Skip to main content
Weddings

Your Personal Ceremony Reviews

Your Personal Ceremony

Your Personal Ceremony

Portland, OR
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 77 Reviews
View more information

77 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 77
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

14 User photos

  • M
    Michael E. Married on 05/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Extraordinary

    She made the process easy, I was totally comfortable. The ceremony was quick, and to the point. I really appreciate her flexibility.
  • P
    Patrick G. Married on 05/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent choice of officiant

    Ms Joan was very easy to talk when we were creating our vows & ceremony schedule. Her calm and sweet demeanor was just what we needed in creating meaningful vows that really expressed the couple we are.
  • L
    Luciana G. Married on 04/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding during pandemic

    Joanie was super flexible and nice. She was on time to our wedding. Joanie was extremely professional. And before our wedding she was able to answer any questions we had. I recommend her to anyone who is plannimg to get married during a pandemic , a time that has been extremely stressful. Thank you Joanie!!!! Ohhh and she took pictures of us! :D
  • T
    Tracy R. Married on 10/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Caring, flexible and easy to work with!

    Joanie went above and beyond with anything we requested for our "Micro Wedding" ceremony and offered their lovely backyard to hold the ceremony, which we gladly accepted! :) Making edits to the ceremony was a breeze and Joanie promptly responded every time. They even sent us photos and videos that we'll cherish for years to come. A++ and highly recommend to anyone!

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    Thanks so much, Tracy! As I already wrote you, you put your heart into every detail. All the best! Joanie
  • Rhian
    Rhian G. Married on 08/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Simple and Beautiful Handfasting Ceremony

    Joan Levine is an absolute delight and carried out our ceremony with the upmost professionalism. Joan invited us into her home and suggested a hand fasting ceremony based on my Celtic roots. We decided on Peninsula Park as the venue, the service was short yet beautiful set against a backdrop of a clear, blue sky and glorious sunshine, perfect for an intimate, outdoor ceremony in Portland and in the month of November!

    We highly recommend Joan for a personalised wedding ceremony, she will accommodate your ideas and make helpful suggestions to make your special day just perfect. Thank you Joan!
  • E D
    E D Married on 04/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Ceremony despite quarantine

    Joanie is amazing. She walk you through every step of the process and helps personalize every part of the ceremony. Despite the quarantine nearly forcing us to cancel, Joanie was awesome and helped us adjust our ceremony so we could still get married on our chosen day. Our ceremony was beautiful and very unique. Thank you Joanie for helping us adapt and create a one of a kind ceremony!
  • H
    Homan T. Married on 03/30/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best and perfect

    She's a very nice and humble person

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    Sweet! Thanks, Homan! I so enjoyed meeting the four of you! All the best with the new baby and in the coming years! Joanie
  • Anyin
    Anyin Married on 03/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!!

    Very happy she was able to do it on a very short notice, appreciate that very much. Thank you!!!
  • Robin
    Robin L. Married on 02/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    I the was beautiful ❤❤❤

    Yehuda and his Beautiful Wife made my Wedding Day Absolutely Wonderful. Thank you so much.

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    Thanks so much, Robin, and all the best to you! It was a pleasure to help you and your now husband marry!
    Joanie
  • William
    William M. Married on 02/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Splendid Grace Bestowing Our Union With Ceremony

    Ocean gales buffeting us, we shrieking with laughter as our dog (the ring bearer) runs away and back with our wedding band, divine timing blowing our vows nearly into the lapping surf, Yehudah so very gently and patiently transcends the euphoric hubbub to begin presiding our ceremony.

    As soon as he begins speading, a precious calm sweeps in, reverence bubbling up within us all.

    From the grace of his phrasing to the beautiful poems specifically suited to the day of my beloved and I that he chooses, everything this man contributes to the day is enriching, thoughtful, sparkling,

    He adds the holy panache we need, with a gently pervasive warmth.

    Go with Your Personal Ceremony!!!

