Weddings

Wedding Preacher for Hire Reviews

Wedding Preacher for Hire

Wedding Preacher for Hire

Charlottesville, VA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 104 Reviews
View more information

104 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 104
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

7 User photos

Sort by:
  • P
    Perkins M. Getting married on 03/06/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So Flexible & Kind During Covid Elopement

    Gay was so kind and patient while planning a quick Covid safe elopement this past summer! She walked us through all our options and was really kind and patient with us while we had to make decisions! Highly recommend her services!
  • L
    Lori P. Married on 08/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend!

    Gay Lee was wonderful and highly recommend! She was very thoughtful in helping us lay out how we wanted our small ceremony to go and we are thankful she was part of our special day. She helped us incorporate various passages and messages that related to our relationship, which made it all that much more special.
  • Eliza
    Eliza C. Married on 07/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A joy to work with

    My husband and I had such a wonderful experience working with Gay Lee to design the wedding ceremony of our dreams. We scheduled meetings with a few officiants but after our first meeting with Gay Lee we canceled the others because we knew that she would be a good fit. We wanted a ceremony that was spiritual and imbued with meaning but not religious. Gay Lee suggested many ideas to help us to achieve this including a ring warming which we hadn't seen at other weddings and was a wonderful way to involve our families in the ceremony. We met with Gay Lee several times during the planning process and she was always friendly and warm. Even though we had only known her for a few months, our ceremony felt so personalized and true to us, like we were getting married by a family member. Gay Lee is a special soul and we're so glad to have met her!

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Thank you, Eliza. I so enjoyed being part of your special day--a special day for two special people!
  • Daisy
    Daisy Z. Married on 04/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful officiant and wedding counselor

    Reverend Gay is the sweetest! My now husband and I loved working with her. We got to know her well through our pre-marital counseling sessions, which were incredibly helpful in helping us understand one another better, identify potential sources of conflict and how to navigate them, and prepare us for married life. She was very patient with us during our rehearsal. On the day of, she arrived early to coordinate with the rest of our vendors. She also shared a personalized message during our ceremony. She is the kindest and an incredible joy to work with!

    **This was a micro wedding held on April 3, 2021 with all participants either fully vaccinated or tested negative for COVID19 twice**

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Daisy and her husband, Ryan, and I got to be good friends, during our premarital counseling sessions. Thank you for the kind words. Can you think of a better profession than being able to be part of peoples' lives at such a joyful and important time?
  • B
    Brandon R. Married on 10/31/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfectly splendid!

    Rev. Einstein was responsive, flexible, and extremely easy to work with. She provided us and our (virtual) guests with a lovely service to remember. We are very glad to have chosen her for our special day!
  • E
    Eric W. Married on 09/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thoughtful Officiant

    Gay was wonderful, put up with us when we had to change plans because of the pandemic and delivered the short but meaningful ceremony we asked for. Highly recommend.

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Thanks, Eric. It was a pleasure to be part of your special day. Best to you, Heather and Calvin. You are such a lovely family. Truly blessed.
  • S
    Sandy D. Married on 06/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent experience. This vendor was very reliable and met our expectations!

    Everything went even better than we had planned!
  • Gisel
    Gisel Z. Married on 04/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Look no further!

    Our original officiant cancelled ~1 week before our wedding on 6/25/2021. Luckily Rev. Gay was available for our date and had done weddings at our venue (Keswick Vineyards).
    Since our very first outreach she was very responsive. She is knowledgeable and professional, which we could tell after our very first conversation.
    During our rehearsal and ceremony, she remained calm and helped our coordinator ensure everything went as it’s supposed to. She took her time to incorporate very personal details into the ceremony, such as analyzing a poem we had provided.
    We are so thankful that we were able to find her and would recommend her to anyone who is looking for a knowledge, detail-oriented, patient and caring officiant.

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Gisel and her husband were a delight to work with. And, I enjoyed meeting some of their friends and family members. I will add that Keswick Vineyard, has a professional and caring staff, on call to take care of any little thing. Finally, the weather cooperated. What more can you ask for? Much happiness in the years to come, Gisel!
  • Jessa
    Jessa Married on 04/16/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our special Wedding amidst Coronavirus

    We are so thankful for her to perform our wedding amidst coronavirus. She's been very helpful and very accommadating. I recommend this vendor 100%
  • M
    Michelle M. Married on 04/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding July 2020

    Gay was amazing! She made our testament to one another come alive. Our guests told us the ceremony really resonated with each couple who has known our story from the beginning. We highly recommend her!
  • L
    Lindsay K. Married on 04/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend, it was a joy working with her

