Whatcom Sound Reviews

12 | Bellingham, WA
See photos, pricing and details

12 Reviews for Whatcom Sound

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

12

5 User photos

Order by:
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great music for a fun wedding!

    Whatcom Sound was easy to work with, fit their packages to what we needed, and were very professional. Our DJ was super fun, and everybody commented on how great the music was. We had a lot of laughs, great dancing, and she was also a perfect MC. Thanks for everything!

    Sent on 10/15/2019
  • Evie

    Evie · Married on 08/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great DJ team

    Whatcom Sound was professional, responsive, and very quick to set up. They played all the music we wanted, and they kept the schedule on time. Really a fantastic team! Thank you so much!

    Sent on 08/30/2019
  • S

    Sonja · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jack was amazing!! I told Jack what we were looking for during the ceremony & reception & he took care of the rest! It was extremely helpful that he knew the setup at Semiahmoo Resort as well because we didn't have to worry about how to ensure that our guests could hear the ceremony on the dock since he was set up inside. During the reception, the dance floor was never empty & at the end of the night, no one wanted to leave. Thank you so much for making our day a memorable one!!

    Sent on 09/19/2018
  • A

    Alyssa · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    JT was awesome! Weren't totally sure what we wanted at first, but he had plenty of suggestions for the perfect songs. He was so easy to work with and made everything throughout the wedding flow perfectly.

    Sent on 07/19/2017
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am surprised Whatcom sound does not have more reviews, because Jack Duran with Whatcom Sound was absolutely AMAZING! Since our first communication with him, he felt like he personally wanted to be involved in our special day, and I am SO glad that we got Jack himself, because he helped to make our ceremony and our reception move flawlessly. Jack was incredibly responsive with every email, and we never had to meet with him until a few weeks before the day. At our meeting we told Jack everything we had in mind, and with confidence, he assured us there would be no glitches. He was right!! He had music for the ceremony playing exactly as planned, which was one of our biggest concerns. I've been to weddings where the DJ has messed up the ceremony music, or played the music at wrong times, and it has ruined the entire vision the bride has had for their special day. But Jack NAILED IT! Jack kept the crowd interested, dancing, and having fun, and he even provided us with a CD including all of our ceremony's soundtrack, which we thought was incredibly sweet and thoughtful.
    Jack, thank you so much for being such a monumental part of our day! Hopefully we can hire you for parties in the future! You are amazing!
    Katie and Erika

    Sent on 10/06/2016
  • User3924696 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our DJ was amazing!! He's been doing this for years and knows how to keep the crowd alive. Everyone had such a great time with the music variety; there was something for everyone to enjoy. He set the mood for the evening and it was a blast.

    Sent on 09/15/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 07/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I met JT almost a year and a half before the wedding, he was working an event at my work and he was doing a fantastic job. My fiance and I ended up booking him before we had even booked our venue and it was hands down the easiest (and best) decision of wedding planning. I was concerned with us booking so far out that our reservation would get lost and we would be scrambling at the last minute and that was never the case. We kept in touch via email on and off between booking in 2/12 and our wedding in 7/13 and met with him a few weeks before the wedding to finalize everything. The meeting was easy and fun and he had great ideas for music for our cocktail hour. At the wedding he kept everyone out on the dance floor and played just about every genre imaginable and was perfect for our very eclectic wedding guests. He also setup colored lights behind some pipe and drape behind the head table, which looked amazing during the reception. My husband's very particular grandfather was still complementing his work days after the event. You will not regret your decision to book JT and Whatcom Sound for your wedding, they are a fantastic bunch to work with and will be the easiest decision of your wedding planning! Thank you for everything JT
    - Steph & Kenneth

    Sent on 08/10/2013
  • J

    Joel · Married on 02/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our DJ. We weren't originally planning to have one, but when we saw they had a special for Sunday afternoons, we just had to snag the deal.
    They had a wonderful selection of music and kept the dance floor moving, even during our Sunday afternoon reception (and that's a tough time to get people dancing!)

    Sent on 10/30/2013
  • S

    Donna · Married on 05/28/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't thank you enough. The music was perfect from beginning to end. We had a wide variety of age groups and all were happy with the music. I wanted to surprise my husband and sang him a song and the sound was perfect. Our DJ was Jack Duran and he was great. Thank you Jack. Thank you Paxton for meeting with us and talking over the phone to organize the event. We're so glad we used Whatcom sound. You are all very professional and got the party started.

    Sent on 06/17/2011
  • Brittany

    Brittany · Married on 01/21/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Whatcom sound offers DJ service, but I didn't actually book a DJ. My friend is an MC and another friend is great at putting together playlists, so I just rented a PA Sound System from them and it was great. Very nice equipment, it all worked and sounded great. Everyone I dealt with at Whatcom Sound was very helpful and informative. They were never pushy or salesy, and they were all very accommodating as far as picking up the equipment and dropping it back off. I would definitely recommend them!

    Sent on 02/16/2012
  • L + A

    Lindsay · Married on 05/30/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Jack at Whatcom sound was GREAT the day of. Very flexible and able to get the dance floor going the whole time. The only thing I wish that they were better on was responsiveness. I had to contact them multiple times to get responses during a few times in the process and it was not ideal. Otherwise though, I would work with them again.

    Sent on 06/16/2015
  • Lindsey

    Lindsey H. · Married on 09/15/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Price is great but had some technical difficulties

    We chose Whatcom Sound due to their location and price. We got married at Semiahmoo Resort in Blaine, where vendors are a bit hard to find. We could have chosen a favorite local DJ, but needed to save money on travel/hotel room costs. Whatcom Sound's pricing was unbeatable. I was hesitant to hire a DJ I'd never seen perform in person, let alone not getting to meet them before our wedding, but we had to make the plunge. Jack was really nice to work with and made the booking process simple. Our DJ sent us a good questionnaire which helped us figure out what songs we needed to choose. He was a bit difficult to get ahold of when we had questions, but we got what we needed in the end. I decided to put my own playlists together for every bit of the day and told him to go off-book as needed, but he stuck to the script and played just what we wanted. I will say there were technical issues with the microphone during our ceremony. I never found out what happened, but I requested a lapel mic for our officiant, which we did not get. He instead had to use a handheld mic without a mic stand, which made things really awkward as he had a binder to hold as well. Both me and my husband also had to use the handheld mic to read our vows, which made it difficult to juggle and also didn't look very nice. The worst part is that the audio kept cutting out during the ceremony for some reason. Perhaps it had something to do with multiple location changes due to the rain that day (which I did appreciate him for accommodating). Luckily our videographer put a lapel mic on my husband to ensure he got all the ceremony audio captured. Hopefully our guests were able to understand us. Other than that, the rest of the night went off without a hitch!

    Sent on 12/17/2018