Sara Shendelman Reviews

37 | Berkeley, CA
See photos, pricing and details

37 Reviews for Sara Shendelman

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

37
Order by:
  • E

    Elena · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Sara is wonderful to work with! She exudes warmth and wisdom, and is attuned to the 21st Century. Rabbi Sara was very thorough in explaining every part of the ceremony, and didn’t rush us at any point—if we wanted to meet to had questions about anything, she was available. It’s such a stressful time —those pre-wedding months— and finding a patient and knowledgeable soul just makes a big difference.

    I highly recommend Rabbi Sara (even if you're not Jewish)!

    Sent on 12/16/2017
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're looking for an amazingly professional officiant, this is your woman! She was informative, helpful, funny, and professional. Everyone that came to our wedding said the best part, was our ceremony. My husband and I both agree! She felt like another member of our family! I highly encourage all to contact Sara and talk to her about your wedding. She is by far the best experience we have had!

    Thank you so much Sara for such an amazing day. You made it so special!

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • F

    Forest · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a blessing to meet Rabbi Sara. She was able to accommodate our interfaith marriage as well as our numerous preferences for the ceremony. Our ceremony was the easiest part of the wedding planning because of Sara's guidance. She made herself very available to us (very flexible) and took a lot of time to chat with us over the phone, in person, and on Skype. Sara worked very well with our other vendors, she coordinated with the DJ and the day of coordinator, her experience was invaluable for all of the unexpected things that come up during a wedding.

    The ceremony itself was the most magical and personal event for us and our guests. Sara took the time to get to know us and tied in many personal elements into the ceremony. She takes the time to explain all of the customs, rituals, and traditions - making the ceremony so much more meaningful.

    Every guests has commented on the ceremony and Rabbi Sara as their favorite part of our wedding day! We want to thank Rabbi Sara for her compassion, care, and insights.

    Sent on 12/04/2016
  • Noa

    Noa · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Shendelman is great! She is super experienced, knows exactly what to do, and makes you feel comfortable and cared for the whole time. She takes into account individual preferences and she has a great presence on stage, making for a really fun and engaging ceremony. We loved her and all of our guests did too. Thank you Rabbi Shendelman for our amazing ceremony! Highly recommended, 100%

    Sent on 11/18/2016
  • M

    Mei · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a fantastic wedding ceremony with Sara Shendelman. Many of our guests told us that this was the best ceremony they had ever seen. We met with Sara at her home and discussed our many concerns. I am Buddhist and my husband is atheist and the guests were mixed Christian, Buddhist and Jewish and yet Sara pulled it off beautifully and everybody was happy. We were so lucky she had an opening for us.

    I'm so glad Sara agreed to be our officiant. :)

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • A

    Arthur · Married on 12/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had been to a few of Sara's weddings and was so impressed that when I got married we hired her to do ours. She is very flexible and responsive, allowing for the creation of the perfect ceremony. We were thrilled with how everything worked out. And as a bonus, if required she sings like an angel.

    Sent on 12/15/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara knocked it out of the park for us! She brought with her so much magic on our wedding day that our family and friends almost all participated in our ceremony, because she made everyone feel so comfortable with what was going on. It was perfect. For days after the wedding the talk was all about how special the ceremony had felt to everyone present. Home Run, A+, 100% would recommend to anyone looking for a wedding officiant!

    Sent on 11/13/2014
  • User3503856 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We knew upon our first meeting with Rabbi Sara that is was b'shert. She is everything you would want out of a wedding officiant, and more! She guides a collective experience for everyone in attendance that invites them into the love they are there to witness...this is a unique experience when compared to the more traditional, passive style of wedding ceremony. She made our ceremony a memorable celebration rather than a ritual, while including the traditional aspects of a Jewish ceremony that were important to us. Rabbi Sara radiates love from within, which made everyone comfortable and engaged, and made us feel beyond comfortable proclaiming the story of our love and commitment to each other in front of over 100 people. Rabbi Sara's presence and words drew the guests into the ceremony and made all the joy, spirit, and emotion we were feeling a collective experience that lasted until the last person left.....and weeks beyond. Rabbi Sara was not just our wedding officiant, but is our new friend....we can't praise her enough!

