Weddings

Wedding Expressions by Geri Reviews

Wedding Expressions by Geri

Wedding Expressions by Geri

Lees Summit, MO
Rating 4.3 out of 5, 21 Reviews
View more information

21 Reviews

Rated
4.3
out of 5.0
Recommended by 85% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.4 out of 5

Awards

  • 21

11 User photos

Sort by:
  • M
    Meagan Married on 05/26/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Of all the bridal shops I went to (and I visited multiple), Geri’s was by far and away THE BEST. It’s the first place where I truly felt like a bride. There’s a great selection of dresses, and every person I worked with was friendly and seemed genuinely interested in helping me find my ideal dress. Not to mention the fact that I’m from out of town and Geri kept the shop open late TWICE for me. Everyone in the shop goes above and beyond what anyone could reasonably expect, and I can’t imagine having found the perfect dress and having such a fun time doing it anywhere else. With high expectations, a lot of opinions, and the pressure of finding the perfect dress, wedding shopping can be stressful. But the experience here is everything wedding dress shopping is supposed to be.

    Wedding Expressions by Geri's reply:

    Thank you! How wonderful of you to be so kind! We love each of our bride and I am glad you found our salon! Thanks!
  • L
    Lynnae Married on 06/18/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The ladies at Geri's were so friendly and helpful! My mom and I walked in 2 days before Christmas with little time and a tight budget. The lady helped us look through the sale dresses and we found the PERFECT dress at the perfect price! They also worked with me to schedule fittings as I lived out of state at the time.

    Wedding Expressions by Geri's reply:

    Lynnae,
    Thank you so much! I appreciate the opportunity.
  • J
    Jeff Married on 09/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Geri's for our tux rentals. Very professional and great people to work with. Everything was so smooth from booking to pick up. I would highly recommend going local with this great shop vs. going cooperate.

    Wedding Expressions by Geri's reply:

    Jeff, thank you so much! It was a pleasure to be part of your special day!
  • H
    Hannah Married on 04/23/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had six months to plan my wedding and had no clue where I was going to find a dress. My now mother-in-law stumbled upon this place and decided we should check it out. Well, I am SO glad we did. Natalie booked me an appointment with her for the same day, and from start to finish it was really amazing! Natalie helped me pick out my dream dress and bridesmaids dresses.
    Once all dresses were in, Natalie fitted all of them and did not leave a single detail out. She worked with me and my dress until it was perfect!
    Along with beautiful gowns and great service, they truly make you feel special here and make that once in a lifetime experience amazing!
  • User2364429 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wedding Expressions by Geri is a great bridal store and I had such a wonderful experience there! The Bridesmaid dress selection is wonderful and the staff was always so willing to help! Great place and I will definitely reccomend to friends!
  • User2097553 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I purchased my dress, bridesmaid's dresses and rented tuxedos from Geri. The service was so personal and they were so easy to work with!

    Wedding Expressions by Geri's reply:

