Skip to main content
Weddings

Wine Country Rabbi Reviews

Wine Country Rabbi View more information

40 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 40
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

9 User photos

  • R
    Rebecca C. Married on 11/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rabbi Finley is wonderful to work with and performed a great ceremony!

    Rabbi Finley performed our wedding ceremony and we are so glad we were able to work with him! He was a calming force throughout our wedding planning. From the very beginning, he took an interest in getting to know us and took the time to understand our needs and preferences. In addition to several zoom calls, at Rabbi Finley's suggestion, we met in person for lunch to get to know each other better before our wedding. This made our ceremony even more personal and special! Rabbi Finley was super accommodating and made it easy to customize every aspect of our ceremony (he even encouraged me to "edit" some readings to make some phrases more to my liking). We loved that he explained all of the customs -- both to us to help us decide if/how we'd like to incorporate them into our ceremony -- and to our guests so they understood too. Looking back, the ceremony was one of the most special parts of our small wedding and we are so thankful to Rabbi Finley!
  • S
    Shirley B. Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    One of our wedding highlights

    Rabbi Steve was a highlight of our wedding. He worked with us to create a custom ceremony that fit our multi-cultural household and personal preferences. He was extremely flexible in terms of the level of religiousness we wanted to have, made great suggestions and also incorporated our requests and additions. He made sure to get to know both of us personally and was a joy to work with along the way. We received so many compliments on the ceremony and the way Rabbi Steve led it. We highly recommend Rabbi Steve for any Jewish wedding.
  • A
    Ashley A. Married on 08/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rabbi Steve is the best. He has a gentle, calm, wise energy that we found to be so comforting for our ceremony.

    Rabbi Steve is the best. He has a gentle, calm, wise energy that we found to be so comforting for our ceremony. He is soulful, has grace and class. He’s just a really wonderful guy. We feel so grateful that we found him and that he shared our day with us.
  • C
    Celia P. Married on 07/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rabbi Steve made our wedding so special!

    We really enjoyed working with Rabbi Steve! My husband is not Jewish, and Rabbi Steve did a great job explaining the different parts of the wedding and traditions, and helped us plan a ceremony that worked for us. He was so great at explaining everything at the Ketubah signing and at the wedding. We still hear from friends and family about how great our ceremony was and how they really liked our Rabbi.
  • R
    Roxanne Married on 06/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We are so thankful for Rabbi Finley and Tricia!

    We are so thankful for Rabbi Finley for making our wedding heartfelt and memorable. He went above and beyond by meeting with us several times beforehand (once even at a wine tasting!) to get to know me and my now husband. He was relaxed and flexible to any of our requests. Tricia, who works with him, was also very kind, and quick to respond and guide us. Any couple would be lucky to have Rabbi Finley officiate their ceremony!
  • S
    Scott Married on 06/17/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rabbi Steve was excellent

    Rabbi Steve was excellent. He helped us plan our ceremony and was very easygoing and flexible throughout the process. We would definitely recommend him to anyone looking to get married in the Napa area!
  • Sari
    Sari F. Married on 05/22/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Experience

    Rabbi Steve was so great in helping us navigate the many possibilities for our ceremony. He is incredibly generous and fantastic to work with. He made our ceremony funny and full of love and intention. Would highly recommend.
  • A
    Arn G. Married on 05/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rabbi Steve Finley Cared What Mattered to Us

    We were very fortunate to get to know Rabbi Steve Finely when we were planning our wedding at Auberge du Soleil this past May. Because of his friendly demeanor, empathy and kindness we genuinely felt that Rabbi Steve had been our rabbi for many years. Whenever we had a question, he was just a phone call away and he always had time for us. When he offered his suggestions for the various elements of the ceremony, he encouraged our input. It was clear he sincerely cared what mattered to us. He wanted to ensure our wedding was as meaningful and personal as possible, and that’s the way it turned out. We felt truly blessed to have him be the one to unite us in marriage.
  • Alayna
    Alayna Z. Married on 02/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A blessing on short notice

    Rabbi Steve was a blessing. Our wedding was February 21, 2021 and because of Covid my husband’a childhood Rabbi from Los Angeles was unable to officiate. With only a month to our wedding date we searched for a new Rabbi and found Rabbi Steve. He was very responsive. After meeting with him via zoom to discuss all the details he was able to create a traditional Jewish wedding ceremony that was perfect for us. On the wedding day he met us at our venue (vintners inn) and performed a personal and meaningful ceremony for us and our close family and friends. Everything about our experience with Rabbi Steve was fantastic.
  • Randi
    Randi Married on 10/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We love Rabbi Steve!

