Your Personal Ceremony Reviews

67 | Portland, OR
See photos, pricing and details

67 Reviews for Your Personal Ceremony

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

67

6 User photos

Your Personal Ceremony 1
Your Personal Ceremony 2
Your Personal Ceremony 3
Your Personal Ceremony 4
Your Personal Ceremony 5
+ 2
Order by:
  • M

    Megan Carrigan · Married on 07/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome Officiant

    Thank you so much for working with us, and doing an outstanding job officiating our wedding. Both of our parents have been raving about how much they like you, and tons of our guests let us know how impressed they were too.

    From the very beginning at our first meeting, we knew that we wanted to work with you and we didn't need to meet with anyone else to officiate our wedding. Joanie is so kind, and very helpful. My husband and I looked through some sample wedding ceremonies that Joanie had performed in the past, and we got to use some ideas to help us create our very own unique and perfect ceremony. It really was our Personal Ceremony.

    If you are lucky enough to work with this team, you will not regret it! I'll be sure to recommend Your Personal Ceremony to anyone we know that may be in need of your services.

    Sent on 08/07/2019

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    Thanks so much, Megan. I so much enjoyed meeting your family and friends. And all the best to the two of you in the years ahead!
  • Aaron

    Aaron B · Married on 06/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly The Personal Ceremony We Were Looking For

    Yehudah officiated our wedding on June 28th at the Griffin House and did an amazing job!

    A little backstory:
    My wife Talita and I had been looking for an officiant who could wed us while incorporating some Jewish traditions. All rabbis in the Portland area were booked far in advance and as the big day approached we were getting worried we wouldn't find the right person. Then, we were referred to Yehudah. Immediately upon meeting him, we knew he was the right person. He is warm, honest, kind and has a great sense of humor. He took time to learn who we were as individuals and our goals as a couple. He helped us craft a ceremony that really felt unique to US and we couldn't have been happier. He communicated with us during the whole process over email, phone and in person so that we were all on the same page when the wedding day came. He was also a hit among all of our guests who really felt his presence brought a calming, light-hearted and natural vibe to the ceremony. We highly recommend Your Personal Ceremony!

    Sent on 08/12/2019
  • Mattison

    Mattison Martin · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique and personal

    Joanie was a wonderful officiant. She worked with us to create a one of a kind ceremony. She was open to working with us coming from different religious backgrounds. Joanie was also flexible with us having a change of date after we had everything planned.

    Sent on 06/12/2019

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    Thanks, Mattison! It was a pleasure meeting your families and being in the gorgeous Peninsula Park Rose Garden on such a lovely day!
  • T

    Tara Mccarthy · Married on 05/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    wedding ceremony

    Can't day enough good things about this lovely couple! Easy and fast communication and very easy going and willing to do whatever you want.

    Sent on 06/04/2019

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    Thanks so much, Tara. It was lovely getting to know the two of you over a meal before we all stood before Multnomah Falls and officially married the two of you!
  • Justin

    Justin Huculak · Married on 05/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Super Helpful and Great person overall

    Joanie helped us more that we can truly explain. Our original officiant bailed on us days before our wedding and since we travelled in from Edmonton we were in a bit of a pinch. With some help we found Joan, and it probably turned out to be the best thing that happened. Not only is she professional, she helped us build a ceremony that worked for us. She also recommended a different location in the Gorge than we were planning on using and it was beautiful. Thanks for everything

    Your Personal Ceremony 6
    Your Personal Ceremony 7
    Your Personal Ceremony 8
    Your Personal Ceremony 9
    Sent on 07/01/2019
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 05/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joan was exceptional! Our ceremony was simply magical!

    Sent on 06/02/2018
  • A

    Anita · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Joanie to officiate our wedding based on online reviews and we couldn’t be happier with our decision! She was great with communication from start to finish. She invited us to her home for our consultation and spend over an hour getting to know my husband and I so she could tailor our ceremony to us. She had an entire bin full of previous ceremonies that she was able to go through and pull out ideas for us. Going into our consultation with very little idea of what we wanted in our ceremony. She was incredibly helpful at giving us ideas and inspiration on how we wanted our ceremony to go. She kept in touch with us all the way up to the wedding to make sure everything was in place and ready for our big day. She was prompt on wedding day and kept everything very organized for us. She communicated with our DJ and guests to make sure everything went smoothly. The ceremony was perfect and exactly what we had hoped for! We highly recommend Joanie and her husband to anyone planning a wedding!