    Gay Lee did a beautiful job on our wedding day. She graciously worked with us when COVID first started to reschedule our ceremony. We ended up doing a backyard ceremony with only parents present since we were set on our original date. Even though we found her online, she spent a lot of time getting to know us and provided a very special and personal ceremony for us. It was a joy working with her and we highly recommend her!
  • A
    Amy G. Married on 12/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    December 2019 Wedding

    We were so lucky to have Gay Lee officiate our wedding. She took the time to get to know us as a couple and helped us create the perfect ceremony. My husband and I are both Christian, but did not want a super religious ceremony- Gay Lee had the perfect readings and helped us strike the tone we were looking for. We would absolutely hire her again for our wedding day. Thank you so much for everything Gay Lee!
  • Christy
    Christy Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Will Not Dissapoint

    Gay Lee helped make our day so special. When we talked with her during our initial meeting, she took the time to get to know us and asked us great questions about our day, what we were looking for in a ceremony, etc. She put together a great ceremony that we were delighted with and that our families enjoyed. I appreciate her making it an easy process. We had a difficult time finding someone we wanted to officiate our wedding, but when we met Gay Lee, we knew she would bring such great presence and energy to our wedding day. We were fortunate to have her a part of our day!

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Thanks Christy. Best to Benji. Keep in touch on Facebook or Twitter! Would love to find out how your lives unfold.
  • E
    Erik P. Married on 07/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great wedding, stress-free!

    Rev. Einstein was great to work with, from start to finish. As soon as we had our first face-to-face meeting with her we knew she was the right choice for us. She was responsive, punctual, flexible, open-minded, and easy to talk with. We needed someone to write a ceremony for us that would feel traditional but relaxed, to incorporate religious elements that our families and friends would be comfortable with. She asked us a lot of good questions, wrote a beautiful ceremony that pleased both of our families, and threw in a couple of good jokes based on what she had gotten to know about the two of us. She also ran our rehearsal, which was an invaluable service since we did not have a wedding planner.

    Planning a wedding is always going to be stressful, but Reverend Einstein took a LOT of that stress away, and my wife and I were both able to relax, enjoy the ceremony she had written, and focus on each other. I would recommend her to anyone in the area, especially if you have families with different religious backgrounds and want a ceremony that doesn't strictly adhere to one particular tradition, but respectfully acknowledges multiple traditions.
  • Kali
    Kaliane Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend!

    Gay was so helpful during our wedding process! She asked very insightful questions during the planning stages and took all that info and wrote a beautiful ceremony! We highly recommend her!

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Thank you Kaliane. Your wedding was so very lovely. I hope you and Donald are enjoying married life. Please stay in touch if only on Facebook. Would love to know how your life unfolds. Continued blessings.
  • P
    Parker Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceptional

    Reverend Gay Lee is nothing short of exceptional. She is easy and fun to to work with, an utmost professional, and is skilled in crafting the perfect ceremony to match the couple. Our wedding had a surprise tornado 10 minutes before the ceremony and she was able to keep calm, adapt to the changing circumstances, and ultimately her
    ceremony set a joyous and happy tone for the rest of the wedding despite the circumstances. She kept to the plan but was also able to seamlessly weave in fun comments on the fly about the weather - this speaks to her abilities and experience. If you're looking for the best, look no further. Highly recommended!

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Thanks, Parker. I will NEVER forget your wedding, that is for sure. I hope that you and Lauren had a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year. Would love to find out how your lives unfold, if only on Facebook. Continued blessings. Gay Lee
  • B
    Brooke Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We loved working with Gay!!

    Gay was so helpful through our whole wedding process! She was always so organized and would remember all the details we wanted to have for our big day in every encounter we had! My wedding planner and her made the whole process seamless and delivered the exact ceremony that we wanted! I would highly recommend her and so happy to have her as part of our big day!

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Thanks, Brooke. What a happy day it was, and you are right. The wedding was seamless. Kudos to your wedding planner!
  • L
    Laurel Married on 06/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect fit for anyone!

    Gay Lee was absolutely wonderful! We enjoyed all the time we spent with her getting to know each other and putting together the perfect ceremony. On our wedding day, we had an escalating downpour throughout almost the entire ceremony and Gay Lee rolled with the circumstances in tune with how we were feeling about the rain and thunder--- exhilarated! We had so much fun and I am so glad we found the best fit for an officiant.