    Sent on 07/18/2014
  • M

    Macy · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Sara Shendelman is the most sincere, deep, lovely, funny, brilliant, and kind wedding officiant. We met a few others first, in our search for a truthful and personal ceremony.
    She officiated our wedding last week end. With only a few days to prepare, she met with us, made many suggestions for the ceremony, accepted our choices, listened to our opinions, and produced the most beautiful off-the -charts moving, meaningful, precious ceremony, completely tailored to our histories and our needs. What a magnificent woman to work with! We will both be ever grateful.
    It was a small event but each guest expressed their delight with Rabbi Sara and the wedding ceremony.

    Sent on 07/17/2014
  • M

    Marsha · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you have the opportunity to have Rabbi Sara Shendelman as your wedding officiant, expect a ceremony which will be beautiful, moving, honest, and true to everything which you express that you want. She has a profound gift for creating meaningful and special ritual. That which you want will be included. That which you don't want, will not. She is positive, brilliant, lovely, and sincere.

    Sent on 07/17/2014
  • S

    sara · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Sara gave us a ceremony far more beautiful than we imagined. We wanted something non denominational, as neither of us has a particular religious affiliation, and she was truly accommodating to our wishes. She worked with us every step of the way, she was available whenever we needed, and she went far beyond our expectations to ensure that our ceremony was special and lovely. Her professionalism, kindness, wisdom, and loveliness is exceptional. I recommend her to anyone for a fabulous ceremony. Our guests loved the ceremony, and they loved Rabbi Sara.

    Also, she is a great photographer! She sent us some gorgeous photos after the wedding.

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • S

    sara · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Sara gave us a ceremony far more beautiful than we imagined. We wanted something non denominational, as neither of us has a particular religious affiliation, and she was truly accommodating to our wishes. She worked with us every step of the way, she was available whenever we needed, and she went far beyond our expectations to ensure that our ceremony was special and lovely. Her professionalism, kindness, wisdom, and loveliness is exceptional. I recommend her to anyone for a fabulous ceremony. Our guests loved the ceremony, and they loved Rabbi Sara.

    Also, she is a great photographer! She sent us some gorgeous photos after the wedding.

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • S

    sara · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Sara gave us a ceremony far more beautiful than we imagined. We wanted something non denominational, as neither of us has a particular religious affiliation, and she was truly accommodating to our wishes. She worked with us every step of the way, she was available whenever we needed, and she went far beyond our expectations to ensure that our ceremony was special and lovely. Her professionalism, kindness, wisdom, and loveliness is exceptional. I recommend her to anyone for a fabulous ceremony. Our guests loved the ceremony, and they loved Rabbi Sara.

    Also, she is a great photographer! She sent us some gorgeous photos after the wedding.

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • User3539204 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabi Sara performed a lovely outdoor wedding ceremony for us. She was so professional and thoughtful throughout the entire planning process. She spent the time to get to know us in order to develop a ceremony that was special and tailored to our love story, which is something that the others we interviewed did not take the time to do. On the day of the ceremony she calmed both the bride and grooms nerves before the ceremony and her words and singing really resonated with the wedding party and the guests in the audience. We are so glad that we selected her as our minister.

    Sent on 07/25/2014
  • P

    Paul · Married on 04/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have been happier with Rabbi Sara as our officiant. Sara blended our two cultures (irish and persian) together perfectly in a secular ceremony with beautiful touches of spiritualism. She absolutely made our ceremony one that we will remember forever. We are still getting compliments about her from our guests! We wholeheartedly recommend Sara for any occasion!

    Sent on 07/23/2014
  • S

    Kim · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not possibly overstate how wonderful our experience was working with Rabbi Shendelman!! When the Supreme Court decisions were announced we decided to have our wedding on Labor Day Weekend 2013 (the closest 3 day weekend from the decision). That gave us about 6 weeks to plan our wedding in its entirety. We pulled it off with 70 guests at the Sheraton Palo Alto with the whole sha-bang!

    Rabbi Shendelman was the icing on the cake. Because of her, the ceremony was fabulous. Our guests raved about how loving and inclusive and FUN the ceremony was for them! She offered the guests the opportunity to participate in a meaningful way that neither they nor we had experienced at a wedding ceremony before.

    We interviewed other wedding officiants and we felt an instant connection with Rabbi Shendelman. She has a grace and knowing way about her. She quickly got to know us and walked us through the development of a very personal and meaningful ceremony. The day of the wedding she provided words of wisdom that not only kept us present but added a spiritually fulfilling energy to the proceedings.

