Whippoorwill Hill Reviews

19 | Bloomington, IN
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Whippoorwill Hill

Recommended by 100%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
19 Whippoorwill Hill Reviews
Sort by:
  • M

    Michael De Jong · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Venue

    When my now wife and I first started looking at venues for our wedding, Whippoorwill Hill was one of the first ones we chose to look at. The barn is absolutely stunning and is secluded so that your event is just you and your party, no outside "busy" noise. Anne, one of the venue's owners/operators, was very responsive and SO helpful during the year long duration between us booking Whippoorwill and the day of our wedding. She helped us with everything from suggesting vendors to planning the layout of the barn for the day of. She and her family are truly an added bonus with this venue. Something my wife and I considered before booking any vendor for the wedding is how easy they would be to work with - with Whippoorwill, you hit it out of the park! We had a gorgeous venue and an amazingly beautiful wedding and truly feel like we have made lifelong friends with the owners, as well. If you are looking for a barn wedding in the Indy area, Whippoorwill Hill is absolutely one that you should look into! Great venue, great people, great choice!

    Sent on 11/03/2018

    Whippoorwill Hill's reply:

    Michael & Haley - What kind words. We feel the exact same way. We love watching our guests plan and host their event, and really enjoy watching their life together take off after the wedding. We are honored to add you to that list and can't wait to see where your guys love takes you!! Thank you for taking the time to review us!
  • J

    Julie Shields · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful!

    This by far is one of the most beautiful Barns in Monroe county. Everything is clean and everyone is just wonderful to work with. Tons of extras to help make your wedding day perfect.

    Sent on 10/29/2018

    Whippoorwill Hill's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words, Julie! We appreciate the review and your family more than you'll ever know!
  • S

    Shelby · Married on 09/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I do not have enough good things to say about this venue! Anne and her husband are amazing people you genuinely care about your wedding experience! They answered all of my questions and helped me figure out things when I wasn’t sure what to do. The venue itself is so beautiful. We got compliments all night long about how everyone loved the venue! You defiantly won’t go wrong if you book this place!

    Sent on 10/08/2018

    Whippoorwill Hill's reply:

    Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, Shelby! And thank you for choosing to start your lives together at our farm!
  • C

    Cyndi · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Only 48 hours before our annual gala (a barn dance party) for our local Down syndrome group, the venue that we had contracted with a year prior informed us of an accidental double-booking and asked us to find another venue. Due to a last-minute cancellation, Whippoorwill Hill was available, and the owner--gracious and very friendly--offered to let us use the stunningly beautiful barn for no more than the cost of on-site staff. It was a lifesaver! We are a tiny non-profit, so this was such a generous gesture. Thank you, Whippoorwill Hill!

    Sent on 09/25/2018
    Whippoorwill Hill 2

    Whippoorwill Hill's reply:

    Thank you so much for the review Cyndi! We couldn't be happier to have been a small part of your party and calendar release. We hope that the DSFC can come back to our farm again soon!
  • B

    Brittani · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First of all. This location is absolutely gorgeous. We had our wedding here Sept. 1st. Anne is one of the sweetest people you would ever meet. She’s one of those people you meet, and just can tell she has a heart of gold instantly. She and Tammy were incredibly accommodating and helpful. The day of went as smoothly as it could have. It was a beautiful wedding and I would absolutely recommend.

    Sent on 09/23/2018
    Whippoorwill Hill 3

    Whippoorwill Hill's reply:

    Brittani/Scott - thank you both so much for the kind words and for trusting us with your day. Above all, thank you for your service and we wish you both the best in your marriage and life together.
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anne and Jeff are amazing people to work with! Anne was there to answer all the questions we had while Jeff was there on our big day to help make it go as smooth as possible! They both are fantastic! Thanks for everything!

