!
Wedding: 04/11/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 4 Reviews
This place is amazing! Because my daughter's wedding was a 50's theme this was the perfect backdrop! The view looking out onto the Harbor is killer. They give you have the option of having some of the major displays open for guests at an additional cost. The staff was very accommodating considering this is a museum. I would strongly suggest that you use a preferred caterer from their list as well as a rental company because they know all the ins and outs of where to drop off and how to set up. Keep in mind there are things they can't change as easily as other venues such as lighting. With that in mind, you will need additional lighting if you decide to have the wedding ceremony inside at night. I can't say enough great things about this place!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Such a fun place to have our wedding! Jessica was great to work with, she responded right away when I had questions. The view is amazing, and the pavilion transformed into a beautiful setting for our ceremony.
Wedding: 11/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Gorgeous!!!!! Affordable, interesting, unique and fun! We had a sunset wedding overlooking the water & it was amazing. No need to decorate beyond a centerpiece because the exhibits are enough. Our friends and family from out of town loved the opportunity to walk around and look at the history. Plenty of space to move inside and out. Not to mention there is no worries about parking because they have a huge parking lot. Couldn't imagine having it anyplace else.
Wedding: 11/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Monica 8 Reviews
After attending a few dozen wedding receptions in the generic hotel ballroom, we wanted something different and memorable. The BMI was exactly what we were looking for. Our 230 guests absolutely loved it! It was a very unique and colorful background for our reception. Because the neon lights and displays are so interesting, we didn't need to spend so much money on elaborate centerpieces to decorate, and our photos are so cool!

We held the cocktail hour outside on the patio by the water with lovely evening views of the Harbor and Domino Sugar Plant. It was a little snug with 230 seated people, but everyone fit. Also, we had about 30 children among out guests, and we sat them near the Communications Room, which has theatre-like seats and a small stage. It was a prefect set-up for kids to play on the stage (away from the museum displays), and the parents could sit and watch comfortably from a distance. Coats racks were set up in the lobby, the bathrooms were clean and large enough accommodate so many guests, and there is a money-operated photo booth.

I highly recommend the BMI as a memorable, unique, and classy venue.
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you don't like planning or are not organized, having your wedding at the BMI could be stressful as there are a lot of moving pieces. The venue itself does not provide much and many items need to be rented. Our wedding turned out to be a HUGE success, after a lot of hard work. It was a warm evening in September. Our ceremony was in the pavilion, cocktail hour on the brick terrace, dinner in the Decker Gallery, and then back out of the brick terrace for dancing overlooking the skyline of Baltimore. It was absolutely beautiful. We received so many compliments on the venue and it's uniqueness and many guests commented on it being enjoyable because it wasn't a regular wedding venue. Parking is free, it's waterfront and in the city, you can't go wrong. Jessica was also great to work with. She was responsive, realistic, and helpful. The only advice I would give is to make sure that your DJ sets up multiple speakers because sound doesn't travel well through the gallery and make sure the running water is working because it wasn't in the bathrooms the night of our wedding!
Wedding: 09/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Couldn't have been a better location. I had guests come from out of town and they were blown away!!! It is an affordable way to have a beautiful/ cool wedding!!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Great venue! Everything went perfect. Jessica was so easy to work with and made drop off/pick up of wedding day details a breeze. My guests all raved about my venue and the view is the best. I would HIGHLY recommend The BMI.
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jessica was very responsive with any questions or concerns we had. I loved that they allowed us to make monthly payments. I can't imagine paying all our vendors all at once. Sheesh! Everyone loved the venue. They loved how it wasn't a "cookie cutter" wedding. It was totally us! Thanks!
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 7 Reviews
We were married at the Baltimore Museum of Industry on 7/5/13. If you are a non-traditional person, looking for a creative, innovative and unique way of putting on an amazing wedding for an affordable cost, check this place out. The competition to the BMI was the Visionary Arts Museum in Fed Hill, the cost there was double the cost of the BMI, and I could have an amazing waterfront ceremony. Also, it is literally a 2 minute drive to Federal Hill, and I still can't tell which pictures are better, the waterfront photos at the BMI with the Domino Sugar factory in the background, or the awesome hill top photos of the Harbor.The Staff at the BMI were very accommodating, and Jessica was always kind and thoughtful. This place is AMAZING!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
This is a great place to have an event! Our wedding guests loved it, and raved about how neat and unique it was! We used the Decker room, and had our cocktail hour on the brick terrace. We had a slideshow DVD of photos from our childhoods and then pictures of us as a couple, and we were able to play it on loop in the theater that connects with the main room. I was happy we had an a wedding planner to help with getting things set up because they wouldn't let us drop anything off until the morning of the wedding and it would have been impossible to coordinate that on our own with all the chaos of the day, getting ready, etc. They provided round tables, and chairs, but they wouldn't allow us to use their long tables for the buffet so we had to rent those.
