Woodrow Hall Reviews

21 | Birmingham, AL
See photos, pricing and details

21 Reviews for Woodrow Hall

Recommended by 94%

21
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7

9 User photos

Woodrow Hall 1
Woodrow Hall 2
Woodrow Hall 3
Woodrow Hall 4
Woodrow Hall 5
Woodrow Hall 6
Woodrow Hall 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • Christina

    Christina Ziroli · Getting married on 10/24/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    10 Year Anniversary Party

    Woodrow Hall is a beautiful venue in a historical and very well-maintained building in Birmingham. It has class, charm and beautiful details that you can't get with a newly-built property. Eddie and Tazmine were just so accommodating, informative, prompt and wonderful, every step of the way! They worked with us and helped us every way that they could. The entire staff on event night (not a wedding, but our company's ten year anniversary party with ~150 people in attendance) was extremely accommodating and professional. Also, the food was AMAZING! We highly recommend Woodrow Hall. Everyone had a blast and we thank you!

    Sent on 10/22/2018
  • M

    Marquita Gray · Getting married on 11/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eddie is awesome!

    The venue is vintage and beautiful! Eddie is amazing to work with and I definitely recommend this venue for weddings or any celebration!

    Sent on 04/04/2019
  • Susan

    Susan Mccarter · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eddie=Professionally and Personally Superb!

    When my daughter began looking for the reception location, she had specifics: historical, exposed brick, beautiful lighting, tasteful tables and chairs, a large dance floor, and space that could accommodate 150+ guests, several of whom need access to an elevator. It also needed to fit our budget. I do not live in Bham. I live in Atlanta, Ga, so this task was a bit daunting. I was overwhelmed at attempting the process from out of state. I saw the pictures of Woodrow Hall and saw the positive reviews. I made a call, on the spur of the moment, as I was already driving to Bham. Eddie answered, listened, sympathized, and rearranged his schedule to accommodate my impromptu visit. When we arrived, I was a bit skeptical because I was not accustomed to the inner city vibe, but as soon as we rode the elevator to the 3rd floor, I was blown away! Eddie had EVERYTHING so stunningly staged that is was EASY to envision how beautiful the reception was going to be. Not only that, his expertise and easy temperament made me feel so completely relaxed. This was not just a temporary sales pitch. For the next 8+ months, he walked me through SO many ideas, designs, set up ideas, listened to me vent when I was feeling overwhelmed, and encouraged me when I was unsure and feeling inadequate. (I hope WH realizes what a gem they have in this man and does whatever it takes to keep him.)
    The reception was stunning. The ballroom was elegant. The staff was SO professional and kind. We had 165 guests. None of them had a complaint. ALL who came in contact with Eddie and his staff were very impressed. I highly recommend WH, especially if Eddie continues to be the director. Thank you, Eddie!

    Sent on 08/25/2019
  • M

    Meeka Mcghee · Married on 06/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love them

    Tazmine is so sweet she goes far and beyond her job just to make sure you have the perfect day

    Sent on 02/10/2019
  • S

    Skylar · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place was stunning, and the staff was incredible. We booked it the same day we went to view it. The day of the wedding they were so accommodating to anything we needed. We stuck with in-house catering for food and drinks, and i wouldn’t have wanted to do it any other way. Everyone boasted on how it looked beautiful, and the food was amazing. Definitely recommend!

    Sent on 11/15/2017
    Woodrow Hall 8
    Woodrow Hall 9
    Woodrow Hall 10
    Woodrow Hall 11
    Woodrow Hall 12
    Woodrow Hall 13
    Woodrow Hall 14
    Woodrow Hall 15
    Woodrow Hall 16
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would like to thank you for the level of professionalism that was displayed

    on our Wedding day.  Mr. Eddie was there and very friendly & helpful.  Your workers made me feel apart of the

    Woodrow family.  What ever I needed they helped. I have nooooooooooooooooo complaints. I will gladly

    recommend Woodrow Hall to anyone who is in need of  a great venue. Y'all are a little pricey, but I will say

    you get what you pay for and I truly saw every dollar I spent plus more with you all!!!! I will definitely keep

    Woodrow Hall in mind for my future events.

    Sent on 07/11/2017
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have asked for a better wedding venue. We held both our ceremony and reception at Woodrow Hall. In addition, they provided our food. We got so many compliments on the meal! People are still talking about the shrimp and grits a week later! Eddie and Tazmine were both responsive, accommodating, and easy to work with!

    Sent on 06/25/2017
  • J

    Judith · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tazmine and Eddie were just the best to work with. We booked them for an all inclusive package (ceremony, reception, food, drinks, tableware, etc) and so glad we did. The food was wonderful and the staff was so helpful!

    Sent on 05/21/2017
  • R

    Rodney · Married on 05/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have use this site for our 8th grade formal dance. The staff was second to none with friendly service and the building looked amazing. Our stakeholders was amazed at the quality given to our students. We will be back again and again.

