Whitetail Country Estates Reviews

22 | Lockridge, IA
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Whitetail Country Estates

Recommended by 91%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.6

5 User photos

Whitetail Country Estates 1
Whitetail Country Estates 2
Whitetail Country Estates 3
Whitetail Country Estates 4
Whitetail Country Estates 5
Sort by:
  • K

    Katie Agne · Married on 05/18/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    High Recommended Venue!!

    I got married at Whitetail Country Estates this past May. It was absolutely gorgeous! As many of you know, it rained basically the whole month of May in Iowa. It did in fact rain on our wedding day (it means good luck right?). Zana and Dawn were great- we shifted plans from an outdoor ceremony to an indoor ceremony in the barn due to rain and they were right there ensuring it would be gorgeous and it would all work out. It was stunning and so intimate to have the ceremony and reception in the barn! Looping back to Zana and Dawn- they kept everything in line and made sure everything was getting done to ensure for a perfect event. We did the Thurs-Sun package and I am so glad we did. Some of the best memories my husband and I have are the things we didn't plan such as a bonfire after rehearsal dinner. Having both our families stay together at the Lodge was so fun everyone got to bond for the weekend and enjoy each others company. It was so nice that our whole wedding party and family could stay at the property! I could go on and on about this venue! Highly recommended!!

    Sent on 07/10/2019
  • E

    Elise Swanson · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful wedding

    My husband and I are so happy we chose Whitetail Country Estates as the venue for our wedding! Zana, Susie and everyone else were so helpful in planning our special day. They help to make the process as stress free for the couple as they can. The venue is absolutely beautiful. Every single part of it from the pergola to the vintage barn to the bridal cottage. The bridal cottage was extremely nice to have to get ready in and my husband and I stayed there the night of the wedding. Get ahold of Zana to take a tour of this place!

    Sent on 10/30/2018
  • B

    Becca · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect venue that made my wedding day stress free and amazing

    My special day couldn’t have gone any better with the help and support from Zana and her crew! It is a beautiful spot to have a wedding and they try to help in any way. Not to mention the bridal cottage which is a full sized totally redone house that was amazing to have for the bridal party the night before, to get ready on the day of with the salon style set up in the finished basement, and a place for the bride and groom to stay at on their wedding nigh! Highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 10/25/2018
    Whitetail Country Estates 6
    Whitetail Country Estates 7
  • J

    Jordan · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    More then we could have asked for

    The best choice we made about our wedding was having it at white tail. Zana and her staff were so helpful to me and my wedding party/family the day before and of my wedding. They were there willing to have me delegate jobs to them, so that my day went by a little more smoothly and were running all day, the day before/of my wedding. Zana and her staff went above and beyond any expectation I had, and that is just one tiny detail that sets them apart from any other wedding venue.
    The property was breathtaking. You didn’t have to go very far to get amazing photographs because everywhere you went on the property was stunning. The bridal cottage was one of the best amenities for me and my bridal party. We were able to all get ready together, on the property, and in a timely manor, the cottage was clean, and so beautiful decorated on the inside, with a kitchen available for use. The lodge for the groomsmen was an extra amenity we added on to our package. All the men were impressed with the lodge and enjoyed spending their day playing the available games downstairs. It was nice to have both myself and the groom on the property, that way it was easy to round up the men. Myself and the guest loved the property, and it’s easy to tell that Zana loves what she is doing and the service/property she is providing.
    We had such a spectacular experience at whitetail, and I would highly recommend them to anyone. Five stars all the way around. Thank you whitetail for helping make my wedding everything I dreamed of.

    Sent on 01/11/2019
    Whitetail Country Estates 8
    Whitetail Country Estates 9
  • T

    Teresa · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Whitetail Country Estates is a gorgeous venue for a wedding and reception. The owner and all the staff are very accommodating and helpful. The Bridal Cottage and Lodge provide convenience and a one of a kind experience. We could not be happier with this venue.

    Sent on 10/05/2017
    Whitetail Country Estates 10
  • T

    Toni · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My Fiance and I are from 2 different states and White Tail Country Estate was a great middle ground for our family's. As I was planing our wedding my fiance and I were currently stationed overseas. White Tail was truly wonderful in working with me over e-mail and over the phone for the preparations of the reception while I was working in a foreign country with a 14hr time difference. When we arrived to white tail it was truly beautiful the pictures do not due it justice. It is tucked away so there is no interference with other people or businesses. Our guests were taken away buy the water fountain front , the parking was easy and accessible. We rented limo golf carts and our guest had a blast driving the other members of the family the short distance to the barn. The bathrooms are up buy the parking and the golf carts made it easy for a group to shuttle up to use the bathroom and shuttle back down. We used the barn for the Reception, with the lights, quite surrounding area and the beauty of the decorations, natural wood and chandeliers it was truly romantic and beautiful. The DJ sat up in the barn loft which was fantastic because he could see everyone take request and he was out of the way so he did not take up main floor room. We were able to buy ice from white tail so we did not have to try and transfer ice on a hot day from a far out location. The staff came through half way through the reception to switch out trash bags so the trash receptacles were not over flowing this was a big help not to worry about it. The lay out of the food was perfect for our set up of less than 100 people with enough room for a dance floor and space to be out side if you wanted some out side air. This was truly a gorgeous area and a beautiful rustic romantic spot for any type of wedding. Our family and friends are still talking about our wedding and reception.
    Thank you White Tail!
    Blessings on your up coming wedding.