Also, if you are interested in this venue, and want to get married on a Saturday you need to talk to them over a year in advance! They book up EARLY.
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Our day at the BMI was amazing. Jessica was extremely responsive and worked with us on the last minute changes. Our guests LOVED the venue probably more than we did. A few things to keep in mind: We were married and used the gallery and the brick terrace for cocktail hour...the problem w/ the BMI (if I HAD to find one) is it's so big that it gives people the opportunity to roam which means that people will be scattered when the big events happen (first dance, cutting the cake etc). Also, we had over around 200 people attend...the BMI gallery is long which means that if you have it set up with the dance floor along the water/windows, the people in the front of the museum can't see/hear whats happening on the dance floor. Our crowd was a bunch of dancers so they eventually made there way up but it was a bit frustrating knowing that guests in the back had no idea what was happening up front. Just some food for thought...aside from that, it was perfect.
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were married at the Baltimore Museum of Industry on June 21, 2013. It was an absolutely beautiful Friday night in the Inner Harbor. The promenade area overlooks the Domino Sugars, a Baltimore icon. We received many compliments about the uniqueness and beauty of this venue. My husband is a pilot and we loved the airplane that hung over the Decker Gallery. They also allow you to use the tv in their movie room to play your own video. My sisters made a video with pictures of us growing up that we played on loop all night. It was a special touch. Everyone we worked with at the BMI was very responsive. If they were out of office, their email or phone messages would let us know and they would get back to us as soon as they got back. To make the event even more special, we were even able to add a brick to the promenade memorializing our wedding day. We used the brick as the starting point of our isle. I do recommend that you rent chairs from another vendor though. The chairs that they provide are plastic and metal folding chairs. We rented chairs through our caterer and they helped to perfect the look that we were going for.
Wedding: 06/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Let me start out by saying...a month after our wedding, we still have guests sending cards and calling, raving about how much they loved this place! My husband and I stumbled upon this south baltimore gem (located right next door to the domino sugar factory) and we could not be more thankful that we did! Set/hidden along the southern shore of the inner harbor, this museum that pays homage to the industrial development age in baltimore. From transportation (there are actual cars in the museum...and an airplane!) to the invention of neon (their neon signs are to die for!) to local pharmacies, soda counters, etc...this museum is SO FUN! We were married out on the dock (in front of the green gates) at sunset and returned inside (thank God for the air conditioning!) for our reception. We had 185 guests seated on the brick terrace (some caterers will tell you that's not possible, but stick to your guns! It is!) and sweet baby geese and ducks were walking/swimming along during our ceremony. It was incredible. Guests ventured back and forth from the terrace to the dance floor all night as the sun set and the neon lights of the city skyline, the museum, and the sugar factory lit up. Inside the museum people who were taking a break from dancing read about the history of baltimore and enjoyed a million and one photo opportunities with old friends and family members. Seriously! I cannot say enough fantastic things about this place! I must say though, you must keep an open mind when visiting. Some days, the tide is out really far and there is a lot of trash along the shoreline/dock. Don't let this scare you away! The staff of the museum works extra hard to make sure it's gone by your big day! The city of baltimore is in charge of the shoreline...so we all know how that goes. Thank god for the museum staff! And to boot, the staff of the museum are fantastic! They too became like family! They are fantastic! I could write a novel about this place! We. Loved. It! Check it out! :)
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
BMI was so unique and fun when we walked in that we never thought about having our wedding anywhere else. The Decker Gallery was perfect; it allowed us to have the ceremony outside and the reception inside. We were allowed to use the theater to play a DVD of pictures and our guests could walk around the museum during cocktail hour. Jessica was so helpful and went out of her way to help us with everything we planned. This venue is amazing!
Wedding: 05/11/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 410-727-4808
ext. 132
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0