    Sent on 01/29/2018
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book it!! The director (Eddie) was amazing! I have had nothing but compliments from all of the guests. It was the PERFECT place! The vintage vibe, the windows, everything was absolutely Perfect!! You won't regret it! <3

    Sent on 04/03/2017
  • M

    Marlene · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! Woodrow Hall rocks! This stately building is loaded with charm. The renovation is a masterpiece, and would make a wonderful backdrop for any event. I have confidence that pictures taken there (for my daughter's wedding reception) will be amazing. And the price packages are extremely reasonable. Tazmine gave us a tour, and her kindness and professionalism stood out. She took the time to explain all of our options, and by the time we left, I felt like we had made a friend. My daughter fell in love with this place, and we're looking forward to her special day. Woodrow Hall will most certainly make it memorable. We are looking forward to finishing our planning with Tazmine because I'm confident that we will be thrilled with the result. THANK YOU WOODROW HALL!

    Sent on 10/27/2016
  • E

    Earlene · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    While researching venues to have my wedding and reception at in Alabama I came across Woodrow Hall. I instantly fell in love with the character and beauty of this building. The hard part was that I'm from Louisiana and it's very challenging to have a wedding out of state. The staff at Woodrow Hall were so professional, sweet, and caring. This is my first wedding and I didn't know where to begin, but Tazmine took all of my scattered thoughts and have turned them into reality. I definitely picked the right hall to place my vision, trust, and dreams into. Thanks Woodrow Hall for ensuring that I will have my dream wedding.

    Sent on 03/25/2016
  • L

    Latonia · Married on 05/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Romantic wedding ceremony in a quiet subdued historic venue>>> then PARTY after teh staff totally transformed the place into a nightclub atmosphere! GREAT VALUE, wonderful expereince, really edgy old and new historic space. This hall made my life easy!

    Sent on 10/13/2010
  • F

    Jennifer · Married on 03/26/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The minute that I walked into the 3rd floor Compass Room I immediately fell in you love! Woodrow Hall offered everything that I envisioned for my wedding ceremony and reception. The staff was also great, Brittany was so easy to work with. I would definitely recommend Woodrow Hall to other people.

    Sent on 04/18/2016
  • R

    Randi · Married on 05/20/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working w/ Tazmine and Brittney has made wedding planning as a bride so much easier. They were always available to help w/ questions and to get things taken care of if they could.

    Sent on 09/27/2016
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 08/22/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I fell in love with this venue shortly after we got engaged and knew it was going to be where I married my husband :). The space did not disappoint with its historic and elegant beauty and it comfortably accommodated our 150-165 wedding guests. On top of everything, they prepared our food and my mouth is literally watering just thinking about it. I loved working with Brittany and appreciate her professionalism for such an important occasion. If you're thinking about it, just go for it and your guests and photographers will thank you later (the natural lighting is amazing :)). Thank you for everything!

    Sent on 09/10/2015
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 12/10/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is wonderful! Beautiful exposed brick, wrought iron fixtures and more! The staff is so helpful, they work well with other vendors and are very encouraging throughout the whole process! They did all the catering and even did a chalkboard menu for my reception! There is plenty of room to spread out on wedding day- groom and his party had the entire 2nd floor to themselves with cornhole and a tv! Trust me, you want to have your wedding here!

    Sent on 01/04/2017
  • User3544297 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The ladies that we worked with at Woodrow Hall were very accommodating to help us make sure that our reception was everything that we wanted. They were open to our caterer bringing in some tables and table linens even though the large tables used were there's. They even had a contingency plan the day before to make sure that everything was in place so that I didn't have to worry about anything

    Sent on 09/18/2013
  • User5240024 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    They are willing to work with any budget!

    Sent on 09/05/2015
  • User3881703 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I searched all over to find a venue that fit my vision. After visiting several locations, I came across this one and after meeting with Brittany I was sold. She was able to show me that they could provide my vision and then some. I cannot wait until my big day in November, I know it is going to be great.

    Sent on 06/26/2014
  • User3508678 · 2+ years ago

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    Woodrow Hall staff was very pleasant when booking venue, but closer to wedding date they were not catering to bride and would not allow us in venue no earlier than 2 hours before wedding start time. No other function was being held that day and staff wouldnt allow not even an extra hour for vendors or me to get dress early. They are very insensitive towards the brides needs once you sign contract. The venue is wonderful but staff need to work on personality.

    Sent on 09/03/2013

    Woodrow Hall's reply:

    I am sorry that there was a misunderstanding.

    In our contract we offer a standard 2 hr period prior to the event for preparation. 99% of the time this is plenty of time. Unfortunately some vendors (caters, florists, bands, DJs, etc) want to come early to set up because of other commitments. This can be arranged if we know ahead of time.

    There are extra charges for us to open the building early and most people do not want to be responsible for these charges, hence the comment. We must have our staff present and overseeing the work of the vendors or things get out of hand. We also must have someone available to ensure valuables are secure after the vendors leave their material, products etc. We cannot just "open the building".

    We also need to know in advance to schedule the coordinator and the rest of the staff in order to open the building "earlier" than the contract agreement.

    We apologize for the misunderstanding. Our goal is complete satisfaction. Please, Please, Please read the contract and talk to us if you have any concerns. We are delighted to open early if we can come to an agreement prior to the week of the event.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review