    Sent on 09/04/2018

    Whippoorwill Hill's reply:

    Thank you Ashley! You all were awesome to work with too. We wish you all the best in your life together!
  • J

    J · Married on 07/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If I could give Whippoorwill Hill 6 stars I would. The facility is amazing, the owners are flexible and so helpful and the end result is amazaballs. They worked with us whenever we needed help or answers to questions, had people on site day before and day of event

    Sent on 07/26/2018
    Whippoorwill Hill 4
    Whippoorwill Hill 5
    Whippoorwill Hill 6

    Whippoorwill Hill's reply:

    You all are the best! Thanks so much for the kind review and for hosting your day with us. You guys set the bar high for epic guests! Best of luck in your lives together!
  • B

    Brianna · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved everything about whippoorwill Hill! We had so many compliments on how beautiful their venue is from our wedding guest and Anne is so great to work with!

    Sent on 07/17/2018

    Whippoorwill Hill's reply:

    Thank you so much for the review, Brianna. You were the most stunning bride and decorated the barn in the most stunning way. I can't wait to follow your and Cody's life together. Congratulations, again, on your marriage and thank you so much for choosing our farm!!
  • L

    Laura · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Whippoorwill Hill in April. The venue was beautiful, and the staff was very easy to work with. Anne and Jeff were extremely accommodating. If we had to do it all over again, we would use Whippoorwill Hill in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 10/09/2018
    Whippoorwill Hill 7
    Whippoorwill Hill 8
    Whippoorwill Hill 9
    Whippoorwill Hill 10

    Whippoorwill Hill's reply:

    Laura! Thank you so much for the review. Moreover, thank you for seeing the vision & believing in our dream even when we didn't have stairs and a loft. It was a pleasure working with you all and we hope our paths cross again soon - hopefully on horseback (a girl can dream, right?!)
  • M

    Mikaela · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married here in April and it was absolutely gorgeous. I got so many comments on how beautiful the barn was. Highly recommend you check this one out!

    Whippoorwill Hill 11
    Whippoorwill Hill 12
    Whippoorwill Hill 13
    Whippoorwill Hill 14
    Whippoorwill Hill 15
    Whippoorwill Hill 16
  • K

    Kaitlynn · Married on 03/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After stumbling upon Whippoorwill Hill's website I immediately fell in love with the deconstructed photographs the owners shared from their own wedding at the barn--but even though the look was no longer there--after seeing the effort, hard work, and love put into the renovations for the venue I was even more head over heels for choosing Whippoorwill Hill. During each step of the wedding reception planning process I talked was able to speak with Anne and I never felt like any question or asking for help was too much for them. She was very understanding and willing to help me set up the most wonderful reception I could ever imagine. I would highly recommend Whippoorwill Hill for any wedding ceremony--on the day of my wedding it snowed but it still looked and worked WONDERFULLY--or reception.

  • E

    Elyse · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were beyond pleased with how our wedding turned out and cannot thank Anne and Whippoorwill Hill for making our dream wedding come to life! We continue to receive compliments from our guest on what a beautiful venue it was. Whippoorwill Hill is a MUST see and you will not be disappointed in your decision to make such wonderful memories at this venue!

    Whippoorwill Hill 17
    Whippoorwill Hill 18
    Whippoorwill Hill 19
    Whippoorwill Hill 20
    Whippoorwill Hill 21
    Whippoorwill Hill 22
    Whippoorwill Hill 23
    Whippoorwill Hill 24
  • A

    Aysha · Married on 09/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anne and her husband were not only extremely helpful with the process of setting up and tearing down, they were also very welcoming when I first met them and pleasant to all the guests during the event. The barn itself is absolutely gorgeous with a large variety of decorations that can be used for any event. Would highly recommend using Whippoorwill Hill as a venue for any wedding!!

  • A

    Anne · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best advice I can give to anyone looking to book at Whippoorwill Hill is to go see it. The farm and barns are unbelievably stunning and are one of a kind. The trip to visit will not be wasted!