    Sent on 12/27/2015
  • C

    Christine · event on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was beautiful for this event the kids had a wonderful time. The tables were set as requested and then some. Their pictures turned out pretty with all the outdoor scenery. I would definitely recommend Whitetail Country Estates for your event!

    Sent on 06/21/2015
  • S

    Stan & Sharol · event on 11/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have been more pleased! Everything we asked for was done. The tables looked so beautiful & professional. Our guests were amazed that a beautiful venue like that is available around Lockridge.
    It was such a relief not to have to come out early and decorate and the greatest of all--we didn't have to stay late and clean up. We took home what was ours and Zana and Susie were there to do the rest!
    Thank you so much for everything--we will definitely;y recommend WCE to anyone planning an event!

    Sent on 11/24/2014
  • User4579941 · event on 10/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Zana was wonderful to work with. She worked with me to make our event a fabulous one. The Reception Hall looked absolutely beautiful - very elegant. The Whitetail Lodge and Bridal Cottage were very nice accommodations - comfortable and beautifully decorated.

    Zana and her staff were friendly, flexible, and easy to work with.

    Sent on 12/01/2014
  • S

    Sheila · event on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful lodge and grounds. Very family friendly. We had 24 there for 2 nights and were never crowded. The kids loved the game room and we rarely saw them. We took our 4 wheelers and the 300 acres of trails entertained kids and adults alike. The pond was great for fishing with lots of success. The owner and staff couldn't have been more helpful.

    Sent on 08/18/2014
  • T

    Tammy · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Whitetail Country Estates is a fabulous venue to get married at! It is absolutely BEAUTIFUL and the owner Zana and her staff are great to work with! We truly enjoyed having our very special day at Whitetail Country Estates ...our wedding was amazing and is a day we will never forget!

    Sent on 07/12/2014
  • K

    Kiley · Married on 07/02/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful site. Staff was friendly and professional. Kept everything cleaned up, and provided transportation throughout the venue.

    Sent on 07/07/2016
  • H

    hillary · Married on 06/25/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue! We had our ceremony outside of the barn, our alter was in the corner and the trees were our backdrop and then we had the reception in the barn. The staff here are very helpful and professional and truly want your day to be special! We used golf cars to go up and down the hill to use the restrooms ( I believe they are building bathrooms closer to the barn in the future so that will be nice for future weddings!). I'm so glad we had our wedding here, it was beautiful and just perfect for us!

    Sent on 07/08/2016
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 08/27/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    This is a beautiful wedding venue that had a lot to offer. I loved being able to do the ceremony and then heading right over and starting the reception. They were easy to work with!

    Sent on 10/25/2016
  • C

    Cody · Married on 05/07/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ladies at Whitetail were great! They worked with me to make sure every little detail I had hoped for my wedding happened!

    Sent on 07/07/2016
  • User5482848 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our venue and only found a few little things. There were many little odd rules that we found for example you can not spread fake flower petals. Also, the 1st was extremely hot. Even though our bulletins were fans and there were fans in the barn and everything was in ice, the reception ended extremely early just due to heat. There is no air available. I (as the bride) nearly passed out with heat exhaustion with my heavy gown on. If it wasn't for the heat, It would have been beyond perfect. The venue is beautiful and everyone will jump to help you as soon as you ask.

    Sent on 09/30/2015
  • B

    Briana · Married on 06/27/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Whitetail Country Estates helped make my dream wedding come true. My husband and I, our families, and our friends all had an outstanding night. To begin, the acreage is gorgeous. We used the pergola for our ceremony, and it was functional as well as beautiful: the lawn was well tended, the fountain in the pond was quiet, the chairs were set up for us, and the electrics on the stage worked and our sound carried well. However, it was mostly the barn that made our night so memorable. The lights outside and the chandeliers inside make the venue sparkle so that minimal decoration is needed. It had great acoustics, too: my husband brought in his own sound system and we blasted music all night long and it all sounded great.