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Thanks, Laurel. Good memories, certainly. In fact, I would say, UNFORGETABLE. I have shared the drama of your wedding with lots of people. So much fun, looking back. Blessings to you in your lives together. Hope you'll keep in touch if only on Facebook.
  • T
    Taryn H. Married on 04/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful experience

    Gay did a fantastic job officiating our wedding. She took the time to meet with us on multiple occasions to get to know us. We got many compliments on the ceremony, and it was personal and special.

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Thanks, Taryn, for your kind words. Sooo enjoyed working with you and Ben. Hope you have wonderful memories as do I. Continued blessings, Gay Lee
  • G
    Gina Married on 04/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Need an officiant for wedding ceremony? Hire Gay Lee!

    We hired Gay Lee for our wedding in April 2018. We had a lovely experience! We opted to do the counseling session prior to our ceremony and spent time learning about our personalities and needs as individuals and a couple to better prepare us for our upcoming marriage. Gay Lee was kind, professional, and so easy to talk to- we learned a lot about each other and we're so happy we added on this service.

    As for the actual wedding, Gay Lee was prompt with timing and responsiveness, provided flexibility in our approach to our service (for us, we wanted a modern but traditional approach), helping to provide us with a number of readings to consider, and ceremonial approaches. We're both Christian, but wanted a more informal service, as our service was outside at Bold Rock Cidery in the Blue Ridge Mountains. It was perfect, she did a great job, both with the rehearsal and wedding, and we would choose her all over again to be an important part of our big day. Thank you Dr. Rev Gay Lee!

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Thank you, Gina! What a wonderful day it was. Bold Rock is a super venue for a laid-back ceremony. Continued happiness in the years to come.
  • S
    Sandy M. Married on 04/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Officiancy isn't a competition. But if it were... Gay Lee would win.

    Gay Lee was one of the best parts of our wedding. Which is says quite a bit, considering we had a near-flawless wedding.

    I say near-flawless because it was a tad windy — tricky conditions for a lesser officiant. Gay Lee, however, rose to the occasion (and then some). We're so happy she was up there with us on the big stage, and had an awesome time getting to know her in the days prior.

    Wedding Preacher for Hire's reply:

    Thanks, Sandy. I continue to have fond memories of your day. I wish you well. Would love to stay in touch if only on Facebook.
    Warmly, Gay Lee
  • M
    Marilee Married on 12/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It is hard for me to give someone 5 stars; however, Gay truly deserves them! We had the last minute idea to get married, and Gay was not only quick to respond, she helped us decide on the perfect reading for our vows. We could not be happier with the ceremony Gay prepared for us! I would highly, HIGHLY recommend her for any wedding event!
  • K
    Katherine Married on 10/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My now husband and I were not local to Charlottesville, but we wanted to hire a local officiant for our wedding ceremony. Gay Lee was recommended to us by several of our vendors. We decided to reach out to her to see if she'd be available for our date, which we received a quick response from her. She went the extra mile and asked if we could meet up with her in person or via skype! We really loved that she wanted to get to know us as a couple to ensure the wedding was more personalized. When we met with her, we knew she would be the perfect officiant for our ceremony! We wanted our ceremony to be religious but with a modern undertone. She offers both secular and religious ceremonies. During our meeting, we went over a traditional religious ceremony step by step. She explained to us what we could add, drop, and any modifications that could be made. She was very flexible with our ceremony and provided suggestions on areas that we were unfamiliar with. We wanted a personalized ceremony, and she suggested the wine box ceremony. Additionally, she sent us both religious and literature reading suggestions to help us select our readings. The day of, we received so many complements regarding our ceremony and how great our officiant was! I was really happy that we picked Gay Lee as our officiant! I highly recommend her to anyone seeking a personalized religious or secular wedding ceremony.
  • B
    Blair Married on 10/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Gay Einstein married my husband and I on October 28, 2017, and she was amazing. She had our guests engaged and everyone really enjoyed our ceremony.

    We chatted once via Facetime and once in person before the ceremony. She really made an effort to get to know us on a personal level to make our wedding day perfect. She was extremely responsive via email and by phone.

    Having never done one before, Gay was very flexible when we decided to incorporate a tree planting ceremony in place of vows.

    I would highly recommend Gay for your wedding preacher!
  • H
    Heather Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Words can't express how truly wonderful Gay was as our officient on our wedding day. As someone who doesn't live in the area, it was so lovely that she was flexible and easy to work with when it came to meeting ahead of time. She also facetimed us multiple times to make sure that we were all on the same page and to get to know us better. She took the time to get to know us as a couple personally and used what she found to make a personal and sweet service during our ceremony. I couldn't be happier with the choice we made, she went above and beyond to make our day special. I highly recommend her to anyone doing a destination wedding or otherwise. She was fantastic!