    Elated we had our wedding at Whippoorwill Hill.

  • L

    Latasha · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding at Whippoorwill this past Saturday. We cannot say enough great things about this place and those that run it! Jeff and Anne were fantastic to work with and Anne answered every one of my ridiculous questions very promptly! Tammy, the venue coordinator, was also great! She met us at the venue multiple times and let us do whatever we needed! The venue itself is GORGEOUS! We had our ceremony right outside the barn and it was perfect. The reception was held in the barn and minimal decorating was even needed due to how naturally pretty the venue already is! We HIGHLY recommend this venue to anyone planning a bloomington wedding. We might be biased now, but it’s the best there is! 5 STARS!

    Sent on 10/05/2018

    Whippoorwill Hill's reply:

    Latasha, your questions were never ridiculous! I enjoyed every minute of it - even the freak storm when we were supposed to meet at the farm. So happy to have been a little part of your big day. Thank you so much for the kind words. Congratulations to the both of you and we wish you the absolute best in your lives together!
  • A

    Adrienne · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted our high school reunion at Whippoorwill Hill. We did not have the opportunity to visit in person before we booked, so we just trusted the photos and our awesome conversations with one of the owners, Anne. Those photos did not do the venue justice. The venue and scenery were breathtaking! As soon as we entered the property, we were stunned by its picturesque beauty. The barn itself offered that nostalgic, hometown feel but with modern amenities. The string lighting inside was soft and gave a perfect glow for pictures. There were plenty of options for the event layout with movable bars, tables and chairs. The sound system was great quality so that we could be our own DJ. The barn's patio offered a nice blend of indoor/outdoor space. Most importantly, the hospitality that the owners Anne and Jeff provided was amazingly helpful. We couldn't have picked a more perfect venue for our event. I highly recommend booking Whippoorwill Hill for any kind of event - wedding, reunion, company picnic or awards, birthday party, etc. Thank you so much, Anne and Jeff!

    Whippoorwill Hill 25
  • M

    Morgan · Married on 08/18/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was great! We actually booked them for next year!

  • D

    Dan · Married on 06/02/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were married here a couple of weeks ago. We absolutely loved the venue and Anne and Jeff were very responsive to our needs throughout the process even with a few hiccups that were not in either of our control. The wonderful thing about this venue is it has that nice secluded elegant yet rustic feel, but it is also only about 15 minutes away from Downtown Bloomington. It fit the best of both worlds. Whippoorwill offers packages for 1, 2, and 3 day rentals to handle any type of event. We ended up renting the Barn for Friday and Saturday to help simplify the amount of setup the day of, which was very helpful. The cost for these 2 days at Whippoorwill Hill was still less than the cost of 1 day as most other venues! The only complaint we had is that we were responsible for cleaning up the venue the same night as our wedding. This involved wiping down all the tables and mopping the whole floor, despite the fact that there were no noticeable spills. More importantly, we were not told the details of what was expected of us until a few days before our big day. We’ve spoken to Anne about this and she said she’s taking steps to avoid this issue in the future. Overall, we had a wonderful wedding and we highly recommend Whippoorwill Hill for any event!

    Sent on 06/27/2018

    Whippoorwill Hill's reply:

    Dan, we can’t thank you enough for your business and your honest review. I’m sorry for not having better communicated the expectations for clean up earlier in the planning process – that one is completely my fault. We have made procedural changes to avoid that miscommunication in the future. As a note, mopping the entire floor is not a requirement of our guests, just to clean up large spills if they occur. One of the ways we keep our prices very competitive is by requesting that the venue is returned to us in the same manner in which it was rented. However, if our customers are not willing, able or interested in cleaning up after the wedding, we certainly offer a cleaning service for a small fee. As I mentioned previously, we can’t improve without folks being completely honest with us about where we need to focus our efforts. Thank you again, for the gift of open and honest communication. We hope you and your beautiful bride come back to the farm soon!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review