    I repeatedly found myself surprised by the many little conveniences the venue provided: all sorts of toiletries/hair supplies in the bridal cottage; a TV in the basement of the bridal cottage to keep our 3-year-old flower girl entertained; an exceptional golf cart taxi service between the barn and the bathrooms; fans to keep the inside of the barn cool; an abundance of electrical outlets inside the barn; and a whole room full of fake flowers/rustic decorations to use wherever we pleased.

    Zana, the owner of WCE, was helpful and attentive all weekend long, always among the first to ask me if there was anything I needed. After a perfect night, I lost a small clutch with my phone inside, but Zana was able to find it and email me right away. We were a bit disappointed when one of her assistants gave us grief when we asked to use a bed in the bridal cottage for some photos, particularly because, from what we understood, we had access to the entire bridal cottage. But nonetheless, the assistant unlocked a bedroom and let us in. In light of the whole weekend, this was a forgettable offense.

    Overall, a great value for a wonderful venue. So many people have told me that ours was the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to. And I happily agree. :)

    Sent on 07/29/2015
  • K

    Kim · Married on 09/01/2018

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The venue is absolutely beautiful and very well kept. Zana and her staff are good to work with, whenever I had any questions she was very quick to respond. I wish they had wi-fi because there is little to no cell phone reception at the barn.
    Overall, we were happy with everything.

    Sent on 09/08/2018
  • J

    Jacy · Married on 08/06/2016

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We had a great experience having our wedding at Whitetail, Zana was helpful at answering any questions I had. We have recommended Whitetail to many people and will continue to do so, We stayed in the bridal cottage and family stayed in the lodge they were both very clean upon arrival and we enjoyed our stay! It is a beautiful venue perfect for any type of wedding!!

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • User4678595 · 2+ years ago

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I had my wedding here, both the ceremony and reception. It is a beautiful place, it took very little decorating. But I do have a few regrets. One was the amount I paid. I was originally quoted around 3000 and wound up paying over 5000. I planned to have my family and I stay at the bridal cottage the night of the wedding to avoid driving after drinking. They wanted 800 dollars! I could have gotten us all hotel rooms for cheaper! So I ended up having 10 people staying in my house the night of the wedding. The lady who showed us the venue was very sweet and flexible. But once we left the owner was the one we were in contact with and she had me considering letting my deposit go. She was nasty when we forgot to send one payment and never seemed friendly or happy. Then the day before the wedding we got a HUGE list of restrictions. Ridiculous rules we had to go by. And she hits me with this list verbally while I was trying to set up for rehearsal the evening BEFORE my wedding, as if my brain wasn't already racked. It was such a list that I specifically remember just nodding and thinking oh my god how will I ever remember all this. At the end of it all I wasn't a stressed bride so I just kind of went with it and it was a good day but I really regret the amount we spent for the venue alone, especially when I'd already paid about 10000 for the rest of my wedding.

    Sent on 12/28/2015
  • C

    Cammie · Married on 09/16/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    The venue is very beautiful but the controlling, micromanaging owner ruined the wedding experience! She interfered with our wedding plans, making the entire weekend very stress filled! Our alcohol was stolen off of the property, and they were very unprofessional. All of the ridiculous "rules" were very hard to follow. The "no shoes" in the buildings the worst. We were told different things depending on who you spoke to regarding the property. The whole experience was very devastating to our whole family. My kid's cannot get their day back.

    Sent on 09/21/2017

    Whitetail Country Estates's reply:

    Cammie, I'm sorry that you feel that way. It's my life's passion to ensure that all of our brides and grooms have the best day of their lives. As you can see we have never received a critical review of any previous events at Whitetail Country Estates. My staff and I continually strive to meet all of the demands prior to and during events. Most of the brides whom I have worked with in the past are thrilled to have the last minute help of someone like myself, who pays great attention to the little details that make a wedding special. During the course of your event, we worked very hard shuttling your guests back and forth to the barn and accommodating any other requests during the course of your visit to Whitetail. Some of which included, icing down drinks and hauling food to the barn, which is not a service that my staff and I generally provide.
    Also, to address our "no shoes" policy, which may seem inconvenient, it is written in you contract upon booking the facility that no shoes are allowed in the Lodge, or the Bridal Cottage. We implement this "no shoes" policy in order to keep our facilities in pristine condition for all of our future clients.
    If I seemed controlling and micro-managing to you and your guests, it was simply because I was trying to spare both myself and members of your party extra expense due to damage or injury caused by the excessive drunkenness of the wedding party. We all consider a wedding a time of great celebration, but I am very cautious about caring for parties who drink to the point of reckless and careless behavior, as exhibited by the groom's total nudity, over loading the carriage to the point of distressing the horses, and the extremely vulgar language in the presence of small children. Your party also threw liquor bottles and beer cans on parts of the grounds that were not reserved for your wedding party and guests.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review