White Oak Savanna Reviews

7 | Dodgeville, WI
See photos, pricing and details

7 Reviews for White Oak Savanna

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

7

14 User photos

White Oak Savanna 1
White Oak Savanna 2
White Oak Savanna 3
White Oak Savanna 4
White Oak Savanna 5
+ 10
Order by:
  • K

    Kirsten Kendall · Getting married on 12/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning venue, excellent service, such attention to detail, loved it!

    We had our wedding reception on August 24th, 2019 at White Oak Savanna. The entire property is extremely well maintained, absolutely immaculate. The owners (Paul & Audrey) have poured their heart and soul into the place. Every detail was thought out when they restored the property. For cocktail hour, WOS had lawn games set up in the sundial area and cocktail tables around the edges of the barn for guests to relax and enjoy the views. There is a covered area for a buffet line so as not to take up room inside the barn. The bathrooms are sizable and kept sparkling clean. At sunset, we took beautiful photos in the Oak savanna and fields on the property just up the hill from the barn. Paul, Audrey, and their event staff were very easy to work with. A special shout out to Rachel (bar manager) for being very responsive and helpful with every special request. They worked with us to make sure that everything we envisioned came to life. Thank you to everyone at White Oak Savanna for making it a magical evening we will never forget! (Photos by Amber Hopkins Photography)

    White Oak Savanna 6
    White Oak Savanna 7
    White Oak Savanna 8
    White Oak Savanna 9
    White Oak Savanna 10
    White Oak Savanna 11
    Sent on 12/30/2019

    White Oak Savanna's reply:

    Kirsten and Garrett, thank you so much! It was such an honor hosting your wedding. Love the pictures you posted, as well. Happy New Year! Hope to see you at another White Oak event!
  • Rachael

    Rachael Zimmerman · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Most Beautiful Wedding Venue in Southwest Wisconsin

    On September 6-8, we had the most wonderful weekend at White Oak Savanna celebrating our wedding. We had the best experience working with Paul & Audrey (the owners) and their staff throughout our planning process. The set-up for the weekend was beyond amazing. Honestly, pictures do not do this venue justice! There is beautiful architecture, rolling hills, and plenty of activities to do while at White Oak Savanna. For our wedding weekend, we had our rehearsal/rehearsal dinner on Friday, wedding Saturday and a gift opening brunch on Sunday--all of which were at White Oak Savanna. I never once left, it felt like I was on vacation and I was very relaxed for our big day. We rented both of the houses on their property and we truly felt at home while celebrating with our family and friends. The houses were stocked with any amenity possible and breakfast was also provided. Those who traveled to celebrate with us were able to stay in the local hotels in Dodgeville, which is only a short distance from the venue. White Oak Savanna went above and beyond to meet our needs to make our wedding weekend a memory that will last a lifetime. We were so fortunate to have beautiful weather and we were able to get married outside with cocktail hour to follow and the reception was located in the beautiful barn with a tent for extra seating. We also decorated their corn crib for a beautiful photo op for guests. Guests cannot stop talking about how beautiful the venue was--be sure to check it out! For more photos of the venue and our wedding be sure to check out my amazing photographer, Erika Diaz Photography.

    Sent on 09/15/2019

    White Oak Savanna's reply:

    Rachael-
    Thank you and Jerod so much! We appreciate your review and the faith and trust that you showed in White Oak Savanna. What a great day filled with so many memories. Thanks again!
    Paul and Audrey
  • Brandon

    Brandon Wilhelm · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Ceremony was perfect!

    We had only the Wedding Ceremony at White Oak so I can only speak for that. I don't believe they normally allow Ceremony only with no reception, due to demand, but were very accommodating to us. At the last minute we needed to change venues due to the weather. Paul made arrangements for us immediately and set us up with his event coordinator, Jill. Jill was amazing! She helped with everything from start to finish and made sure everything was smooth up to and including walking us to the barn to go down the aisle. The barn is really set up nice. We had approximately 285 guests. It was a bit tight with that many but no complaints. The barn has mood lighting throughout that allows you to choose any color on the entire color spectrum to suit your wedding theme. The chairs are very nice and light blue in color. Parking attendants helped park cars. The outside premises are beautiful. Large oak trees, a West view for sunsets, and a nice rolling valley with a pond. We have no complaints at all! Based on our experience I highly recommend... but again I can only speak for the professionalism and accommodations we received during the ceremony. The kitchen did however appear to be very clean and modern for those weddings looking to have a reception. Thanks so much to Jill and Paul for allowing us to have our special day there!

    Sent on 10/16/2018

    White Oak Savanna's reply:

    Brandon-
    Thank you so much! It was a pleasure to host you and we are glad we were able to make your day special!
    Paul and Audrey
  • D

    David Clutter · Married on 07/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and Inspiring

    We’ve held 3 events at White Oak Savanna and each time people have walked away feeling inspired, energized & hopeful. Big thanks to Paul & Audrey!