    Thank you so much!
  • T
    Trisha Married on 11/15/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I love this place. It's so cute and the staff is so friendly and helpful. I came in with a vision and left with nothing like it...which was PERFECT. I didn't realize until she urged me to try on other things, that what I thought I wanted actually didn't fit me right, and really didn't fit my personality either. I found my perfect dress and I'm so glad I found it here.
  • S
    Stacy Married on 10/25/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved this store! Much better buy than anything from David's Bridal. All of the bridesmaids dresses were comparable on cost but we had a much better selection. The dress I had was beautiful. It was on sale but it was still out of my budget. Geri moved the dress to my budget! I would recommend going there first for dress shopping. :)
  • L
    Leslie Married on 10/19/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This shop really takes care of you. I had a wonderful experience. The staff really knows their stuff. They provided excellent consultative selling, and I found the gown perfect for me! I didnt' know what would be best, and these professionals did. We loved the experience so much that I also purchased my bridesmaid dress and rented tuxes at this location. They have the top designers and plenty of dresses to try. Check them out! Locally owned and operated in beautiful downtown Lee's Summit, MO.
  • User1262988 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wonderful service and staff! Purchased wedding dress there. Also, friends have purchased wedding dress or bridesmaid dresses there. Staff is polite and professional. Alterations were perfect!!! Love supporting a home town small business!!!
  • S
    Shelley A. Married on 10/06/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I got referred to wedding expressions by Geri by my venue! I set up an appointment with them and bought a dress that day! Easy to find... Right on the corner of 3rd street by the railroad tracks in Lees Summit. Geri's shop is beautiful on the inside! Her partner and daughter are so helpful and very good with customers! Their selection was very nice and I had no problem finding my perfect dress for a reasonable price!
  • R
    Robert Married on 09/14/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wife and I chose to support a local business rather than a large chain for a date that was extremely special to us; our wedding! And we are thrilled beyond belief that we chose Geri to make our wedding LOOK and FEEL good. Geri is the kind of lady that puts a smile on your face when you walk through the door. My wife and I were very pleased with the quality of the attire, the amazing service and the cheapest price in town! Unbeatable! We have referred many of our close friends and family to go with Geri and they have all been pleased as well. I believe in marriage for life; BUT if I had to get married again, I'd go with Geri!
  • Caitlyn
    Caitlyn Married on 09/04/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Natalie was awesome to work with! She was able to redo my mom's wedding veil so that I can use that for our wedding. They were very accommodating and have a beautiful bridal salon. You even get to blow the train whistle when you pick your wedding dress ;)
  • Kaitlynn
    Kaitlynn Married on 04/28/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    I had won my wedding gown from Wedding Expressions by Geri at one of the many bridal shows I'd attended. It was a gorgeous, gorgeous gown. I decided to get all of my alterations done at Geri's since they had given me my gown for free. I was very pleased with the results. There was only one little hiccup where they said I'd called and rescheduled my last alteration appointment, when I hadn't, so I ended up having to use one of the smaller rooms intended for intiial try-ons. It was fine, but I would've preferred using the alteration room. After the wedding, I decided to have them preserve my dress, which I'd received a diacodis for since my dress was from there. Those results were fantastic as well; it's now very prettily displayed in its box. Of course time will tell how it holds up, but for now I'm pleased.

    Wedding Expressions by Geri's reply:

    Thank you so much Kaitynin, we loved working with you! So sorry you had to have your fitting in a smaller room! But you looked beautiful!
  • L
    Laura Married on 06/16/2018
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used WE for bridesmaid dresses and groom/smen tux! We really loved the dresses and the tuxes! The only reason I took a star off is because one of the bridesmaids dresses was not designed/made well and one of the alterations ladies at WE almost acted like she didn't see what was wrong with the dress and kept telling us we were wrong and was not hearing us out. Finally she got someone else to come look at it and figured out a way to make it work!
  • S
    Shelby M. Married on 06/19/2020
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible if you request the right people

    Writing this review is bittersweet because there are incredible parts of this business but others that I don’t wish upon anyone. I purchased a wedding dress, two bridesmaids dresses, a mother of the bride dress, and all of those were altered there. In addition, my wife’s dress that she purchased in Iowa was also altered there. I really believe the experience there will be determined by the staff member you are assigned to. We highly recommend Melody for sales and alterations and also Georgette for sales. Throughout our experience we worked with other sales and alterations staff members and were very disappointed.


    Wedding dress experience: Both my wife and I tried on dresses there and I think they have a great selection. Only one of us ended up getting a dress there. She is less picky, wanted something more simple, and they had quite a few choices there. I was pleased with how much Melody helped us both and she was so patient since the appointment started as one for one of us and, after seeing the selection was better for the other, ended up switching the appointment to her and staying later than she had planned to find her a dress.