    Love, Farrah and William

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    How gorgeous, William! Thank you so much for your poetic and deep regard for Yehudah! Many blessings to the two of you through the years ahead! Joanie
  • M
    Megan C. Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome Officiant

    Thank you so much for working with us, and doing an outstanding job officiating our wedding. Both of our parents have been raving about how much they like you, and tons of our guests let us know how impressed they were too.

    From the very beginning at our first meeting, we knew that we wanted to work with you and we didn't need to meet with anyone else to officiate our wedding. Joanie is so kind, and very helpful. My husband and I looked through some sample wedding ceremonies that Joanie had performed in the past, and we got to use some ideas to help us create our very own unique and perfect ceremony. It really was our Personal Ceremony.

    If you are lucky enough to work with this team, you will not regret it! I'll be sure to recommend Your Personal Ceremony to anyone we know that may be in need of your services.

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    Thanks so much, Megan. I so much enjoyed meeting your family and friends. And all the best to the two of you in the years ahead!
  • Aaron
    Aaron Married on 06/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Truly The Personal Ceremony We Were Looking For

    Yehudah officiated our wedding on June 28th at the Griffin House and did an amazing job!

    A little backstory:
    My wife Talita and I had been looking for an officiant who could wed us while incorporating some Jewish traditions. All rabbis in the Portland area were booked far in advance and as the big day approached we were getting worried we wouldn't find the right person. Then, we were referred to Yehudah. Immediately upon meeting him, we knew he was the right person. He is warm, honest, kind and has a great sense of humor. He took time to learn who we were as individuals and our goals as a couple. He helped us craft a ceremony that really felt unique to US and we couldn't have been happier. He communicated with us during the whole process over email, phone and in person so that we were all on the same page when the wedding day came. He was also a hit among all of our guests who really felt his presence brought a calming, light-hearted and natural vibe to the ceremony. We highly recommend Your Personal Ceremony!
  • Mattison
    Mattison M. Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Unique and personal

    Joanie was a wonderful officiant. She worked with us to create a one of a kind ceremony. She was open to working with us coming from different religious backgrounds. Joanie was also flexible with us having a change of date after we had everything planned.

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    Thanks, Mattison! It was a pleasure meeting your families and being in the gorgeous Peninsula Park Rose Garden on such a lovely day!
  • T
    Tara M. Married on 05/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    wedding ceremony

    Can't day enough good things about this lovely couple! Easy and fast communication and very easy going and willing to do whatever you want.

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    Thanks so much, Tara. It was lovely getting to know the two of you over a meal before we all stood before Multnomah Falls and officially married the two of you!
  • Justin
    Justin H. Married on 05/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Super Helpful and Great person overall

    Joanie helped us more that we can truly explain. Our original officiant bailed on us days before our wedding and since we travelled in from Edmonton we were in a bit of a pinch. With some help we found Joan, and it probably turned out to be the best thing that happened. Not only is she professional, she helped us build a ceremony that worked for us. She also recommended a different location in the Gorge than we were planning on using and it was beautiful. Thanks for everything
  • L
    Lauren Married on 05/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joan was exceptional! Our ceremony was simply magical!
  • A
    Anita Married on 10/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We chose Joanie to officiate our wedding based on online reviews and we couldn’t be happier with our decision! She was great with communication from start to finish. She invited us to her home for our consultation and spend over an hour getting to know my husband and I so she could tailor our ceremony to us. She had an entire bin full of previous ceremonies that she was able to go through and pull out ideas for us. Going into our consultation with very little idea of what we wanted in our ceremony. She was incredibly helpful at giving us ideas and inspiration on how we wanted our ceremony to go. She kept in touch with us all the way up to the wedding to make sure everything was in place and ready for our big day. She was prompt on wedding day and kept everything very organized for us. She communicated with our DJ and guests to make sure everything went smoothly. The ceremony was perfect and exactly what we had hoped for! We highly recommend Joanie and her husband to anyone planning a wedding!
  • J
    Jo Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joanie and Yehuda were everything we were hoping for and more. From the very first meeting with them for planning until the very end of our wedding ceremony everything had a seamless flow. They were able to take our values and traditions and design a beautiful and thoughtful ceremony that we felt was a perfect reflection of who we were as a couple. We would highly recommend Joanie and Yehuda to anyone seeking ceremony planning/ wedding officiants.
  • M
    Margaret Married on 08/20/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joanie and Yehudah are an incredible team! They gave us both the freedom and guidance to create a ceremony that reflects our values and family traditions. On the actual wedding day, the ceremony was simply magical, I cannot imagine a more meaningful way to start our married lives together! In terms of organization and logistics - Joanie responded with quick and constructive feedback to all of our inquiries and on the actual wedding weekend they took care of all of the ceremony and marriage license details. It was great!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 07/30/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joan Levine, from My Personal Ceremony, was such a fantastic officiant! She was wonderful to work with and did such a great job running our ceremony and our rehearsal. I had such a great time talking to her the first time we met, I knew she was the one I wanted to officiate our wedding.

