White Light Events Reviews

20 | James Hill, JM
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for White Light Events

Recommended by 94%

20
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.6
Sort by:
  • Mrs. Brissett to be

    Wendi · Married on 08/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mikaela responded almost immediately and enthusiastically to my first email and that made me know I wanted to work with both her and Tara. The decor for the wedding was more than I imagined. They captured my theme perfectly and all my guests loved it. For wedding decor no doubt White Lights is your best bet!

  • Kelley

    Kelley · Married on 12/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    OMG! These ladies are amazing and filled with talent! They provided the decor, florals, and on the day coordination for our beautiful wedding. Coming from a girl who loves looking up ideas on Pinterest, Mikaela and Tara went above and beyond my expectations. I can say I was not one of those brides that had something go wrong on my day. My day was perfect and I wish I could relive it again and again!

  • A

    Ayren · Married on 11/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say about White Light... Simply Amazing!

    When you’re 700 miles from where you plan to get married the planning process can be rather scary. I contacted several wedding planners and when I started messaging with Mikaela, I instantly fell in love with her. Her charismatic personality and attention to detail were the icing on the cake! Our wedding was a little different as we planned a cruise to Jamaica in November and then had a Jamaican inspired reception in Tampa,FL in January. I found Noel Coward's Firefly Estate online and the view took my breath away. Mikaela and I emailed for months setting up the details for the ceremony. Not only did my conversations with Mikaela consist of "wedding planning" but Mikaela got to know me and about my family on a personal level. All The months of planning had lead up to this day. The arch was just like we wanted and I loved the wood folding chairs we chose.
    The ceremony concluded and the fun began! White Light arranged for one of there friendly colleagues to be our bartender for the day. Not only was he a great bartender but an even better story teller! He had our guests attention for sure! Mikaela and Tara brought us some sweet Jamaican treats as a gift. It was very thoughtful! The steel pan band played on while we danced, laughed, and enjoyed each other's company. The band was absolutely fantastic!
    Overall thoughts - It can be rather scary and un-nerving to put your trust in those whom you’ve never meet, in a place you've never been to ensure one of life’s most cherished events goes off without a hitch. Sometimes you have to look beyond your fears and listen to your gut.
    Our Jamaican journey was a truly magical experience and we couldn't have picked a better wedding planner to help make our day one we all dream of.
    If your on the fence about who you'll chose, I hope this helps you decide. White Light should be your choice!

  • A

    Amanda · Married on 11/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really would rather not give a perfect score because of course- nothing is perfect. However, White Light Events is the exception to that rule! After trying out 3 other well-known and very reputable event planning companies, I still was left feeling like I just wasn’t getting what I wanted and I was quite disappointed. We finally stumbled upon this company after our wedding planner- Keisha Whittingham attended a wedding that they had worked on. We were about 2 months away from the wedding day when we decided to work with them and they still were able to pull everything together effortlessly. I am a budget conscious bride so I was realistic with my expectations and offered to scale back on florals to save costs but it was in our first sit down meeting that Tara (the event designer) said to me “you’re only going to do this once, so we are going to do it right”….and just like that she and Mikaela took all of my wedding dreams and turned them into reality. They were on time, efficient and exceeded all of my expectations. I’m still not sure how they were able to accomplish so much on our limited budget but I am so very thankful and I would gladly work with them again. Hopefully this review will help save some lovely bride the stress and disappointment of shopping around. Take it from me…these ladies are the real deal!

  • K

    Kristen · Married on 01/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Words would never be enough to express the gratitude my husband and I have for Tara and Mikaela, our big day never would have been half of what I thought it could have been without them. We had contacted them a year and a half prior to attending to Jamaica for our wedding, at the beginning I had contacted many different planners and these ladies not only got back to me right away they made me feel special right off the bat. It was thousands of emails back and forth and lots of Pinterest posts between the two of us and me freaking out and hoping that what I was writing down could be interpreted into my perfect day. I am usually a hands on person who likes to know and see everything that is going on so this was hard for me but they made it so easy to trust their instincts and bring out everything I had wanted it to be. Once I got to the venue on the day of wedding I was blown away with how magical it was, it was everything I could have ever wanted and more. They took all the worry and stress off of my and shoulders and let me just enjoy every minute of my wedding. They are defiantly the only people I would ever recommend to anyone interesting in getting married in Jamaica. I cannot say thank you enough to them and it is even more wonderful that we get to call them our friends now as well not only our wedding planners!

  • L

    L · Married on 06/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used White Light Events to plan my entire wedding and everything was P.E.R.F.E.C.T. I'd contacted a few vendors in Jamaica before contacting Tara and team and they were all either non-responsive or very slow to respond. Tara was always prompt to respond - all emails were answered in a timely fashion. And believe it or not, I only spoke to Tara once via phone before the week of my wedding. I sent Tara and Mikaela inspirational photos and the end product was far more beautiful than any inspirational photo I sent. I couldn't have imagined a more detailed, breathtakingly beautiful wedding than the one White Light Events planned for me. In researching vendors and looking at photos, I found that anyone can plan and put together a wedding. But if you want yours to be unique and one like none other you've seen, I highly recommend White Light Events.

  • User4016329 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    White Light Events did an amazing job with our wedding. The decor was fabulous. My guests were blown away. I did not want over the top, but wanted it to look beautiful, classy and elegant. They went above and beyond with their delivery and gave that extra step with the wow factor. Everything was so beautiful!

    Tara Hirst-Bernard is beyond talented. The decor in our reception tent was fabulous and breath-taking. My guests are still talking about it :). I received these comments (among others) - "Felt like we were in a movie," "something from a wedding magazine," "it was so magical!" Many thanks to Tara and her crew from White Light Events for our spectacular wedding decor!