    Mother of the bride dress shopping: This was one we were dissatisfied with. While we found a great dress, the process was painful. We explained we wanted a long black chiffon bridesmaid dress without any sparkles but the staff member who was with us that day pulled several dresses from the formal section with sparkles, outside of the budget, and were for winter instead of a summer wedding. During the appointment, we couldn’t figure out how several of the dresses were intended to fit and our attendant did not provide much input. We even had to pin the dresses ourselves because she wouldn’t jump in. We also pulled almost all the dresses since she did give many suggestions. There wasn’t anyone else she was helping at the time; only one mother.

    Bridesmaids: our 2 bridesmaids worked with Georgette and she was very helpful in selecting dresses that would be flattering. She was helpful pinning/clipping, with advice, and was very patient. She pulled many dresses and helped us find the color that was just right.

    Alterations: Melody is incredible to work with. The bridal alterations are pretty expensive but they really fit like a glove after a single try. We asked a ton of questions and she was very helpful and overall awesome. We were one of the first alterations done when they opened after COVID and they were completed about two weeks before our wedding which was a huge relief. We highly recommend Melody for alterations. Although our experience with Melody was incredible, it didn’t start off that way at the shop. I shipped my dress from an Iowa wedding shop directly to Geri’s so my wife and I could have alterations at the same place. We also got extra lace ordered from my dress and it was added to her dress so having it all in one place was easiest. My first fitting was performed by one of the other staff members (not Melody or Georgette). I didn’t feel like my dress fit even close to how it did when I tried it on but my concerns were dismissed and I was assured that was how it was supposed to be. When I asked questions or looked for a professional recommendation on the fit, I didn’t get confident answers and felt as if I was annoying her. So many things were not quite right on the fit that my fiancé called and I went in the next day and was refitted with Melody. I made a list of things I wasn’t comfortable with with photos to compare and we talked through every single point. Melody didn’t seem annoyed at all, she answered all questions, was nothing but kind, and changed anything on my dress that I wanted. She re-worked my dress, making several that day, and didn’t stop until I was satisfied. Geri also apologized for my first experience and sincerely thanked me for giving them a second chance. Also, I recommend altering bridesmaids dresses somewhere a bit more affordable if you’re just getting a hem.
  • C
    Carolyn Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 2.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    I had a hard time with Expressions by Geri. I had seen great reviews. It’s was my first and only stop. I tried on a handful of dresses picked by a wonderful woman. I found my dress that day. They offer a discount for new brides which is great. Then it came to alterations. This was AWFUL! Natalie (the boy alterations option there) was very concerned about prom season and told me I should do them in February (my wedding was not until June and my weight fluctuates). I told her that I thought my wedding dress might be a bit more important than a prom dress and I could take my business elsewhere. I called Geri herself and complained. She ensured my appointment could be whenever I needed. I picked a mid-may date that Natalie steared me away from. Months later I get a request call from Natalie to switch my appointment to the next day due to taking her son to court. I bit my tongue and complied. We got it fitted and we were just waiting for it to be finished. We go for the final fitting and Natalie has done half of what we asked. My boob pads were cockeyed and crooked by about an inch. They were barely held in by a thread. We had to reinforce them after I made her adjust them again. It was like my dress had not been touched. I had a gap in my chest area, my straps were loose, and the bussle was horribly done. They layers at the bottom were uneven and had to be adjusted too. My bussle she reinforced with triple thread broke on my wedding day because it was attached to a button on the back of my dress. There was also a hole in my dress because she did not attach a button that popped off before I ever got the dress from them. It was almost like she did this job with her eyes closed. Not impressed. It never got better either. She was even rude to my sister looking around the store for a possible dress because I did not have bridesmaids. Not a fun time for a bride! Beautiful gowns. Horrible service from an important person...the alterations woman! Natalie needs some work!
  • C
    Cindy Married on 10/26/2016
    Rating 2.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    The lady named Natalie that does the alterations treats you like your a big inconvenience. No warm greeting, no friendly conversation, just a "what do you want" attitude.
    There was a time when customer service and atmosphere was what you paid for.
  • User2283392 2+ years ago
    Rating 2.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    Great until they get the money. They lied to me and they don't communicate well.