    We are so happy to be able to write this review that others might decide to include her wonderful soul on their special day!!

    Thanks!!

    Sent on 10/02/2013
  • E

    Ester · Married on 08/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Sara made David and Claudia's wedding even more beautiful. She personalized her ceremony, included the guests, and added a great sense of humor. She made the wedding special

    Sent on 09/02/2013
  • M

    Masha · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Sara created a heartfelt, powerful ceremony on our wedding day. The way she officiated was warm, deeply spiritual and inclusive of the entire community in attendance. While following the tradition of Judaism, she was able to reach guests of all faiths and put us at ease, too. Thanks, Rabbi Sara! We highly recommend her.

    Sent on 09/04/2013
  • User3501474 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Sara Shendelman as a wedding officiant! She did my wedding with such warmth and enthusiasm, musical talent and professionalism, i couldn't have imagined anything better. The photographers even came up to me after and expressed to me what a unique and wonderful ceremony it was. She helped guide us through the planning process, allowing our personality and beliefs to shape the service, but providing the traditional foundation which we desired. She was such a delight to work with and so easy to get in touch with when I had questions, she made this stressed out bride feel completely at ease!

    Sent on 08/30/2013
  • M

    Miguel · Married on 12/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Sara officiated our wedding, and we could not have been happier. Her delivery was humorous and touching. Many of our guests were surprised by the beautiful flow she created by combining her dynamic speaking with chanting, singing, and playing musical instruments. Rabbi Sara is very thoughtful. She prompted us to have several calls with her in the months leading up to the wedding. She carefully listened to what we wanted, and offered an outline of the ceremony that reflected our conversations. We had a chance to review her outline and make comments and suggestions. We knew what to expect during our ceremony, and yet everything felt original and not rehearsed. Since Rabbi Sara has officiated many dozens of ceremonies, she was also able to provide very practical advice (from timing to how things would look on photographs) of what to expect and how to adapt some of the things we wanted so that they worked even better.

    Our ceremony was both inter-faith and non-denominational. Rabbi Sara was wonderful at working with a second officiator to coordinate both the content and the delivery of the ceremony. She was also great at incorporating and enriching the Jewish traditions we were looking for. We would not hesitate to recommend Rabbi Sara. She brings together an unusual combination as a warm and truthful spiritual guide, a multi-talented officiator and performer, and a graceful public speaker.

    Sent on 02/11/2013
  • M

    Michael · Married on 06/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Rabbi Shendelman to be thoughtful, insightful, and perfect for our interfaith marriage.

    Sent on 02/18/2013
  • J

    Jennine · Married on 09/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Sara made our wedding so special! Everyone says to this day, that it was the best wedding they had ever attended, and I think a big part of that was the energy that Sara created around both us, and our network of family and friends in attendance. She really involved them in the process, which made them feel an authentic and deep sense of connection to the entire experience.

    Thank you, Rabbi Sara for creating a day that will live in the hearts and minds of not only us, but our loved ones too!

    Sent on 02/06/2013
  • D

    lake · Married on 05/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were so thrilled to have met Sara. She is a spiritual and intelligent, insightful officiant and was easy to communicate with. Sara establishes a personal relationship with her couples, prior to marriage. On the wedding day, we felt as if a friend were marrying us -- it felt very personal. Sara has a beautiful voice -- she chants in both English/hebrew, depending upon the couple's choice. The relationship we built with Sara will last a lifetime!

    Sent on 08/06/2011
  • Y

    Yuri · Married on 08/21/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    R Sara Shendelman is a remarkable and spiritual person. She made our friends and family laugh, she made them cry, she made them think, and she made them learn, and in the end she got us married :) She helped and supported us every step of the way and provided the anchor of calmness in the midst of a busy and eventful day. We are forever grateful!

    Sent on 10/16/2010
  • S

    susan · Married on 06/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rabbi Sara was a life blessing for us!! She made our marriage ceremony a magical, spiritual experience. We continue to express our gratitude for her unique gifts, knowledge and incredible soul. It is our delight to attempt to put into words how wonderful she is!! She continues to make an incredible contribution to our lives in her advice, insights and friendship. Rabbi Sara is a life treasure.

    Sent on 12/18/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review