  • S

    sarah · Married on 02/18/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We live in the UK and initially found it difficult planning our wedding so far overseas in Jamaica,
    We began with our own research trying to book Venus, florist, cake maker, photographers etc
    We found that the prices and taste levels differed considerably from what we were looking for.
    Thank God we found white light events, they beat every price we had initially found ourselves!
    I consider myself to be quite particular and white light events not only understood exactly what we were looking for but exceeded our expectations. Our wedding was beautiful
    Anyone who has planned a wedding will know that there will always be unforeseen problems along the way and thankfully white light always had the solutions!
    Our only wish was that we found them at the very begging before we booked the venue as they have a vast portfolio of wonderful venues all over Jamaica.
    Look no further book white light now!!!!!! They are a joy to work with. Thank you white light events x

  • S

    Sharda · Married on 11/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tara and the rest of the White Lights team were amazing from the very start. They took all my ideas and, in some cases lack thereof, and created an evening that was more perfect than Hugh and I could have imagined.
    They were supportive and accomodating of my requests and suggestions, reassuring me whenever I found myself in doubt, and executing everything to perfection.

    I still find myself in awe while looking through our photographs at the decor (and overall event) the team planned and executed-WOW; the bouquets were picture perfect (I must confess, I thought I was being very ambitious when I showed them what I HOPED my bouquet would look like...only to be brought nearly to tears when it was handed to me and looked even better that I had pictured it!) Everything was just as they promised, if there was a hitch we are yet to discover it. We had nothing to worry about- Tara and her team of super ninjas had it all under control.

    If you are planning an event that you hope will be enjoyed by all in attendance and talked about for all the right reasons, have White Light Events take the reigns! We assure you, you'll be working with the best!

  • J

    JHANA · Married on 11/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    White Light Events made my day smooth and easy. I didnt worry about a thing, which is the way it should be. They easy understood my vision and executed perfectly. Love, love, love them and will use again and recommend again and again :)

  • User2243003 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tara and her team were absolutely wonderful in making our wedding truely magical. Would 100% recommend her to anyone planning a wedding in Jamaica. They did an AMAZING job and made our wedding beautiful.

  • User3200683 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was everything I wanted and more. White Light was absolutely amazing - my wedding was supposed to be a beach wedding, and I had a huge entrance planned (arriving on a yacht, and then walking along the pier to get to my groom). However, it POURED with rain, and the entire plan had to change at the last minute. White Light quickly set up the contingency, managing the crisis very calmly (and keeping me calm as well!). Though I didn't get to the grand entrance I had planned, it was still spectacular. I look at my wedding pictures 5 years later in awe of how beautiful and perfect it was.

  • G

    Gavin · Married on 04/05/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ladies and gentlemen at White Light were utmost professionals and provided my wife and I the greatest of service for our wedding in Portland, Jamaica. The food was top notch, the DJ excellent, and the decor was out of this world. I would highly recommend this company to anyone planning a wedding in Jamaica and would not hesitate for a second to say that you will be greatly served.

  • D

    Dan · Married on 06/08/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Tara, Mikaela and team were a dream come true. We had a small wedding at Firefly, St. Mary, Jamaica. We were referred to White light very close to our wedding date, and they were able to pull off a beautiful wedding at the very last minute. Tara and Mikaela are wonderful to work with and understand that it is your special day and just not another wedding. Thank you so much White light, you guys are truly amazing!

  • User7063106 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic team! They made my dream wedding a reality. Was so easy working with Tara and havIng her as the one vendor to look after everything made the day flow perfectly. Flowers and lightning were out of this world!!!

  • C

    Chinua & Harriet · Married on 11/07/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found White Light events when looking for design ideas for our wedding in November 2015. The pictures on their site of previous weddings they had planned were absolutely beautiful and exactly what we were looking for. Tara and Mikaela were very friendly from the word go and also accommodating of our changing requests. It wasn't always easy doing things completely efficiently from a distance but they made it work. They did an amazing job of decorating the reception venue (big up Fresh and crew). We stayed at the venue and the construction and dismantling of the massive marquee was speedy and non intrusive. The dance floor on the beach was a fantastic touch. The caterer they found was excellent (thanks a lot Christian) and so was the DJ (Pepsi, yu ting up like 7). They demonstrated ninja like coordination skills on the day and made sure everything and everyone was where they needed to be. We enjoyed working with Tara, Mikaela and their fantastic team and would highly recommend them if you are looking for a wedding planner in Jamaica. Nowhere better to get hitched!

  • A

    Althea · Married on 12/22/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were very creative and accommodating to our needs and requests. Helped us to save money which i think is very Wonderful. Overall great team to work with.

  • User3233785 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Tara and the White Light Events team came to my rescue at the very last moment and managed to pull things together in a way I hadn't even imagined possible. After having gone through the stress of a location and decorator fall out in weeks before the wedding, White Light was a welcome change. They were able to calm us down, get us back on track, and help us get everything in place to have a wedding that people are still talking about. We were on a tight budget, and they were very understanding of that, and incorporated all our DIY stuff, mismatched borrowed furniture and gave us great tips for how to cut costs without cutting value. We wanted a non-traditional, casual but elegant wedding, which in planning we realized can end up being quite expensive, but they were able to help get all those little details we wanted covered without having to pay and arm and a leg. We'd most definitely recommend them! Thanks White Light!

  • Anna

    Anna · Married on 12/28/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tara and her team were phenomenal! They did the day of service for me and she really made everything on paper come to life! They also made the most gorgeous bouquets for me! Thank you so much to white lights for their amazing help and work on my special day!

  • L

    Leighton · Married on 07/30/2018

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Rubbish! Wouldn't recommend them to a street dance.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review