    I purchased my wedding dress and two bridesmaid dresses from them. I made appointments for both and received excellent service for both. We paid them in full for all dresses when we ordered them. That was a mistake.
    After they got the money, their level of service went down dramatically. Before, they were polite, helpful, and patient. After my dress came in and I went back for hemming, they merely threw the dress and I into a changing room and left us. They were short and snippy, and they acted as if I was just a waste of their time, despite us being the only customers in there.

    And then they lied. Why? I have no idea. I had asked them if simple alterations (such as hemming and fitting) came with the price of the dress. They told me YES; that only alterations such as extra beading would cost more, but hemming was PART OF THE PRICE OF THE DRESS.
    After they pinned the dress for a hem, they slapped a $200 bill in my face and said that they never told me that alterations were included with the price of the dress.

    They also could not give me a straight answer about when the dresses would be here. I called and asked about the dresses in early June -- they said bridesmaid dresses would be here July 18 and my dress would be here on June 22. I called them on June 22; no, the wedding dress does not SHIP until June 22. However, the next day they called and said they had received it.

    Then on July 18, I called to see if the bridesmaid dresses arrived. They changed the date again and said they wouldn't be shipped out until August 9. On July 22, they called me and said the dresses arrived. What?
    Perhaps it was a miscommunication with the people who ship the dresses. However, they should realize that that sort miscommunication could very much disrupt their clientele.

    Overall it was a poor experience. The dress is beautiful, but wasn't worth the headache.
  • K
    Kristen Married on 10/19/2013
    Rating 1.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    I will never recommend a bride or a bridal party to go to this horrendous store. First they never called my bridesmaids to let them know their dresses came in. My maid of honor had to keep calling to see if the dresses were in. They finally told her yes, but they never called my other girls. I ended up telling my other files their dresses were in, I had asked them if they were ever called and told the dresses were in? They said no. I final called and spoke with Geri and she claimed she tried to me but it wouldn't let her leave a message. She never did call me. I told her I was a bit annoyed. I asked her why she would call me when I didn't purchase anything from her. I told her the girls that she needed to call and let them know their dresses were in. She never did!!!
    Today 8-19-12 my matron of honor goes in to pick up her dress. She called me and says hey I am here to pick up my dress and they ordered it in short instead of long. I instantly was in panic. Two months before my wedding. They stated they wi try to Oder the correct dress. But they do have a sample in a size 10 and she is a size 2. They told her if worse comes to worse that the seamstress will alter it down. AND THEN ThEY SAY THIS: you won't have to pay for the busy and waist to be taken in but you WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR THE LENGTH BECAUSE YOU WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR IT ANYWAYS. Excuse me. This is totally wrong. I can't believe this. I am in shock. I will be paying a visit and face to face tell then they should not make her lay for anything. Never go here
  • A
    Alaina L. Married on 03/16/2019
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Bridesmaid dress mistake

    I was ordering a bridesmaid dress from out of town for a wedding. I called and gave them my measurements and style I wanted. I told them to order a 10 (they didn't know what size to get me off my measurements). A long time later I finally get it in the mail and put it on and it won't zip up. They sent me a ZERO instead of a ten. I called and asked them for help. Instead they asked me the RUDEST questions as if I was lying. "Are you sure it's a zero instead of a ten? We check all dresses before they ship?" "Did you actually try the dress on to see that it's a zero?". I told them I would send them pictures of all the tagging that had a 0 on it. I did. Then they said they would try to get a 10 if they could find one. This was WEEKS before the wedding. They found one, then had to ship it to me. I got it one week before leaving for the wedding. Luckily I have a wonderful seamstress who was able to alter it in a short amount of time. I had to pay twice as much in alterations. And then I was bothered by phone calls and texts to get the dress sizes zero back them so they wouldn't have to pay the designer for it.

    None of this would have bothered me so much if they would have simply apologized and helped imburse me for the trouble from their mistake. I had to pay extra for last minute alterations and for the shipping to get their mistake back to them. Don't recommend them AT ALL.