    Since I’m Christian and my then-future husband is Muslim, we wanted a ceremony that incorporated faith, but wasn’t too heavy on either religion. Joan did a perfect job blending our interests to make a traditional ceremony that touched on our cultures and faiths, but didn’t overtly swing toward any one religion.

    She had so many great ideas about unity ceremonies, readings, and poems, and she was really excited about and open to all of my ideas. She did a great job blending modern and traditional elements from different cultures and religions. I loved how open-minded and friendly she was. She really was just excited to be a part of our big day and celebrate our love. She asked us tons of questions about our relationship and our goals, and then incorporated those things into the actual ceremony.

    She was super professional. On time to everything, and her and her husband were so sweet, and such a treat to sit and talk with at the rehearsal dinner. Really wonderful people. I would definitely recommend them for personal, professional, and open-minded treatment from a great officiant.
  • K
    Kevin Married on 07/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Yehuda was just perfect for our wedding. He did a perfect job, and helped so much with all the planning too. He has much experience but also is sensitive, and gives great advice. We did a blending of two cultures and Yehudah was the ideal choice for that. We highly recommend Yehudah!!!
  • T
    Tiffany Married on 03/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joanie was amazing. She was able to capture exactly the sweet simplicity we wanted for our day. And was willing to hike out to a waterfall to officiate our elopement. So many officiants we talked to wanted us to "select a ceremony from this list" which just isn't us. We wanted it to be sweet, special and unique to us. She made that happen. Including giving us a little privacy to speak directly to each other during our ceremony. We could not have hoped for better,

    Your Personal Ceremony's reply:

    Thanks so much, Tiffany, It was such a pleasure to officiate. All the best! Joanie
  • L
    Lovely Married on 03/29/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joanie is very open an personable, she helped us tune the words just perfect, to make the day even more magical than thought of. I would recommend highly, she is very lovely at helping both of you get exactly what you want <3
  • C
    Caleb Married on 10/06/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I have been together for over 3 years and with the renewal of our medical insurance plans coming up at work, we decided it would be a good time to elope! Even though we're planning on having our own event later that involves some rather nontraditional ceremonies to be done, we wanted to make sure that this legal formality went as smoothly, quickly, and nicely as possible.

    I couldn't have asked for a better person to make all of this happen for us. Joanie really made the whole process painless and beautiful, even with less than 12 hours to prepare. I literally called her up in the morning and set up a time to come by their welcoming house and beautiful backyard garden to get married that same night.

    If you're planning on getting eloped and don't want to do it in stuffy old courtroom with someone that probably doesn't care about you at all, I highly recommend giving YPC a call. I checked with a few other resources listed under a "Justice of the Peace Portland" internet search and found them to not only be the most affordable option, but also the most welcoming as far as their online presence goes.

    Thank you, again, Joanie. We'll certainly "have a nice life" and I hope you do the same. =]
  • J
    Jake Married on 09/27/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joanie from Your Personal Ceremony was the best! We were able to customize our wedding to really make it special for us.

    Everything went beautifully, and we would highly recommend Joanie to anyone looking to create the perfect ceremony!

    ~Jake and Skyler