    We couldn't have asked for a better experience working with Rabbi Steve to craft our ceremony. We had multiple zoom calls to get to know each other, and were so grateful for Rabbi Steve's suggestions and helpful planning. We planned a COVID-safe wedding (only our immediate families, with a ceremony planned in the backyard of a rental home in Sonoma where we would all stay). The weekend before our wedding, the rental home was lost in the Glass Fire. We scrambled to replan and found another place to stay in Marin County. Rabbi Steve was so gracious and flexible despite the upheaval, even offering the garden of his temple for the ceremony. In the end, despite the smoke and poor air quality, despite the fact that the wedding looked nothing like we anticipated, the ceremony led by Rabbi Steve was beautiful, and calm, and centered. He did a marvelous job and crafted a ceremony that felt so true to who we are, despite only knowing us for a couple of months at that point. You can't go wrong by working with Rabbi Steve. We couldn't recommend him more highly!
  • Ofelia
    Ofelia N. Married on 11/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    One of a kind Rabbi

    My husband and I highly recommend Rabbi Steve. He is very kind, caring, funny and happy person. Our ceremony was beautiful and perfect. Everything went smooth and we couldn't be more happy!
  • Joy
    Joy Married on 09/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A True Blessing!

    Rabbi Steve was an absolute lifesaver. We'd originally asked my uncle to officiate but due to unforeseen circumstances outside of his control, he ended up having to back out on his initial agreement and we were left scrambling to find an officiant with only a few short months left before the wedding. My (now) husband is Jewish and we loved the idea of honoring that tradition on our wedding day. The date we chose for our wedding happened to be Rosh Hashanah which, while beautifully symbolic, made finding a rabbi willing & available to officiate that day particularly challenging. Rabbi Steve was so warm, understanding & supportive, from the moment I first reached out to him with our plight, to the day he invited us to meet with him in his home & treated us to delicious homemade goodies from his wife, to the ceremony itself. We wanted someone who could strike that delicate balance between the serious & sacred and the playful & joyful, and he did that to a tee. More than one of our guests commented that it was the best wedding they'd been to. We could not recommend Rabbi Steve more highly and are so grateful he was willing and able to officiate for us!
  • Suzanne
    Suzanne D. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rabbi Finley is the best

    We had an amazing experience being married by Rabbi Finley. Before our wedding, he welcomed us into his home and got to know us. He offered great advice and was a true mentor on our journey. We loved his approach to interfaith weddings. He helped us achieve all our goals in terms of using cherished traditions we wanted to incorporate and ditching elements that did not reflect our values. He stuck with us through many cancellations and rescheduled wedding dates (because of COVID-19) with grace and compassion. We loved his warm energy, his deep knowledge, and his big heart. The ceremony and kettubah signing were really perfect. Cannot recommend more highly. Suzie & John.
  • Daniel
    Daniel Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best Rabbi we could have asked for

    Rabbi Steve was awesome to work with. He took the time to explain everything. He was flexible on details we wanted to include or not include. Rabbi Steve was incredible and I would recommend him to anyone.
  • Alicia
    Alicia Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rabbi Steve is awesome!

    Rabbi Steve is incredibly kind and thoughtful. He made the effort over many months to make sure he knew us as a couple, what we loved and respected about each other, and our dreams for our life together, and he helped us understand the Jewish traditions of marriage and everything involved in making it happen. 100% recommend!
  • Jordan
    Jordan E. Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful!

    Rabbi Steve is incredibly kind and thoughtful. He genuinely wants to get to know you and your partner and build a real relationship, and his service has just the right level of tradition, length, and fun. We are very grateful Rabbi Steve was a part of our wedding, and we highly recommend!
  • J
    Jordan S. Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Rabbi

    Rabbi Steve was wonderfully attentive, responsive and thoughtful. He listened to everything we said and made our ceremony truly personal and special. He made our special day even more special. Do yourself a favor and book Rabbi Steve.
  • K
    Kathryn T. Married on 06/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rabbi Steve was one of the main highlights of our wedding!