    Your Personal Ceremony 10
    Your Personal Ceremony 11
    Sent on 10/24/2017
  • J

    Jo · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanie and Yehuda were everything we were hoping for and more. From the very first meeting with them for planning until the very end of our wedding ceremony everything had a seamless flow. They were able to take our values and traditions and design a beautiful and thoughtful ceremony that we felt was a perfect reflection of who we were as a couple. We would highly recommend Joanie and Yehuda to anyone seeking ceremony planning/ wedding officiants.

    Sent on 10/24/2016
  • M

    Margaret · Married on 08/20/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanie and Yehudah are an incredible team! They gave us both the freedom and guidance to create a ceremony that reflects our values and family traditions. On the actual wedding day, the ceremony was simply magical, I cannot imagine a more meaningful way to start our married lives together! In terms of organization and logistics - Joanie responded with quick and constructive feedback to all of our inquiries and on the actual wedding weekend they took care of all of the ceremony and marriage license details. It was great!

    Sent on 08/28/2016
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joan Levine, from My Personal Ceremony, was such a fantastic officiant! She was wonderful to work with and did such a great job running our ceremony and our rehearsal. I had such a great time talking to her the first time we met, I knew she was the one I wanted to officiate our wedding.

    Since I’m Christian and my then-future husband is Muslim, we wanted a ceremony that incorporated faith, but wasn’t too heavy on either religion. Joan did a perfect job blending our interests to make a traditional ceremony that touched on our cultures and faiths, but didn’t overtly swing toward any one religion.

    She had so many great ideas about unity ceremonies, readings, and poems, and she was really excited about and open to all of my ideas. She did a great job blending modern and traditional elements from different cultures and religions. I loved how open-minded and friendly she was. She really was just excited to be a part of our big day and celebrate our love. She asked us tons of questions about our relationship and our goals, and then incorporated those things into the actual ceremony.

    She was super professional. On time to everything, and her and her husband were so sweet, and such a treat to sit and talk with at the rehearsal dinner. Really wonderful people. I would definitely recommend them for personal, professional, and open-minded treatment from a great officiant.

    Sent on 09/09/2016
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 07/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Yehuda was just perfect for our wedding. He did a perfect job, and helped so much with all the planning too. He has much experience but also is sensitive, and gives great advice. We did a blending of two cultures and Yehudah was the ideal choice for that. We highly recommend Yehudah!!!

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 03/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanie was amazing. She was able to capture exactly the sweet simplicity we wanted for our day. And was willing to hike out to a waterfall to officiate our elopement. So many officiants we talked to wanted us to "select a ceremony from this list" which just isn't us. We wanted it to be sweet, special and unique to us. She made that happen. Including giving us a little privacy to speak directly to each other during our ceremony. We could not have hoped for better,

    Sent on 04/01/2016

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    Thanks so much, Tiffany, It was such a pleasure to officiate. All the best! Joanie
  • L

    Lovely · Married on 03/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanie is very open an personable, she helped us tune the words just perfect, to make the day even more magical than thought of. I would recommend highly, she is very lovely at helping both of you get exactly what you want <3

    Sent on 04/15/2015
  • C

    Caleb · Married on 10/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I have been together for over 3 years and with the renewal of our medical insurance plans coming up at work, we decided it would be a good time to elope! Even though we're planning on having our own event later that involves some rather nontraditional ceremonies to be done, we wanted to make sure that this legal formality went as smoothly, quickly, and nicely as possible.

    I couldn't have asked for a better person to make all of this happen for us. Joanie really made the whole process painless and beautiful, even with less than 12 hours to prepare. I literally called her up in the morning and set up a time to come by their welcoming house and beautiful backyard garden to get married that same night.

    If you're planning on getting eloped and don't want to do it in stuffy old courtroom with someone that probably doesn't care about you at all, I highly recommend giving YPC a call. I checked with a few other resources listed under a "Justice of the Peace Portland" internet search and found them to not only be the most affordable option, but also the most welcoming as far as their online presence goes.

    Thank you, again, Joanie. We'll certainly "have a nice life" and I hope you do the same. =]

    Sent on 10/11/2014
  • J

    Jake · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanie from Your Personal Ceremony was the best! We were able to customize our wedding to really make it special for us.