    Sent on 02/02/2019

    White Oak Savanna's reply:

    Thank you, Dave!! It has been a pleasure to host you and we look forward to many more!!!
    Paul and Audrey
  • Emily

    Emily Sewell · Married on 09/14/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Priceless Natural Beauty

    My husband and I are so happy that we chose to have our wedding at White Oak Savanna! We got married on September 14th 2019 and the weather could not have been more perfect. We chose to have the wedding outside in the sundial space and the reception inside the barn. Our total count was 188 and we fit perfectly inside the barn. We did have to move some tables for the dance floor, but the staff at WOS is so accommodating and helped us from start to finish including moving chairs and tables as necessary. Cocktail hour was in and around the patio just off the sundial which made it perfect for relatives who had difficulties getting around. I can not speak highly enough about the WOS staff which included everyone from the set-up crew, to the bartenders, to the wonderful owners! They have created the most beautiful space and are truly stewards of the land. Our pictures do not do it proper justice. It’s even more beautiful in person. Below is a list of questions and concerns we had initially and what our experience was:
    - No one is from Dodgeville in our family. Will our family traveling across the country be able to make it? Yes, we had tons of family drive from as far away as Missouri and fly in to Milwaukee and drive in to Dodgeville without a problem. There are plenty of hotels within a few miles of the site.
    - What if it rains or there’s bad weather? This was one of our major concerns with other venues, but between the barn and all of the additional buildings we had a contingency plan that would have worked just as well. Please note that it is almost always a little windy there. This is great because you won’t have any bugs, but it is something to think of with décor.
    - What about vendors? Do not fear! The staff at WOS helped us with a list of vendors that are familiar with the site. I did have some issues finding a makeup person to come to the site, but other than that we did not have any issues.
    - What about elderly relatives that have mobility difficulties? The locations that we chose are all ADA accessible. There were other ceremony options including the Oak Savanna and the limestone terraces beside the pond, but we decided against those due to the route it would take to get there. We took pictures in those spots though!
    - What kind of access to the site will we have for set up? We chose to go with the weekend package and rented the farmhouse and cottage from Friday at noon till Sunday at noon. This was so wonderful because it allowed us to be on site for set up and rehearsal on Friday, getting ready on Saturday, and cleanup on Sunday. It was so wonderful and relaxing.
    This venue is a hidden gem, but we suspect and hope that it will not be hidden for long!

    White Oak Savanna 12
    White Oak Savanna 13
    White Oak Savanna 14
    White Oak Savanna 15
    White Oak Savanna 16
    White Oak Savanna 17
    White Oak Savanna 18
    White Oak Savanna 19
    Sent on 09/21/2019

    White Oak Savanna's reply:

    Emily-
    Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host you and John and your wonderful family and guests. We appreciate the trust you put in us. Thanks again!
    Paul and Audrey
  • Jess

    Jess Sladek · Married on 09/01/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best wedding ever

    "Best wedding ever" - according to many of our friends and families, and this had so much to do with White Oak Savanna. It is an amazing venue ; beautiful, unique, historic yet modern, ecologically-aware and in touch with nature. We highly recommend White Oak Savanna, after looking at many other outdoor venues in Wisconsin/Illinois. An excellent value for all that is included.

    The staff is fabulous and worked so hard to make our weekend special. Many guests commented to us about how lovely the people at WOS were. Lots of games on site for kids and families to play, everyone just had a blast!

    The surrounding area and small towns make for a great get away, and there are a variety of things to explore from Governor Dodge State Park, to local artisans and artists, theatre, and good restaurants.
    The venue is very well-appointed, with many different options for ceremony sites, dinner/dancing configurations, etc.
    We rented the whole venue for the entire weekend, stayed in the cottage, and also had our close friends stay in the farmhouse. All the accommodations there were excellent, and we loved having the little cottage hideaway just a short walk from the barn, where we had our dinner and reception. Lots of personal touches were considered like spare toiletries in the cottage, wine, snacks, etc. We could not have found a more relaxing place to host a very hectic, special weekend. Do not hesitate to book your wedding at White Oak Savanna - you will have the best time!

    Sent on 01/09/2019

    White Oak Savanna's reply:

    Jess-
    Thank you so much!!! It was a pleasure hosting you and yours. We appreciate your kind words and are honored to have gained your trust. Thanks again,
    Paul and Audrey
  • User4936910 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    White Oak Savanna is the most beautiful wedding venue in Wisconsin.

    We went and looked at it when it was still under construction, just a barn with a new concrete floor. But we saw the plans for what they wanted to do and took a chance on them. And it couldn’t have turned out better. They were so accommodating with our requests and helped ensure we had a flawless wedding.

    We rented the whole venue for the weekend and it was well worth the money. We had the rehearsal dinner there complete with a bonfire after. We had some of our wedding party stay in the farmhouse and used it to get ready the day of. It’s deceivingly spacious and a simple backdrop for getting ready photos. We rented the honeymoon cottage for the wedding night and it was the perfect getaway. We were secluded and the cottage was so beautifully decorated and spacious we could have stayed there longer.

    We appreciated every hand-written note we received during our stay with them, the fresh squeezed orange juice, the attention to detail and making sure we didn’t have to worry about minor details. White Oak Savanna is not your typical wedding venue. It’s a destination wedding in Wisconsin where the staff takes on your wedding as if it’s their own.

    We don’t have a single regret, or wish that one thing was done differently. We had an amazing wedding that no one can stop talking about and it all started with the venue.

    Sent on 08/03/2017