    He taught us many important life lessons as we were stepping into marriage while making all of the legal paper work parta effortless. He helped us feel relaxed while providing quality guidance. All along the way, Rabbi Steve encouraged us to make our wedding ceremony unique to our vision while incorporating many meaningful traditions. Thank you so much!
  • Andrew
    Andrew M. Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Rabbi Steve is the Best Rabbi for your Jewish Wine Country Wedding

    My husband and I could not recommend Rabbi Steven more highly. As a mixed faith gay couple, there is a decent amount of trepidation that can arise when selecting an officiant for your wedding. However, Rabbi Steve was warm, welcoming, and open. Throughout the process, Rabbi Steve, worked with us to create a beautiful wedding ceremony that was tailored to what we want. He always provided the different options, but allowed us, the couple, to make all of the decisions. Rabbi Steve also put in a lot of effort by meeting us multiple times to get know Joey and I to ensure the ceremony felt personal. If you're looking for a Jewish officiant in Wine Country, Rabbi Steve is your guy!
  • N
    Neta M. Married on 04/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful, kind, helpful

    Working with Rabbi Steve was an amazing experience - he took the time to get to know us, and what we wanted our wedding ceremony to look like and really tailored his suggestions to our needs and preferences. He has a breadth of knowledge that made us comfortable weighing our options, and I highly recommend working with him.
  • B
    Brittany Married on 11/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Warm and Wonderful!

    Rabbi Steve Finley helped us with a last minute elopement. He was warm and friendly right from the beginning. Professional and easy to work with. He is really lovely and made the day incredibly special for our couple and their families. He arrived early and made sure everything was set up in a timely manner. He did a beautiful job at the ceremony taking the time to explain things to the families and kept it relaxed but special for the couple. I would absolutely recommend him for our future couples.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 09/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rabbi Steve is fantastic. My husband was raised Catholic and I was raised Jewish. I wanted to keep some Jewish traditions around during the ceremony and reception. A family friend had given me Rabbi Steve's information, after they saw Rabbi officiate a wedding in Sonoma. So when it came time to chose an officiant for our wedding, I knew Rabbi Steve was the Rabbi for us. Rabbi worked with us to figure out what aspects were important to me and and which ones were not. He also helped explain certain traditions to my husband, which came very helpful to him. My husband and I were in Sonoma for the weekend a month before our wedding, Rabbi and his wife welcomed us into their home. This allowed us to discuss more details about the ceremony face to face instead of Skype or over the phone. The Wine Country Rabbi is ready to work around any challenges of a Jewish wedding and what works with social norms of a wedding.

    Our wedding ended up falling on one of the hottest days on record in Berkeley, California. Our venue was a historical site therefore there was no air conditioner inside. When it came time for the ceremony, Rabbi was able to cut parts of the ceremony to keep our guests a bit more comfortable so they didn't have to sit so long. He discussed with my husband and I beforehand, I agreed with him.

    I would recommend the Wine Country Rabbi to anyone who is planning a traditional Jewish wedding, an interfaith wedding, or any kind of wedding.
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 07/23/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rabbi Steve is amazing! As an interfaith couple, we were not sure we would be able to find a rabbi willing to work with us for our wedding. Not only did Rabbi Steve work with us, he met with us several times to get to know us and invited us to his home, along with our Catholic priest, to design a personalized Jewish/Christian wedding ceremony. He explained all the Jewish wedding traditions, helped us find all the items we needed including a beautiful ketubah and mezuzah, and took care of sending in our paperwork to register the marriage with the state. Most importantly, he did it all with humor, patience, and grace. If we didn't live so far from him, we would love to attend his community in Wine Country! Regardless of distance, we now feel Rabbi Steve is "our rabbi" and we will contact him in the future for any needs we have.
  • Z
    Zia Married on 06/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rabbi Steve was very accommodating and understanding towards our unique ceremony. My husband is Jewish, and I am not. With quality questions, and a kind professionalism, he was empathetic and found that our marriage would work well with his services and guidance. We look back at our wedding day with joy and love, and Rabbi Steve was an essential piece of our joyous day. He made us both feel comfortable and relaxed with the process.
  • A
    Alisa Married on 05/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Rabbi Finley was absolutely wonderful to work with. We had interviewed several rabbis and it was extremely important to find someone who we connected with spiritually, emotionally and intellectually. Rabbi Finley did an amazing job helping us focus on the essence of our relationship and what it meant to become married. He was kind, open-minded, understanding, and helped us dive into all of the important issues. We had several meaningful conversations leading up to the wedding. The ceremony itself flowed so well that we had multiple people say it was the most moving wedding they had attended. It was heartfelt, funny, and soulful. We feel very close to Rabbi Finley and look forward to maintaining our relationship for years to come.