    Everything went beautifully, and we would highly recommend Joanie to anyone looking to create the perfect ceremony!

    ~Jake and Skyler

    Sent on 09/29/2014
  • User4588834 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very helpful throughout the planning of our ceremony. She made the ceremony very personal and had lots of great ideas.

    Sent on 12/04/2014
  • M

    Mindy · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanie married us in the Portland Rose Garden and she was absolutely perfect in every way! She gave us insight and examples of how to incorporate everything we wanted into our vows. She then created a personalized ceremony that perfectly represented us. We could not have asked for a more perfect ceremony. It was more than we ever imagined it could be. Thank you Joanie! We love you!

    Sent on 01/02/2015
  • User4384343 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn’t have chosen a better person as our ceremony officant! Joanie exceeded our expectations with joy, comfort and support. She has a breadth and depth of different spiritual practices. We even told her where our honeymoon was and because she is well traveled she shared tips and literature with us. She also helped us with day of coordination and made sure what we told her was in order. She knew everyone’s names, joined us in dancing and had all of the legal paperwork ready. She made us feel really comfortable with her.

    Sent on 09/08/2014
  • G

    gera · Married on 03/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanie and Yehudah let us use their space for our ceremony. It was a beautiful day and we had our ceremony in their backyard. Before we got there, Joanie and Yehudah made sure everything was set up for us. We were able to use their home to get ready, we were able to play music. It was great to have met them and their home had the perfect energy for our ceremony. I highly recommend them.

    Sent on 03/24/2014
  • User3659761 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanie provided us with a wonderful ceremony that was personal and beautiful. She was non judging and so helpful. She even helped us pick the perfect setting and offered tons of options and material to help us write our vows. She was organized and made everything flow. Her energy radiated love. I hope I can have that calm energy myself one day. Thank you Joanie for a perfect wedding. I felt sad to say goodbye. I hope to stay in touch.

    Sent on 11/06/2013
  • User3558326 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose to have both Joanie and Yehudah officiate our wedding. They were great, and they both have such a loving energy; it was truly a pleasure to work with them in making our ceremony a beautiful moment. We started early, and promptly became very busy with other things, but Joanie kept us on track in getting our wedding ceremony written, and vows finalized. We were provided with a lot of material to help guide us (other wedding ceremonies, ring vows, how to write your own wedding vows, etc), which really gave us direction, and helped us plan the content of our ceremony.



    We chose to use the framework that Joanie and Yehudah provided to create a truly personalized ceremony and blessing. The great thing is that they are open to whatever you choose to do, whether you leave it entirely up to them to craft with little input, or they will closely work alongside you if you wish to co-create something more complex and personalized. 



    We chose not to have an official rehearsal, as our wedding was quite small (30 people), but on our wedding day, they took the stress away of instructing our wedding party in how they would proceed down the isle, etc, so I felt more relaxed! Overall, they helped make our ceremony exactly the way we wished it to be, and I appreciate both of their lovely spirits being present to officiate our special day.

    Sent on 09/25/2013
  • Brant

    Brant · Married on 08/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved working with Joanine she was responsive and kept us on top of our deadlines. We had the most beautiful ceremony, that was unique and different. I highly recommend using personal ceremony.
    We had many of our guests rave about her clear voice and having a short, sweet and extremely romantic ceremony.

    Sent on 09/12/2013
  • L

    liz · Married on 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married recently 08/17/13 We contacted Joanie to be our officiant in our ceremony and we couldn't have be any happier! She was great! She had great ideas for our ceremony and she even worked with out budget! We highly recommend her!

    Sent on 08/29/2013
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married 8/04 on a farm, and Joanie was amazing. We are very free spirited, indecisive people and she guided us every step of the way. We had a beautiful, heart felt ceremony that couldn't have been more perfect for us. We laughed, we cried, and it was magical.

    Sent on 09/03/2013
  • K

    Kyle · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanie was our wedding officiant on 7/27, and she was incredible. We happen to be non-religious, and she helped us to create a ceremony that was by all accounts spiritual, meaningful, and perfect for us. Joanie's knowledge, experience, flexibility, and demeanor made her an absolute joy to work with. I would recommend her to anyone.

    Sent on 09/05/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review